We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sporty holiday in the Caribbean”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Club Med Punta Cana
Ranked #43 of 112 Hotels in Punta Cana
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Sporty holiday in the Caribbean”
Reviewed 13 August 2014

I had an amazing sporty holiday in Club Med Punta Cana. Lots of tennis, snorkelling and sailing. The GOs were incredibly charming, keeping me entertained with mojitos and bachata dancing. Cusine wise, I found the local dishes a tad on the salty side. I recommend sticking to the international dishes. Do try the massages in the palapa huts. Bliss! Don't turn the air conditioning on too low, less you catch a cold. Thorough recommend this tropical gem!

Room Tip: If you are travelling solo, choose rooms on the trapeze side. They are closer to the sports activiti...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Culture-nomad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

8,639 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    4,479
    2,611
    945
    400
    204
See reviews for
5,321
1,439
346
76
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (690)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Fayetteville, Georgia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 August 2014 via mobile

I went to Club Med Punta Cana for the first time in 2013. It was a great stay. I met people there that I am still in touch with today. It had a great impact on me. The food was amazing. If you go yo have to try their white chocolate bread! Oh my goodness I can't say enough about it. The room was pleasant for me and my family. Wish I was there right now. I will be going back. The staff was great, they came to our table and ate dinner with us, we learned a lot about each other. It was just an all around great experience! When you go don't forget about the white chocolate bread! Makeep sure to get the recipe!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Karen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westport, Connecticut
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2014

We stayed at the Club Med Punta Cana for 9 days at the end July/beginning of August with 3 teenagers. Our stay couldn't have been more perfect.
The staff at Club Med are delightful, there is always something going on and even when there is an occasional shower they have an activity organized within 5 minutes.
We stayed in 2 standard family rooms next to each other, not interconnected; but that's not a problem with teenagers. Due to the set up of the Club we had to walk about 5 minutes to the main bar and restaurant (less to the Spanish restaurant), but a walk in the beautifully kept gardens with all the bright colored buildings is hardly a punishment. On the way back there is always the option of taking a 'taxi' in the form of a golf buggy (no charge!).
The food was great. Even on the beach there are GO's walking around with fruit trays and checking if you'd like to drink something.
While there our 2 eldest went horse riding and loved it. They also did scuba diving and tubing which were both very well organized.
As a family we went to Sanoa (by catamaran)....what an amazing day. Our guide was brilliant and the whole day was extremely well organized. An absolute must!
My only suggestion to the Club Med staff would be to make the whole resort smoke free. Unfortunately there are still people who don't care about children (and grown ups!) inhalating smoke from cigarettes.

Room Tip: With small chidden it may be wise to ask for a room close to the main building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank travelwithkids_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 6 Contributor
244 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014

Grew up going to this place a lot and going back gave felt awesome. Great for families and groups looking for peace and quiet in the Caribbean with a French touch. Food, beaches, drinks, rooms everything is yum!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jiev16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
162 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014

We were here for 7 days. We stayed in the 2 bedroom villa with beach view. We had family stay in a 2 bedroom villa with out beach view. I would do the beach view, room was a little bigger. Our rooms would never get cool, at all! If we closed the door where the kids slept, then our room didn't get any air flow! It was soooo hot! Im from Texas and I'm used to that and it was hot to us!
Our shower leaked water out the side all over the floor every time someone took a shower. 4 of us had to shower everyday. That made a big mess! Our room and family members room both had a welcome letter in our room with an invite to VIP party, we were not VIP members and it had the wrong names on it. Everyone who came in on a bus had a neat welcoming song and music and cold towels, we didn't get anything. On the website it said there was complimentary wifi in the Lobby, but we had to pay for it and it was very expensive!! This is a French resort. Which is fine but we did not know this. Everyone there spoke french. We were the only 9 people that spoke english, so it was very difficult to make new friends and communicate with people. The music was the exact same every night. It was pretty boring. The food was so disappointing. It was almost the exact same every night. Everything was covered with flies and we even saw a nastily little roach climbing on the omelette station. The drinks at the bars were dominican only. You could buy Moet and Cavet for a very very high price!!! We paid over $100 american dollars for a $35 bottle of Moet. We signed up for all of our excursions ahead of time because they fill up pretty quickly. So the lady told us she would work ou our receipt and give it to us the next day. When we went to pick it up it was way more than what she said. She said she was sorry she quoted us in Euro$$ and that she couldn't change it. We went to the front desk and they said they could not help us. She totally ripped us off by a few hundred dollars. If we would have said we didn't want to pay then they would have just charged our card on file anyway. If you want to lay out by the pool you have to get up at 6 or 7 and hold chairs. The TV's in the rooms were so fuzzy you couldn't hardly see them. We called to have someone come look at them, and they never did. There were bees in the soda machine down by the beach snack bar. The whole time we were there they never changed our sheets, they only came in and remade the bed and picked up the dirty towels. The club med app didn't work either. For the crazy expensive price you pay to stay here, it's defiantly not worth it unless you know french and don't like good food and drinks. We will never stay at another Club Med ever. I wish I could get my money back honestly. I had a great time with my family though. Just the things you pay for they didn't not have great quality.

Room Tip: Ask for beach view close to the main lobby bar area or you will have to walk pretty far to do anythi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
13 Thank aer8301
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2014

We have been in several Club Meds before and the Punta Cana club is one of the most beautiful I've seen. As this was a special family occasion, we stayed at the Tiara in a family suite and the service and extras couldn't have been better! Christelle and her team looked after us in every possible way and made sure that our stay was exceptional. Special mention to Castillo at the pool, all the Tiara bar staff and reception team. The rooms are very well appointed and have a wonderful view to the ocean.
Restaurant: Most of the time we ate at the Hispaniola restaurant outside on the veranda (where you always get a table if you are staying at the Tiara) and the food was good, but a bit less good then in other Club Meds.
Mini Club: We had the mini club nearby and our 2 children went pretty much every day for half a day or so. One of the big problems for non French kids at Club med is the language barrier. Because although one mentions that the children don't speak French, the GO's tend to revert to French (which is entirely normal if 80% of the kids are French). Special thanks to Devin for making our girls feel at ease and being always happy! The activities are very varied and it would be a suggestion to have a dedicated English speaking GO and put all the English speaking kids in that particular group, there are usually enough children to do that.
Tennis academy: We really enjoyed the tennis programme and courses. My husband went to most tournaments and we made lots of friends. Thank you to Ramon and his team for making is so welcome and special mention to our teacher Jensen (vamos arriba!).
Circus: I have fallen in love with the flying trapeze and it's an activity which I do regularly whilst at Club Med. Punta Cana has a fantastic circus team and I'd really like to mention all of them (Manny, Ray Ray, Emanuel, Julio, Elisa and Hugo) as they went out of their way to teach me and encouraged me to progress. One thing which I found particularly good, is that compared to other club meds, you were allowed to take part in the "Catch" every day, contrary to other clubs where you can only "catch" with the position you are working on.
Shows: We particularly loved the circus show and the Michael Jackson one. But also the Mini Club Show deserves a special mention as Tom Tom and his team put a lot of effort into it and make it really nice.
Excursions: We only did 2 as the prices are expensive (and I agree here with what other reviewers have said). Swimming with the dolphins and we hired a boat one afternoon. Both were great.
Scuba Diving: The scuba diving is very well organised and the prices are fair. The equipment is really well maintained and our dive master David made sure that we felt confident and made the most of our dives.
Just a note on the weather. We had been told, that it rains a lot in July. That's so not true. We had rain 2x, 10min and 5min aprox and some thunderstorms at night. That's it! The weather stayed around 30degrees, so not too hot, but quite humid.
Overall it was a fantastic holiday for the whole family. The whole Club Med formula works for us at the moment and if you take advantage of all the activities & sports I think it's good value for money. All the staff was exceptionally friendly too.

Room Tip: If your budget allows, stay at the Tiara, it's worth every penny.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Kerstin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbus, Ohio, United States
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2014

This is our 2nd year to go to Punta Cana. We had a total of 10 family members 6 adults, 2 teen agers and 2 younger children. We stayed in the Tiara suites which I highly recommend. If you are a tennis player they have a great tennis program with clinics in the morning and tournaments in the afternoon. The language is either French or Spanish and English is a minority. The main GO did not socialize with the Americans as he did not understand English or speak it very well which I thought was not right. The food is okay with plenty of selections, the only thing was the birds that flew around the restaurant and if you happened to leave the table the birds would land on the plate and try to eat the food. The entertainment was okay the only thing I would suggest is having it earlier especially if you have children. I wish they would have some excursion to the city so we could do some shopping.

Room Tip: Pay the difference and get the Tiara Suites. It is well worth the money.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Pam K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Punta Cana hotels
0.6 mi away
The Westin Puntacana Resort & Club
2.3 mi away
Tortuga Bay Hotel Puntacana Resort & Club
6.0 mi away
Sanctuary Cap Cana by AlSol
Sanctuary Cap Cana by AlSol
#40 of 112 in Punta Cana
4,832 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
AlSol Tiara Cap Cana
AlSol Tiara Cap Cana
#22 of 112 in Punta Cana
1,842 reviews
8.0 mi away
Eden Roc at Cap Cana
Eden Roc at Cap Cana
#18 of 112 in Punta Cana
394 reviews
10.0 mi away
The Reserve at Paradisus Palma Real
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Club Med Punta Cana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Club Med Punta Cana

Property: Club Med Punta Cana
Address: Apartado Postal | 106 Higuey Provincia La Altagracia, Punta Cana, Dominican Republic
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > La Altagracia Province > Punta Cana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#18 Family Hotel in Punta Cana
#37 Top resorts Hotel in Punta Cana
#39 On the Beach Hotel in Punta Cana
#39 Spa Hotel in Punta Cana
#40 Luxury Hotel in Punta Cana
#41 Romantic Hotel in Punta Cana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Club Med Punta Cana 4*
Number of rooms: 631
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover the Dominican Republic in this all-inclusive family resort, designed over a long white-sand beach, considered to be the finest in the world. Travel to Club Med Punta Cana with your family and enjoy a carefree all-inclusive vacation in this resort which flourishes beside a lagoon surrounded by magnificent grove of coconut palms. Fun moments filled with memories await your kids at Club Med world-famous children's clubs with dedicated activities and sports for children and teenagers from morning to evening, for each age group, and all coordinated by qualified and enthusiastic professionals. This newly redesigned resort has something for everyone, with amenities such as: Baby Club Med™*, a new Spa* with private pool access, exclusive private Oceanfront Family Suites, new dedicated programs for Mini Club Med™ including Le Petit Tennis(R), circus school and Baby Gym(R), Passworld for teens, and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Club Med so you can book your Club Med Punta Cana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Club Med Punta Cana Hotel Punta Cana
Punta Cana Club Med
Club Med Dominican Republic

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing