We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“MISSLED ON ACCOMODATIONS”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Club Med Punta Cana
Ranked #41 of 113 Hotels in Punta Cana
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 January 2012

We reserved a luxury accomdations because regular rooms were fully booked and we wanted to spend our vacation with our son and wife and 3 grandchildren
We were told accomdations would include extra room and a private pool
they tooks to our room it was only a single room and in very poor condition I immediately
went back to reservation and told we paid for luxury accomdation and we would not accept
this room we talked to the supervisor and she stated the reservation was for a regular room only I then asked for a refund for the premium We paid for luxury accomdation, she did not have the authority to give a refund We asked to speak to the manager he called Club Med in Montreal after waiting about 30 minutes he finally gave us accomdation with an adjoining room, the phone did not work neither the coffee machines This incident spoiled the rest of the vacation the money I paid was exorbirant for what we received as far as the private pool it was the main pool that was available to all the people on the compound
I will never go to club Med again, unless they resolve the above issue and give me refund for the premium I paid

Room Tip: check the rooms you are paying for
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Jack V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
clubmedofficial, Guest Relations Manager at Club Med Punta Cana, responded to this reviewResponded 17 February 2012

Hi Jack V,
We are very sorry you feel you were misled about the accommodations you booked with us at Punta Cana. If you haven’t yet done so, please give one of our representatives a call at 1-800-465-6633 so they can try to sort this out for you.

Kind Regards,
Your Club Med Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (9,283)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,099 - 2,105 of 9,283 reviews

Reviewed 19 January 2012

If you want a place where you AND your kids can have a great vacation, this Club Med location is the spot. The Mini Clubs (for babies as young as 4 months old) have simply amazing, dedicated staff who you will feel safe leaving your kids in their hands. There is also a pajama club so you can go out at night and the kids will be watched (none of these clubs are free and if you are interested in the Mini Clubs make sure you book them as FAR IN ADVANCE as possible, because they fill up and are not available to you once full).

The food is not that good (only 2 buffet spots that are quite similar) and our room smelled very moldy, but if you can put those things aside for the luxury of being able to sit on the beach or by the pool, or go on excursions or enjoy activities without your kids, it's worth it. You can also do things with your kids, of course, but this provides a nice way to have quality time with your partner.

It's weird there is no room service, or movie rentals in room, which is a bit weird as if you don't use the pajama club and have kids, you're stuck in your room and there isn't even a proper sitting place to hang out (just a couch in the hall, but no table, so its awkward). I think the resort is pretty old (re: smelly rooms) and the pool has some nasty looking cracks on the bottom, but the kids staff are incredible.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hiya78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
clubmedofficial, Guest Relations Manager at Club Med Punta Cana, responded to this reviewResponded 17 February 2012

Hi hiya78,
Thank you for writing this review of Punta Cana. We are glad that you and your kids had a nice stay with us and thank you for your kind words about our childcare staff. We are sorry, though, that you weren’t very pleased with the dining options nor the accommodations. We thank you for bringing your concerns to our attention and we will address them at the resort.

Kind Regards,
Your Club Med Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 January 2012

I was there with my husband and two kids for the second year in a row. We had another memorable and amazing time. Our best moments were with the trapeze team for myself and my 2 year old daughter. She did attempt the big trapeze twice on our last day. What an incredible moment and souvenir. A special thank to Henry and Emmanuel.
Line, Tim, Sofia, Justin
From Quebec, CANADA

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Line D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 January 2012

roaches in the bathroom, AC that did not work, rented stroller stolen and no replacement available and staff was argumentative camp was good for kids but would NOT recommend.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank no w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
clubmedofficial, Guest Relations Manager at Club Med Punta Cana, responded to this reviewResponded 17 February 2012

Hi no w,
We are very sorry that you were so dissatisfied with your stay at Punta Cana. We will address your comments immediately. It is our hope that you will consider visiting a different Club Med resort in the future.

Kind Regards,
Your Club Med Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 January 2012

What an exceptional vacation! You want to know the difference between Club Med Punta Cana and other all inclusive resort? PEOPLE! The atmosphere that the staff was able to create all through the vacation was amazing! The GO are more then friendly,all the time. Lionel is a true professional for entertaining the 8-10 years old. It was a true pleasure to meet Gabriel from Laval at the Celeste Bar every night for a drink. And what can I say about our favorite team: the circus team! Manu, Henry, Atila, Wren and Alexandra where just perfect (and so patient)! They gave us trapeze lesson everyday where my daughter achieve the famous "catch" after a couple days of practice! A day she will remember for ever!!! All that to say,,, if you are looking for marble and gold taps, you might not be at the right place,,, But if your are looking for real fun, a real experience with family and connecting with people... you will have the trip of your life!!! Stephanie, Maëlle and Anouk from Prévost

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stephanie_x_leblanc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 January 2012

Just got back from a week at Club Med Punta Cana with our two daughters (age 4 years and 9 months old). This was our second stay (last time in June 2011) and it was once again absolutely perfect. The place is stunning, the beach and the gardens are gorgeous.
The kids club is wonderful. Our daughter had not stopped talking about it since our last stay and was thrilled to go back. She was anxious to go every morning and so happy by the end of each day (and also healthily exhausted by the numerous activities). The counselors are the best ones you can hope for: fun, energetic, responsible and caring. Love them all! Special kudos to Juju, Daphne, Elie Boom Boom, Sam, Christine, Allan, Samuel. They are amazing! Go CousCous Team! Oh le, olele! Oh la, chocolat! :)
It was also our first experience with the baby club. Here too, we were so pleased. The adorable ladies taking care of the little ones are wonderful, giving them so much love and attention all day long. Special kudos to Noemie, Alina, Daph and Tania. They were amazing and took such good care of our baby girl. We felt so comfortable and in total trust and were finally able to relax and enjoy some quiet time and activities.
We particularly enjoyed the fitness activities with Marisa and Tali, both excellent instructors and very nice ladies.
The club was 3/4 full and it never felt crowded. The beach by the water activities is much quieter and is our favorite spot. The main and mini-club pools are great for the kids.
The food is amazing too and there is something for everyone, from the baby corner (where someone will help you prepare a mix of fresh food you selected from the buffet) to the kids' favorites (pizza, pasta, fries, crepes), 3 different grilled fish and 5 or 6 chef specialties at every meal. The restaurant and cleaning staff is also incredibly nice.
As for the room, I had called a few days before our arrival to request the same deluxe suite we had the first time and we got it. We felt just like at home, loving to enjoy the sun rise and listen to the birds singing every morning and evening. So relaxing! The room is perfect and very comfortable for a family: a bedroom for the parents with a king size bed, a smaller bedroom for the kids with 2 twin size beds where a crib can also fit in, a separate small living room with a sofa, a balcony, a large bathroom with a walk-in shower, a bath tube and two sinks, lots of closets, a mini fridge filled with sodas, 4 bottles of water every day, turndown service with chocolates and an umbrella for the rainy evenings (only had one in the week). Two flat screen TVs too, but we could not care less for those! The cleaning was irreproachable and the maintenance staff came quickly when we needed them to fix the closet door.
We were however not impressed by the new Chief of Village. The previous one was much more present and warm. But it didn’t prevent us from having a fantastic week. I therefore guess he is still a good manager.
We love Club Med Punta Cana and we will go back every year as long as we can.
The only thing we don't like about our stay: leaving!

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VeroB_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 January 2012

Just returned from 5 nights at Club Med Punta Cana. We took our 9 mo old and our 2.5 yr old. We could not have had a better vacation and I doubt we could have taken them to any other resort and had such a good experience. 5 Trident space is fabulous. We enjoyed the private pool and the cocktails/entertainment and food in the evenings. Almost every room had families with kids similar ages to ours. Everyone was staying a minimum of a week. We plan to return next year. The venue had everything we needed. We were very impressed by the quality of the staff, the GORGEOUS beaches, the facilities (not brand new but nice), the food, the facility with all of our needs. Tanya and Anne in the 5 Trident space deserve much praise for their incredible attention to detail. We have stayed in some of the most acclaimed hotels and would return here first - extremely easy direct flight. Entertainment was fun, activities were plentiful and kept us busy, kids club was extremely impressive, overall great experience. 5 trident is definitely worth the extra expense, especially for the space/kids/privacy/ extra attention. Bravo Club Med Punta Cana, and thank you for everything. We look forward to returning soon!

Room Tip: FIVE TRIDENT is absolutely worth every penny. Ask for a room near the bar/pool, you'll look out...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Louisa S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Punta Cana hotels
0.6 mi away
The Westin Puntacana Resort & Club
2.3 mi away
Tortuga Bay Hotel Puntacana Resort & Club
9.9 mi away
The Reserve at Paradisus Palma Real
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.2 mi away
The Reserve at Paradisus Punta Cana
8 mi away
Eden Roc at Cap Cana
Eden Roc at Cap Cana
#4 of 113 in Punta Cana
455 reviews
9.9 mi away
Paradisus Palma Real Golf & Spa Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Club Med Punta Cana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Club Med Punta Cana

Address: Apartado Postal | 106 Higuey Provincia La Altagracia, Punta Cana, Dominican Republic
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > La Altagracia Province > Punta Cana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#35 Top resorts Hotel in Punta Cana
#37 On the Beach Hotel in Punta Cana
#37 Spa Hotel in Punta Cana
#39 Luxury Hotel in Punta Cana
#41 Romantic Hotel in Punta Cana
Price Range: £212 - £637 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Club Med Punta Cana 4*
Number of rooms: 631
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover the Dominican Republic in this all-inclusive family resort, designed over a long white-sand beach, considered to be the finest in the world. Travel to Club Med Punta Cana with your family and enjoy a carefree all-inclusive vacation in this resort which flourishes beside a lagoon surrounded by magnificent grove of coconut palms. Fun moments filled with memories await your kids at Club Med world-famous children's clubs with dedicated activities and sports for children and teenagers from morning to evening, for each age group, and all coordinated by qualified and enthusiastic professionals. This newly redesigned resort has something for everyone, with amenities such as: Baby Club Med™*, a new Spa* with private pool access, exclusive private Oceanfront Family Suites, new dedicated programs for Mini Club Med™ including Le Petit Tennis(R), circus school and Baby Gym(R), Passworld for teens, and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Club Med so you can book your Club Med Punta Cana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Club Med Punta Cana Hotel Punta Cana
Punta Cana Club Med
Club Med Dominican Republic

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing