We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“March Break: Mother, daughter & son at the Paradisus Punta Cana”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Paradisus Punta Cana Resort
Ranked #25 of 113 Hotels in Punta Cana
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 9 April 2014

I took my daughter and son to Paradisus Punta Cana for the school break from March 11-18. This was our first trip to the Dominican Republic and first ever all-inclusive for my 14 y.o. old son. He loves to eat, so the all-inclusive was like a dream come true, especially the buffets. The beach / activity staff: CARLOS DANIEL, NOEL, WAILLY, GEORGE, CESAR, ANGELICA, JOSE are great!! Sorry if we missed anybody or spelled your names wrong. CARLOS D. AND NOEL WERE OUR FAVS, AS THEY WERE VERY ATTENTIVE, FUN AND MADE OUR STAY VERY ENJOYABLE...thank you!! The Gabi beach bartenders, especially ALEXANDER were awesome. Basketball, volleyball and activity/excercise on the beach was fantastic & fun for the three of us. Thank you again Carlos for getting Thomas off the beach chair and on the basketball court as well as up on the rock climbing wall, even though he couldn't get to the top of the wall like his sister Emily did!! Ha ha. Also, ROBERTO at the lobby bar was great and we enjoyed his magic tricks with the drinks and his ice juggling. The nightly shows and entertainment were a big hit with us and part of our daily routine. Thank you NOEL for the dance at the lobby bar...I felt like a professional dancer because you are such a good lead! We enjoyed the food and a la cartes, especially the Japanese restaurant. That was a most memorable evening and we have never been so full in our lives! We thoroughly enjoyed our week at this beautiful & lush resort and plan to return, hopefully next year!
JENNIFER, EMILY & THOMAS

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Jennifer S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (13,421)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

6,185 - 6,191 of 13,421 reviews

Reviewed 8 April 2014

I feel as though I am being redundant in saying so, but this place was FANTASTIC! The grounds, the beach, the exclusivity (if in Royal Service), just amazing. The food; not bad, but not the best I've ever had. I really enjoyed the Japanese. The buffet was kind of a disappointment but the al la carte's were good, although the portions were small (several of our guests ordered 2 meals at some restaurants).

Emmanuel S. was our butler. If you can get him... get him. He was attentive, funny, always had a surprise for us; whether it was chocolate strawberries, rose petals on the bed or a nice little Tapas tray for our room, he made us feel special. With the cell phone connectivity, you could call at any time and get ice for your room, get him to make your dinner res. or book a bike for you to tour around the resort on. I can't say enough great things about him!

An adult and a family pool on site. Just fantastic! The swim up adult bar was a good size and had lots of shady beds around it. We didn't spend any time around the family pool but it is really big and didn't seem as crowded as I have seen some resort pools.

Great nighttime shows. We were never bored. Whether it was a Michael Jackson show at the main lobby or a Fire Dance on the beach... great entertainment.

If you've read any of my other reviews, you'll note that I don't expect much when I travel. I am always most interested in good, friendly service. This resort did not disappoint and we would definitely go back.

Room Tip: We were in a room closer to the beach. Some of the complexes seemed very far away - although they do...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jenaroundtheworld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2014

There are so many great things to say about this resort and very few negative aspects. I was there with my boyfriend for a wedding, a group of 30 total.

Beaches - The beaches were absolutely gorgeous with beautiful sand and crystal waters. We didn't have any trouble finding chairs and huts to relax under and we were on the beach for the majority of our vacation. The water had very little seaweed and was fun for cooling off. The one negative thing was that people would leave their towels on the chairs and not come back for hours to hold the chairs and huts, but even with this being said we didn't have any trouble getting spots on the beach.

Food - You can book the restaurants every night for dinner which we did; we tried 4 restaurants and each of them was great. Our favourite was the Japanese which we went to twice; one night we ordered off the menu and the other night we had the tappanyaki and they were both our favourite meals. Usually I'm not crazy about the lunch and breakfast buffets, but here there was plenty of variety and lots of stations to pick from. It was a little repetitive but that wasn't a problem for us. We ate at the Mexican restaurant twice as well and I had the shrimp dish both nights which was great. We looked forward to the dinners and the food was great each night, no complaints.

We were located in grouping 23 and our room was great. It was one the first floor and a corner unit. The balcony had 2 chairs and lounger and we sat out there every day. The room was very clean and the maids were great - we tipped $5US every day which they appreciated. Our towels were restocked everyday and the mini bar was restocked daily as well. The bed was a little bit hard but that's expected when on vacation. Our room was quiet and we had no noise issues. Also, we were lucky because our room was cleaned everyday but the time we can back at 12pm. We also got wireless in our room which was a nice surprise - the connection was spotty but we didn't expect it so it was an added bonus anyway.

Grounds - The grounds were gorgeous and very well maintained, we always saw workers cleaning and trimming. Lots of beautiful palm trees, flowers and greenery. The resort was rather large and the upkeep was great. The people on the resort are very hardworking and did a great job to keep the resort beautiful. the common areas of the resort (lobby, bars) were also beautiful and always very clean.

We were never approached about time share and had no issues with people pushing the excursions. The one negative encounter we did experience was with check-in; we arrived at 11am and they told us the room would be ready at 1pm. We went and ate lunch and came back to get our room, which still wasnt ready. They told us another hour, so we came back at 2pm and the room still wasn't ready and they told us another 30 minutes. We came back at 2:30 and the room wasn't ready until after 3pm. A little inconvenient way to start off our trip as many of the people we were traveling with had already received their rooms.

Overall, it was a great trip with very little set-backs. The staff, grounds, food, rooms, and experience were great. At the same time, we expected this to be a great resort with the price that we paid (more than what we typically pay for resorts). A great trip and would recommend this resort to couples or large groups.

Room Tip: We stayed in #1235 - no noise issues, room always cleaned. Bottom floor, corner unit with larger bal...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lauren10122
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2014

Just got back 4/1/14. Had a wonderful time . Great Ocean view from royal service suite.Service was Excellent!!!!
Did the romantic dinner on the beach at paradisus ,it was a wonderful experience great food and service .
The whole trip was amazing and the people made it that way. who would make sure you had what you needed to make your day especial, thanks to MIGUEL MELO, some time I feel he was the only one speech english . he was very tolerant of rude customers who wanted everything done at the drop of a hat. I was having a bad day feeling a little overwhelmed and he made sure to ask me how I was doing and was very personable. When he saw me the next day he remembered me and was very kind. I would definitely recommend going.

Room Tip: pick royal service suites by the beach..
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank samuel s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2014

It was a great escape from the New England cold/snowy winter. Enjoyed every minute - everything was wonderful - the food, pool, room and staff. Thanks to Emilio, Alexander, Fabio, Asia and other staff who made this trip fun.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Melia Hotels International
Thank Jane T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2014

My boyfriend and I just got back from a great trip to the Paradisus Punta Cana. We did not stay in the Reserve nor did we pay for Royal Service. These amenities had many benefits as we observed during our stay away, but our trip did not suffer by not paying for them.

We arrived via Sunny-C resort transfers - we paid $60 USD for a round trip per person from the airport. It was the same amount as the regular hotel transfer. Sunny-C was easy to find in arrivals and provided a private, air conditioned van that only took us to our resort and back - no other stops which was great.

Upon arrival at Paradisus, we were greated and told to leave our luggage at the front - I suggest having some sort of lock on your luggage since it will be there for a few hours until you are able to check in (we arrived at 11 am and could not check in until 3pm). They took us to the VIP area to check in - we were not sure why - but it was quick and easy with a free drink to sip on while waiting. We were then free to walk around the resort, go swimming and eat while waiting for our room to be ready. This was great as we had been to other resorts that make you sit in the lobby and wait for 3 hours or more until the room is prepared. A good tip is to bring a change of clothes and swimsuit in your carry on with some sunscreen so you can swim while you wait! At 3 pm we went up to the lobby via trolley to get our key - our room was not ready but we only waited 10 min or so until the problem was fixed. We did have a 'personal concierge' to show us around but after the first day we did not see him again.

The concierge people in white constantly try to sell you on joining Club Melia - we just said no and walked away from it but saw many families and couples being brought over to the sales pitch area to watch a video presentation etc. Just be firm with them if you do not want to participate and they do not push too much.

There are also many many excursion sales people at the pool and beach - we just said no and they walked away. But they came by our seats every hour or so - more at the beach than the pool. They will ask you (in the winter particularly) based on how tanned you are to judge when you arrived and if you have been asked already. We do not tan very much and hence we got asked a lot and told it looked like we had just arrived yesterday. This got annoying but something we encountered at many resorts.

Throughout the day at the beach there are sales men trying to sell material goods (purses/cigars etc) but at Paradisus there are security guards who do not let them come up the beach to the chairs etc. That was a great bonus. One night a week (Wednesday) they allow vendors to come to the resort to sell Dominican wears (jewellery/wood carvings/cigars etc). They will give you an outrageous price, but they love to haggle. I was told the necklace I bought was $145 USD and I bought it in the end for $20. Know what it would be worth and dont pay over.

The Reserve acts as a resort within a resort - the buildings looked very nice when we walked through and the pool/bar area is spectacular - a great stay for families as there are many kid friendly areas and activities. The fact that the reserve caters to families was also nice as the rest of the resort was more adult, including the pool. Royal service has a separate seating area at the beach with more huts/beds available during the day which may be good for some people who want a guaranteed spot - otherwise you are getting up at 6 am to try and grab a seat for yourself. This is the same as you would find at any other resort where people leave towels on a chair that they want but dont show up at it until after 2 pm. If you want a guaranteed spot - get royal service.

Our room was as advertised, although the 'king' bed was actually two queen beds pushed together. This caused some awkward sleeping at first as you did not want to end up sleeping on the middle where it was uncomfortable. The room otherwise was fine, standard for an all inclusive and roomy with high ceilings. The shower was great and AC worked for us. Although the resort offers Wifi we did not get it very often if at all - but honestly that was fine since we were there to be on vacation. Sheets were changed every two days - this did get a little gross since your feet were almost always covered in sand even after showering - so we tried to wear the slippers provided in the room around our suite before hopping into bed.

The beach was fantastic - we had great weather with rain only one day. There was minimal seaweed in the water for the most part (a problem we have found at other resorts in Punta Cana) although some does wash ashore during high winds/rain. There are lots of chairs and spaces to sit but not many in the shade unless you get there early. The beach and water were never too crowded as we observed at some of the other resorts up/down the beach.

The pool was very clean - we saw workers in the water cleaning every night - and pretty quiet before the afternoon. There is one bar in the main pool which was never too crowded. You could always find a spot in the sun or shade. The pool beds were nice to have if you had a lot of sun the day before, but they could have been better washed off from the day before as they were often sticky from spilt drinks/sunscreen etc. There were also lots of activities (Aquafit etc) at the pool everyday - our only complaint from this was that the music was always the same, and very loud. It got very repetitive and annoying by the end of the week if you were not participating.

Food was very very good - especially given that it was an all inclusive. Neither of us got sick and we ate almost everything. The poured water is all bottled so it is safe to drink, but you can order a sealed water at the table if you wish. Food at the buffets (Gabi Beach/Naos) was a variation of the same every day but with lots to choose from and variety. We booked our restaurant dinners the day we got there - and all of our reservations were at 8 pm on. Aqua and Bento were the best. All restaurants are included except for 2 which you would have to pay for. Room service is free to your room as well as the drinks in the mini bar. The mini bar in our suite was never replenished though after the first day.

Since this is a large resort - there is a trolley to take you from the lobby to the beach/rooms. To walk takes about 10 minutes if you take the eco walk (where the trolleys cannot go). The trolleys are supposed to come around every 15 minutes - often it takes longer and sometimes they pass you full. We found it quicker to walk everywhere than wait. You can also rent bikes to use while you are there for the week which may be helpful.

All things said - we had a great vacation, we could relax and forget about everything and were not stressed. It is nice when a vacation does not feel like work and that is what Paradisus gave us.

Room Tip: If we were to go again, I would get the jacuzzi room - top floor rooms with outside jacuzzi! We were...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank CCmagee13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2014

Had an absolutely amazing time at this resort. It's beautiful and there's always something to do. The bar service staff, especially Alvin Martinez at the MBar, is always going the extra mile to make sure your trip is amazing.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dravis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Punta Cana hotels
12.5 mi away
The Westin Puntacana Resort & Club
0 mi away
The Reserve at Paradisus Punta Cana
2.5 mi away
Paradisus Palma Real Golf & Spa Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Melia Caribe Tropical
2.4 mi away
The Reserve at Paradisus Palma Real
3.8 mi away
Barcelo Bavaro Palace
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Paradisus Punta Cana Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Paradisus Punta Cana Resort

Address: Playas de Bavaro, Punta Cana, Dominican Republic
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > La Altagracia Province > Punta Cana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Casino Hotel in Punta Cana
#16 Green Hotel in Punta Cana
#22 Top resorts Hotel in Punta Cana
#22 Spa Hotel in Punta Cana
#24 On the Beach Hotel in Punta Cana
#25 Luxury Hotel in Punta Cana
#33 Romantic Hotel in Punta Cana
Price Range: £204 - £428 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Paradisus Punta Cana Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 688
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover the unpretentious luxury of Paradisus Punta Cana Resort. An extraordinary island retreat offering a super balance of natural and man-made wonders. Open-air architecture, featuring indigenous organic materials like raw coral and exotic hardwoods, houses an impossibly sumptuous gallery of luxury suites and an exclusive garden villa. All-inclusive and all encompassing, Paradisus Punta Cana Resort is an ocean front playground for all ages. Tennis, championship golf, every non-motorized water sport imaginable, a magnificent array of restaurants, our own casino, an incredible spa for kids, an exquisite full-service spa and health club and personal world-class service all seamlessly unite to deliver you the relaxing, romantic, carefree, fun-filled experience of a lifetime. The resort features 688 oversized suites including 143 royal service suites and 4 ambassador ocean view suites, plus a one-of-a-kind oceanfront garden villa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Melia, Odigeo, Booking.com, Expedia, getaroom.com, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Ebookers and Cancelon so you can book your Paradisus Punta Cana Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Paradisus Punta Cana Hotel Punta Cana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing