We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Paradise at Paradisus” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Paradisus Punta Cana

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Paradisus Punta Cana
Ranked #21 of 110 Hotels in Punta Cana
GreenLeadersSilver level
Philadelphia, PA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Paradise at Paradisus”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 February 2008

Myy wife and I just got back and it was great. Here is a quick review of our experience.

1. Reserve Section
Try to get in "reserve" section of hotel Rooms, pool, bar and restaurant less crowded and better service. Those in "reserve" section are aloud to use all facilities but only "reserve" members can use reserve area. Food, pool, restaurant, bar all better due to less people. Really try to get this section. All newer.

2. Rooms
We got a bigger room with seperate bedroom and living area. Big bathroom and living area. Bring clock because none in bedroom. Don't use room service because of english barrier.

3. Restaurants
All great. Food really good. At Gabbi restaurant in 'reserve" section had lobster and caviar along with other great food selections. Favorite restaurants were El Romantico, Ventom and steak house. Need reservations. Get 9:00 seating and show up at 8:30 for seating. It will be available and you get to enjoy more of day. Otherwise they will offer 6;30 seating. You'll still be full from lunch.

4. Pool
Great at reserve and less crowded. Atmosphere awesome. Lots of places to sit and relax. Has swim up bar.

5. Golf
We picked this place because of "free" golf. Plan on losing 6 hours of vacation time. Have to shuttle to course which is aprox 20 min ride. Course really nice and you should play at least once. Cost $35 per person for cart. Crowded and don't forget voucher hotel gives you or they will send you back to hotel to get. We took attitude that can play at home and spend less time doing while can't go to beach this time of year at home!

6. Beach
Lots chairs available. Nice water and waves. Get to beach at 9:00 and grab your chair than go to breakfast. If wait until 11:00 have hard time finding chair.

7. Tipping
Bring some $1's and $5's for tipping. Believe me no one refuses a tip. Invest in regular bar tendors and servers. They will remember and take care of you.

8. Entertainment
Weak and not worth watching. Only good thing was shows are short. Lots of people walked out. Dancing in Lobby area after show very enjoyable and well attended.

9. Hotel
Awesome. Great decorations and easy to check in and out. Everyone very helpful.

10. Bugs
Some mosquitos around that will bite. Not as bad at beach due to breeze. Bring bug spray. We didn't but will next time.

11. Bar
Top shelf liquor to include single malt scotch and any and all top shelf after dinner drinks. Johnny Black, Stoli, Bombay etc. You won't be dissappointed with choices.

All in all a great experienc and we will return. Best most relaxing vacation I've had in long time

  • Liked — Food, Service, Drink, Room, Decorations
  • Disliked — Room Service. Didn't understand English
  • Stayed February 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
9 Thank WildTurkey27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

11,884 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    7,666
    2,492
    890
    446
    390
See reviews for
3,839
4,594
175
469
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2,091)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
NYC
Level Contributor
21 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 February 2008

My boy's and I had the chance to visit the DR this past winter during their Spring Break. After reading some reviews here, and talking to some friends, we decided to visit Paradisus.
The hotel is about 30min from the airport and on the southern coast. It is situated in a very lush tropical setting and the grounds are beautiful.

We arrived around 6pm and waited over an hour to check into the hotel. While there seemed to be plenty of hotel staff, they were really not focused on taking care of the guests as they arrived.
After a lot of confusion we were taken to the Family Conceirge to check in, and they too were a bit confused and unorganized.

Eventually, we were given our rooms but the confusion did not stop there. One of the rooms was occupied by another guest, who was suprised to see 3 boys appear at their door at 900p!! We moved into one room, while the Conceirge went to figure out where the other room was. About an hour later they found a room to use for one night in another part of the hotel. It was almost 1030p before this was ever resolved. The next day we had to move to another set of rooms that were adjacent to each other.

We had an all inclusive meal plan which was very convenient for all of us. The downside is that you are pretty much locked into eating within set times, and there are no late night places to get a snack or late dinner. The restaraunts are not the resorts strong point, in fact they are all fairly average, the one exception is the one that is on the beach and open for lunch - this one had a pretty good buffet in a nice setting on the beach.

The pool is very nice, but you need to claim your spots early in the morning to be assured being close to the pool. The beach is also very nice, good surf, nice wide beaches. This too requires a little advance scouting to claim chaises etc in the early am.

If sleeping on the beach/pool and completely relaxing due to a lack of activities is not your thing. You will need to get off the property. The lobby had quite a few services geared toward scuba diving, snorkling with sharks (more of a booze cruise), atv's etc

I used the gym, it was very small for a resort of this size, but if you hit it at the right time you had the place to yourself.

For us it was nice to get away and spend time together, but I would not return to Paradisus. The restaurants need to improve, the room decor could use an update/refreshening and the hotel staff was just a bit to unorganized for my taste.

  • Liked — the hotel grounds were beautiful, pool and beach
  • Disliked — the restaurants, old decor, hotel staff
  • Stayed February 2007, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
6 Thank DuffCooperJr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Illinois
Level Contributor
48 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 February 2008

Spent a week at Paradisus Punta Cana end of Jan. beginning of Feb. and absolutely loved it and would highly recommend. A friend and I stayed in the new Reserve section and it was fabulous. Everyone was very friendly and helpful and the service was great. We never did see the rooms in the main section, so I cannot comment on those, but ours was very very nice, with lots of extras.

Our concierge was fairly new, but very helpful and eager to assist us, although we did not really use his service often. When we did ask for something, we got it in a timely fashion. I worked in the airline industry for many years and have traveled extensively around the world, and found Punta Cana and the this hotel to be way above average.

We had a separate pool at the Reserve which was a smaller version of the main pool. We went to both pools and the beach and there were always chairs available. (People did tend to "hold" unoccupied chairs for a long time and some times we had to look for a couple of minutes, but always found something in the sun.) The beach was very clean and beautiful sand, and we were not bothered by vendors. (There were a few on the beach, but if you just shook your head no, the moved on.)

I did the water aerobics a couple of days, which was fun. We went horseback riding twice in the morning and it was great. The portion on the beach was at least half or more of the ride and you were allowed to walk or run your horses depending on your comfort zone. My friend went snorkeling and said it was really good. We both went on the afternoon boat excursion which was nice and gave us an opportunity to meet some different people. I went to the spa on the last evening and my masseuse was excellent and the facility was very nicely done. We also went to several of the shows which were entertaining. There were more included activities then anyone could take advantage of and we went mostly to beach and relax.

We went to most of the restaurants and everywhere the food was above average and beyond. We returned our last night to Gabbi as it was our favorite. I would recommend the Brazilian restaurant to anyone who would like the flavor of a real churrascaria in Brazil. Plan to spend at least an hour or two because the way food is served is different than a traditional restaurant, but like it was when I was in Rio and went to churrascarias there.

Overall, it was a wonderful, relaxing vacation and I would return and recommend to others.

  • Liked — Cleanliness, comfort of beds and jacuzzi
  • Disliked — Needed a couple more hooks to hang towels/clothes in the bathroom and jacuzzi room
  • Stayed January 2008, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
11 Thank ecolu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wirral UK
Level Contributor
751 reviews
217 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 533 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 February 2008

Jan 24 to Jan 31

We had a really nice time at The Reserve, Paradisus Punta Cana. It is a separate hotel in the grounds of the Paradisus Hotel.

With Buddar Bar style up tempo/ambient music gently wafting around the pool area, broken only by the patter of the fountains and water jets, this is a seriously chic boutique place.

Opened in Dec 07, it is a completely separate hotel to the main Paradisus complex and is restricted to Reserve band holders only. Paradisus clients are not allowed access to the Reserve and must pay extra to dine there. Don't know how much it is.

8 x 3 floor blocks, each block with only 24 rooms. 4 blocks either side of the main pool. The Reserve has it's own reception (air condidtioned and with a lounge and internet area) and every 2 blocks has a joint Concierge desk. Rooms are very modern as befits a hotel only opened in December 07. All rooms are either large junior suites or double suites, the latter of biblical scale. The main lounge was a good size, with sink, coffee machine, fridge, sofa, dining table and chairs and flat screeen TV. The separate bedroom had a king size bed with another flat screen TV. The separate bathroom had a double Jacuzzi bath, though a nice addition for honeymooners, is as always somewhat impractical as they take hours to fill. The separate vanity room had a full wall mirror, two sinks and hairdryer. A separate toilet and separate shower room with an impressive Roca multi head body power shower. Plenty of wardrobe space with a full size ironing board. Digital safety deposit box with clear instructions.

We could not fault the suite, which was well finished off with Balinese style glazed doors. The balcony, though not huge had proper cushioned armchairs.

The Reserve's main Gabi restaurant is open for breakfast, lunch and evening meals and serves good quality buffet food from an electric door closed off area to keep flies at bay. The Gabi also does an excellent a la carte for both lunch and dinner. Being new, the concierge did not know it served a la carte. It does and it is first class. It had lobster at lunch, which was good quality and unusual for a resort and at no extra charge. They even had lobster on the buffet one day. The Vento (tried it twice, reservations required) is quoted as "Modern Mediterranean Fusion". Greeted with a champagne/peach liquor cocktail, it had a very nice ambience and served quality food, with a good selection of meat and seafood dishes. One night I had the baby squid stuffed with octapus in an ink sauce, which takes some pulling off in a resort restaurant. The hotel also had a separate lunchtime snack bar for burgers/chicken/hotdogs etc.

The main Paradisus has 10 restaurants. Most are al a carte and do not need booking. We tried the Steak (good), the Brazilian/Argentinian (average and a meat overdose) and the French twice (very good with superb fillet steak). Never had enough nights to get round them all.

Did not see any of the evening entertainment at the Paradisus, but he air conditioned theatre looked good.

Very mixed clientelle, US, Canadian, European and Russian.

We spent most of our time at the Reserve pool, but it also has its own private beach area. No entertainment in the day at the Reserve. Some light music in the evenings. Next to the pool area is a large childrens pool, with a smart indoor air conditioned kids club block for those pampered tots.

The pool has waiter service, who also brought fruit kebabs a few times a day. The main bar has a swim up section. Drinks are mainly top brands including 12 year old malts and Reme Martin cognac. They also have free cigarettes and gave me a nice cigar. Free sun lotions at the pool was also a nice touch. No shortage of padded loungers and cabanas and almost no early towel depositors. I've never seen so many cabanas. Normally snatched by the early risers, some were always spare throughout the day. Even in pool cabanas with tiled loungers.

The Reserve is further away from the beach than the main resort and this is a possible downside for beach lovers, but at the click of a finger, the "Reserve Express" golf buggies would whisk you there, or anywhere else on request.

We could find no fault with this hotel and found the attention to detail was excellent. The modern art around the Reserve is stunning and must have cost a lot. We were put here at no extra charge, as they had lost our reservation for the main Paradisus, which was full. We fortunately had their written confirmation and a post flight confrontation was avoided by this serious upgrade.

This was middle east style opulance, that remined us of Le Meridien Fujairah, UAE. It will not be cheap to stay here.

N&B

  • Liked — Everything
  • Disliked — Nothing I can put my finger on
  • Stayed January 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
11 Thank NeilandBarbara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sandusky, OH
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 January 2008

A woderful vacation! My husband and I have traveled all over. We loved the Paradisus Punta Cana! Everyone is so kind and helpful. We went with my parents who also do a lot of traveling. We all agree this was the BEST vacation we have EVER be on. Please check it out. It's very relaxing...You don't have to do a thing but lay in the sun and have cocktails all day if you want! We are going back in a few months!! The rooms are great, the food is great and everthing was A+! Also honestly, if you look around this is the best beach there! You'll believe me when you go!

Stayed December 2007
Helpful?
9 Thank Cherie77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hartford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 January 2008

We arrived at the Paradisus Punta Cana with another couple on January 19 and were checked in immediately. Because I own a timeshare in the Melia Vacation Club, we were assigned to building 4, which is close to the beach, pool, and restaurants. There are 3 buildings with timeshare units and they are buildings 2, 3 and 4. We also met up with more friends of ours which arrived mid-week.

Overview: The Paradisus Punta Cana is part of the Sol Melia chain of resorts located in Punta Can along Bavaro Beach. It is an all-inclusive resort, which I believe is now optional. But, they have no payment system and not many restaurants in the area. The fees are $89/pp/d for an adult, half of that for children under 12. It states it has 500 units, but this year they have added a new section called the Reserve which is geared toward families with its own pool and play area. There have been a lot of changes over the past year with the addition of the reserve area, closing of the small animal park, opening of a new business area and relocation of the casino.
There are 9 restaurants and several bars with top shelf liquor.
The grounds are impeccably maintained and beach is absolutely pristine with lots of palapas for shade and many chaise lounges on the beach and around the pool.
The business area is near the entertainment area, down a hallway and costs $12 for 1 hour of time which was valid for 5 days. They can print for you, but it is $1/page for black and white, $2 for color. You can also rent laptops, but I can’t remember the cost per day.

Units: Each building has 16 units; 8 on each floor, which consist of either 2 queens or a king sized bed, a sitting area, and balconies with a garden view. The units are studios equipped with a safe, microwave, coffeepot, toaster, table service for 4, and refrigerator stocked with soda, water and, on request, beer. There is daily maid service with occasional turn down service. I say occasional because they only did it occasionally! Since last year they have updated the bedding and acquired new sofas, but they really need new refrigerators. They get cold, but only after a long while. There may be some tiny bugs, but that doesn’t bother us, they don’t bite and are usually there when the maids bring in flowers.

Beach: The beach has soft white sand and some surf with no seaweed and/or sea grass. There is some surf, at least in the winter time, so you would have to be careful if traveling with small children, but for adults it’s fine. There is no bar service on the beach unless you stay with the Royal Service section. There is an extra cost for this.

Food: The taste and quality of the food is quite subjective, but everyone in our party and the people that we met, all loved it. I have to say we really didn’t have a bad meal for the entire stay. We ate at the Hibiscus every morning, and they had made to order omelets and eggs, along with various meats, cheeses, and assorted other breakfast items, such as, pancakes, French toast, and waffles. Usually 3-4 different juices and lots of fruit are in the buffet area also.
The different types of restaurants consist of a Brazilian, French, Italian, Chinese, Japanese, Dominican, seafood, a steak house, and another in the reserve section I did not go to. They closed the Mexican due to relocation of the casino.
Some of these need reservations, so check which ones and make the reservations when you arrive.
They also have 24 hour room service, which comes pretty quickly.

Water: One word of caution…Do not drink the water or use it to make coffee or brush your teeth!
All water is bottled, including what they use in the restaurants. We have brought down many people over the years and no one has ever been sick following these simple rules. We all eat salad and fruit daily and no one has gotten sick from it

Service: Because we are creatures of habit, we usually went to the same places each day and had wonderful service. I will say that our maid was wonderful!! But, on her days off, we had another who was terrible; she just about made the bed!

Pool: Awesome pool, no deeper than 5 ft, and is so large, it never is crowded, well maybe sometimes near the bar! There are some areas for children where they can play and it is not deep. There are also some tiled areas where you could rest in the pool where the water is only a few inched deep.

Activities: I can’t comment on these because we really didn’t do anything but relax. They do have a children’s area, a rock climbing area, some pool tables, ping-pong, bikes, volley ball net in the pool and on the beach, tennis courts and some water sports

We go there every year and have never been disappointed, but then we are just there to relax and sit by the beach. If you are accustomed to 5 star services, then I’m sure you will find something to complain about as it is not 5 star like in the States. It is clean and beautiful and relaxing!!

  • Liked — Everything
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed January 2008, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
11 Thank jeri c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Haddon Heights
Level Contributor
46 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 January 2008

My husband and I just returned from a week's stay in the Royal Service portion of the Paradisus. Our stay was perfect in every way! The staff was friendly and fulfilled every request promptly. We had breakfast each morning in the Royal Service dining room. Lunch was offered by the staff on the beach. Each night we went to a different restaurant. We tried the Dolce Vita (our favorite), Albufera, Marino, Hybiscus, and Sakura (not as good as we had hoped).
Our room was beautiful with a view of the Royal Service Pool area. Housekeeping was exceptional, leaving small gifts each day for us.
We tipped generously because we found the service so exceptional.
We would highly recommend this resort.

  • Liked — Exceptional Service
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed January 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
7 Thank takemeaway51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Punta Cana hotels
14.3 mi away
AlSol Tiara Cap Cana
AlSol Tiara Cap Cana
#24 of 110 in Punta Cana
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,629 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Reserve at Paradisus Punta Cana
2.4 mi away
Paradisus Palma Real Golf & Spa Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
The Reserve at Paradisus Palma Real
1.0 mi away
Grand Palladium Palace Resort Spa & Casino
2.8 mi away
Melia Caribe Tropical
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Paradisus Punta Cana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Paradisus Punta Cana

Property: Paradisus Punta Cana
Address: Playas de Bavaro, Punta Cana, Dominican Republic
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > La Altagracia Province > Punta Cana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Casino Hotel in Punta Cana
#18 Spa Hotel in Punta Cana
#18 Top resorts Hotel in Punta Cana
#20 On the Beach Hotel in Punta Cana
#21 Luxury Hotel in Punta Cana
#33 Romantic Hotel in Punta Cana
#38 Family Hotel in Punta Cana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Paradisus Punta Cana 4.5*
Number of rooms: 688
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover the unpretentious luxury of Paradisus Punta Cana Resort. An extraordinary island retreat offering a super balance of natural and man-made wonders. Open-air architecture, featuring indigenous organic materials like raw coral and exotic hardwoods, houses an impossibly sumtuous gallery of luxury suites and an exclusive garden villa. All-inclusive and all encompassing, Paradisus Punta Cana Resort is an ocean front playground for all ages. Tennis, championship golf, every non-motorized water sport imaginable, a magnificent array of restaurants, our own casino, an incredible spa for kids, an exquisite full-service spa and health club and personal world-class service all seamlessly unite to deliver you the relaxing, romantic, carefree, fun-filled experience of a lifetime. The resort features 688 oversized suites including 143 royal service suites and 4 ambassador oceanview suites, plus a one-of-a-kind oceanfront garden villa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Melia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Holiday Gems, TravelUp and Hotels.com so you can book your Paradisus Punta Cana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Paradisus Punta Cana Hotel Punta Cana
Paradisus Punta Cana Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing