We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A good Starter Vacation.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Barcelo Bavaro Beach - Adults Only
Ranked #26 of 110 Hotels in Punta Cana
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Souderton, Pennsylvania, United States
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“A good Starter Vacation.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 March 2013

Review of Barceló, Bávaro Beach, Punta Cana
(So-So, though, and a bottle of Rum)

The good, the bad, the indifferent. So, you’re planning a vacation. And you’re looking at reviews, trying to sort out the raves from the wrecks, and deciding which ones are just useless venom.
We are not great world travelers. Our recent trip to Barceló Bávaro Beach marks our second vacation out of the country ever, and our first time in Punta Cana. Also, this was only our second luxury beach resort experience. And we have to save our pennies all year to do it. So, we are not jaded globetrotters, nor are we upper echelon executives accustomed to having our every need met speedily. We came to Barceló with unrehearsed expectations, and brought our wide-eyed optimism with us. We were very ready to be as enthralled as we were by our trip to Riviera Maya last year. Perhaps you are like us, and trying to squeeze every bit of vacation out of your hard earned dollars. If so, read on.
We booked this 6 night vacation on Cyber Monday, and got a really superior deal on the rooms; so much so that we were able add an extra day, upgrade to the Premium Club with an ocean-view room and stay under budget. Premium Club guests get their own check in, check out and concierge service, which is very nice, very classy, and comes with a glass of champagne when you arrive. Good stuff! More on the Premium Club later.
We can only compare this resort to the experience we had at Riviera Maya last year, so I apologize if this is not apples to apples. The first thing we noticed, though at first we tried to shrug it off, was the language barrier. Now, before you judge, believe me, we actually enjoy being in another culture, and learning new things, in other languages. But it needs to be a two way dialogue. There were definitely some shining stars at Barceló who smiled, spoke English (and French) quite well, and worked hard to resolve conflicts, answer questions, and provide excellent service. But when we hit the main areas, we encountered a pesky number of front line employees who didn’t understand simple requests, and really didn’t make an effort to work through the communication gap. They’d shrug and walk away. At first we thought they were going to get someone who spoke English, but no one ever came and we were left with a question unanswered, or a conflict unresolved. For example, after dinner at one of the resort’s restaurants, a waiter offered us coffee, and brought it to us. (By the way, Dominican coffee is just wonderful!) We asked for cream and sugar. He shrugged and shook his head. We said “milk and sugar?” Still nothing. We tried charades, miming stirring things into our coffee. He nodded and left. And never returned. Certainly, this was not the first time a waiter ever heard the English words “milk” and “sugar” after serving coffee. Same thing at the buffet omelet station. The cook at the stovetop had only 6 ingredients from which to craft a custom omelet. I said “Bacon, cheese, tomatoes, por favor.” He shook his head and started pointing at the containers until I nodded at the correct ones. A small thing, I know, but there are only 6 things there, and certainly, he would have heard the word “bacon” a few times before I got there, one would think. Do yourself a favor, learn the words “leche” and “azucar” if you like milk and sugar.
There were several small things like this, and one bigger thing that, after a while, we just kept letting slide because trying to resolve them was more frustrating than the conflicts themselves. They seem very small, but after 4 or 5 each day, you have to choose to take a deep cleansing breath and let them go for the sake of tranquility, or you can choose to gnash your teeth all day long. Neither choice is really why we go on vacation at a resort. I work 359 days a year resolving other people’s problems. For these 6 days, I want someone to take care of all of mine. And, we really demand very little. Understand, there were many individuals who would ask “How is everything?”; “How was your meal?” or “Did you enjoy your stay?” But how do you communicate nuances like these when you couldn’t even communicate “bacon and tomato”?
“Everything was great, thank you.”
Our room was clean, tidy, but uninspired. Except for the outstanding ocean view from our 2nd floor balcony, we’d have spent very little time in it. The king sized bed was very comfortable, as were the pillows, which is no small thing. There’s a huge flat screen TV in the room, but the available programming was mostly in Spanish, and the really interesting channels cost extra. No TV for us. Just as well, what with the gorgeous ocean view out on the balcony. The bathroom is very small, and the shower is not in any way conducive for two very friendly people who like to conserve water and, well, conserve water. Ahem. Housekeeping is efficient, does a very nice job of staying on top of things, but does seem to be omnipresent. There always seemed to be a cart within 4 doors of us anytime we came or went. Just wondering if the facility is too big for the staff. The facility IS big, and set up like long flat apartment buildings, making maximum use of “ocean view” rooms, but losing something in architectural charm in the process. The grounds are well groomed; green and colorful, but not lush. There were a lot of very pretty areas at night created with water and lights that made for lovely evening strolls after sunset. Our Premium Club room came with a complementary bottle of Ron Barceló Rum (which was very good, though hard to mix with the fruit juice they kept stocked in the complimentary mini-fridge. Juice boxes are hard to pour in a tumbler). We also got a plate of fruit, which we didn’t eat, only because the buffet restaurants kept us pushing our belts out most of the time. After day two, we realized the faintly urine-like smell in our room was not my sneakers, but one of the pieces of fruit. A small yellow thing that I didn’t identify. We put the plate on the balcony. One conflict solved.
The weather was warm, but windy. We went in mid-March. Our room was right up on the beach, so we could walk out onto the sand in 45 seconds. This was ideal, and the beach chairs were plentiful, comfortable, and located under lots of palm trees so you could choose shade, sun, or filtered sun if you liked. Bávaro Beach is “among the top 10 beaches in the world”, they say, and again, not being a world traveler, I was not sure what puts it in the top ten. The sand is beautiful, very fine, with a reddish tint to it. The surf is shallow and you can wade out for a very long way before your feet leave the bottom. As windy as it was, the sand never lifted off and blew around. All that being said, there was a great abundance of sea grass in the surf, hugging the shoreline in dense floating masses, and washed up on the beach in row after row from the night’s higher tide. The hotel crew cleaned it up, but they didn’t get to it all right away, and their efforts to clean it could be a bit obtrusive at times. Trucks and rakes and wheelbarrows. They worked hard, and credit is due for their efforts. Just not sure what puts this beach in the “top ten”.
The first three days we were there, there were non-stop party boats starting at sunrise, it seemed. Party boats are large flat boats, double-deckers dressed up like a pirate ship, or a schooner, that cram people on board, play loud (really, really loud) thumping music, serve booze and try to get the crowd onboard as rowdy and enthusiastic as they can while they criss-cross the area about 25 feet from the shore directly in front of the hotels along the beach. And as they passed our beach, they seemed to double their efforts to get their customers to scream and shout and dance to the music, as if to show us what a great time we could be having if only we would sign up and pay their fee. What they actually did, for us, was ruin the ocean view, destroy the natural sound of surf and wind in the palms, and make it impossible to take a nap in our room before dinner and a show later on.
After three days, we were granted a pardon, but at a price. The higher winds and aggressive surf that prevailed for the rest of our stay kept the party boats at bay (pun intended) but resulted in the cancellation of the snorkeling trip we’d booked earlier. We never did get to snorkel. But we did finally get to nap. So, there’s that.
We booked two excursions directly through Barceló. There are two other companies that sit in the same room with the Barceló agent, so make sure you know who you’re sitting down with. The Barceló agent will also arrange your departure transfer back to the airport. We enjoyed our time with the two agents we met with there. Both spoke decent English, both had personally been on the excursions we planned, and both showed genuine interest in our trips, asking us to come back and tell them what we thought. We took little dune buggies out in the brush, stopping at a secluded beach area that was crystal blue, clean, devoid of sea grass (maybe that’s the top ten spot), and then to a spectacular cave with a 31 foot deep pool in it. I recommend the Adventure Buggy (they call them “Boogies”) excursion. When the snorkeling was 86’d, we quickly booked a zip-line tour. Same park as the buggies, but different crew, and we had an absolute blast. Everyone there spoke English, laughed with us, joked with each other (and not in that way that makes you think they’re laughing at you in Spanish, you know?) and made the whole experience relaxing and fun. Well, as relaxing as hanging over a rocky chasm on a 1200 foot long cable by a couple of nylon straps can be. If you go on the excursions, bring $50 American. Trust me. You can say you won’t want the photos and the video they take of you along the way, but they do a really top notch job of editing it all together, and really capturing the highlights of your trip. You’re going to want the CD. And if you don’t have the money, the driver who returns you to your hotel will wait for you to run to your room to get it, but that’s a long run, and you will return to a bus full of unhappy people who want to get back to their hotels too. Bring the $50.

There’s a weird “reservations only” thing at this resort that was cumbersome to say the least. Between this Adults Only resort, and the sister Family Resort (the Palace Deluxe, right next door, where most of the amenities seem to be) there are 9 restaurants. Except for the buffet restaurants, you need to make a reservation at least 2 days ahead to get a decent dinner seating. At least three of our reservations were only available to us because someone else had cancelled. But when you get there, the place is 1/3 full. And we took our time, sat and watched for a while, but the empty tables never filled up. One night we swung by a place that was all but deserted, in the hopes of getting a simple cup of coffee, maybe even milk and sugar. They turned us away saying “reservation only”. Again, a conflict it was just easier to ignore, than to attempt an argument in two different languages. Another thing you’ll encounter is, there’s a lot they don’t tell you. For instance, at every restaurant, we were seated, and presented with a wine list. The wine on this list is additional to any “inclusive” amenities for which you’ve already paid. A lot additional. What they don’t mention unless you know to ask is, you can order house wine, or beer, or a mixed drink from the bar, and those ARE included. But if you don’t know that, they don’t offer the information. On our second to last day there, we decided we’d like to take out one of the “included” catamaran sailboats. Except what we didn’t know was, it costs $50 for a lesson, and you have to book at least one day in advance. That would have been good to know before we were almost leaving. So, we didn’t get to take advantage of the complementary sail boats.
As Premium Club guests(which is the only way to get an ocean view room) one of the upgraded amenities we were offered was a free 20 minute massage, per person. We tried to book this with the masseuse whom we saw every day, almost always sitting idly by the pool next to her massage table. She shook her head and sent us to the Premium club front desk to make a proper reservation. Our concierge made a phone call, and told us we had a spot, both of us, for 11am. We showed up at 11am, and the same masseuse, alone and decidedly surly now, shook her head again. We told her we did, in fact, have a reservation now. She marched to the office, and returned to tell us she’d massage one of us, then the other which, of course, was not what we’d wanted when we booked a double session, side by side. Another conflict we walked away from, perhaps wisely, as a rub down from an angry masseuse did not sound at all relaxing. We never went back.
The pool on the Adults Only side is functional, clean and refreshing (read: cold!). It’s kinda small, and in our 6 days there, we saw maybe ten people in it. There’s very little real estate around it and so, not many lounge chairs. No, you won’t get one. The pool chair prospectors come out at night while the sea grass is storming the beach, and plant yellow towels on all the chairs, claiming them in the name of France. And speaking of France, since you are reading this, I assume you speak English. You will be in the minority. The staff and many guests speak Spanish, the other 40% of the guests speak French, German, or another European language and we’re the odd men out. Any announcements or instructions are given in three languages; Spanish, then English, then French, one right after the other. By the time you realize you’re hearing English, you missed it, and they’re on to French. You have to admire the people who speak all three fluently, though. It’s quite a talent. The real pool action is on the Palace Deluxe side. It’s huge, and beautiful, and full of families and children. Lots and lots of children. Be my guest. We’ll be on the Bávaro Beach, in our beach chairs, waving at the pirate ships full of piña colada drinking tourists trying to learn the Danza Kuduro (google it). And it seemed anywhere there were two or more seats gathered; there was someone there ready to go get you a drink (except on the beach). Otherwise, no matter where you plopped your butt down within the resort, there was a waiter or waitress asking if you’d like a drink. Now, THAT’S what I’m talking about.
Ultimately, we spent 6 days facing the ocean in Punta Cana. We ate, we drank, we did have some wonderful experiences, and met some very nice Dominicans. We came in within budget. The food was good, not exceptional, but good and plentiful. The resort was not crowed, in fact, at many of the shows offered at both resorts, it was painful to turn around in our seats to see how empty the houses were. We assumed they were all out claiming pool chairs for the next day.
See the Michael Jackson Show. See the magic show. Drink the all-inclusive drinks, and insist they be made “con mucho Barceló Rum, por favor!” Try a shot of mama juana. I insist. Go to La Dolce Vita, the Italian restaurant on an empty stomach. Wear an elastic waistband. Don’t look for any wildlife, there isn’t any. We saw a ghost fiddler crab standing under a walkway light one night, and you’d have thought we’d seen a unicorn, we were so excited to see any local fauna. Learn to say “Gracias!” fluently and sincerely. Bring about $150 in ones and fives, and never leave your room without some of each in your pocket. Tip lightly, but constantly. Put it in your trip budget.
If you want to get somewhere tropical, exotic and beautiful at a great price, and don’t have too many stamps in your passport yet; if you want to live for a week without cooking, cleaning, or paying for drinks - give Barceló Bávaro Beach a shot. It has a good beat, and we could dance to it. We give it a 7.5.
Cameron and Doreen, Pennsylvania, USA

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
16 Thank Sarcasm3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Director Samuel J, General Manager at Barcelo Bavaro Beach - Adults Only, responded to this review, 21 March 2013
Dear guest,
We thank you for choosing Barceló Bávaro Beach for your holidays and for sharing your experience with the online community and give us your feedback.
In relation to language, this country is in Spanish, but in our resort we have different department where employees are multilingual as: English, French, German and Russian. These departments are Reception, Guest services, Club Premium and Supervisor at restaurants and bars.
With regards to your comment about the noises at the beach unfortunately it’s something that is out of our hands once the beach is public not private.
we would like to thank you for taking the time to bring your observations to our attention since, it is through communications of this nature that we are given an opportunity to assess and evaluate our performance, as well as to ensure that we maintain and deliver the level of service expected from us.
We hope to give us the opportunity to provide the care and quality you deserve at a future visit. We remain at your entire disposition for any assistance you might need before your visit.
As with any business like ours, the greatest advertising we can have is word of mouth from a satisfied customer. It’s our goal to retain you as a satisfied customer and will hope to serve you again in the future.
Warm regards,
Samuel Johnson
Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

7,097 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    4,364
    1,852
    572
    192
    117
See reviews for
778
3,858
252
134
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,337)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Eau Claire, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 March 2013

This resort was very large, well maintained, and we felt very safe. The taxi ride to the hotel was very safe and easy for $28 (for up to 4 people). Just go to the taxi signs in the airport and they will hook you up with a cab. We had booked a room at the Bavaro Barcelo Beach (Adults Only) because you can also access their sister resort Bavaro Barcelo Palace at any time. The adult side is nice and relaxing. The beach isn't loud and it is very clean. The beach was my favorite on the adult side. The Palace side (the sister resort) has a huge mall full of restaurants and stores. The Palace also has multiple pools including a swim up bar pool. We prefered the Palace for activities and shopping, but the Beach side (adults side) for relaxing and laying on the beach. The food was good at the buffets because of the variety (average buffet quality). The restaurants were good. Our favorite was Chez Gourmet. It was not only the best service that we had (we had a lot of great service), it was also the best food! As everyone else states, it is a good idea to go directly to the reservation/member service desk to schedule your dinner times at the multiple restaurant choices (both Palace & Beach) when you get to the resort. We would also suggest (and spent a lot of nights there) the Coffee and Cigar bar. It has amazing drinks (coffee) and the cigars can be purchased outside the Coffee and Cigar bar (no haggling the cigars...we tried). The couple that we were with are now converted coffee drinkers because of the delicious drinks that they had there. There are multiple gift shops at the Palace and one at the Beach resort. Just remember that you can charge it to your room or use a credit card only (as I can remember). The people/staff are what made this trip amazing. They were always accomodating and very friendly. That is what I miss the most other than the sun....the customer service! There was a language barrier, but unless you have to say something really confusing, you will be fine. This would never be my complaint because I am in their country not the US. It is all part of the experience! If you like all-inclusives, then you will love this resort. Oh, and before I forget.....definitely bring your large travel mug for drinks on the beach. Everyone has one, and there is a good reason for it (less time spent getting drinks and more time to drink them).

Room Tip: We didn't splurge for the ocean room. We were barely in our room other than to sleep and get rea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank beangirl99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Director Samuel J, General Manager at Barcelo Bavaro Beach - Adults Only, responded to this review, 21 March 2013
Dear guest,
We thank you for choosing Barceló Bávaro Beach for your holidays and for sharing your experience with the online community and give us your feedback.
We appreciate all your nice comments regarding to our resort. We are very pleased to know you enjoyed all services especially enjoy the facilities of both in the same complex.
We remain at your entire disposition for any assistance you might need before your visit.

As with any business like ours, the greatest advertising we can have is word of mouth from a satisfied customer. It’s our goal to retain you as a satisfied customer and will hope to serve you again in the future.
Warm regards,
Samuel Johnson
Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Halifax, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 March 2013

This is my 7th trip to this resort, they did a huge renovation 3 years ago which has made it even better. We stayed at the Adult section, which is quiet. If you want some "action" it's a short walk or train ride to the Palace. We ate at 5 a la carte's two French, Mexican, Italian and Japanese. They were all amazing.

The rooms are very clean and it's a close walk to beach and pool. The golf course is very nice with lots of sand and some water. Very fun to play.

I honestly do not understand the negative reviews that I have read about this resort.

I will be going on trip number 8 there next year.

Room Tip: Building 1 or 2 are very close to everything.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 2002Oliver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Director Samuel J, General Manager at Barcelo Bavaro Beach - Adults Only, responded to this review, 21 March 2013
Dear guest,
We thank you for choosing Barceló Bávaro Beach for your holidays and for sharing your experience with the online community and give us your feedback.
We appreciate all your wonderful comments regarding to our resort. We are very pleased to know you enjoyed all services. Once again thank you for choosing us for so many years as a destination for your holiday.
We remain at your entire disposition for any assistance you might need before your visit.

As with any business like ours, the greatest advertising we can have is word of mouth from a satisfied customer. It’s our goal to retain you as a satisfied customer and will hope to serve you again in the future.
Warm regards,
Samuel Johnson
Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lausanne
Level Contributor
70 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 March 2013

We booked the adults only section. No screaming children there.
The second floor room was spacious and clean and we had a lovely balcony with an ocean view ( from a distance).
Try to get a top floor room as we had to move after 4 days because of day and night *heavy walking* (...) people above us.
Staff made no problem for the change of room.

Beach: Lovely BUT there is so much noise on the beach; from disco and heavy metal *music* and: imagine the beach is 3 kilometers long and unless you went to the most southern part of that beach you were constantly bothered by that *music*and it was so loud you could not hear the waves and neither the beautiful and plenty full palm tree leaves!
I found that a big irritation.

Restaurants: we booked premium and could go to all the restaurants (12....) on the premises. This was included in the *all inclusive* and totally worthwhile!
Good food, beautiful restaurants, very kind and good staff. The only thing you pay is the wine
(about 40 USD for a good bottle of red wine).
The *all inclusive* restaurant was OK for lunch but it tasted to me all a bit of the same.( this is of course a very personnel opinion).

Staff: all over the place kind and respectful staff speaking a not too bad English and/or French.
We had a quick check-in and out and were accompanied to our room.

Grounds: very well maintained. Beautiful palm trees all over the place. Beach is cleaned regularly also.

Would I return: No; I would not return because of the beach noise issue and that is something you can not influence because the noise came ànd from the hotel fitness and aqua sport (or whatever the names may be) and also from the beach tents close to the hotel.
I mean if you come here for a little peace and quiet you are in the wrong place.

The Palace was fantastic; fountains, beautiful sitting area's, shops by the dozen( very expensive not to say outrageous).
I also found the wellness area very beautiful but the treatment prices.....even Switzerland is cheaper let me tell you that.

Overall we had a nice holiday but as I already said this was not our place to be.

Room Tip: Ask for a top floor room and if you do not want to be bothered by screaming children then book the a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sullaneza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Director Samuel J, General Manager at Barcelo Bavaro Beach - Adults Only, responded to this review, 21 March 2013
Dear guest,
We thank you for choosing Barceló Bávaro Beach for your holidays and for sharing your experience with the online community and give us your feedback.
Thank you very much for all your nice comments regarding to our resort. We are very pleased to know you enjoyed all services. With regards to your comment about the noises at the beach unfortunately it’s something that is out of our hands once the beach is public not private.
We hope to give us the opportunity to provide the care and quality you deserve at a future visit.
We remain at your entire disposition for any assistance you might need before your visit.

As with any business like ours, the greatest advertising we can have is word of mouth from a satisfied customer. It’s our goal to retain you as a satisfied customer and will hope to serve you again in the future.
Warm regards,
Samuel Johnson
Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 March 2013

This hotel is within a a complex that contains a Conference Center, this Adults Only facility, the Palace Deluxe for families, and the Lakes, with rooms overlooking the golf course. My husband and I have traveled consistently for over 30 years. Cruise, resorts, road trips etc. We like to try new resorts each year. This is the first time we have gone to the same resort twice. That alone says it all! Lol. The adult side is a little less frenzied, without children's screams of joy at play. I love kids but not when my hubby and just want to relax by the pool .
The beach here is white, soft and goes on forever. The water clear and cool. Wildlife abounds, even to a male peacock ad his six females! They wander the grounds and often come up to the patios to be fed a tidbit.
The service and food is accessional and as we travel Air Transat our flights uneventful. ( something you want).
The golf? Well that's up to the player isn't it. The terrain can be roug on balls but a novice to a pro can enjoy the experience. There is a returant (all included) and they will hold your clubs at no care. Yep all is right here at the bavaro beach.resort. All inclusive s the way to go.

Room Tip: Really you don't need an ocean view. You are only in your room usually to sleep but if you like...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mado623
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Director Samuel J, General Manager at Barcelo Bavaro Beach - Adults Only, responded to this review, 21 March 2013
Dear guest,
We thank you for choosing Barceló Bávaro Beach for your holidays and for sharing your experience with the online community and give us your feedback.
Thank you very much for all your nice comments regarding to our resort. We are very pleased to know you enjoyed all services especially our amazing beach and wildlife, about the golf, if you’re a good player, you can enjoy the view just because of how relaxing it is to be there.
We remain at your entire disposition for any assistance you might need before your visit.
As with any business like ours, the greatest advertising we can have is word of mouth from a satisfied customer. It’s our goal to retain you as a satisfied customer and will hope to serve you again in the future.
Warm regards,
Samuel Johnson
Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westfield, NJ
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 March 2013

We booked the hotel through Expedia. Make sure you also book the transfers to and from the hotel and airport through Expedia as well. They use a company in the DR called BLU. Be aware that when you arrive at the airport only deal with the people in t-shirts that have the BLU logo. Many others are scams. The hotel complex was large, well run and right on one of the best beaches in the Dominican Republic. The pools are gorgeous. The food is very good. The service is good and courteous. The entertainment ranged from good to poor according to the night. Overall an enjoyable vacation.

Room Tip: Rooms designated as ocean view are NOT on the beach. Those are oceanfront. But you spend so little t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gdiablo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Director Samuel J, General Manager at Barcelo Bavaro Beach - Adults Only, responded to this review, 21 March 2013
Dear guest,
We thank you for choosing Barceló Bávaro Beach for your holidays and for sharing your experience with the online community and give us your feedback.
Thank you very much for all your comments regarding to our resort. We are very pleased to know you enjoyed all services. With regards to your comments about the entertainment here we have different shows every night in our theater also you can see the different shows every nights at the theater at Palace Deluxe. Our animation staff has a comprehensive program of activities during the day with different times. As a matter fact the activities are: guessing game, beach volleyball, boccia ball, horse shoes, dance lessons, beach soccer, crazy game, besides other.
We remain at your entire disposition for any assistance you might need before your visit.
As with any business like ours, the greatest advertising we can have is word of mouth from a satisfied customer. It’s our goal to retain you as a satisfied customer and will hope to serve you again in the future.
Warm regards,
Samuel Johnson
Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
140 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 260 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 March 2013

The ride from the airport is only 15 minutes. Check in was handled professionally and quick. Our room wasn't ready so we changed into our swim attire and headed to the buffet for lunch.

We were in building 1 room 1021 that is an ocean view room. However we could only see tip of the ocean as we looked to our left. Our room faced the bar right beside the pool. At first we thought that this was a negative as we like to sit on the lounge chairs in our garden area and the first day it was very noisy and the next morning someone stole our chairs for the pool. The gardener replaced our chairs and each morning we put towels on them to show they were occupied. Since there were never any chairs after 7am at the pool we found that our location was perfect as we like to be near the pool and the bar in the afternoon.

Rooms are exactly like the pictures on line. There is a large flat screen tv, small fridge filled daily with snacks, beer, juice, water and pop. The maid service was excellent. I love the bedding and duvets as I hate bed spreads at hotels.

I preferred the food at the buffet. There was always lots of fruit to choose from, cheeses and freshly made pasta of your choice. Breakfast had a chef preparing eggs, there was a station for pancakes waffles etc. Most lunches and dinner I had shrimp or lobster. We booked our a la cartes the first day we arrived. We were entitled to 5 but only went to 3. The gourmet was the best both in quality of food and service. I like Brisas last year but found the food and service lacking this time. The Italian we arrived at 9:30pm as per our reservation and were told to go away and come back. I felt sorry for the staff as they were very busy rushed and trying hard. The food was not very good.

There is a daily evening show which we didn't watch.

Great beach ...lots of chairs at any time of the day. It is a long and wide beach with soft sand. The ocean is aqua coloured and easy to access. The swim area is roped in as there are boats and party boats going past. The party boats do crank up the music as they go by the resorts....marketing. It is a noisy beach because of this but I did not find it offensive...part of the experience.

The pool is not large and should have a lot more chairs as there is space for them.

The staff at the bars work hard and they did serve some premium liquor. At BBB the staff's English was adequate but I found at the Palace when I ordered a dry gin martini that I was served a gin and tonic. I only went to the Palace once. My husband used the gym daily at the palace.
I also liked they served popcorn at the lobby bar.

I really like this resort and I will return

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank traveller666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Director Samuel J, General Manager at Barcelo Bavaro Beach - Adults Only, responded to this review, 21 March 2013
Dear guest,
We thank you for choosing Barceló Bávaro Beach for your holidays and for sharing your experience with the online community and give us your feedback.
Thank you very much for all your wonderful comments regarding to our resort. We are very pleased to know you enjoyed all services including our amazing beach. With regards to your comment about the noises at the beach unfortunately it’s something that is out of our hands once the beach is public not private.
Thanks for choosing us as a destination for you stay, as is your second time at our resort I hope to see a third.
We remain at your entire disposition for any assistance you might need before your visit.
As with any business like ours, the greatest advertising we can have is word of mouth from a satisfied customer. It’s our goal to retain you as a satisfied customer and will hope to serve you again in the future.
Warm regards,
Samuel Johnson
Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Punta Cana hotels
0.4 mi away
Barcelo Bavaro Palace
6.3 mi away
Majestic Colonial Punta Cana
6.2 mi away
Majestic Elegance Punta Cana
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
The Royal Suites Turquesa by Palladium
3.5 mi away
The Reserve at Paradisus Punta Cana
3.9 mi away
Catalonia Royal Bavaro
Catalonia Royal Bavaro
#44 of 110 in Punta Cana
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,327 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Barcelo Bavaro Beach - Adults Only? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barcelo Bavaro Beach - Adults Only

Property: Barcelo Bavaro Beach - Adults Only
Address: Carretera Bavaro Km. 1, Punta Cana 23301, Dominican Republic
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > La Altagracia Province > Punta Cana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#18 Casino Hotel in Punta Cana
#22 Top resorts Hotel in Punta Cana
#23 Spa Hotel in Punta Cana
#24 On the Beach Hotel in Punta Cana
#25 Romantic Hotel in Punta Cana
#26 Luxury Hotel in Punta Cana
#30 Family Hotel in Punta Cana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Barcelo Bavaro Beach - Adults Only 4*
Number of rooms: 589
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Barcelo Bavaro Beach - Adults Only*****hotel is located on one of the 10 best beaches in the world, in the Punta Cana area of the Dominican Republic. This dreamy hotel has reinvented itself after a complete renovation to become an exclusive hotel for adults only. The hotel offers first class rooms 80% of which are located right on the beachfront. This makes it the most perfect place for a romantic getaway. Enjoy the exquisite range of cuisine on offer at the hotel through the Barcelo All Inclusive Programme with its Caribbean Buffet, Chez Gourmet and La Brisa restaurants; 9 a-la-carte restaurant options: Chez Gourmet (international), La Brisa (Mediterranean), El Coral (fish and seafood), Santa Fe (meat), La Dolce Vita (Italian), Mexico Lindo (Mexican), La Fuente (Spanish), Kyoto (Japanese) and La Comedie (Gourmet - additional charge except for Club Premium guests). Visit the facilities where you can find different options to fill your days: football pitch, tennis court, swimming pool, golf course, water sports, wellness centre, theatre and casino. This exclusive resort set on a virgin beach welcomes you with a cocktail, spoils you with drinks by the pool and offers you a 45 minute hydrothermal circuit, per person once during your stay. There are also 2 massage beds in the pool area (at an additional charge). Staying at this hotel also grants guests access to the facilities of the Barcelo Bavaro Palace Deluxe, a hotel which shares some of its services and facilities. This hotel is one of the very few in the country that boasts the international BLUE FLAG for compliance with the standards required by the non-profit non-governmental organisation the Foundation for Environmental Education (FEE). Come and rediscover the marvels the Barcelo Bavaro Beach - Adults Only***** hotel has to offer! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Barcelo, TravelUp, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Travelbag, Holiday Gems and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your Barcelo Bavaro Beach - Adults Only reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barcelo Bavaro Beach Hotel
Barcelo Bavaro Punta Cana
Barcelo Bavaro Beach Punta Cana
Bavaro Beach Hotel
Bavaro Beach Resort
Barcelo Punta Cana Resort
Barcelo Bavaro Beach Resort Punta Cana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing