We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (11,967)
Filter reviews
11,967 results
Traveller rating
6,354
3,324
1,254
576
459
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
6,354
3,324
1,254
576
459
Show reviews that mention
All reviews platinum lounge bella pasta platinum package bungalow suite platinum beach platinum section justin bieber platinum service main lobby el pescador lobby buffet a la carte restaurants the lion king seafood animation team dominican republic steak
Filter
Updating list...
5,156 - 5,161 of 11,967 reviews
Reviewed 10 January 2012

We stayed at the resort from Dec. 27 - Jan 3rd and loved it. I have read some of the other reviews and am confused. I think some of the reviewers must have stayed at a different resort.
One thing I will say it that the buffet food is ok at best, which is to be expected. I have been to DR a few times and have never been blown away by the food at the buffet. But they do offer fresh to order food there as well. For example at the main buffet for breakfast they have someone making crepes, as well as an omlet station. The a la carte restaurants are a different story though. The food was delicious at all the ones we went to. We ate at the Tepanki, El Gaucho and Seafood restaurant. we were down there with a group of 10 in total and were always able to get a table together. In some previous posts, ppl have said they had to go early. We usually went for dinner between 6.30 - 7.30 and our longest wait was maybe 20 minutes. But we usually just got a drink and hung out. We were on vacation - there was no rush!!!

The beach was great. It was clean and as long as we down there by 10.30 never had a problem getting a good spot under a hut with enough chairs for us all. There were quite a few vendors trying to sell their goods but a simple "no thank you" was all it took for them to keep moving on.

The bartenders on the beach were great - They were very generous with the booze and there was never more than a few min. wait. In most cases I was able to walk right up.

Rooms were very nice and beat expectations. They were clean, our towels were often changed twice a day and they were recently renovated. Having the jacuzzi in the room was a nice bonus. We stayed in room 192 - which was a short walk to the beach and to the main lobby. It was also very near the start of the Ecologic Reserve.

I would for sure recommend this resort to others.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank DAP1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2012

i never write reviews, but this time i will. we go to all inclusive resorts at least twice a year, but this was horrible.
beach is good, facilities are ok they are pretty old but clean. rooms are old, outdated but clean.

food and drinks are horrible.
usually food at all-inclusive resorts are somewhat ok, but not this time, first of all, a-la carte restaurants unless you are willing to eat at 5:30 in the afternoon, you are not getting in, no matter what. they keep restaurants empty and telling everybody that they are booked. breakfast ends at 10:00 am and lunch starts at 12:45, we are not picky people but food at breakfast is disgusting. so if you are late sleeper you are not able to get anything till 12:45. grille at the beach only has hamburgers(not cheeseburgers) and hot dogs. they do not cook anything until you order and not take any more orders until yours are up, so we ate there once and it took 40 minutes just to order and another 10 minutes for them to cook it. dinner are choice of two buffets and most of the time it's same things and just terrible taste. do not eat seafood you will regret it. if you ask for a bottle of water at the dinner or lunch they will not give you, only water that's available are filtered water and who knows how they filter it.
**********************drinks**************************
if you are a beer and wine drinker you will be ok, beer and wine are good. if you want anything else, good luck. vodka, tequila and the rest of the stuff have a same company label on it. drinks are watery and vodka and tequila taste almost identical, like nail polish remover. in the main lobby they have a nice bare where you can buy shots at $6.00 a piece. they sell "jose cuervo" at 6.00 a shot where most all inclusive resorts have them for the price with a package. and so on. you ask for something like a fork or knife or even coffee takes forever or they will not bring unless you ask for it again.

just terrible experience over all, don't read good reviews, some of this people never been at real all inclusive resorts before

Room Tip: do not upgrade to "platinum package" it's a rip off for 35.00 per day per person.
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank ODESIT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2012

It is hard to evaluate this familiy vacation over the Christmas holiday. Some aspects were incredible and some were not so great.
The beach is second to none being very clean, the water was warm, and everyone enjoyed the playing in the waves. Walking about 20 minutes north along the beach we found some shops selling sundresses, jewellry, etc. We found the merchants to be less aggressive then the Thursday night on-site market.
We did not take the transport bus but instead enjoyed taking the 'ecological walk' shortcut to the beach. We found the 'Not Smocking Please' sigh funny. The grounds keeping staff do an incredible job of maintaining the property.
The pool closed at 6:00 but the towel hut would always close early - most days we had to exchange our towels the next morning for fresh ones.
The service in the buffet restaurant was sometimes great and other times non-existent - you should not have to wait 10 minutes for silverware.The food varied from perfect to gross - but there is alot of selection, so no-one went hungry. The a la carte restaurants we tried were generally good. It was not worth waiting two hours for the Japanese one, but it was finally enjoyed. The Chinese food & service was great and was our favourite. The Steakhouse food was good, but when our party of 10 was separated to three tables - the service was very inconsistent between the tables. The house wine was ok at the buffet but was undrinkable at the a la carte restaurants - so we switched to the beer instead of paying extra for a bottle of wine.
Our first nights sleep was interupted at 1:00 am by a young woman screaming for her daddy outside of our door - she was completely wasted on drugs. We would have called security but our phone was not working and took 5 days to fix.
The rooms were nice, and serviced regularly. If we showered before dinner, our towels would be replaced again while we were eating dinner. The bed was not very comfortable and we had sore backs for the duration of the holiday.
We had two small leather-like bags stolen from the beach pool while we went for a walk along the beach (losing perscription eye glasses, a book, googles, room keys - over $700 value to us, but of limited value to whoever took the bags.) I'm sure someone thought they would pickup some easy cash. We should have know better then to leave them unattended. A couple of other 'beach' type bags were not taken.
The nightly entertainment was not always appropriate for young famlies. There was one dance you would have expected from the stage of an adult club. The entertainment staff did work hard and were generally talented. The kids greatly enjoyed the activities staff at the pool and enjoyed the drinks.
The in-room safe has a key instead of a combination - you then need to carry the key around with you, which is not always convenient.
Overall, I think better value could be found at another resort - we will not be returning.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Rick H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2012

La Suite que me asignaron tenia filtraciones en el techo,el aire acondicionado NO enfriaba correctamente y ciertas áreas tenían telas de arana.
Por otro lado las comidas a la carta son exquisitas y las atenciones son buenas al igual que su show nocturno.

Room Tip: before check in, get in to the room
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Omar J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2012

While this resort is rated as a 5 star, I would argue that it should no longer be ranked so highly. We started out with a junior suite, but asked to be moved due to the poor condition of the bath tub. After showing us 3 other rooms in the bungalows, all with leaky roofs (a likely cause of the moldy smell we encountered), we were moved to one of the Honeymoon suites. An improvement, but not up to the 5 star standard we've experienced at other resorts.

The meals were very good. We enjoyed both the buffet and the a la carte restaurants. It is best to arrive early for the a la cartes as they fill up pretty quickly and there can be a bit of a wait if you get there after 7. We also discovered that not every a la carte was open every night (not sure of why that was).

We found the wait staff to be attentive and friendly. The Christmas Eve and New Years Eve dinners were especially delicious. The "McPrincess" snack bar on the beach serves tasty hamburgers and french fries. Their hotdogs are okay, but are more bun than hot dog.

The beach was fantastic. The sand is incredibly soft and there was not a pebble or shell to be seen. We had a blast swimming in the giant waves. There were always plenty of beach chairs available. Yes, the vendors make their presence known, but generally don't bother you if you don't look interested.

Speaking of vendors, it was almost impossible to enter the main lobby's restaurant without being approached by the time share salespeople. It got to be somewhat annoying.

The resort offers carts to drive you throughout the property, but we usually just walked as nothing was more than a 10 or 15 minute walk away. Careful - the stones on the sidewalk could be quite slippery when wet! The grounds were generally well kept, but again some aspects appeared to be in decline. For example, there were a number of empty cages as well as garbage in the ponds in the ecological park.

All in all, we enjoyed our stay, but likely won't go back to the Bavaro Princess. At one time, it probably was a luxury resort but without some renovations/upgrades the Princess should no longer be making such claims.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Beth G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews