We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
ClubHotel Riu Bambu
Ranked #76 of 110 Hotels in Punta Cana
Sutton Coldfield England
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Great Hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2014

This hotel overall was very nice, the food was good, but only 3 specialities per week. Found a nice quiet pool near the beach, if you want more busy the swim up pool would suit. The beach was wonderful. Our room was lovely and spacious. It was good value for money.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank tony_mo18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

5,587 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,608
    1,921
    1,122
    554
    382
See reviews for
1,716
2,106
83
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (883)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
183 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2014

As a fairly well-travelled couple, we have frequented our fair share of all-inclusive and non all-inclusive resorts... we desperately needed a vacay this past spring but unfortunately found the Riu Bambu a little lack-luster for our taste. It was my first time in Dominican, though my husband had been there previously. We had stayed at several Riu hotels in Mexico prior to this trip. Our room at the Bambu was nice.. the A/C functioned.. the bed gave us back pain, but the shower was great and the balcony was nice. Our room was in the farthest away block from the main lobby of the resort.. we definitely didn't mind the walk and the quiet once we got back to the room. The food was pretty blah... this could be the norm for the DR.. but we enjoy a little more spice and variety.. not many healthy vegetarian options for me. The Mexican a la carte restaurant was horrible.. but I guess that's why we love Mexico so much, the food!! The buffet was good. It was the safest bet everyday. BBQ on the beach several days of our stay was fantastic (for my husband)... drinks left a lot to be desired... premium booze and El Presidente beer would have been nice! Not sure what we were being served... AVOID THE WINE AT ALL COSTS.. we had terrible hangovers after the first night when we foolishly consumed too much "vino tinto"... otherwise, the staff was great (cleaning staff, entertainment staff, bartenders, etc).. friendly, entertaining.. the beach was beautiful.. but very crowded - we found out later, that the beach is a public beach.. which is fine, just busy and difficult to find a "quiet spot" to relax. Weather was great.. hot, hot, hot! Pool was decent.. a little small for the size of the resort... we were there at the tail end of spring break which we didn't realize - there was an abundance of irritating, under-the-legal-age drunk teenagers bothering us in the pool everyday.. but one quick convo with their parents and they were out of the pool ;) A good resort for a family vacation with young kids.. lots of activities for kids and adults plus many excursions if you're interested. A decent all-inclusive... we were just looking for a little more rest and relaxation.

Room Tip: Book a room in the farther away blocks if you want peace and quiet... avoid ground floor rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank theRoamingMurphys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami, Florida, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2014

The only thing I liked about this hotel was the BEACH. But if you are going with kids it is not the most recommendable thing to stay in. The hotel is still using old school keys to open doors. We were 5 in a room and just got one key. Each additional key was $10. (SMH) The service was not up to par at all with all the other sister hotels or the other resorts around the area. The rooms were not big enough nor were they very clean. The mattresses were very badly taken care off and looked they hadn't been replaced in like 20 yrs. There was no milk cartons for kids, no natural fruit juices only one day I think as a special kind of thing. The only juices in the hotel are Pineapple and Tang "Orange" Watered down. The Beer supposedly is Presidente, but it's in a contraption and I know for a fact it is not Presidente. The food was okay but again not the greatest thing in the world. It was advertised as a 5 star hotel and it was nothing of the sort. When you see several roaches walking around food area you can only fathom what must be behind the kitchen doors.
The only thing I gotta say is that my child got sick from the pool water. Major throat infection. Even the pediatrician who saw her in the Medical Center told me it was the pool water.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tania G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Punta Cana hotels

Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2014

This is a two part rating about Apple Vacations and Riu Bambu. We were promised a 5 apple hotel. At best, this is 3 apples (stars). The Apple rep at the airport was rude at times; however the Apple rep at the hotel was pleasant and available every day. Food was mediocre, the beach was not kept clean, the beds were extremely hard and no activities for teenagers. The nightly entertainment was disappointing and my last day, I noticed a cat wondering outside in the eating area. Someone broke into my room thru the balcony and stole my cell phone and Ipod. The person has to be familiar with the design of the patio door. Security, who did not speak English or the hotel manager did nothing. I was surprised at the huge language barrier on the resort considering I have been to other Spanish speaking country and there wasn't an issue. I would not recommend this hotel and I probably will not return to the Dominican again.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank iamlisamarie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2014

Best beach i have ever seen in my life,very large,lots of palm trees,finest sand.5 star by far..The pools are nice too.The resort itself is a 4 star,service is 4 star,rooms are 4 star and food is 4 star.Nice place for families with kids.But if you are looking to spend your time on the beach,enjoy the sun and play volleyball,this is the place where you want to be.Personally,i found 2 weeks i spend there not enough.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank leonard s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Davenport, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2014

We traveled with my sister-in-law and her husband. Stayed for a week and had a great time as there was something to do at all times. The Entertainment Crew are the "soul" of the hotel. It is an all-inclusive hotel, with open bar 24/7 and we didn't saw anyone drunk. You can book a lot of excursions directly at the hotel and don't have to deal with Agencies that don't honor what they offered. Don't ever use E-vacations for booking any trip.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Angeles1220
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2014

Booked with Thomson/first choice. Really don't know how anyone could write a bad review about this place.ROOM this is one of the best rooms I have stayed in on a holiday complex. Very modern optics vodka, gin, whiskey, and brandy, plus a mini bar all part of your all inclusive. FOOD plenty of choice. Booked for a la carte meals most nights again all part of all inclusive, book as many times as you like. Mexican,Asian,Italian and a steak house. Best meal for me Italian (beef). Did have upset stomach but don't know if that was the rum and coke lol. DRINK beer not great but plenty of other options eg rum and coke, cocktails. Bars everywhere even on the beach. ENTERTAINMENT was ok not the best but enjoyed it. Animation team,all I can say is shot away, completely mad in a good way, very funny.EXCURSIONS bit pricey but good went on safari tour to see typical house and school,also wanted to do the cruise but could not afford both.

To sum up over all a fantastic holiday although I would say not really a young family holiday. I have to say about our reps sonny and Judy, by far the best reps we have ever had, really go out of their way to help. Hope to go back someday.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Patrick S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Punta Cana hotels
18.1 mi away
Alsol Del Mar
Alsol Del Mar
#47 of 110 in Punta Cana
4.5 of 5 bubbles 924 reviews
16.0 mi away
AlSol Tiara Cap Cana
AlSol Tiara Cap Cana
#23 of 110 in Punta Cana
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,678 reviews
2.9 mi away
Grand Palladium Palace Resort Spa & Casino
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Riu Palace Bavaro
Hotel Riu Palace Bavaro
#52 of 110 in Punta Cana
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,241 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Riu Palace Punta Cana
Hotel Riu Palace Punta Cana
#66 of 110 in Punta Cana
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,819 reviews
2.5 mi away
Grand Palladium Bavaro Suites Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to ClubHotel Riu Bambu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ClubHotel Riu Bambu

Property: ClubHotel Riu Bambu
Address: Playa Arena Gorda, Punta Cana 23000, Dominican Republic
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > La Altagracia Province > Punta Cana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#65 Top resorts Hotel in Punta Cana
#69 Spa Hotel in Punta Cana
#69 On the Beach Hotel in Punta Cana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — ClubHotel Riu Bambu 3.5*
Number of rooms: 740
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
* Located in Punta Cana * Situated on Arena Gorda Beach * Complimentary sun loungers on the beach * Within the Riu Resort, along with the Riu Palace Punta Cana, Riu Palace Macao, Riu Taino and Riu Naiboa hotels * Main building and 1-story bungalow complex * Surrounded by 46,000 m2 / 50,300 sq. Yards of palm groves, adjacent to the beach * 50 km / 31 miles from Higley * 600 m / 1,980 ft. From Caribbean Street * 30 km / 19 miles from Punta Cana Int€™l. Airport * Credit cards accepted: Visa, MasterCard ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, Holiday Gems, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your ClubHotel Riu Bambu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riu Bambu Punta Cana
Riu Bambu Dominican Republic

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing