We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good but not what a club med reputation is all about...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Club Med Punta Cana
Ranked #44 of 112 Hotels in Punta Cana
Certificate of Excellence
Montreal, Canada
1 review
“Good but not what a club med reputation is all about...”
Reviewed 17 February 2011

We were eager to our first vacations to a club med, which has an excellent reputation. Travelled with my wife and 9 month old girl. The site was awesome, reception great, pool very nice, beach amazing, service great, sports and activities, this is what club med is all about, excellent, nothing to say, but.......

But, rooms very deceived, not clean, infected with some ants or don't know what was the kind. Had to change room after one night. Next room was better, but after 3 days, same litlle ants came back, and we understood that the cleaning ladies were not doing their job right:. Yes we were in the carribean, i went to some other hotels and it was way cleaner than the club med.. By the way, forget using the phone to call the reception, in both rooms, it wasn't working.

Food, good, average, sometimes very deceiving. I was shocked to see that there is only buffets. Two huge restaurants, but no a la carte restaurant. 3 times a day, 7 days, it was way too much. At the end, we weren't even able to approach the restaurant, kinda tired and sick of the buffet smell.

For the price i paid, really not worth it, should cost at least 500$ less per person.

I recommend for families and people looking for sports and activities. For food and clean rooms, do not go to this hotel.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FunkyJoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
clubmedofficial, Guest Relations Manager at Club Med Punta Cana, responded to this review, 28 February 2011
Dear FunkyJoe,
We really appreciate the time you took to review our resort. We're sorry for the inconvenience you and your family experienced with your rooms. We also apologize that you did not enjoy the food, as so many of our guests do. We have shared this review with our entire staff so that we may continue to work toward improving. We truly strive to make our guests happy and we hope that this experience won't deter you from vacationing to Club Med Punta Cana in the future.
Kind regards,
Your Club Med Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

8,410 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    4,329
    2,554
    936
    394
    197
See reviews for
5,133
1,424
341
76
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (680)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
State College, Pennsylvania, USA
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 February 2011

We were at Club Med Punta Cana from Feb 5-12. This was our 3rd trip there over the past 6 years. The food and service were good as always, but the main reason we keep going back is the phenomenal kids clubs. We have two kids (ages 3 and 6) and neither of them wanted to come back home because they had so much fun in the Petit and Mini Clubs respectively.

Team Couscous had boundless energy and kept the activities varied enough that our kids never got bored. The team really goes above and beyond to make each child feel comfortable in unfamiliar surroundings and get them involved in the daily activities. Most of the team members speak multiple languages so you shouldn't worry about your child not being able to follow along. We headed to the beach each morning safe in the knowledge that our kids were in good hands.

Our kids have never had an issue making new friends, and playing with kids from other cultures was an added bonus for them. Our son decided to eat dinner with his classmates instead of us on most nights and came back to the room after the nightly Mini Club show exhausted but very happy.

While the majority of the guests spoke French, there were significantly more North Americans at Club Med this trip and we noticed a corresponding increase in the number of North American G.O.s. English is more and more prevalent throughout the resort than it was even just two years ago.

In short, the kids club option at Club Med sets it apart from any other vacation we take as a family. It's the only trip we take where we feel truly rested and relaxed on the way home. If you have kids and are looking for a great beach vacation, Club Med Punta Cana is the place to go!

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BurghFanSC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
clubmedofficial, Guest Relations Manager at Club Med Punta Cana, responded to this review, 20 February 2011
Dear BurghFanSC,
We're so happy that you felt truly rested and relaxed...that's our goal! We strive to make your vacation the best, both for you and for your children. We hope you'll come back and stay with us soon!
Kind regards,
Your Club Med Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oshawa, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 February 2011

Just returned from two weeks vacation. Weather was great (a few rain showers but they were during the night so this was not an issue). There was lots to do if you wanted to. I spent a lot of time reading by the pool. It would have been nice to have an area that was for adults so you were not disturbed by crying babies but you can't everything - it is a family resort after all. Range of drinks included in our plan (4T) wasn't great, and the drinks available for purchase were extortionate. I only speak English and I had absolutely no problem finding a GO who spoke English. The GO's were amazing and really helped to make our vacation enjoyable - thanks to Jason, Denise, Elysa and Ann in particular. The aqua gym, archery, darts, snorkel, snailing, tennis were all great. I don't thiknk I would go back if I were just travelling with adults though - but this was pretty good for kids.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bill_n_Mags
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
clubmedofficial, Guest Relations Manager at Club Med Punta Cana, responded to this review, 20 February 2011
Dear Bill_n_Mags,
We're glad you had so much fun at Club Med Punta Cana! We apologize that you were disturbed by crying babies, but are happy you still got to relax. We truly hope you will come back and stay with us again soon!
Kind regards,
Your Club Med Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 February 2011

As a couple with a three and a half year old boy and a sixteen month old boy our trip was near perfect. The place is truly geared to families and the facilities are top notch. Understand that this is as close to 'that perfect carribean trip' as one can get, if you factor in the baby jobs, the buggies, the nappies etc. Everyone's at it - parents managing jet lag kids, howling toddlers occasionally, hot sticky infants irritated by sand. Thats what made it great rather than make the mistake of going to an uber- posh hotel for couples with your kids in tow.
The rooms were great, cleaned v well and spacious with separate boys area. The food was incredible. At the very end of our ten days we started seeing similar things but the sheer variety of choice was awesome. Again, extremely kid-friendly with extremely willing, helpful and polite staff. The beach is like the one you have in your head if you were to imagine the carribean. The hotel lobby is grand, the pools safely graded and safely watched. The gardens are impeccable.

The kids club: if you're the kind of parent who wouldnt blink at travelling thousands of miles to maroon your kids from dawn day one till dusk day ten - and this can be done with the right money- then the fully immersive kids clubs are for you. Most people (save the properly rich and some self involved french parents) drop their kids in for a morning or a couple of afternoons. They were overstaffed in a very good way. A one to two ratio was in force which felt very safe. Please understand that it is a kids club in a beach resort, not a government- inspected nursery. 'How was little jonny?' will be met with blank looks as they hand him back, covered in face paint and ice cream (yay!) after toddler tennis and organised yelling. It is what it is. The photo crew thing is unobligatory but very overpriced ($20per final copy) Avoid the evening posh bar with kids under five. Most occupants will be white-clad colonial frenchies peering snootilly down their martinis at you if you do. Evening entertainment was kind of lost on us as we were back on our balcony with rum and cokes by nine. Noise levels were absolutely fine. Theres a great 24 hr baby zone with kitchen, sterilisers,fridges full of yoghurt and milk if jet lag or teething interupts beauty sleep. If you get a break from kids we found a spot of sailing and a few free mojitos hit the spot. The sea is an irradescent turquoise green and the sand is silky. People who like to niggle about this resort (I call it "scorn porn") either do this sort of thing very regularly or were wired way too tight for the Carribean in the first place.
Which is my final point. A thorough but unscientific enquiry tells me hardly anyone thanks the staff. This I find unimaginably cruel for a large army of people literally sweating buckets to make sure you enjoy it. As a fluent Spanish speaker, staff were very open about the almost total lack of praise ( i only found one out of thirty). And when you return from near paradise with the kind of memories we have, you'll understand why I beg you to look them in the eye and genuinely thank either with a quick merci or a gracias and more if you can. They so deserve it.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank UkFamilySanders
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ClubMedUK_official, Manager at Club Med Punta Cana, responded to this review, 17 February 2011
Dear Great Member,

We thank you warmly for the time you took to write this review on Trip Advisor after your stay in our Punta Cana Club Med Resort. We are really pleased to see you and your family had good time there and you enjoyed the food quality and our staff commitment.

We hope to see you again soon in one of our resorts.

Best regards,

Your Club Med UK Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 February 2011

We just got back from a week at the Club Med in Punta Cana, Dominican Republic. It was fantastic. We stayed in one of the 5 trident luxury suites which was a brilliant choice for the extra space, better sleeping arrangements for everyone (we had our own room, living room and bathroom, and the boys had their own room with twin beds and a separate bathroom), access to the beautiful infinity pool and bar and extra special treatment from our own private reception. The Mini Club Med was fantastic for our almost 6 year old son, who enjoyed all the songs and cheers, taking his first turn on the trapeze, playing at the beach and practicing his french. Our 3 year old son was less keen on the Petit Club Med, for no other reason than that he doesn't like to leave his mum. He did, however, go for one half-day and one full-day and seemed quite content. The food was great. I would have enjoyed a non-buffet restaurant, but with the kids, being able to arrive, select our food right away and sit down to eat was great. We brought markers and colouring books to dinner so my husband and I could enjoy a more leisurely meal and a glass of wine while the boys were happily occupied. Every GO was so friendly and helpful. They really seem to love their jobs. We enjoyed beach volleyball, collecting sea shells, water aerobics in the pool, the trapeze (seriously, a major rush and a must do), and the fabulously warm and sunny weather. The beach is fantastic and much easier to get a chair or chairs at than the big pool. It is a bit competitive to get a good seat at the pool, but we are more a beach family, so it really wasn't a big deal. It was a truly wonderful holiday. We had no complaints and are already talking about our Feb. 2012 holiday to this resort. Totally recommend it for young families.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JMcCafferty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
clubmedofficial, Guest Relations Manager at Club Med Punta Cana, responded to this review, 16 February 2011
Dear JMcCafferty,
We're so glad that you and your family had such a great time with us! Club Med is a fun resort for all ages. We can't wait to see you in 2012!
Kind regards,
Your Club Med Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 February 2011

We stayed at Club Med Punta Cana Jan 18 to Feb 1. There were 6 of us (parents and 4 kids aged 14, 11, 8 and 6). The day we left was the saddest day ever! From the moment we arrived until the moment we left, we felt like we were with family. Never felt like we did not matter. The staff were exceptional! The food was excellent - lots of choices for the pickiest eaters. The most amazing private beach we had ever seen! Sand that was like flour with water that was in incredible blue. Never bugged by anyone selling stuff "cheapy, cheapy, almost free!" Awesome pool. Restaurants were so nice. Really loved the open air restaurant - Hispaniola. Nothing like feeling a light breeze on one's face, hear the waves crash against the coast and hear the birds chirp! All restaurant staff from Hispaniola and Samana were helpful and just wanted us to have a great time!

We made full use of the Kids Club and Teen Clubs. They were so good with our kids. Our kids miss the team so much! Thank you to all -- Evens, Wanny, JuJu, Daphne, Manon, Katie, Andrea, Dorian, LuLu, TomTom, Greg, Daniel, Chloe, Elie, mika
Carlitos, Amanda, Regolio, Louik, and I am sure there are others we just can't remember all your names - you are all amazing! My kids just adored you all! Just fantastic!

Also, the circus team - Elisa, Elise, Emmanuel, Henry and Chinson - you rock! You are all such a great, supportive group!

Nightly entertainment was really good. They all put on such great shows. Especially loved to see my own kids in them on Thursday nights.

Just a few names to mention - Antoine at the Beach Bar made the best drinks, Sylvie at Reception for all her help, and Roza - at the dessert table always knew what my husband loved!

The rooms were dated somewhat and I do think it's probably time for a reno, however we didn't have many issues with it. We stayed in the building at the end of the resort so we had far to walk. Not a huge problem, except that it would have been nice to be provided with bikes for transport. Not ideal when wearing high-heeled shoes! Mosquitoes were not bad at all! Brought bug spray, but never needed it. We had a HUGE spider in our room, but that's what you get in tropical placed. No cockroaches or bed bugs. Housekeeping was very friendly and always did something nice in our room, ie flower petals around the sink, etc.

To the poster who got sick: very unfortunate! We were there for 2 weeks, brushed our teeth with tap water, ate a variety of foods and drinks and not one of us got sick!

Regarding languages - some staff do have very strong accents when speaking English, but there always seems to be a staffer in each Kids Club that is from North America. Honestly, kids tend to follow the leader when they go to the Kids Club. Understanding the words is moot. As a Canadian who has learned French and English, but not fluent in French, I still managed to communicate.

Negatives? Choosing photos was not as pleasant when the lady who works at the photo booth starts chain-smoking. The staff at the snack bar always mixed up our orders. Beware of holidays in the DR. There was exceptionally loud music coming from the bar next door to Club Med on Jan 14-17. They have no regard for CM guests! I suppose they will do this again - perhaps CM should advise their guests that this may occur when there's a DR holiday. Finally, if we go back to Club Med Punta Cana, there will be a different group of people there. That makes me so sad as I wish I could be there with the same group again :o(

If you are looking for a fantastic time with your family, this place is right on! With clubs for the younger and older kids, my husband and I got to spend a lot of time together sans enfants!

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank nancybea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
clubmedofficial, Guest Relations Manager at Club Med Punta Cana, responded to this review, 16 February 2011
Dear nancybea,
We appreciate all of your helpful feedback! It's great that you and your family had such a wonderful time, despite the few things you mentioned. We hope you come back and stay with us again!
Kind regards,
Your Club Med Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 February 2011

This was a fantastic Club. The service was impecable, the staff so friendly and helpful. The GO's at time had their attitudes, but being that they deal with Nasty French Tourists the majority of the time--I guess they are entitled!
The food was very good not great, and I am a chef so I am critical of food. Yes it was allot of the same from day to day but the array was great--NO GRAPEFRUIT and NO SUSHI was a problem but not a deterent  to my vacation.

Now This is a KIDS/Family Club, as my wife and I were prepared for. The Kids were on the best behavior and the parents were quick to react to cranky/fussy ones. 

Now the exceptions...
If you are non French speaking you REALLY will not enjoy your stay and if you are non Spanish speaking you will be miserable. The main non family tourist clientelle are european French and extremely nasty...mostly couples in their late 50's to mid 70's. Speaking Spanish is going to be a relief ... Most French don't - all the staff do which gives you a bit of an upper hand over the French.

The Only other exception is that if your a sun bum...you need to steak your claim by 7:30am to get a chaise or lounge chair by the pool or beach away from the kids...otherwise you are regulated to joyful but extremely loud screaming from the playing kids or blazing strong sun.

All and all... Enjoyed the club but I wouldn't be back just as a couple...

  • Stayed February 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DEDeMarco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
clubmedofficial, Guest Relations Manager at Club Med Punta Cana, responded to this review, 16 February 2011
Dear A TripAdvisor Member,
On behalf of Club Med Punta Cana, we are so sorry for the few things that made your experience less than perfect. We are very happy, however, to hear that you had a great time and received great service. We hope you'll come back and stay with us again soon!
Kind regards,
Your Club Med Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Punta Cana hotels
0.6 mi away
The Westin Puntacana Resort & Club
2.3 mi away
Tortuga Bay Hotel Puntacana Resort & Club
3.4 mi away
AlSol Tiara Cap Cana
AlSol Tiara Cap Cana
#22 of 112 in Punta Cana
1,790 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.0 mi away
Sanctuary Cap Cana by AlSol
Sanctuary Cap Cana by AlSol
#39 of 112 in Punta Cana
4,774 reviews
8.0 mi away
Eden Roc at Cap Cana
Eden Roc at Cap Cana
#26 of 112 in Punta Cana
382 reviews
10.0 mi away
The Reserve at Paradisus Palma Real
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Club Med Punta Cana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Club Med Punta Cana

Property: Club Med Punta Cana
Address: Apartado Postal | 106 Higuey Provincia La Altagracia, Punta Cana, Dominican Republic
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > La Altagracia Province > Punta Cana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#18 Family Hotel in Punta Cana
#38 Top resorts Hotel in Punta Cana
#40 Spa Hotel in Punta Cana
#40 On the Beach Hotel in Punta Cana
#41 Luxury Hotel in Punta Cana
#41 Romantic Hotel in Punta Cana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Club Med Punta Cana 4*
Number of rooms: 631
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover the Dominican Republic in this all-inclusive family resort, designed over a long white-sand beach, considered to be the finest in the world. Travel to Club Med Punta Cana with your family and enjoy a carefree all-inclusive vacation in this resort which flourishes beside a lagoon surrounded by magnificent grove of coconut palms. Fun moments filled with memories await your kids at Club Med world-famous children's clubs with dedicated activities and sports for children and teenagers from morning to evening, for each age group, and all coordinated by qualified and enthusiastic professionals. This newly redesigned resort has something for everyone, with amenities such as: Baby Club Med™*, a new Spa* with private pool access, exclusive private Oceanfront Family Suites, new dedicated programs for Mini Club Med™ including Le Petit Tennis(R), circus school and Baby Gym(R), Passworld for teens, and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Club Med so you can book your Club Med Punta Cana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Club Med Punta Cana Hotel Punta Cana
Punta Cana Club Med
Club Med Dominican Republic

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing