We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Club Med Punta Cana
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Bavaro Rainbow(Punta Cana)
View Hotel
Reviews (9,958)
Filter reviews
9,958 results
Traveller rating
5,192
2,967
1,090
458
251
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
5,192
2,967
1,090
458
251
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmini clubkids clubpetit clubhispaniola restaurantcircus teamchef de villagezen poolflying trapezecrazy signsthe white chocolate breadla cavecouscous teamindigo bartennis teamtiara suitestrident spaceland sports
Filter
Updating list...
2,259 - 2,264 of 9,958 reviews
Reviewed 9 February 2012

This was our family's second trip to Club Med Punta Cana. Our children are 4 and 5, so were together in the kids clubs, in the Snoopies group. The CousCous team was outstanding again. Though at first we were disappointed to learn that the irreplacable Juju was away for the week, Alban who covered for him brought similar warmth and creativity to the programming. My kids fell in love with their CousCous team leaders - Alban, Micius, Daphnee, Christine, Sam, Vicky, etc.
Having the kids well looked after during the day meant that my husband I could lounge by the pool, have leisurely lunches, and enjoy the kids shows every night.
I was also impressed to see and speak with the Chef du Village, Barq on several occasions. He had great presence around the place.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sarah D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
clubmedofficial, Guest Relations Manager at Club Med Punta Cana, responded to this reviewResponded 1 March 2012

Dear Sarah D,
Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your stay and returning to our resort again! We are so glad to hear that you and your husband were able to have a very enjoyable vacation, and that your kids had a wonderful time. Your children's safety is very important to us, and we are glad that you felt like they were in good hands. It was a pleasure seeing you and your family, and we hope to see you again soon!
Best,
Your Club Med Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 February 2012

Well we stayed here for 7 days with family and had a very good time. I wish I could give 3.75 stars, but ill give it 4 because the place was mostly clean, pretty well run, with decent food quality and selections, a beautiful beach, a mostly beautiful property, lots of activities, and since we went for free, its a bit easier to get over the small stuff. The resort is huge so be careful where you end up if you have mobility issues, but its nice exercise with all the food you eat with the all inclusive plan here. Our room seemed like it was out in the middle of nowhere, but was clean and modern with no issues. This place seems to be geared toward the French and their children, so beware if culture, crazy little kids, language barriers, and/or cigarette smoke bothers you!

Good:
-Great activities especially for the kids (we didnt have any)
-Beach is gorgeous and huge, plenty of room for all, and very post card like
-Food is above average for an all inclusive in D.R. with lots even for picky eaters
-Resort itself is huge, plenty to move around and do if you do not wish to leave
-Everything seemed satisfactorily kept up
-Great kids camp if you need to ditch the young'ins for the day
-Staff all mostly smile and seem friendly even if they dont understand a thing you are saying
-Some entertainment/shows here and there, trapeeze, etc...
-Tennis center
-Cultural differences, some spanish, but mainly french

Bad
-Place is expensive for what you are getting if you dont have kids
-The entertainment is very repitive and primitive in the main bar/lounge area. Same songs on the same days, over and over and over, I sometimes wonder what the mental health of these poor employees is like
-These kids camp counselors and the kids march around the resort thoughout the day screaming some french song, its cute the first time, laugh out loud the second, all smiles the third time around, and then it turns into an annoyance. For some reason they think its cool to march these terrors back up and down the beach paths, while making them all scream this dumb song at the top of their lungs. So while im napping on the pristine beach in quiet paradise, suddenly im awaken by this greatly disturbing ruckus. I've never hated children more.
-Place caters to the Frenchies: More French guests than american, which means more french speaking employees who dont speak any english than spansih or english speaking, which may also mean your kid is in a camp/daycare thing with french speaking kids and counselors who dont understand english, and the majority of what they do and say is geared to those kids. Not a really a bother for us...
-Some of the resort grounds are mediocre
-Some of the buildings can be way off the beaten path, requiring quite a walk for beach/food
-Part of the Club Med thing is these odd employees who are required/encouraged to eat with you and do randomn activities with you while you enjoy your stay. While typically nice, it can be awkward and most time just weird. I dunno but the staff here is like brainwashed and odd in many ways. We just stuck these odd balls with the grandparents, haha

In conclusion, we had a good trip, but I would prob not return on my own dime just beacuse I think I could get better value elsewhere, with less of the odd atmosphere. One thing to mention is that after the sun goes down, all these french teenagers (mostly girls) hang in the loung and chain smoke cigarettes sometimes sharing them with, or bumming off, their own parents. Now I have no problem with hot young french women smokin butts in pretty lil outfits around the resort, but we had an 11 and 13yr old cousin with us who were not sure what to make of this, as some of the girls seemed well under 17/18 yrs old. These girls also mentioned that the french kids were not nice to them in the shared play areas. The kids were fine though.

Overall a good trip. Get a room near the beach/dining hall and youll be all set.

Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
4  Thank nycDON
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
clubmedofficial, Guest Relations Manager at Club Med Punta Cana, responded to this reviewResponded 17 February 2012

Hi nycDON,
Thank you for taking the time to review Punta Cana. We are glad that you had a great overall experience with us and enjoyed the beach, resort grounds, and dining. We do apologize, though, that some aspects of your vacation were not to your liking and that some activities seemed repetitive. We will address your concerns and do hope to see you at a Club Med resort in the future.

Kind Regards,
Your Club Med Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 February 2012

Our trip was 1/18/12-1/25/12.
We traveled with 5 kids. 10, 8, 5, 3 and 2 months old

Room tips for people with young kids:
1.Make sure to make reservations with connecting rooms. Apparently there aren't many.
2. Get a connecting room in the Atlantico building. It's central, close to lobby, restaurant, and Mini Club. This way you won't need to walk too much.
3. Get a ground floor room

Quick story:
We were greeted at the entrance by two GO's and were told to follow the G.O to our room. We walked and walked and walked and finally after 10 minutes we were there. Surprisingly, she was taking us to a second floor room. (no elevators) She opened the door and surprisingly, there were people occupying the room. So instead of walking back to the lobby, we demanded to be picked up by the club cart. The kids were exhausted from the flight. The G.O should have known better to take us to our room by cart. We had a 2 month old with us! doesn't take a genius. We spoke with the manager and forced him to give us a ground floor room close by. It was like pulling teeth. The guy wouldn't let the room go.

* we also noticed people who arrived at night got a better welcome reception. All the gG.O's were lined up at the entrance and they served passion fruit drinks etc....

Rooms:
The decor was nice but the stucco walls were bumpy and floors were dirty. The drain in one shower was clogged and the closet door kept falling off.

Large 32oz bottled Desani always restocked in your room. Mini fridge with canned soda, coffee machine with coffee and tea also in the room.

Shampoo, conditioner, shower gel and bar soap also restocked everyday.

Baby Pack:

1. Graco pack and play for a crib
2. Baby bath is a plastic tub (no cushion or sling) not good for little infants, maybe for babies who can sit unassisted.
3. Bottle warmer
4. Baby stroller- Umbrella type. Infanti brand. 4 wheels, reclines all the way, tray, large basket, hood.
5. bottle sterilizer available in the baby room
6. mixed fruit baby food jars and Parmalat milk always available in the baby room.

Kids Club:
4 months-17 years
The first day you have to sign up. Its at 9:00am. If you want to send your kids the first day you arrive, you can at 2:30pm. Nobody told us this so we missed the first day.
Drop off 9am and pick up is anywhere from 4:30-5:30 depending on the activities.
no mini club on saturday.

tip:
bring a small bag, hat , sunscreen, extra underwear for your kids to bring with them everyday.

We loved the ability to drop our kids to camp and have just the infant with us. It was very relaxing as apposed to other resorts where we had to keep all our kids busy/happy which is not easy to do.
The kids loved it! They looked forward to everyday.
Kudos to: Riguince, Christian, Christine, Daphne, Vicky, Micius, Anessa, Alexandra and the general couscous himself JuJu!!
The Mini Club G.O's are great! They have so much energy and are so sweet and lovable. We felt very comfortable leaving our kids in their care.

The food was o.k
If you have any food restrictions, the chef (michael during our stay) will make you special food by request.
Every night was a different cuisine.

If you want to have fun with dress codes some of the ones we had:
all black
all white
blue/white
red/white
pink/black
"45" shirt and jeans
cappuccino (brown)

pros:

1.The Mini Club
2.The grounds are beautiful and the turquoise ocean can't be beat!
3. We were able to to relax and enjoy ourselves with the peace of mind knowing the kids were having fun.

Cons:
1. food
2. a lot of walking
3. rooms were shabby (we found out that you can get a trident suite for a little more money. They are kept clean and have 4 star accommodations. The only downside is it only fits a family of 4 i think)

When we came home we all missed the GO's from mini club and continue to sing the cous cous dance and hands up songs all the time.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ReneeNY23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
clubmedofficial, Guest Relations Manager at Club Med Punta Cana, responded to this reviewResponded 1 March 2012

Dear ReneeNY23,
Thank you so much for taking the time to tell us about your stay. We think that your feedback will be very helpful to potential guests, and will help us improve for the future. It sounds like you and your family had a wonderful vacation. We truly appreciate your business and hope to see you and your family again very soon!
Best,
Your Club Med Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 February 2012

We just returned from our trip with our 14 month old son and had a great time. The beach is beautiful, the staff very friendly and the food was better than we expected. The rooms are very basic but fine (make sure to recommend a second or third floor room).Our son was in the petite club and we found that he was very well taken care of. We hope to come back again another year!!!

Room Tip: Ask for a 2nd or 3rd floor room and make sure to turn AC on high.
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Boston121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
clubmedofficial, Guest Relations Manager at Club Med Punta Cana, responded to this reviewResponded 1 March 2012

Dear Boston121,
Thank you so much for choosing our resort for your family vacation! Your feedback is very important to us, and we are glad to hear that your overall experience was very positive. It sounds like you and your family enjoyed our resort's amenities and service. We are very happy that you felt like your son was in good hands. Please come back and visit us very soon!
Best,
Your Club Med Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2012

when we checked in, we were told that our room was not ready at 4pm, due to a "late checkout" - we accepted this, expecting that the same courtesy would be extended to us, when we checked out at 2pm the following saturday. BUT NO- we were politely told that we had to vacate the room at noon. WITH 1 toddler and 1 infant.

the resort was great otherwise, but given that we PAID for tiara (triton 5 star service) i would have expected better.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank jcmillen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
clubmedofficial, Guest Relations Manager at Club Med Punta Cana, responded to this reviewResponded 17 February 2012

Hi jcmillen,
Thank you for sharing your review with us. We are glad you had a nice vacation but regret that your check-out experience cast such a shadow on your trip. We always try to provide the highest level of customer service to our guests and apologize for falling short. We hope you will consider vacationing with us again in the future.

Kind Regards,
Your Club Med Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews