We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A lovely hotel, but a bit bland”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Xeliter Golden Bear Lodge
Ranked #103 of 111 Hotels in Punta Cana
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
161 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 156 helpful votes
“A lovely hotel, but a bit bland”
Reviewed 14 March 2010

We just returned from a five day stay here, having switched our reservations from The Sanctuary because when we found this place --- through an ad in Golf Digest --- they had a promotion deal that we could not pass up. Our room was lovely and well-appointed: actually it was an entire apartment with a full kitchen, but we never used it. The staff could not have been more accommodating, service impeccable and the food is excellent, although the menu is a bit limited and the wine list is hit or miss, they did not have many of the bottles listed. But the chef does take special requests with some notice. This is a wonderful place to stay if your stay is golf-oriented (ours was). It is NOT ON THE BEACH. There is a great beach at Caleton, a 5 minute drive, with full facilities, bar, chairs etc, but do not stay at Golden Bear if you plan on rolling out to the ocean. Punta Espada is a fabulous golf course, also 5 minutes away, and you are also a very short ride to La Cana and to Corales courses. Demerits: this was a bit weird, but we were almost the only people at the hotel. At breakfast and dinner (we had a meal plan and had some dinners there), we were the only people there. There was hair in our shower drain although other than that, service and cleanliness was excellent. Our ocean view suite was marred by bulldozers and construction of the Las Iguanas golf course, still not complete. No newspapers (or Times fax), no sundry store on property. For the money, was a fantastic deal, included a free round at Punta Espada and a second round at 50% off, plus two meals a day, 3rd bottle of wine free, etc. But the place has no style, despite it being very well appointed. We loved Cap Cana and will return, but we will stay elsewhere, this was just not for us.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank susan r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

69 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    22
    14
    13
    11
    9
See reviews for
10
30
3
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hilton Head, SC
2 reviews
Reviewed 13 March 2010

We could have been one of the first longer term guests. The Lodge opened late December, and was still in the process of construction in some of the buildings. Rooms are located in Villas overlooking the soon to be opened Las Iguanas GC, with the caribbean a couple holes away. Views were spectacular, but you are not right on the water. We had a top floor Jr suite, 1 bdrm. Large, spacious and well appointed, lacked nothing. 4 sets of rooms on each floor, 3 floors per building, 12 buildings. Excellent food, and very attentive staff throughout. Definitely woth every penny and more, especially if the golf package is still offered. Can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dixiedog1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2010

We have just spent two weeks here and it has been absolutely gorgeous. The staff are adorable--so friendly and charming! We had a one bedroom apartment with a full kitchen (well...everything but an oven), a washer/dryer, powder room, and beautifully decorated living dining area, along with our own little private plunge pool on our third floor balcony. We took advantage of our fridge and filled it with fruits and veggies as well as eggs, cheeses, and prosciuttos from a small Italian market in the Marina area. A tad expensive, but very convenient for evenings when we just wanted to veg out. They will also go to a market for you and get whatever you need.

The level of service is quite high. We will especially miss the evening turn-down service with yummy truffles when we return home.

I don't play golf, but the tennis pro, Rosell was lovely and the lesson includes a ball boy so you never have to stop to pick up balls and the courts are well cared for.

The beaches are amazing. The Juanillo Beach is a mile of pure white sand. There's a little beach restaurant with simple but yummy food and covered seating areas with teak chaises. Caleton is also lovely.

Cap Cana is a work in progress, and there are quite a few construction projects underway, but the whole resort is immaculate! There are stunning mansions and a handful of hotels for a change of scenery. It's great fun to rent a carrita (golf cart) and tool around gawking! Having just recently opened, the Golden Bear is very quiet. Many days we were the only ones at the pool, but we loved the feeling of peace and quiet. It was fun to imagine that we owned the entire place!

We will definitely return! Can't wait!

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JKMNewYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level Contributor
35 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2010

Just returned from a fabulous time at the Golden Bear. Our second time to the area and this was the tops. Our 1-bedroom suite was beautiful- second floor, end unit (7211), quiet, and gorgeous. Our package included 2 meals per day and other amenities. The food was very good; be sure to ask for the day's special at dinner. Boris was an excellent manager of the restaurant and all food services.
We go for the golf and Punta Espada, on site, is the best golf course we've played. We heard the same comment from many others, including those who've golfed Pebble Beach, Pinehurst, and top courses. Caddy #7, Gilberto, is very good and should be requested.
We've found Zoetry resorts to be outstanding for service, food, amenities, and beautiful locations.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kstar54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Illinois
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 February 2010

Just returned from a glorious week at the Golden Bear Lodge. What a terrific resort. We were there with a group of twelve for a golf trip. The facilities are wonderful, the food was excellent and the staff was incredible. When was the last time a waiter told you, "It's my pleasure!" This is a relatively new location but any issues we had were quickly remedied. Gisele Moreno, the concierge, made our trip so easy--making golf and dinner arrangements for us. Her recommendations were terrific. Though this resort is not on the ocean, there is a great beach club close by with transportation provided. Would also highly recommend the following restaurants: Magnolia at Golden Bear Lodge, Faith at Faraloon and Amacord at the Marina. Service was great and dinner was wonderful. Hope to return someday. And the golf course, Punta Espada, warrants its ranking as the #1 golf course in the Caribbean! Another 18 hole golf course will be opening soon. Great memories created at an awesome location!

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank luckyinIllinois
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
midlothian
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 February 2010

This is my first time to write on Trip Advisor but have used the site to plan many trips myself, so felt I should do the courtesy for others. We will definitely return to Golden Bear and we do not generally go to the same place twice. That being said I would not recommend this for people who have kids, like huge buffets, pool games, shopping,jet skis and in general need lots of noise and entertainment to feel like they are having fun. This hotel is very quite. We loved smoking a cigar on our private patio, perfect service, classy simple natural looking grounds and fabulously fresh food. The Punta Espada golf course was world class and you get a better rate staying at the hotel or purchasing a package. There is a mandatory caddy ($20) but be sure to tip well. Both of our caddy's were personal and knowledgeable. I will expound on the few minor things that kept me from scoring a 5 this time but anticipate things will only improve. We had the endless privelidge package that included round trip transfers from the airport, all meals and drinks (excluding bottles of wine from the wine list), two rounds of golf at Punta Espada (we paid $40 each for caddy and cart), 2 twenty min massages, room service etc. Good package for us. They forgot to pick us up at the airport so we had to take a taxi. Not the end of the world, they promptly reimbursed us for the taxi. The spa is not quite done. No steam and somewhat bare but the rooms on the small cliff for massage were nice. Some nice scented candles and a little more plushness will make it better. The Las Iguanas course was not done but when it is that will make it even better. The food was fantastic, fresh, beautiful, healthy. If you want to eat hamburgers this is not the place for you. Food is pricey but good and full servings. however if you are a limited eater there may not be enough variety for you. We had fish, duck, mushroom rossotto , ceviche, beef tenderloin, chicken, shrimp, and veggie pizza. You can see we eat everything so it was enough for us, but if you are a meat and potatoes person you may want to consider not buying the endless privilege . The staff was great. Patient with my beginner Spanish and quick to take you where you want to go. It is not right on the beach but we don't hang out all day laying in the sun anyway, we are more active. They arranged for bikes and we rode to the top of the cliff and to the marina. We walked ,ran, played golf, went to the beach, and did some general exploring. They have really set the Cap Canna area up to be a very exclusive well planned complex. Golden Bear is right in the middle of it.. Thank you to all the staff for a great stay. We will see you next time with friends. Boris, Gabrielle, Saul, Carlos, Lorenzo and Lorenzo's best friend (can't remember his name sorry) all deserve raises.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wsowers3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 February 2010

My wife and I just returned from a three night stay, and without question this trip exceeded all expectations. The property is just beautiful, the service was second to none, the food was marvelous, and the golf course (Punta Espada) was the kind of place you remember for a lifetime.

The staff really go the extra mile to make sure your stay is perfect - I cannot say enough about the service. The property itself is truly first class - no details have been overlooked and I can only imagine how much money must have been spent building this place.

Play Punta Espada. Even if you are not a golfer, and my wife most definitely is not, you should ride around Punta Espada just to take in the beauty. Stunning.

The (kind of) caveat: this place is very quiet - I believe we were one of maybe 5-6 couples there. Obviously, word hasn't gotten out about the Golden Bear, and really for that matter the entire Capcana development. I can't imagine this will hold true for very long - we literally had zero complaints. I suppose the quiteness might be a complaint for some, but for us it was perfect.

Final note (we really enjoy dining out): Our meals at the Golden Bear were, without exception, outstanding. We also dined one evening in a neighboring development, the Caletone Beach Club, which was also fantastic, and one afternoon at the Marina at a marvelous Italian restaraunt on the water. The only dining experience that we would take back is we ventured over to The Sanctuary one evening and were disappointed.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bluecardinal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Punta Cana hotels
14.1 mi away
The Golf Suites
The Golf Suites
#100 of 111 in Punta Cana
14 reviews
6.1 mi away
The Westin Puntacana Resort & Club
0.6 mi away
Alsol Del Mar
Alsol Del Mar
#46 of 111 in Punta Cana
948 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.9 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Puntacana Village
3.4 mi away
AlSol Tiara Cap Cana
AlSol Tiara Cap Cana
#24 of 111 in Punta Cana
1,746 reviews
3.4 mi away
Alsol Luxury Village
Alsol Luxury Village
#87 of 111 in Punta Cana
3,275 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Xeliter Golden Bear Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Xeliter Golden Bear Lodge

Property: Xeliter Golden Bear Lodge
Address: Cap Cana, Punta Cana 23000, Dominican Republic
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > La Altagracia Province > Punta Cana
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#66 Luxury Hotel in Punta Cana
#80 On the Beach Hotel in Punta Cana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Xeliter Golden Bear Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Inspired by the life and lifestyle of the legendary "Golden Bear", Jack Nicklaus, and perfectly situaded near his signature golf course Punta Espada. Xeliter Golden Bear Lodge is conveniently located 10 minutes from Punta Cana's International Airport. Our accommodations are exquisite designed within great spaces to bring a comfortable and relaxing atmosphere along with great views to the turquoise sea: Ocean View Studio Suites, and one and two bedrooms Ocean View Suites. A flat-screen TV, iPod docking station, and CD/DVD player are included in all condos at Xeliter Golden Bear Lodge. The rooms are stylishly decorated in tropical colors and also boast a fully equipped kitchen. Concierge service from 7:00am to 11:00pm, multilingual staff, Golf Concierge, tennis courts, swimming pool and jacuzzi are waiting for you at this spectacular and luxurious suites overlooking the Caribeen Sea. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Xeliter Golden Bear Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Golden Bear Lodge Cap Cana Hotel Punta Cana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing