We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Hotel, very clean, great beach and good food”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Barcelo Bavaro Beach - Adults Only
Ranked #23 of 112 Hotels in Punta Cana
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Timisoara, Romania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Excellent Hotel, very clean, great beach and good food”
Reviewed 19 December 2012

We stayed at Barcelo Bavaro Beach on December 2012 and we had the best holiday ever. This hotel is very clean, well organised and offers a lot of activites and entertainment. The food is very good and different every day. The hotel is very clean and the staff is polite and always willing to help you.

The beach and pool area is the best part(always clean very close to the hotel). White sand and cristal clear water.

We love this hotel, it is the best from Punta Cana.We had the best holiday ever and i strongly reccomend this hotel.

Room Tip: The rooms sector 1 offers a good pool,beach ,lobby and theatre view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Razvan O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

7,748 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    4,818
    1,981
    615
    207
    127
See reviews for
874
4,236
273
151
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,388)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
senoia, GA, USA
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 December 2012

Was that Kenny G? I gotta say the piped music was pretty bad and annoying, and the dorado on the buffets was horrific, but I liked just about every single thing else. I guess that's because I've mainly been to resorts in the Bahamas (I think everybody there would really prefer to kill you), or Mexico, where nobody has any idea what I'm saying (Which is ok, I'm the tourist in their country who hasn't learned enough of their language). I thought the staff pretty much everywhere were friendly and accomodating and when I had a question or request it was honored.

Otherwise...

Food -

I thought the food in the Ala Cartes was OK (French), good (Steak House), Really great (Seafood resturaunt). I had read a review when researching that it was amazing that a caribbean resort doesn't know how to cook fish. They do in The Coral. It also had a salad bar that had endless stone crab claws and lobster (You can cross over from the steak house to raid this salad bar).

The buffets were good, nothing spectacular, but it had plenty of fresh fruits and vegetables and enough cooked stuff to get you through. And stone crabs!

The Grounds are fantastic, well land scaped and cleaned constantly. I saw one cup lying on the ground along the walk ways in 5 days.

The staff was polite and accomodating. Sometimes they didn't understand me, but I have a really thick southern accent, so they never had a chance. You had to ask for some stuff, but you got it every time.

The Spa- Loved the hydrotherapy area. Took the time each day to go and it was great. My only question is why no heat in the jacuzzi's? On the other hand the steam/sauna/contrast pool/assorted showers was something new for me, I don't know how I've lived without it, I don['t know how I'll struggle on.

The beach - Physically, as nice as you'll find just about anywhere. The palm trees are incredible and they're cleaning it all the time. Lots of activities like volleyball, aerobics, darts, bocce etc...Also, and I don't know if this is for all guests, but we got free access to the non motorized water sports. This mean's that I can now windsurf poorly and operate a catamaran at least passably. How awesome.

The casino - Small and really well run. The blackjack dealers were really fast and on the ball. They were a joy to watch operate if you appreciate that skill! One thing to watch, the dealers sit on soft 17 and don't show blackjacks immediately. My companion cleaned up on the slot machines. I don't think I've ever seen anybody win at slots, but she did!

We went to the floor show at the Palace, it was different and kinda fun, also gave me my title for this review. Missed out on Bavaro Beach show deal till the last night which was a comedy show.

We did use the club premium. I think it was well worth it. Research it on your own, but the late check out and the 7, counte 'em 7 each 10 dollar coupons I got to gamble with was good enough for me, yet there are many other elements, you owe it to yourself to check it out. Oh, and you get a bottle of Ron...Barcelo~

I think this is a great place, I will be happy to return next year and make sure I make it to a Bavaro baseball game.

Room Tip: We had the upgraded room that comes with Club Premium. It is beachside, but I think we got one of t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Fattuna2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nanaimo, BC, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 December 2012

We stay there few days last week in the ocean front room.(Premium area)# 2079 Master suite fairly new.It was very clean two fridge full of drinks and fill everyday. We also have two showers and a jacuzzi in our rear balcony. This hotel is very clean the food excellent we highly reommend it. The Staff is very nice aways ready to help. Check in and check out perfect.

Room Tip: Get the new section
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Daniel R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 December 2012

I don't understand the people's review of The Bavaro Beach Hotel in Punta Cana. What as saved our vacation is that we had access to the Bavaro Palace De luxe. There is no comparaison with the beach. The restaurants are remarquables. Here at the beach it is below normal. Mind you the Golf is great and the beach is awsone and quiet...but we had to suffer Kenny G's chrismass album playing in loop all day: at breakfast, lunch, dinner, stores, rest area, lobby.... One record obly that can get you crazy by playing the same all the time. I know a lot of travel agents are pushing this resort. Hope they find out that this is below everything I experience in Punta Cana.

Room Tip: go to the Bavaro Palace de luxe if you want to come to the Barcelo. It is huge, but everything is a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Jean R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shillington, Pennsylvania, United States
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 December 2012

If you want to sit on a beautiful beach and relax...... this resort is for you! We just got back and had an amazing time. The resort looks just like the photos. The ambiance of this resort is a lot of fun. The grounds and beach are very pretty. I agree that the food is mediocre. But a vacation is what you make of it. We read the previous reviews so we knew the food wasn't good and dealt with it. My goal was to sit on the beach all day anyway not pig out. Since we went during the off season I never had an issue finding a beach chair or waiting in line for a drink. I also liked the fact that you could use the other resort. We went on the paddle boats and used the fitness center. The activities staff were a lot of fun they had yoga, dancing, and volleyball every day on the beach.

Tips

Food- The ambiance of the food is deceiving. Some of the food looks so good but you bite into it and its only ok. Not many flavors to anything. Plus they have a lot of food for the Europeans not Americans. Stick with the basics for example I had waffles or french toast, bacon, eggs, fresh pineapple, and fresh mangos every day for breakfast. Then for lunch I had steamed veggies, fresh fruit, turkey and cheese sandwich, or pizza (one day they had steamed shrimp). For dinner we went to the a la carte restaurants. I stuck with the pasta dishes and didn't have a problem. Also I was worried about the coffee ( I drink starbucks) but they have an espresso machine at the bars:-)

Staff- Like anywhere you go there are people that love their jobs and people that hate their jobs. If I smiled at a staff member and they smiled back I knew they were willing to help. If I smiled at someone and they didnt smile back I did not go back to that person. The activities staff are a lot of fun and the bartenders seemed fine.

Language- The staff speaks Spanish and a little English. But Rum is rum in any language. If you have any issues just ask guest service. They spoke pretty good English and helped us out. Also remember there are more Europeans there than Americans. Lots of Russian and French speaking people.

Beach- There is a dolphin habitat right in front of the beach so there isnt a full clear view of the ocean but still pretty. It looks like there is a floating dock in the middle of the water.

Rooms- Rooms are fine. There are cards around the room explaining what you have to do if you want new sheets or towels. Make sure you read them or you'll never get new towels. Make sure you put the do not disturb sign on the door. We had maids knocking on the door at 7:50 one morning because we forgot. There is a free mini bar full of water, beer, soda, and juice.

Excursions- If you booked an excursion or shuttle at 9:00 make sure you are there 8:40-9:15 right in front. The drivers stop for 5 seconds to jump out of the bus, wave the sign, and jump back in. If you are not there they do not wait for you.

Vendors- There are vendors down the beach. Make sure you check the prices at the hotel gift shop then go to the vendors. They kept telling me that they were cheaper than the hotel and they weren’t.

When I booked this resort it said 4 stars so we did not have 5 star expectations and for the average joe this resort is priced well and is great for couples who don't want to be around kids and want to relax. Never saw anyone get loud and rowdy sooooooo relaxing!

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Tanya N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lubbock, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 December 2012

My wife and another friend couple of ours stayed at Barcelo Bavaro in Punta cana back in August. We spent over $4,000 which was a little over our budget but we thought "what the heck, it'll be nice". We were wrong. The resort is so huge and there's so many people there we ran into all kinds of problems. They didn't explain to us how the dinner situation worked, you have to schedule your whole week of dinners the first day and pray that the resteraunts have the time you prefer or your stuck eating really early or really late. The food was not that great but we kind of expected that going in after reading other reviews. Apparently they had some kind of tropical storm a few weeks before and there was seaweed everywhere and the ocean looked more like a lake than a 5 star beach. The rooms were bad too, we couldn't see the ocean from our "ocean view" suite which we paid extra for because we weren't faceing the ocean. We had to lean over our balcony and look right to catch a glimpse of blue between all the palm trees. Also, the bathrooms are basicaly part of the room itself. They have stalls and you can actually see the person in the shower or on the toilet...we went with another couple so obviosuly we couldn't hang out in each others rooms cause it was awkward if somebody had to go. Our room wa very far away from everything and it literally got exhausting walking back and forth from our room to the beach or to dinner or whatever. The service wasn't great, we know how to travel and usually if you tip the staff pretty good early they will treat you a little better and keep an eye on you. Not the case here, I tipped our bartender at the adult pool with our favorite bar $20 the first day and he could have cared less. The drinks or watered down and took forever. The buffet was by the worse and good like trying to get a refill of water during dinner. I would give this place a 3 out of 10. We've stayed at places 10 times better for half the price. You always meet fun people on vacation and the general concensus was the same, this place, while grand and nice looking from the lobby, was trash. I def recommend staying somewhere else in Punta Cana.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank cadechastain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tarporley
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 December 2012

Having visited DomRep three times before I thought it would make the ideal venue for a sunshine and golfing holiday with my wife, golfing chum and his wife. With the help of my friendly Travel Counsellor Sue Verrall we researched numerous hotels seeking an all-inclusive, adults only, five star resort that included golf. After several weeks we all agreed that the Barcelo Bavaro Beach Adults only section Club Premium option fitted our requirements. We booked our flights with Thomson separately and upgraded to Economy Plus and reserved our booking at the hotel via our credit card. As all this had taken place earlier in the year we entitled to a 20% discount, which was very nice, additionally we did not have to pay for the hotel until we arrived. The actual two week holiday was taken between 26/11/12 and 10/12/12 On first seeing this venue you will now believe how huge it is. It must stretch for over half a mile. The adults only section is basic in the extreme. Whilst the pool and the beach are outstanding the buffet restaurant the bar and seating areas are all open. The only enclosed area to sit and have a drink the restricted Club Premium Lounge. As part of the Club Premium package we were allocated ocean front rooms. The view was amazing and the rooms had had partial renovation - flat screen tv coffee machine fridge hair dryer and large comfy beds. BUT the bathrooms clearly had not enjoyed to same refurb they are very tired and 3 star at best. Through the very helpful staff in the Club Premium reception we were able to book all the restaurants that we need at no extra cost. The French and the Gourmet are far and away the best with the Japanese 'show cooking' and the Spanish close behind. The Golf Club was also excellent for breakfast, lunch and evening meal with waitress service all day. The Italian and the Steakhouse were very disappointing The seafood was just OK only. All of them served a variety of wines none particularly good. The bars and lounges in Deluxe section of the Hotel are far superior to the adult bit and as this is where most of the restaurants are at least you can sit on comfort and enjoy good quality premium drinks like Bombay Sapphire gin. The regular road train is ideal to get around the site and the gardens are impressive. Whilst we were there they turned on the Christmas lights - each tree is wrapped in them, there must be millions!
We played golf seven times but did have some difficulty getting any time to play between 9am and 12.30pm nobody could or would not explain why. The course was good and a good challenge for me and my golfing pal. Strangely for a hotel of this standard all of us suffered upset tummies with my golfing partner hit the worst for four days. The staff and their service can be very hit and miss with their language being very limited. The good ones were very good the rest were poor.
Additionally if you are considering going be aware that our 'friends' from Eastern Europe have clearly discovered the great value that this Island represents. We have all travelled extensively and I have never come across such gross bad behaviour, ignorance and sheer greed as we witnessed on this trip. All in all rather disappointed with the general standard of this part of the complex, I am sure we would have had a better trip staying in the De Luxe section on the Club Premium basis of even the accommodation that is attached to the Golf Club House.

Room Tip: The Ocean view rooms have fabulous views but be careful which part you select. As I have said in my...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank SquireCheshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Punta Cana hotels
14.0 mi away
Alsol Del Mar
Alsol Del Mar
#45 of 112 in Punta Cana
968 reviews
1.1 mi away
Secrets Royal Beach Punta Cana
11.5 mi away
AlSol Tiara Cap Cana
AlSol Tiara Cap Cana
#22 of 112 in Punta Cana
1,841 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Barcelo Bavaro Palace
0.7 mi away
Melia Caribe Tropical
11.3 mi away
Alsol Luxury Village
Alsol Luxury Village
#87 of 112 in Punta Cana
3,381 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Barcelo Bavaro Beach - Adults Only? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barcelo Bavaro Beach - Adults Only

Property: Barcelo Bavaro Beach - Adults Only
Address: Carretera Bavaro Km. 1, Punta Cana 23301, Dominican Republic
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > La Altagracia Province > Punta Cana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#16 Casino Hotel in Punta Cana
#20 Spa Hotel in Punta Cana
#20 Top resorts Hotel in Punta Cana
#22 On the Beach Hotel in Punta Cana
#23 Luxury Hotel in Punta Cana
#25 Romantic Hotel in Punta Cana
#30 Family Hotel in Punta Cana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Barcelo Bavaro Beach - Adults Only 4*
Number of rooms: 589
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Barcelo Bavaro Beach - Adults Only*****hotel is located on one of the 10 best beaches in the world, in the Punta Cana area of the Dominican Republic. This dreamy hotel has reinvented itself after a complete renovation to become an exclusive hotel for adults only. The hotel offers first class rooms 80% of which are located right on the beachfront. This makes it the most perfect place for a romantic getaway. Enjoy the exquisite range of cuisine on offer at the hotel through the Barcelo All Inclusive Programme with its Caribbean Buffet, Chez Gourmet and La Brisa restaurants; 9 a-la-carte restaurant options: Chez Gourmet (international), La Brisa (Mediterranean), El Coral (fish and seafood), Santa Fe (meat), La Dolce Vita (Italian), Mexico Lindo (Mexican), La Fuente (Spanish), Kyoto (Japanese) and La Comedie (Gourmet - additional charge except for Club Premium guests). Visit the facilities where you can find different options to fill your days: football pitch, tennis court, swimming pool, golf course, water sports, wellness centre, theatre and casino. This exclusive resort set on a virgin beach welcomes you with a cocktail, spoils you with drinks by the pool and offers you a 45 minute hydrothermal circuit, per person once during your stay. There are also 2 massage beds in the pool area (at an additional charge). Staying at this hotel also grants guests access to the facilities of the Barcelo Bavaro Palace Deluxe, a hotel which shares some of its services and facilities. This hotel is one of the very few in the country that boasts the international BLUE FLAG for compliance with the standards required by the non-profit non-governmental organisation the Foundation for Environmental Education (FEE). Come and rediscover the marvels the Barcelo Bavaro Beach - Adults Only***** hotel has to offer! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Barcelo, Cancelon, Ebookers and getaroom.com so you can book your Barcelo Bavaro Beach - Adults Only reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barcelo Bavaro Beach Hotel
Barcelo Bavaro Punta Cana
Barcelo Bavaro Beach Punta Cana
Bavaro Beach Hotel
Bavaro Beach Resort
Barcelo Punta Cana Resort
Barcelo Bavaro Beach Resort Punta Cana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing