We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bring your own cameras, sheets, towels, and cleaning supplies”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Club Med Punta Cana
Ranked #42 of 112 Hotels in Punta Cana
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 January 2012

Well... lets face it - most of us did not grow up in Buckingham Palace, and we cannnot always expect everyone to speak English when we travel to a foreign country. Therefore, the fact that the rooms were filthy, the staff speaks only French, and I think I'd rather eat my shoe than ever taste another beautifully-plated pile of garbage - Club Med calls 'gourmet', is not exactly the straw that broke the camel's back.
What irritates me to the core are those two chicks in the Photoshop who try to charge you $20 for a picture. When we refused (we were a rather large group) they offered us to buy all the photos for $900 (we're talking about 100 pictures). Honestly, I think we might have pulled our money together and purchased them if they were'nt so rude - actually yelling at us to "stop wasting their time". After that we wanted to run back to our rooms an take a rape shower.

By the way if you have English-speaking kids you can forget about taking them to the Mini-Club or to the shows in the evening - they will not understand a word. The only shows they will understand are the ones when the bafoons from the Mini-Club go up on stage - fart, and spit bananas at one another.

Nevertheless, the G.O.s and the rest of the staff are super nice people, they really work hard, and I will give them credit for that.

Room Tip: Goodluck with that
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Jacki K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
clubmedofficial, Guest Relations Manager at Club Med Punta Cana, responded to this reviewResponded 17 February 2012

Hi Jacki K,
Thank you for writing this review. The satisfaction of our guests is our top priority, and we are terribly sorry that you were so unsatisfied with your vacation. Please know that we are voicing your concerns and will do what it takes to correct them. We hope to see you at a Club Med resort in the future.

Kind Regards,
Your Club Med Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (9,041)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,034 - 2,040 of 9,041 reviews

Reviewed 26 January 2012

Stayed there 7 days and we were bit sad to leave...OK, let's face it : rare are the places down South where the standards of cleanliness are the same as in 4.5 stars hotels of the province of Quebec...But for all the other standards + the fun in the sun, we found THE place. 1. The property is close from the airport (no waste of time getting there). 2. They have a team of GOs waiting for you with drinks and wet hot towels when you arrive at the hotel. 3. Short welcome speech, explanations about the activities and straight to the room where your luggage is delivered as soon as you open the door. 4. Plenty of activities - all the time. 5. Very good food - many choices available - breakfast, lunch and dinner. 6. If you prefer a quiet spot on the beach, absolutely no problem. 7. Lots of long chairs under the palm trees. 8. Friendly staff - lots of GOs were from the province of Quebec (!). 9. Guests from all over the world. 10. Fully equipped Kids Club, with kind and caring GOs. Conclusion : a bit expensive, but worth it.

Room Tip: We were in the Iguana unit, second floor. Very good location for quietness.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Patrice B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 January 2012

We are just coming back from the Club med in Punta Cana and we had the perfect family vacation!!!! The kids club is amazing the kids had a blast, the team is incredible. Our kids didn't want to leave.
We had such a relaxing and fun vacation, the place is beautiful, the fitness class on the beach make you forget you are working out! The service is outstanding. The food is very good.
We are resigning for next year that's for sure!
The rooms are a little small but they are clean! I would use more storage and hangers to put away our clothe but beside that it was perfect!

Room Tip: You want to be next to the kids club
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Anne F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 January 2012

Just returned from spending one week with friends and family at Club Med Punta Cana. This was one of the best, if not the best, vacations we have ever had as a family. The place is gorgeous, and the staff are wonderful. The food, although not necessarily stellar, was great. The kids' camp was vibrant, always tons of activities going on and great GO's. Not a dull day at the resort, and there were activities for everyone. The circus GO's were particularly awesome (Alexandra, Wren, Atila, Manu and Henry), and turned our already wonderful trip into a truly spectacular week. We already miss them greatly, a day after coming home...
I would have no hesitation in recommending this resort to anyone. My only criticism revolves around the kids' entertainment at night, which was too loud, and not very good at all. The show that the kids did though was amazing, and the staff deserves great kudos for putting it together so quickly.
We had such a great time, I can't wait to go back.

Room Tip: Families with young children might want to ask for a room far from the theater as the shows are very...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cpound
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 January 2012

We reserved a luxury accomdations because regular rooms were fully booked and we wanted to spend our vacation with our son and wife and 3 grandchildren
We were told accomdations would include extra room and a private pool
they tooks to our room it was only a single room and in very poor condition I immediately
went back to reservation and told we paid for luxury accomdation and we would not accept
this room we talked to the supervisor and she stated the reservation was for a regular room only I then asked for a refund for the premium We paid for luxury accomdation, she did not have the authority to give a refund We asked to speak to the manager he called Club Med in Montreal after waiting about 30 minutes he finally gave us accomdation with an adjoining room, the phone did not work neither the coffee machines This incident spoiled the rest of the vacation the money I paid was exorbirant for what we received as far as the private pool it was the main pool that was available to all the people on the compound
I will never go to club Med again, unless they resolve the above issue and give me refund for the premium I paid

Room Tip: check the rooms you are paying for
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Jack V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
clubmedofficial, Guest Relations Manager at Club Med Punta Cana, responded to this reviewResponded 17 February 2012

Hi Jack V,
We are very sorry you feel you were misled about the accommodations you booked with us at Punta Cana. If you haven’t yet done so, please give one of our representatives a call at 1-800-465-6633 so they can try to sort this out for you.

Kind Regards,
Your Club Med Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2012

If you want a place where you AND your kids can have a great vacation, this Club Med location is the spot. The Mini Clubs (for babies as young as 4 months old) have simply amazing, dedicated staff who you will feel safe leaving your kids in their hands. There is also a pajama club so you can go out at night and the kids will be watched (none of these clubs are free and if you are interested in the Mini Clubs make sure you book them as FAR IN ADVANCE as possible, because they fill up and are not available to you once full).

The food is not that good (only 2 buffet spots that are quite similar) and our room smelled very moldy, but if you can put those things aside for the luxury of being able to sit on the beach or by the pool, or go on excursions or enjoy activities without your kids, it's worth it. You can also do things with your kids, of course, but this provides a nice way to have quality time with your partner.

It's weird there is no room service, or movie rentals in room, which is a bit weird as if you don't use the pajama club and have kids, you're stuck in your room and there isn't even a proper sitting place to hang out (just a couch in the hall, but no table, so its awkward). I think the resort is pretty old (re: smelly rooms) and the pool has some nasty looking cracks on the bottom, but the kids staff are incredible.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hiya78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
clubmedofficial, Guest Relations Manager at Club Med Punta Cana, responded to this reviewResponded 17 February 2012

Hi hiya78,
Thank you for writing this review of Punta Cana. We are glad that you and your kids had a nice stay with us and thank you for your kind words about our childcare staff. We are sorry, though, that you weren’t very pleased with the dining options nor the accommodations. We thank you for bringing your concerns to our attention and we will address them at the resort.

Kind Regards,
Your Club Med Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 January 2012

I was there with my husband and two kids for the second year in a row. We had another memorable and amazing time. Our best moments were with the trapeze team for myself and my 2 year old daughter. She did attempt the big trapeze twice on our last day. What an incredible moment and souvenir. A special thank to Henry and Emmanuel.
Line, Tim, Sofia, Justin
From Quebec, CANADA

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Line D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Punta Cana hotels
0.6 mi away
The Westin Puntacana Resort & Club
2.3 mi away
Tortuga Bay Hotel Puntacana Resort & Club
6 mi away
Sanctuary Cap Cana by Playa Hotels & Resorts
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8 mi away
Eden Roc at Cap Cana
Eden Roc at Cap Cana
#6 of 112 in Punta Cana
439 reviews
12.2 mi away
The Reserve at Paradisus Punta Cana
9.9 mi away
The Reserve at Paradisus Palma Real
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Club Med Punta Cana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Club Med Punta Cana

Address: Apartado Postal | 106 Higuey Provincia La Altagracia, Punta Cana, Dominican Republic
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > La Altagracia Province > Punta Cana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#36 Top resorts Hotel in Punta Cana
#38 On the Beach Hotel in Punta Cana
#38 Spa Hotel in Punta Cana
#39 Luxury Hotel in Punta Cana
#41 Romantic Hotel in Punta Cana
Price Range: £222 - £991 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Club Med Punta Cana 4*
Number of rooms: 631
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover the Dominican Republic in this all-inclusive family resort, designed over a long white-sand beach, considered to be the finest in the world. Travel to Club Med Punta Cana with your family and enjoy a carefree all-inclusive vacation in this resort which flourishes beside a lagoon surrounded by magnificent grove of coconut palms. Fun moments filled with memories await your kids at Club Med world-famous children's clubs with dedicated activities and sports for children and teenagers from morning to evening, for each age group, and all coordinated by qualified and enthusiastic professionals. This newly redesigned resort has something for everyone, with amenities such as: Baby Club Med™*, a new Spa* with private pool access, exclusive private Oceanfront Family Suites, new dedicated programs for Mini Club Med™ including Le Petit Tennis(R), circus school and Baby Gym(R), Passworld for teens, and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Club Med so you can book your Club Med Punta Cana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Club Med Punta Cana Hotel Punta Cana
Punta Cana Club Med
Club Med Dominican Republic

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing