We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Experience for value”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Barcelo Bavaro Beach - Adults Only
Ranked #27 of 110 Hotels in Punta Cana
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
La Romana, Dominican Republic
Level Contributor
35 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Experience for value”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2014

This hotel is more humungous than you could possibly imagine.

I have stayed numerous times.

It is like three cruise ships on a beach.

I always have to mention, my star rating is for overall experience for the price.

This is a three star hotel that offers four star experience.

They are efficient. They will check you in in about eight minutes, and they are nine minutes from the Punta Cana airport.

The hotel is completely safe for families, especially Americans and Spanish..

Splurge for an upgrade.

Skip the casino.

Beware of the cruise ship food.

But overall, a good bang for the buck for families.

Room Tip: Low floor near the lobby
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HRQuadracci
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Director Sandy P, General Manager at Barcelo Bavaro Beach - Adults Only, responded to this review, 1 August 2014
Dear guest,

First of all we thank you for choosing our hotel Barceló Bavaro Beach for your holidays and for the time you took to share your review with the online community.

I will like to thank you for highlighting out the excellent service of our friendly staff and also for pointing out the beauty of our grounds and our excellent gastronomy.

A very satisfied customer is our main goal, and are so happy to read that have exceeded your expectations overall.

Thank you very much again for your review

Sandy Pfeil
Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

7,100 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    4,366
    1,853
    572
    192
    117
See reviews for
777
3,861
253
134
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,336)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Paris, France
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2014

Barcelo is a great hotel but the one thing you seriously need to do : go to the hotel gym ! It's well taken care of and RAFAEL MORETA is the best coach i've ever seen, his advices are precious, he's awesome !

Room Tip: Prendre une chambre située sur les extremités de l'hotel , les chambres proches de la réception...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brian C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Director Sandy P, General Manager at Barcelo Bavaro Beach - Adults Only, responded to this review, 1 August 2014
Dear guest,

It is such a pleasure for me and the all team at Barceló Bavaro Beach that you chose us, hoping to have you here. We are grateful for all your comments and hope to see you at our hotel and make you feel a true paradise.

Thank you very much for your recommendation!

Best regards,

Sandy Pfeil
Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mississauga
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2014 via mobile

They got a great beach, but not the services in the hotel, such as shop, restaurants, bellboys, the only that i think is ok, is only lobby staff, they are average..., not much review I can said about, cuz I had enough...

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jimmy1012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2014

The beach is awesome & beautiful everything you hear is true. . The resort is is huge but not overwhelming once you get familiar with the layout. I strongly suggest you walk the entire resort and get familiar with it. It only takes 1 time and you will be fine.

Ok let's start with the resort it self. It has 3 resorts in 1. Depending what you are going for and with who your traveling this really matters so listen. I'll give it to you straight. If you are traveling with family as in Wife and kids then the Barcela Bavaro Deluxe and the Barcelo Bavaro family is the best choices for you no question about it.. You will have access to all 3 resorts expect no kids on the adults only side. Witch that's where we stayed.. If you are looking for quite and relaxing time and no kids yelling or being over crowded then Barcelo Bavaro Beach adults only side is the answer for you. No doubt about it. Again you also have access to all the resort it self. There is also a little trolly/train that transport you back and forth for free all day and night.

My wife and are are in early 30's and we love to have fun and be adventures and love to dance. We just came back from a 1 week vacation and this resort is just fine and is worth the price is charges.

Here's the pro's and con's

The family side of the resort is always more busy than the adult side. Also most of the restaurants are in the deluxe side. Big piece of advice as soon as you arrive book your dinner reservations right away cause they get filled up quick and they are strict about it.. I tried all of them and I wont get into it about each one cause it's to much to write. I suggest when you see the menu's just make your decision there based on what you like to eat. Big piece of advice for guys. You have to wear pants. No shorts, tanks or sandals allowed. Remember this cause they will turn you away. Girls can pretty much wear what ever.
The restaurants where to fancy acting and the food description is weird. Stay open minded and just stick to what you know about food and you will be OK. The food is good but not the best I've had. They also have 3 buffets just in case your meal don't satisfy you lol. I usually ate again shortly after. Also there is places called strikers that's open 24hrs for food its a sports bar. Witch i liked to cause when you are drunk and get hungry its right there.. They also have a pretty cool casino at the resort 24hrs open. These 2 places are right across form each other. The dance club is inside the casino as well..The club lay out is great. We enjoyed the casino and the club.

Ok about the buffets. The food is decent nothing wow. After a few days you will have had pretty much tasted everything and its gets old but big variety. The quality is not the best but its all inclusive cant expect quality when they need to provide quantity. I read a lot a lot of reviews about this hotel and just like you reading along on mind i was scared about what they said about getting sick and contracting stomach flues so on and so forth. Well i can honestly tell you that my wife and I did not get sick once. We never had any issues expect getting drunk. We where very scared about getting food poising or anything else for that matter but we didn't. The resort is very clean and there is staff everywhere all the time maintaining it.. One suggestion i do recommend is that don't drink tap water. They have bottle water available everywhere. Don't brush your teeth with the faucet water. I followed that golden rule and i feel that why we didn't get sick.. In your room there is 2 huge water bottles. Use that to brush your teeth.. When you shower keep your eyes closed and water shut..Be careful lol..

Another piece of advice is do the upgrades to Club Premium if you didn't book it already. Its worth every penny. You get the best of everything.. You have your own breakfast area only allowed to premium member's only. Annie is that department is the best.. She catered to us hand on foot to assure we are happy with everything..

The pool are in the adult side in never over crowded and its very well maintained. You always have a drink if you need one. The family side pool has much much more people and they have pools with swim up bar. Adults side don't. Why I have no idea but i didn't see it as a problem. There was servers everywhere always attending us any way.

The rooms at least for us where just fine. Not sure what you are use to or expect but the rooms where just fine to us. The beds are totally comfortable and so are the pillows. They have everything you need in the room to function while you are traveling. They even keep the mini fridge stocked with beer, juices, soda and water. Not super cold but does just fine.. Everyone complained about wash towels or getting room service. Well we didn't have any issues with that. If anything we turned away room service lol.. If you stay in the adult side i suggest you stay in building 1 and 2 to be closer to everything. If you want total seclusion or quite time then stay in buildings 3 and 4. Those are the furthest away. Our room number was 2009 and its perfect. Ocean view and private balcony. Don't over think the rooms to much. Everything is pretty much the same just some require you to walk a bit more but everything is safe.. There is security everywhere.. Not that you even need it cause nobody can just simply walk in or drive in and out of the resort. They are strict.

We left the resort a few times to experience the real people and there atmosphere and it was just fine. At first you will be a little edgy but then you simply let it go. The people are very nice and kind. They are also always willing help. Like i said my wife and i like a bit of adventure and so we did go to out side night clubs and shopping centers. Just have commend sense and you will be fine.. Remember one thing its a poor country and everything in negotiable. It's like that there way of life. But don't be afraid on them. they are super nice culture. I had no problems what so ever.. Also if you speak Spanish its huge plus..

Make sure you take $100 in one dollar bills to hand out as tips here and there. 1 dollar goes along way with them. Its all inclusive but when you tip them they will remember you more and cater even better to you. I did took $100 but only managed to give $60 dollars in tips over all and i was trying to give more but some wont accept it.. Any way you choice there.. Also take a mug with you so you don't have to get a drink every 5 minutes..

Well hope this helps anyone visiting DR. I will definitely be back no doubt about it. We had a excellent experience and we will stay here again.. Just remember relax and have fun and stay open minded. Visited this resort in July 17th through 25th 2014.. Happy travels.

oh last advice if you need wi-fi the hotels wi-fi sucks so dont pay for it.. I hired a private transport to take me to the resort and back so i can make sure i got to my flight on time. Well this company offers a small device that gives you wi-fi and it works amazing. It only cost $30 for 7 days. So if you are the type of person who needs to stay connected then get it.. I hired a company called PuntaCanaNow.

Room Tip: building 1 is the closest to the pool area and you hear more noise. building 2 is closest to the b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank Fernando J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Director Sandy P, General Manager at Barcelo Bavaro Beach - Adults Only, responded to this review, 1 August 2014
Dear guest,

I am thrilled to hear that you had a lovely stay at our Barceló Bavaro Beach Adults Only Resort.

Thank you very much for posting your feedback, particularly regarding the kindness of the staff. They make every effort to create outstanding and unforgettable experiences.

We would like to express you how glad we are to read that your positive valuation about the beauty of our premises, the variety of our gastronomy and the excellent service overall.

Thank you very much again for such a recommendation!

We cannot wait to have you back pretty soon,

Best regards,

Sandy Pfeil
Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2014

The hotel is beautiful and set in amazing manicured grounds where gardeners are constantly working around the clock, the service is second to none from the hotel staff are helpful and informative.
The food is wonderfully displayed and in enclosed areas with air conditioning, the waiting staff pleasant and attentive making sure you have plenty of drinks etc..
The beaches are cleaned every morning and you have an adult only section if you stay here, the families are at there sister hotel The Palace.
As this is an adult only hotel It's so nice to be able to go on the beach and hotel without having children running around you and the staff make sure the families stay in there section too.
We stayed here in June/July the weather was very hot and although we had some rain it was mainly during the night so didn't affect our holiday at all. So please don't worry about the weather in June it's wonderful.
We had no problem communicating with the staff as other guests have mentioned everyone had very good English.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Joanne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Director Sandy P, General Manager at Barcelo Bavaro Beach - Adults Only, responded to this review, 29 July 2014
Dear Guest,

We thank you for choosing Barceló Bávaro Beach for your holidays and for sharing your experience with the online community and give us your feedback.

We greatly pleased that you enjoyed all our services including foreign speaking easily of all our employees.

We remain at your entire disposition for any assistance you might need before your visit.

Cordially,

Sandy Pfeil
Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2014

Perfect location, rooms are awful, food not so nice, custumer service its very good , the price is right, i Came 5 years before and the hotel its completely changed for good the restaurants Well incredible specially the seafood restaurant, but its too difficult to book a reservation, its a Shame

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Caronav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Director Sandy P, General Manager at Barcelo Bavaro Beach - Adults Only, responded to this review, 26 July 2014
Dear guest,

First of all, thank you very much for your visit in Barceló Bavaro Beach and posting this review online.

We appreciate your nice comments and valuation overall. We are very glad to know that you have enjoyed your stay with us and have appreciated our beautiful beach, the accommodation and high quality service in several departments.

On behalf of the Barceló Bavaro Beach team thank you for your visit and we do hope to have you back pretty soon to please you once more.

Regards,

Sandy Pfeil
Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2014

My wife and I spent 5 days at Barceló Bavaro beach in July and I have to say it was one of the best times I've had on vacation EVER! The staff were fantastic (with a special shout out to Anny, Jasmin, Ana H and Indira from the Premium club!) and very courteous. There was loads to do, from pool and beach aerobics to dancing lessons and evening programs, it was an excellent vacation.

I loved the room, it was beachfront and I easily spent a couple hours a day drinking Rum and cokes (thanks for the bottle in the room!!) and reading. The beach itself was beautiful and kept very clean and the water was awesome!

Restaurants were also nice with our favorite 'ambiance' being at La Brisa while our favorite meal was at the Japanese restaurant at the sister resort, a short and pleasant stroll away. Breakfast and lunch in the buffet restaurant was also not bad and again, the staff there were excellent!

All in all, it was a great few days that I wish had lasted longer!

Room Tip: I'd go for the ocean view every time. It's so nice to start and end your day by looking out...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dean F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Director Sandy P, General Manager at Barcelo Bavaro Beach - Adults Only, responded to this review, 26 July 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for choosing us as your holiday destination and sharing your comments with the online community.

It is such a pleasure to know that we exceed your expectation overall. We feel very proud of our property and the team that is committed to provide a high level service in all departments.

We look forward to have you back for another terrific stay!!!

Cordially,

Sandy Pfeil
Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Punta Cana hotels
0.4 mi away
Barcelo Bavaro Palace
6.3 mi away
Majestic Colonial Punta Cana
6.2 mi away
Majestic Elegance Punta Cana
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
The Royal Suites Turquesa by Palladium
3.5 mi away
The Reserve at Paradisus Punta Cana
3.9 mi away
Catalonia Royal Bavaro
Catalonia Royal Bavaro
#44 of 110 in Punta Cana
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,334 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Barcelo Bavaro Beach - Adults Only? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barcelo Bavaro Beach - Adults Only

Property: Barcelo Bavaro Beach - Adults Only
Address: Carretera Bavaro Km. 1, Punta Cana 23301, Dominican Republic
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > La Altagracia Province > Punta Cana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#19 Casino Hotel in Punta Cana
#23 Top resorts Hotel in Punta Cana
#24 Spa Hotel in Punta Cana
#25 On the Beach Hotel in Punta Cana
#25 Romantic Hotel in Punta Cana
#26 Luxury Hotel in Punta Cana
#30 Family Hotel in Punta Cana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Barcelo Bavaro Beach - Adults Only 4*
Number of rooms: 589
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Barcelo Bavaro Beach - Adults Only*****hotel is located on one of the 10 best beaches in the world, in the Punta Cana area of the Dominican Republic. This dreamy hotel has reinvented itself after a complete renovation to become an exclusive hotel for adults only. The hotel offers first class rooms 80% of which are located right on the beachfront. This makes it the most perfect place for a romantic getaway. Enjoy the exquisite range of cuisine on offer at the hotel through the Barcelo All Inclusive Programme with its Caribbean Buffet, Chez Gourmet and La Brisa restaurants; 9 a-la-carte restaurant options: Chez Gourmet (international), La Brisa (Mediterranean), El Coral (fish and seafood), Santa Fe (meat), La Dolce Vita (Italian), Mexico Lindo (Mexican), La Fuente (Spanish), Kyoto (Japanese) and La Comedie (Gourmet - additional charge except for Club Premium guests). Visit the facilities where you can find different options to fill your days: football pitch, tennis court, swimming pool, golf course, water sports, wellness centre, theatre and casino. This exclusive resort set on a virgin beach welcomes you with a cocktail, spoils you with drinks by the pool and offers you a 45 minute hydrothermal circuit, per person once during your stay. There are also 2 massage beds in the pool area (at an additional charge). Staying at this hotel also grants guests access to the facilities of the Barcelo Bavaro Palace Deluxe, a hotel which shares some of its services and facilities. This hotel is one of the very few in the country that boasts the international BLUE FLAG for compliance with the standards required by the non-profit non-governmental organisation the Foundation for Environmental Education (FEE). Come and rediscover the marvels the Barcelo Bavaro Beach - Adults Only***** hotel has to offer! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, TravelUp, Barcelo, Hotels.com, Holiday Gems and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your Barcelo Bavaro Beach - Adults Only reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barcelo Bavaro Beach Hotel
Barcelo Bavaro Punta Cana
Barcelo Bavaro Beach Punta Cana
Bavaro Beach Hotel
Bavaro Beach Resort
Barcelo Punta Cana Resort
Barcelo Bavaro Beach Resort Punta Cana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing