We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Club Med Punta Cana
Ranked #43 of 112 Hotels in Punta Cana
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 May 2012

Superb Club Med. Beautiful scenery with bounty beaches and nice gardens. Friendly staff and delicious food. Sports facilities are professionally supported, as always in Club Med. Special shout out to Kerven from the sailing team.

Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
1  Thank FrankyK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
clubmedofficial, Guest Relations Manager at Club Med Punta Cana, responded to this reviewResponded 6 June 2012

Dear FrankyK,
We appreciate you taking the time to write a review about your recent trip to our Punta Cana resort! It sounds like you had a great time participating in our sports, as well as relaxing on our beaches. We love hearing from all of our guests, and we hope you visit again very soon!

Kind Regards,
Your Club Med Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (9,022)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,909 - 1,915 of 9,025 reviews

Reviewed 29 May 2012

This was my family's (two kids; 8 and 3) first trip to Club Med. We've travelled throughout the Caribbean (Aruba, Bahamas, Costa Rica) and enjoyed our stays at Beaches Negril and at several Iberostars in Jamaica and Mexico the most. We were curious to find out what all the hype was about so we chose to go to CM this time.

We stayed in the Colon wing, which is right beside reception, and loved the close proximity to everything. The room needed some sprucing up but we loved being so close to the pool, beach and restaurants.

This was the first time we travelled with other families. The kids were old enough to entertain themselves while the adults socialized. We were comfortable allowing the kids to go off and either watch an early show or play ping pong or soccer while the adults lingered over dinner and drinks. The kids played at the beach or pool all day, and although they participated in the trapeze, archery and soccer they didn't want to go back to the kids club.

This resort is great for babies and toddlers who would not necessarily enroll in the kids club. The main pool has a very large shallow area and the water park and playground is open to all kids. The restaurants have baby stations complete with several varieties of milk (soy, partly skimmed, whole), very tasty yogurt and puddings. The milk comes in tetra packs so you could take a carton for your room fridge if necessary.

I cannot comment on the organized activities or GOs but I can say they were not in your face; no pressure to participate if you didn't want to. Language wasn't an issue for us since everyone we spoke to understood english.

The beach is beautiful but lacks necessary shade; the palm trees don't protect you from the sun. That is a real issue for me. We would normally stake out beach chairs for the day but here we stayed poolside due to the lack of umbrellas on the beach. When the kids wanted beach time, we took our toys to the sand and they played until the sun became unbearable.

The food reviews are partly what sold us on this resort. The kids always found something they wanted to eat. My older son loved ordering his own paninis at lunch and was also able to collect his own drinks from the juice fountain. Both kids enjoyed the pastas, pizzas and real ice cream they serve at the beachside buffet (as opposed to the soft serve they have in the indoor buffet).

My husband and I are a little bit more discerning. We didn't like that the salad station was not self service (long lines) and we didn't like having to hunt for fresh juice. We did enjoy most of the small appetizer-size dishes, the white chocolate bread, the grouper and the white wine (red wine is horrid). The desserts were sometimes underwhelming for a French establishment but we loved assembling a cheese plate after dinner each night. The chocolate fountain was a hit with everyone but the lobster was terribly overcooked. If you head to the buffet near closing time there will be slim pickings.

We found it difficult to find something to eat between meals because there are periods when neither buffet is open. After breakfast I had to take out a few muffins/fruit or boxes of cereal for the kids to snack on mid-morning. And after lunch I had to make cheese sandwiches and a fruit plate for the kids to eat before the dinner buffet opened at 6:45. The beach bar is open for fast food in the afternoon but the wait was pretty long and they didn't serve anything my kids would eat except French fries. I didn't find out about the bar snacks (served around 11 a.m. and 4 p.m.) until half-way through our trip but they were slim pickings too.

All in all we had a great time and would recommend this resort, but because we like visiting new places, we'd probably not return. Enjoy your trip.

Room Tip: The rooms closest to the main pool and reception are the most centrally located.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank helenfromtoronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
clubmedofficial, Guest Relations Manager at Club Med Punta Cana, responded to this reviewResponded 6 June 2012

Dear helenfromtoronto,
We’re so happy you had a great first Club Med experience at our Punta Cana resort. It sounds like you had a great time relaxing by our pool and on our beach! We’re excited to hear your kids enjoyed their vacation, too! We’re sorry if our dining options did not meet your expectations. Thank you for sharing your comments with us, and we hope you come back to see us soon!

Kind Regards,
Your Club Med Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2012

This is my 3rd visit to this particular club med that i can remember and i never thought this year's vacation could top lasts. upon our arrival Wilkins and Josefat were two of the mot friendly people i have met and our first impressions sky rocketed. These two individually set up what was to be one of the greatest vacations ever. Firstly, if you are worried about food, do not worry. It is simply the best of the best. We have traveled all over and the food here is excellent. No worries about being sick or having upset stomachs, there are food for all types of eaters and the nightly rotation keeps things very interesting. The beach is beautiful, private of course and there are no distractions while enjoying the sun and the waves. Club Med also prides itself on the best beaches and low rise buildings so the sun is still bright at 6-7pm rather than shaded out as most other resorts with high structures contend with. The biggest draw to club med is the formula, they have mastered it. The G.O team and staff are wonderful. In particular, Jessi Weeks, Antonio Farruggia and Yannick Mercier of the land sports section were the cream of the crop. They were all very welcoming and had lots of motivation, pep, and never without a smile on their faces. I truly felt those three are one of the most important assets to Club Med and they made our vacation that much better. The energy they brought to the club was remarkable. Moreover, the way in which they approach the professional aspect of work and integration with vacationers was amazing, i tip my hat to all three. The Fitness classes run by Nathalie Durand were so much fun, she really knows how to work off all the great food and adult beverages consumed during the stay (I don't know her secret but she has so much energy and will leave you feeling amazing with a smile on you're face). As for water sports, the sailing and windsurfing instructors were great. In particular Britt Minkus was able to divulge 2 hours of personal training to help me improve and master the skills required to enjoy the sport. I know for many who have traveled to all inclusive resorts, the long waits at the bars can be excruciating, not here. Raphael, Valerie Bilodeau, Noemie Tremblay, Kenny Bourgon and Julia will ensure that anything you want is promptly served with a smile and they all are always happy to have a nice conversation. Furthermore, i recommend you let the bartenders create their own personal drinks, they far exceed anything served on the menu. They were exceptional and extremely gracious, well done. I know for many travelling with children and leaving them in the care of others can be a very nerve racking experience, especially in a foreign country. I had the pleasure of meeting Natalie Ava Wasserman and Kaylin Wry both of whom are overly qualified and excellent caretakers. For the parents who are nervous do not be, if the rest of the Mini Club Staff is half as good as these two, there is no need to fret one ounce, drop the kids off let them have a great time and enjoy you're stay and the club. These two will ensure that the kids memories are as good or better then you're own. The facilities were impeccable (personal note try tipping the maids a few american dollars a day, trust me it makes a difference). Everything is clean, the bar and the disco are fantastic. In all this was one of the best vacations to date, i highly recommend this club. The formula of activities and G.O will make it a highlight and you will become Club Meders for life. Everyone i have named stood out far beyond any of my already high expectations and the rest of the G.O's also did a fantastic job. Thank you for the great memories and i hope that you decide to go because it is well worth it!

Room Tip: Every Room is great, if you can try and book a deluxe room, it makes a difference
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Liam-T H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
clubmedofficial, Guest Relations Manager at Club Med Punta Cana, responded to this reviewResponded 6 June 2012

Dear Liam-T H,
Wow! It sounds like you had an unforgettable experience on your recent trip to our Punta Cana resort! We’re so happy you keep coming back to stay with us! We love hearing that our GO team made you trip as fantastic as can be! We’re excited to learn that you had a great time participating in all of our great amenities from our kid’s club to our water sports! We value all of your feedback, and we are already looking forward to your next visit!

Kind Regards,
Your Club Med Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2012

This is my second visit here, first with my family and my 23rd club med visit,
I dont particularly care for D.R. (the country) its just ok, the resort is quite good, The ground like most club med were quite good, location is always excellent thats what clubmed is known for !!
We took the long way there LA-Panama to P.C. Long flight long day. Nice club med greeting, close to center rooms as we requested, room was standard blub med fare, family room 3 beds nice, not too large rather small compared to other fam room like in ixtapa or cancun.
Alan from ixtapa was transferred her from ixtapa and my son recognized him right away, have known him for years, The kids club had familiar faces from other resorts, so it was like a family reunion for us. son had a great time sailing snorkeling archery, swimming drawing and eating 3 ice creams a day!! crepes, mango etc.
WE found the food average as far as club med goes, but more than satisfactory, I prob wont return to this resort again, perhaps columbus isle or guadeloupe next. town has got nothing, going on overpriced goods as well as overpriced taxis and tourist pricing.

Room Tip: Have club med get you as part of the land package avoid haggling with cabs you dont need to venture...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank finestrod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
clubmedofficial, Guest Relations Manager at Club Med Punta Cana, responded to this reviewResponded 6 June 2012

Dear finestrod,
We’re so lucky to have loyal guests like you and your family! We’re so excited to hear you loved our Punta Cana resort! It sounds like you and your family enjoyed all of our wonderful amenities and activities, such as our kid’s club. We sincerely appreciate all of your feedback, and we look forward to seeing you at one of our other resorts in the future!

Kind Regards,
Your Club Med Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2012

Club Med Punta Cana resort is in a stunning location with its own private beach, only a short transfer from the airport. The ground staff are up early and work hard to keep the seaweed on the beautiful beach to a minimum, so it looks inviting, just like a picture post card, with white sand and clear turquoise water. I didn't see any litter at all. The same goes for the grounds which are green & lush with fabulous hibiscus & bougainvillea flowers and the expansive pool area with thatched umbrellas providing shade when the sun is at it's hottest. It really is a pretty resort and is enjoyed by all sorts of guests from families, work groups and single travellers. The GO's make everyone feel welcome and we were joined for dinner on several evenings by some very interesting characters including the new tennis coach Roger and the entertaining Eva from HR, Nelson & Ramon were fun too.
Barq the Chef de Village was in evidence every day accompanied by Giles the Sports & Leisure Manager who was very helpful answering all our questions and informing us of the day's events in his excellent English, as he soon realised our French needed some work! He has a nice way about him, quickly putting you at ease and making you feel like a special guest.
We enjoyed the crazy sign dancing - even joined in too a few times and did head to the night club afterwards to try some moves of our own (best done in a dark corner out of view). Really enjoyed the night club evening where they had the late night volley ball match between GO's & GM's while listening to the sounds from the beach party.
Tried Zumba with the energetic & talented Kimberley (great choreograhy in the shows), and did pilates & body sculpt too. Mainly concentrated on Tennis and found there much to be improved upon, so did lessons every day. When the group was over subscribed it wasn't a problem they just split the group into French & English speakers and got a second coach to help. Thanks to Nelson, Germaine, Ramo & all.
Things of note.
They spray the folliage which keeps the mosquitos to a minimum so we had very few bites. Still worth taking some spray with you for the odd crafty one that escapes.
The one afternoon we had rain the leisure team quickly responded by setting up the Baccalaureate quiz in the bar. By the time we'd finished the short sharp shower had stopped so we hardly noticed it had rained at all.
Dress codes while we were there included white, elegant, black & white, red, cappucino, black & pink and of course jeans & 45 T-Shirt.
The food had the usual excellent choice with Gala night (Friday) being the highlight , thanks to Hugo & his team for the excellent Lobster. We didn't have any trouble with food poisoning during our 10 night stay, but did avail ourselves of the sanitizers at the entrance to the restaurants. For a change we had a lovely simple fish (grouper) & chips at the beach bar where the very charming GO Leo was to be found.
Can't comment on the children's clubs as didn't have any need to use them, but only noticed happy children doing various fun activities while their parents relaxed so that speaks volumes.
All in all a brilliant trip so thank you once again Club Med and think my next one will be at a skiing resort as that works well too.
All the best from the 3NightClubbers.

Room Tip: Requested a quiet room with a high floor with a view and was given Pizarro. It was perfect really qu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank the3nightclubbers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
clubmedofficial, Guest Relations Manager at Club Med Punta Cana, responded to this reviewResponded 6 June 2012

Dear the3nightclubbers,
Wow! Thank you so much for taking the time to write about your recent experience at our Punta Cana resort! We’re so happy to hear you had a great time! It sounds like you took advantage of all of our amenities and activities from the beach party to tennis lessons. We value all of your feedback, and we hope you return to see us soon!

Kind Regards,
Your Club Med Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2012

We picked this Club Med because had heard wonderful things about their teen club Passworld. This vacation was a celebration for my youngest daughter's 16th birthday. I was a little nervous that she was going to feel that she was too old for this and that she would get bored because it was like "camp". The GO's are amazing with the teens and she immediately loved it. She spent all day and night having fun with all of the other new friends she made. She cried when we had to leave and wanted to stay longer. Having your 16 yo totally occupied and having fun made the vacation worth every cent. There is something for everyone in the family. My oldest daughter joined us from college in the East Coast and loved the unlimited access to all of the water sports. My husband and I enjoyed how relaxing and casual the resort was with lots to do, but very few decisions to make.
This is not the most luxurious Club Med resort. The grounds and the hotel look like it is time for some updating and renovating. The rooms are beginning to look worn. They seem to have a maintainance issue as many things in our room were either broken or non-functioning like the nightstand drawers, balcony door lock, drape pulls, lights, and the telephone. The resort is very large and spread out, so if you have a choice ask for a room closer to the reception and dining areas other wise you will be walking a long way to all of your activities and dining. Do not expect real air conditioning in any of the room - they are more like swamp coolers. And consequently all of the rooms and bedding have the smell of mold from the tropical enivronment and high humidity. To avoid the bugs and cockroaches that seem to be normal for this environment request a room above the ground floor. Overall the housekeeping does a good job of keeping the rooms clean.
The food was very good considering it has to cater to many different palates and ages. I especially loved the native Dominican food. It was so nice not having to worry about where to go to dinner every night. I also think that it would be nice if they had one sit-down restaurant that you could order from a menu, as they do in the Cancun Club Med.

Room Tip: Ask for a room closer to the reception area and main pool and on a higher floor than the ground floo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JoyLuckKid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
clubmedofficial, Guest Relations Manager at Club Med Punta Cana, responded to this reviewResponded 6 June 2012

Dear JoyLuckKid,
We’re so happy to hear your family had a great time celebrating your daughter’s 16th birthday at our Punta Cana resort! It sounds like your daughter made some great friends during your stay! We love hearing that our resort had the perfect amenities for every member of your family. We’re very sorry that our accommodations were not up to your standards. We value your opinions and will be taking a closer look at all of your comments. We hope to see you back soon!

Kind Regards,
Your Club Med Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2012

Went week of May 1st, 2012, Had a great relaxing time,,, food was good. GO's very helpful and friendly,,,great warm reception from beginning to end. special thanks to the Chefs and wait staff, the local people made this resort a very positive experience.

The only issue is the poor WiFi service,,, but I have to complement the front desk staff who removed it frommy bill, since they saw me there everydayat the front desk having to reboot into their very poor WiFi system.

One recommendation, put a ceiling fan over the bed,,,since we never could get the AC below 76 F degrees,,,this is torture for an American!,

Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
Thank Fred T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
clubmedofficial, Guest Relations Manager at Club Med Punta Cana, responded to this reviewResponded 6 June 2012

Dear Fred T,
We appreciate you taking the time to write a review about your recent experience at our Punta Cana resort! We’re so happy you had a great vacation and were able to relax and interact with our friendly staff. We sincerely value all of your feedback, and insure you that we will be passing along your comments. We hope you come back and see us soon!

Kind Regards,
Your Club Med Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Punta Cana hotels
0.6 mi away
The Westin Puntacana Resort & Club
2.3 mi away
Tortuga Bay Hotel Puntacana Resort & Club
6 mi away
Sanctuary Cap Cana by Playa Hotels & Resorts
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8 mi away
Eden Roc at Cap Cana
Eden Roc at Cap Cana
#12 of 112 in Punta Cana
437 reviews
12.2 mi away
The Reserve at Paradisus Punta Cana
9.9 mi away
The Reserve at Paradisus Palma Real
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Club Med Punta Cana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Club Med Punta Cana

Address: Apartado Postal | 106 Higuey Provincia La Altagracia, Punta Cana, Dominican Republic
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > La Altagracia Province > Punta Cana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#18 Family Hotel in Punta Cana
#37 Top resorts Hotel in Punta Cana
#39 On the Beach Hotel in Punta Cana
#39 Spa Hotel in Punta Cana
#40 Luxury Hotel in Punta Cana
#41 Romantic Hotel in Punta Cana
Price Range: £221 - £862 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Club Med Punta Cana 4*
Number of rooms: 631
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover the Dominican Republic in this all-inclusive family resort, designed over a long white-sand beach, considered to be the finest in the world. Travel to Club Med Punta Cana with your family and enjoy a carefree all-inclusive vacation in this resort which flourishes beside a lagoon surrounded by magnificent grove of coconut palms. Fun moments filled with memories await your kids at Club Med world-famous children's clubs with dedicated activities and sports for children and teenagers from morning to evening, for each age group, and all coordinated by qualified and enthusiastic professionals. This newly redesigned resort has something for everyone, with amenities such as: Baby Club Med™*, a new Spa* with private pool access, exclusive private Oceanfront Family Suites, new dedicated programs for Mini Club Med™ including Le Petit Tennis(R), circus school and Baby Gym(R), Passworld for teens, and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Club Med so you can book your Club Med Punta Cana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Club Med Punta Cana Hotel Punta Cana
Punta Cana Club Med
Club Med Dominican Republic

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing