We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome, Relaxing and well needed time away =)”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Barcelo Bavaro Beach - Adults Only
Ranked #27 of 112 Hotels in Punta Cana
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
North Bergen, New Jersey
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Awesome, Relaxing and well needed time away =)”
Reviewed 21 April 2012

We plan on going back!!!!! Oh yes and please try to learn a little Spanish prior to going. Here is the break down.

Punta Cana Airport
- Very clean and safe.
- Your hotel transportation will be to your left right before the exit. There are people waiting to carry your luggage and sell you activities/SPAs/Misc things. Please call your transportation company prior to pick up for their uniform color.
- It’s a short walk to clear immigration and customs. If you allow a baggage handler to take your luggage please remember to tip them.
- Most resorts seem to be about 20 minutes from the airport.

Hotel Arrival
- The Front desk is awesome. Miguelina was THE BEST!!! very accommodating and extremely pleasant/helpful. While you’re checking in you can get enjoy an alcoholic beverage. In addition, Alexandria was also pleasant and helpful.
Guest Services
- This is also the time to book any activities or make reservation for any of the restaurants. At guest services, please see Paulo or Omar.
- Paulo was THE BEST!!! Very accommodating, humble, pleasant and helpful. Omar is AWESOME he sent a complementary bottle of champagne to our room to celebrate our birthdays. =)

Rooms
- The rooms were clean. Everything was nice and updated except for the bathroom. The bath tub was out dated and peeling a little. It is tolerable. The shower did have bath gel, shampoo and conditioner. This is awesome for all carryon baggage folks like us.
- We stayed in room 1027. Ice COLD A/C with controls. Nice king bed, mini bar had juice, water, beer, peanuts and chips. Awesome room to stay in as it’s within walking distance to pool, bar and beach. However, the balconies on the first floor do not have railing.
- You have lawn chairs right off the balcony on the first floor rooms.

Food
- In general the food is ok. If you’re looking for authentic Dominican food, then you might get disappointed.
- Breakfast buffet at Caribe is the BEST!!!!! You must see my two Amigos at the omelet stations! Also the freshly made crepes are good!
- Lunch and dinner at the buffet were catered to European/American cuisine. Its ok, but again we were looking for authentic Dominican food.
- Get to the buffet early as all of the good food disappears fast. Like pineapples, pastas, flan and croissants. The soft serve ice cream is ok, but the hard ice cream has a bit of a medicine taste.

Restaurants
- Our favorite was Chez Gourmet. The food is GREAT here!!! Thanks to Paulo and Maria my girlfriend’s birthday cake was to die for. VERY pleased with Chez! Also try the Cone filled with basil cream and exotic fruits. Maria was very accommodating, humble and nice.
- Our second favorite was La Brisa. The food was awesome, but the deserts were off a little.
- Now we didn’t try the Steak house, Italian, Japanese or French restaurants. However, our friends Chelsea and Ricky didn’t recommend them for our stay.

Pool
- The pool is nice, clean and big. The deepest side is by Bohio Bar and its 5’7” deep there.
- The pool and the whirlpool in the middle are not heated.

Beach
- It was a little like seaweed heaven. However, there were cleanup crews on the beach to manage the seaweed.
- The beach sand is soft and white. You can walk bare foot almost everywhere.
- The water is clean and for the most part nice. During our stay the beach had cool Caribbean wind which made everything seem colder. A few days during our stay my girlfriend needed a sweater while the sun was out. For me it was like heaven as I love the mix of hot sun and cool Caribbean breeze.

Shopping Center
- Rule number 1 – Be prepared to see some outrageous pricing.
- Rule number 2 – Be prepared to negotiate.
- You will find everything you need here. Jewelry, alcohol, cigars, clothing, toiletries, paintings and snacks/food.
- STOP by Aqua Beach Club to enjoy some Dominican food. It’s the bar with Presidente tables in front and wood beach chairs with red cushion pillows. See Theo he’s awesome!!!

Activities
- Miguel and Yamira will GET YOU =). They are AWESOME. Hotel shows starts at 9:30 don’t be late and be open to participating. Winners normally get a prize that’s good… hint hint
- We did the Punta Cana Boogie and it was fun. Be prepared to get dirty. Bring a bandana to cover your nose/mouth and sun shades or glasses to cover your eyes.
- We also wanted to do Catalina Island, but the weather was funky so we decided not to.
- Our friends Alley and Omar recommended the SPA boat and Canopy zip lines.


Tipping
- I would suggest you tip similar as you were back home. If you had awesome service, please leave a tip.
- We tipped drivers, luggage handlers, front desk, guest services, breakfast/lunch/dinner staff, bar and maid/mini bar.
- A nice hola, smile and tip will take you far people =).

Room Tip: Stay in the 1000's to be close to pool/bars/food/beach. 2000 & 3000's will place you clo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Freddie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

7,626 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    4,734
    1,952
    611
    203
    126
See reviews for
852
4,163
268
147
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,378)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 April 2012

We just got back from Barcelo Beach and overall we loved it there. We weren't sure what the difference was between the Beach and Palace Deluxe until we got there. The Beach is basically brand new (except for the shower and toilet area) and adults only. It's also fairly small and quiet. The Palace Deluxe is connected to the beach resort and though we didn't see the rooms there I'm pretty sure they're older. The Palace Deluxe is HUGE with many rooms and a giant pool with many families and children.
We went as a couple in our mid 20s. We enjoyed the ability to relax and have a low key night at the beach resort but take the train shuttle to the palace deluxe for the casino and disco.

Pros:
- New room
- Great maid service (she organized all my toiletries and makeup i left messy all over the counter)
- Strong drinks (the bartenders at the palace deluxe blackjack bar used absolut vodka and stoli and always refilled our drinks before we finished them since we were modest tippers)- also I saw them open many new bottles of alcohol showing that they don't water down the alcohol
- Great beach! many lounge chairs and no locals trying to sell things
- Secure (rooms are monitored by cameras and we always felt safe)
- Friendly staff
- Lobby and all facilities were clean and new. They have pool tables and pin pong tables
- Easy to make reservations for a la carte restaurants. (at other resorts i have been to they require you to go between 9am and 12 pm to sign up)
- All Beach rooms were close to the beach
- Close to the airport, about 20 mins


Cons:
- Buffet food is only food when you get there early. Don't go right before closing or it's kinda bad. (we suggest making reservations at restaurants for dinner)
- No wildlife. (if your looking for lizards and other wildlife you won't find it here)
- Resort is almost too big. (if you want more nightlife go to the Palace Deluxe)


We'd definitely return to this resort or to another one of their resorts in a different location.

Room Tip: Rooms all all new, clean and the minibar refreshed daily.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Meggie912
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 April 2012

Upgraded rooms:


All of the Adults Only resorts we have ever stayed at had beautiful baths, Jacuzzi tubs, double showers, beautiful tile work, etc... Barcelo had a 1970's tub that would not hold 1 person over 5-feet tall and a toilet that also was a generation behind. It was the type of bathroom I remember hotels having when we stayed at the Holiday Inn on our way to Cedar Pointe, Ohio in 1979. I think they must be doing construction on the bathrooms because we heard lots of banging and could smell strong paint fumes on several occasions. One night we woke up with burning eyes due to the fumes. I stayed at a Westin the week before in Detroit and the room was far superior there.

Staff:

The staff was 80% indifferent, 10% friendly and 10% rude. Most could really care less and just were going through motions. Heaven forbid you asked them to go above and beyond as you had a good chance of getting an eye roll or they would just walk away. Tipping is something I have no problem with as I enjoy recognizing exceptional service. At Barcelo tipping will get you average service. The "norm" is below average service. If you do not speak Spanish you are at a disadvantage as when an employee doesn’t feel like waiting on you they will just act like they can’t comprehend English (unless of course you have visible $ in hand).

The food:

Get this straight, anyone who is saying to food is excellent must believe that Olive Garden is high quality Italian and Applebee's qualifies as "excellent". Most of the restaurants would be out of business if on their own in any metropolitan area in the USA. The steakhouse would last 2 weeks or until the FDA closed them down. The presentation is usually very good and I assume that impresses some, but the actual quality of food is average. You will get a good meal at the French restaurant, but that cost us $50 more so I would expect better quality. The Chicken Nachos at the sports bar summarized much of the food. You get the same type of Nacho’s at a movie theater or ball game. Somebody at Barcelo needs to simply go a Champs or Wild Wings and take some pictures of bar food. The pancakes and French Toast were usually hard and if not for Nutella on toast my wife and I would have been out of luck. The fruit is fresh, but that is to be expected in the tropics. The fish was usually decent, but not prepared in any manner I would call fine dining.

Overall:

If you have not stayed at high-end resorts, Barcelo will probably seem like high end due to size of resort and the very nice beach. However, if you have stayed at all-inclusive resorts like Sandals or Palace Resorts, keep your expectations low and Barcelo will impress. One and done for this frequent traveler.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Matt H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 April 2012

My husband and I traveled to Punta Cana in the last week of March for our belated honeymoon (we were married a few months ago). We picked Barcelo because we have had great experiences with Barcelo hotels in Barcelona and in Costa Rica on previous trips. We booked the Barcelo Bavaro Beach as it was Adult Only. It was a wonderful experience!

We had one little problem the first day, which was resolved fairly quickly. Our first room was in the 1000 block and the bathtub looked like it hadn't been cleaned in a month, plus the paint was chipping in large pieces in the tub! We called housekeeping to complain about it and got nowhere. Then we stopped by the front desk, and they said they could move us to a better room in the same building, but there was nothing available until the next day, so we had to deal with our paint chip fillled bathtub for a day, but the rest of the room was fine otherwise. The front desk was true to their word, and we were able to move rooms the next day. It had a clean bathroom and the view was even better! Right by the pool, with a bit of a view to the ocean!

The pool was wonderful and spacious, though they could use a few more chairs. People get up early and save pool chairs for the day, whether or not they are using them. The beach was GORGEOUS! This was exactly why I wanted to come to Punta Cana. The sand was white and soft, and the water was warm and clear and lovely. There were plenty of beach chairs available at all times, but there are no beach umbrellas (just lots of palm trees!)

There are always activities going on throughout the day, which we really liked. In the morning they have "yoga" on the beach. It's really more like stretching, and not so much yoga, but it's still nice :-) They also have a pick up beach volleyball game on the beach, which was a great time! The activities staff are fun and welcoming and they try to get everyone involved in whatever is going on.

The food was mostly very good! We really enjoyed the breakfast buffet near the pool. There was a big selection and we always found something we liked there. The buffets at the Beach and the Palace Deluxe were so-so for dinner though. There are many sit down restaurants to choose from though. We really enjoyed the Japanese restaurant at the Palace Deluxe and the nicer restaurant at the Beach. Make sure to make all of your reservations at one time for your entire stay, or you may be stuck eating at the buffet all week.

Every night there is a show at both resorts. The show at the Beach was more audience interactive, and the Palace Deluxe had a big Broadway style performance each night. Both were great! My husband and I got roped into going on stage for a show at the Beach one night, and it was hilarious and embarrassing, but they gave us a nice bottle of rum for being good sports!

Of course, we enjoyed a few drinks each day at the pool and lobby bars :-) The "Miami Vice" is delicious (a pina colada mixed with a strawberry dacquiri!) Order it "con ron" and you'll be happy.

We hope to come back again someday! :-)

Room Tip: The 1000 block is in a great location- right by the pool and a 2 minute (or less) walk to the beach...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank kizern1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newark, DE
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2012

My husband and I travel A LOT and have been to many countries and islands. We are not very hard people to please and can usually make any time fun. Well, it was almost impossible here at this resort (adult section). Most of the staff (waitresses/waiters) was rude and the food was mediocre at best. I have never been to a resort where the workers were constantly working on rooms on the same floor. Not only where they chipping away at tiles all day and in to the night, they were using paint, paint thinners and glaze to redo bathrooms. The smell was toxic and a health hazard! We also had to deal with a compressor going on and off all day and in to the night. The fumes were so bad, we had to move our room at 11:30 p.m. and that was a fight. The staff wanted to "spray something" in our room so the fumes would go away? Are you kidding me? They also said they could move our room in the morning ... um, we would have been deathly ill from the toxic fumes coming in to our room! It was BAD! We got moved to another room in a different building and low and behold the very next morning, they were working on the room above us AND beside us with compressors and men chipping at tiles. It was beyond annoying! At least we got away from the fumes. I know the Barcelo website lists the rooms as upgraded ... well, the rooms are OK, if you think adding a flatscreen TV and soft sheets is upgrading, but the bathrooms are from the 1970s. They are in desperate need of upgrades! I guess that's what they were doing with all the work going on is more upgrades????? Not all of the restaurants are included in the "all-inclusive". Some restaurants were $15/pp and some were $25/pp and you had to make a reservation for most of the restaurants. Don't expect free wifi either ... that will cost you as well. The language was an issue, as we don't speak fluent Spanish and they don't speak fluent English. I think Barcelo needs to take some lessons from the Palace Resorts in Mexico ... now they know how to go above and beyond for their patrons. Unfortunately this will be our first and last visit to the Dominican Republic. Barcelo Bavaro Beach was a big disappointment and a big waste of money!

Room Tip: Ask for a room where they are not doing construction/upgrades! The noise and fumes will drive you c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Melissa H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bavaro_Beach_Resort, Quality Department at Barcelo Bavaro Beach - Adults Only, responded to this review, 23 April 2012
We regret the fact than you left unhappy. We are in the business to bring an enjoyable, unforgettable experience to all of our guests. We accomplish this 99% of the time. The few times that we do encounter an unhappy guest we address the issue immediately and turn the challenge into an opportunity. We would like to extend our most sincere apologies for any difficulty you may have experienced during your stay. We appreciate the observations concerning the service and the staff, and we are sorry that we were not able to impress you with some of our services despite of all our team efforts, whom in general our guests perceive to have a friendly, cheerful and sympathetic nature. At Barceló Hotels & Resort, we guarantee our visitors that will receive the quality service our valued guests deserve and our company is recognized for. We are sorry for not fulfilled your expectations after all.


Sincerely,


Quality Department
Barceló Bávaro Beach
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2012

Really enjoyed our vacation at this hotel, which includes facilities at the Bavaro Palace next door, which is accesible by a train that runs every 10min.
The Bavaro Beach is a very nice adult only resort with modernly upgraded decor throughout, except for the bathtub :P
Loved all the restaurants, 4 which you can book all at once with no problems (2 restaurants @Bavaro beach and 2 restaurants @Bavaro Palace) really good food and great presentation. We found the buffet food really good as well, with fresh meat and seafood daily.

There is a lot of places to lounge around the main lobby and pool. Either covered or out in the sun, lots of wicker furniture and hammocks.

The beach was very nice, with lots of loungers and palm trees in between.

Overall a great stay....would definetly return!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Beach_please_K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2012

A beautiful property with the worst service I've encountered since 1976. I was dropping $5 tips to everyone like a chain-smoker drops butts, but after 5 days of this I still couldnt get the attention of 60% of the Staff. Management is nice, maids efficient and friendly, but pool service staff, recreational facilities staff, and Premium restaurant personnel could care less if your needs are seen to. I tried to use a sailboat on a day when there was a 10 kt breeze, and they refused, said come back when winds were calm (???). If you want a drink at the pool, you'd better order before you leave the room. The waitstaff was always more interested in chatting with their coworkers than taking and filling orders (and all I was drinking was Coca-Cola, so this isnt alcohol withdrawal talking). I'd rather take a beating than a free week here.

Room Tip: Choose a different resort
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank dh77062
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Punta Cana hotels
14.0 mi away
Alsol Del Mar
Alsol Del Mar
#45 of 112 in Punta Cana
956 reviews
11.5 mi away
AlSol Tiara Cap Cana
AlSol Tiara Cap Cana
#22 of 112 in Punta Cana
1,790 reviews
1.1 mi away
Secrets Royal Beach Punta Cana
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.6 mi away
Sanctuary Cap Cana by AlSol
Sanctuary Cap Cana by AlSol
#39 of 112 in Punta Cana
4,774 reviews
0.4 mi away
Barcelo Bavaro Palace
11.3 mi away
Alsol Luxury Village
Alsol Luxury Village
#86 of 112 in Punta Cana
3,327 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Barcelo Bavaro Beach - Adults Only? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barcelo Bavaro Beach - Adults Only

Property: Barcelo Bavaro Beach - Adults Only
Address: Carretera Bavaro Km. 1, Punta Cana 23301, Dominican Republic
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > La Altagracia Province > Punta Cana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#19 Casino Hotel in Punta Cana
#23 Top resorts Hotel in Punta Cana
#24 Spa Hotel in Punta Cana
#25 On the Beach Hotel in Punta Cana
#25 Romantic Hotel in Punta Cana
#27 Luxury Hotel in Punta Cana
#30 Family Hotel in Punta Cana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Barcelo Bavaro Beach - Adults Only 4*
Number of rooms: 589
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Barcelo Bavaro Beach - Adults Only*****hotel is located on one of the 10 best beaches in the world, in the Punta Cana area of the Dominican Republic. This dreamy hotel has reinvented itself after a complete renovation to become an exclusive hotel for adults only. The hotel offers first class rooms 80% of which are located right on the beachfront. This makes it the most perfect place for a romantic getaway. Enjoy the exquisite range of cuisine on offer at the hotel through the Barcelo All Inclusive Programme with its Caribbean Buffet, Chez Gourmet and La Brisa restaurants; 9 a-la-carte restaurant options: Chez Gourmet (international), La Brisa (Mediterranean), El Coral (fish and seafood), Santa Fe (meat), La Dolce Vita (Italian), Mexico Lindo (Mexican), La Fuente (Spanish), Kyoto (Japanese) and La Comedie (Gourmet - additional charge except for Club Premium guests). Visit the facilities where you can find different options to fill your days: football pitch, tennis court, swimming pool, golf course, water sports, wellness centre, theatre and casino. This exclusive resort set on a virgin beach welcomes you with a cocktail, spoils you with drinks by the pool and offers you a 45 minute hydrothermal circuit, per person once during your stay. There are also 2 massage beds in the pool area (at an additional charge). Staying at this hotel also grants guests access to the facilities of the Barcelo Bavaro Palace Deluxe, a hotel which shares some of its services and facilities. This hotel is one of the very few in the country that boasts the international BLUE FLAG for compliance with the standards required by the non-profit non-governmental organisation the Foundation for Environmental Education (FEE). Come and rediscover the marvels the Barcelo Bavaro Beach - Adults Only***** hotel has to offer! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Barcelo, LoveHolidays, Priceline, Booking.com, TravelUp, Expedia, Ebookers, Holiday Gems, Travel Republic (UK), 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Barcelo Bavaro Beach - Adults Only reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barcelo Bavaro Beach Hotel
Barcelo Bavaro Punta Cana
Barcelo Bavaro Beach Punta Cana
Bavaro Beach Hotel
Bavaro Beach Resort
Barcelo Punta Cana Resort
Barcelo Bavaro Beach Resort Punta Cana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing