We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Disappointing!” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Paradisus Punta Cana

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Paradisus Punta Cana
Ranked #22 of 110 Hotels in Punta Cana
GreenLeadersSilver level
Virginia
Level Contributor
42 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Disappointing!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2010

Having stayed previously at the Paradisus, Riviera Maya, Mexico we thought we were golden choosing another Paradisus resort. Although they look very similar, Punta Cana was definitely a step down. It took a 24 hour period to get the a/c to acceptable limits in our sons' room. The rooms were so full of furniture we had to rearrange everything so we could open the door between our rooms and so we could open the sleeper sofa for the youngest. TV reception was terrible in one room but fine in the other. A few light bulbs were out and never replaced even though we called it in.
We asked for an upgrade and were moved over to The Reserve which is lovely. The rooms were so much nicer and the staff was a pleasure to work with.
The food in all the restaurants was extremely average! The only one really worth going to was Cabi at The Reserve.
On site medical staff was excellent - 2 of the boys got acute swimmer's ear!
Concierge Service at The Reserve was top notch!
We took a tour of the Palma Real and that is where we would stay if we were to go back.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank VaCruz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

11,815 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    7,615
    2,480
    886
    445
    389
See reviews for
3,814
4,574
175
457
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2,084)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Juan, Puerto Rico
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2010

I visited the resort with a group of 32 people and stayed at The Reserve. I have to say the service, food, and facilities were OUTSTANDING. To please an entire group is never easy, but during our stay at Paradisus Punta Cana I have to say we had no complaints from them during the entire stay of 3 nights/4 days. To the contrary, they were so pleased and satisfied with the property that one of the couples even bought a Sol Melia Vacation Club plan so they can repeat their visit on a yearly basis. The grounds are so beautiful, green and peaceful, extremely well kept. The Reserve section of the hotel is BEAUTIFUL, very modern and classy with very personalized services for the guests. The service both from management and operations was excelent, it was very noticeable how they went all the way to provide us with the best service in every detail from the rooms, the bars and restaurants, the beach at The Reserve section, as well as the night shows which were very delightful. Mikey Mikey at The Reserve Beach was there with us during the 4 days extremely attentive and with a huge smile in his face. Francisco in Gabi Club made sure we had the best service for breakfast, lunch, and dinner and was very accomodating with our entire group. The F&B Director and The Reserve Manager were so thoughtful and caring with us we had the best dinners and personalized service at the Reserve lounge and premises, as well as in every food outlet we visited. Last but not least, Mr. Santiago Rivera, the Resident Manager, was on top of the hotel operations and guest satisfaction through our entire stay and that is something admirable that we have never seen anywere we have been before with our group. I want to thank the entire staff of the resort and am looking forward to comming back very soon! I do recommend Paradisus Punta Cana and The Reserve to everybody, it is an EXCELENT choice!

  • Stayed June 2010
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LVict0ria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whitestone, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2010

Travelers were 4 adults with 2 young children. We were assigned (2)- 3rd floor units in the Reserve area. Here are the pros/cons.

Pros:
Rooms were clean and spacious
Room service was ok (depends what time you place orders)
Liquor was good. If you want topshelf, just ask a waiter and give a tip
Reserve Pools/Beach was nice/clean


Cons:
Food was HORRIBLE. Soggy Pizza (not mozzerella cheese, dont let them fool you), French Fries soggy (they dont change the oil/grease, dark brown color), Burgers overcooked probably due to the bad meat. Restaurants overcrowded, expect to wait an hour or so and wear your dress shoes. All restaurants have a dress code, lame! Taking a Shuttle was a bit annoying 10-15 min wait, sometimes overcrowded and have to wait for another. Service at restaurants HORRIBLE! We would request a straw, 30 min wait. We would request a beer, 30 min wait. It got to a point where i would just get up and get it myself at the bar. Some of the staff members were a bit rude, except Osirius he waited on us around the poolside, he was awesome! Timeshare staff were very persistant, stay away...

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SJJM0710
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2010

I hate to say it but I should have listened to the reviews. This is the first negative experience I have ever had and we travel a lot. Who are these people that said "best trip ever?" Excactly how much alcohol did they have? We were constantly harassed by Alejandro the minute we arrived. Throughout the entire trip, he kept asking us if we wanted to go snorkeling which is code for "Can I sell you a condo?" I finally had to say "Get away from me, if I need you for anything, I know where to find you, now leave us alone!" Well, that did it, adios Alejandro and not a minute too soon.

ROOMS- At times, no hot water. Bathing in ice cold water was fun. The once white comforter (now off-white) was filthy. It looked like it had not been laundered in months. If you like the Holiday Inn (minus the bugs in your room), you'll be happy here. That's what it's comparable to. The mattress was hard and the pillows are well, I don't even know where one finds pillows like those.

FOOD-Buffets - Completely disgusting with flies all around. Can you imagine how much bacteria is lurking here? We got sick for a few days and it's no wonder why? Now, I'm not knocking Sizzler here, but that's what it's comparable to. Don't expect anything better. The only difference is you'll have some very salty fish varieties. The specialty restaurants are not too much better. The portions are a joke. Huge plates - tiny meals and oh, good luck getting into any of them.

POOL-Not the cleanest and far too many noisy drunk people by the swim up bar.

BEACH-The only plus here. The chairs were comfortable. The sand is fine and the water was refreshing. Although if you needed towels past a certain time (say after 12:00 p.m.) good luck.

ENTERTAINMENT-Typical cheesy Dominican shows but somewhat entertaining watching them lip syncing to songs they didin't even know. The bar in the lobby with watered down drinks was O.K. Actually everwhere you went, that's what you were served, watered down drinks.

THE HOTEL-Taking a trolley was getting to be a pain. At times, the waits were long and it was tough waiting in that humidity. Ladies, don't bother with the hair, it won't stand a chance. The resort is lush and you will love the landscaping, but it's far too large and confusing for my liking.

My recommedation, if you're thinking about staying here, really think twice and take into consideration what other people are saying here. I wish I would have listened, but I'll chalk it up to a loss. An expensive loss.

Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank brooke1116
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
miami, fl
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2010

We stayed at Paradisus Punta Cana for a family wedding. What a great stay! I can't say enough positive things about this hotel.

The beach is beautiful; staff is nice and very helpful; food was excellent; the grounds are beautiful and clean; plenty of restaurants to choose from; plenty of activities; etc.

Unfortunately, we arrived while a tropical storm was over DR bringing a lot of rain to the country and Punta Cana as well. The grounds unfortunately were very flooded in some areas but the staff was always around to either bring an umbrella ASAP, pick you up with their trolleys, etc. Some guests were complaining about the flooding and I can understand how frustrating it was getting around with all the rain, but honestly, it wasn't the hotel's fault and the staff was trying to accomodate everyone in the best manner possible. With this uncontrollable issue aside, we have no complaints about our stay.

The beach had plenty of lounge chairs for tanning and plenty of nice shaded areas close enough to the water. The hotel provided many activities for fun, served great drinks and food, and had more than enough staff to handle the number of guests. The room was always clean and room service always did a great job, especially considering the amount of sand we were always bringing into the room.

We were a large group of approximately 50 and the staff was always accomodating when we arrived to the restaurant and for the most part had our table ready to go for our dinner so all of us could sit together.

The reserve is absolutely newer and much nicer of course, but it is not necessary to stay there in order to fully enjoy this resort. We of course recommend the reserve as we had friends staying there and absolutely loved their room and the additional services offered; however, we thoroughly enjoyed the resort and had a great experience.

We would definitely return and recommend to anyone who asks!

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank xlaurax36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PARADISUSPuntaCana1, Manager at Paradisus Punta Cana, responded to this review, 20 August 2010
Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you so much for your positive feedback about your recent stay at Paradisus Punta Cana.
We are hoping to see you again next year.

Managing Director
Paradisus Punta Cana
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2010

Stay in the "Reserve" or don't go! If you like time share presentations you will love this Hotel. The hotel staff seriously hasseled me about buying a time share in the hotel for the first 2 days I was down there! No joke!

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BK874
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mastic, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2010

First let me start off saying the property here is gorgeous! Everything is very well maintanined. The beach was FABULOUS and the pools were awesome. No complaints there. This is my first time writing a negative review, I never wanted to be one of "those people" but I have to speak up on this resort.
My husband and I booked the ROYAL SERVICE catagory for our special 10 year anniversary. We wanted to be pampered. We were disapointed with the service that was promised. The butler service is a joke. There is no "personal" service what so ever. Put it this way, every hotel has a desk you call if you need anything-housekeeping, room service, etc,etc..and this is exactly what you do-just call the extention for whatever you need. The only difference is that being that the property is extremley large-you can call the Royal Service desk for a "butler" (a.k.a driver) to pick you up in a golf cart and take you to another part of the resort. Which by the way you might wait for a LONG time before he shows up. They tell you "OK-5 minutes" but it's never 5 minutes. We actually missed a tour because the guy never showed up to take us to the main lobby-which is about 1/2 mile from the beach-where are room was. So be warned! Also part of the Royal Service is the private pool and beach area with waiter service. Which is a nice feature-however...this doesn't stop people who did not pay extra for the Royal Service catagory to enter the area. So why did we have to pay a whole lot extra money when we could have gotten a regular room and saved quite a few hundred dollars?? Every now and then someone from the staff would see someone with the wrong wristband and kick them out of the area-probably because somebody complained. The waiters on the beach and the bartender in the pool wouldn't say anything to those guests because they were getting tipped-so I imagine they didn't want to lose the money..got me?
The food here was OK,..nothing special..just OK. Don't expect anything to blow you away. They did have a wide variety of restaurants but you never knew which one was opened that day-you always had to call the desk. That was annoying. The Chinese and the Steak House was our favorite. Being from NY and having awesome Chinese here I was skeptical about Dominican Chinese but it was actually very good. The Sushi restaurant was horrible..if you're a sushi lover..stay away!! The best lunch spot was the BBQ buffet. They had all kinds of meats and burgers cooked to order.
My advice is too save your $$$ and don't book Royal Service and you probably won't be disapointed. I always said, if you go into something with high expectations and don't get it..it's a let down...which is what happened with us. We were expecting Royal Service treatment and didn't get it. The only BIG plus to this catagory is that the Royal Service rooms are by the beach and most of the restaurants so you didn't need to hop on a bus or call a driver to pick you up. But again,..the rooms are badly in need of an upgrade and again..not what we were expecting for the money we paid.
Beware of the staff,..yes the staff..trying to rope you in to time shares for their parent company Sol Melia...they got us good...didn't see it coming. Lost 90 min of our vacation listening to the BS.
My recomendation would be to go any EXCELLENCE resorts (there is one in DR) or SANDALS which we have been to many, many times and both companies far exceed everything that the Paradisus offers.
Good luck my fellow travelers!

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mmeow1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Punta Cana hotels
14.3 mi away
AlSol Tiara Cap Cana
AlSol Tiara Cap Cana
#25 of 110 in Punta Cana
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,620 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Reserve at Paradisus Punta Cana
2.4 mi away
Paradisus Palma Real Golf & Spa Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
The Reserve at Paradisus Palma Real
2.8 mi away
Melia Caribe Tropical
1.0 mi away
Grand Palladium Palace Resort Spa & Casino
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Paradisus Punta Cana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Paradisus Punta Cana

Property: Paradisus Punta Cana
Address: Playas de Bavaro, Punta Cana, Dominican Republic
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > La Altagracia Province > Punta Cana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Casino Hotel in Punta Cana
#18 Spa Hotel in Punta Cana
#19 Top resorts Hotel in Punta Cana
#21 On the Beach Hotel in Punta Cana
#22 Luxury Hotel in Punta Cana
#33 Romantic Hotel in Punta Cana
#38 Family Hotel in Punta Cana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Paradisus Punta Cana 4.5*
Number of rooms: 688
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover the unpretentious luxury of Paradisus Punta Cana Resort. An extraordinary island retreat offering a super balance of natural and man-made wonders. Open-air architecture, featuring indigenous organic materials like raw coral and exotic hardwoods, houses an impossibly sumtuous gallery of luxury suites and an exclusive garden villa. All-inclusive and all encompassing, Paradisus Punta Cana Resort is an ocean front playground for all ages. Tennis, championship golf, every non-motorized water sport imaginable, a magnificent array of restaurants, our own casino, an incredible spa for kids, an exquisite full-service spa and health club and personal world-class service all seamlessly unite to deliver you the relaxing, romantic, carefree, fun-filled experience of a lifetime. The resort features 688 oversized suites including 143 royal service suites and 4 ambassador oceanview suites, plus a one-of-a-kind oceanfront garden villa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Melia, Hotels.com, Holiday Gems and Odigeo so you can book your Paradisus Punta Cana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Paradisus Punta Cana Hotel Punta Cana
Paradisus Punta Cana Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing