We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Whole Family got sick”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
ClubHotel Riu Bambu
Ranked #75 of 112 Hotels in Punta Cana
Reviewed 9 July 2014

We stayed for 7 nights. The down side is that our whole family got sick. We had 10 people with us. We landed in Ft. Lauderdale and had to take my mom straight to the ER where they had to admit her. She was so dehydrated from stomach issues. The rest of us went to the urgent care. We call it Poopa Canna now. We ONLY ate at the resort. We talked to several other people staying there and they all had the same issues. All of the kids got ear infections from the pool in addition to the stomach issues. So the money you may save staying there will be spent at the Hospital or on your Co-pays.
The hotel grounds are nice, the staff is friendly. The rooms are below par. I would NEVER go back. This hotel ruined the Dominican Republic for me. I don't think we will every go back.

It with a heavy heart that I write this, the people at the resort were very nice. I don't want to hurt the jobs they have there. I just wish I had read this before we went.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
5  Thank Helga J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (5,752)
There are newer reviews for ClubHotel Riu Bambu
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,440 - 1,446 of 5,752 reviews

Reviewed 9 July 2014

This hotel overall was very nice, the food was good, but only 3 specialities per week. Found a nice quiet pool near the beach, if you want more busy the swim up pool would suit. The beach was wonderful. Our room was lovely and spacious. It was good value for money.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
3  Thank tony_mo18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2014

As a fairly well-travelled couple, we have frequented our fair share of all-inclusive and non all-inclusive resorts... we desperately needed a vacay this past spring but unfortunately found the Riu Bambu a little lack-luster for our taste. It was my first time in Dominican, though my husband had been there previously. We had stayed at several Riu hotels in Mexico prior to this trip. Our room at the Bambu was nice.. the A/C functioned.. the bed gave us back pain, but the shower was great and the balcony was nice. Our room was in the farthest away block from the main lobby of the resort.. we definitely didn't mind the walk and the quiet once we got back to the room. The food was pretty blah... this could be the norm for the DR.. but we enjoy a little more spice and variety.. not many healthy vegetarian options for me. The Mexican a la carte restaurant was horrible.. but I guess that's why we love Mexico so much, the food!! The buffet was good. It was the safest bet everyday. BBQ on the beach several days of our stay was fantastic (for my husband)... drinks left a lot to be desired... premium booze and El Presidente beer would have been nice! Not sure what we were being served... AVOID THE WINE AT ALL COSTS.. we had terrible hangovers after the first night when we foolishly consumed too much "vino tinto"... otherwise, the staff was great (cleaning staff, entertainment staff, bartenders, etc).. friendly, entertaining.. the beach was beautiful.. but very crowded - we found out later, that the beach is a public beach.. which is fine, just busy and difficult to find a "quiet spot" to relax. Weather was great.. hot, hot, hot! Pool was decent.. a little small for the size of the resort... we were there at the tail end of spring break which we didn't realize - there was an abundance of irritating, under-the-legal-age drunk teenagers bothering us in the pool everyday.. but one quick convo with their parents and they were out of the pool ;) A good resort for a family vacation with young kids.. lots of activities for kids and adults plus many excursions if you're interested. A decent all-inclusive... we were just looking for a little more rest and relaxation.

Room Tip: Book a room in the farther away blocks if you want peace and quiet... avoid ground floor rooms.
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank theRoamingMurphys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2014

The only thing I liked about this hotel was the BEACH. But if you are going with kids it is not the most recommendable thing to stay in. The hotel is still using old school keys to open doors. We were 5 in a room and just got one key. Each additional key was $10. (SMH) The service was not up to par at all with all the other sister hotels or the other resorts around the area. The rooms were not big enough nor were they very clean. The mattresses were very badly taken care off and looked they hadn't been replaced in like 20 yrs. There was no milk cartons for kids, no natural fruit juices only one day I think as a special kind of thing. The only juices in the hotel are Pineapple and Tang "Orange" Watered down. The Beer supposedly is Presidente, but it's in a contraption and I know for a fact it is not Presidente. The food was okay but again not the greatest thing in the world. It was advertised as a 5 star hotel and it was nothing of the sort. When you see several roaches walking around food area you can only fathom what must be behind the kitchen doors.
The only thing I gotta say is that my child got sick from the pool water. Major throat infection. Even the pediatrician who saw her in the Medical Center told me it was the pool water.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Tania G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2014

This is a two part rating about Apple Vacations and Riu Bambu. We were promised a 5 apple hotel. At best, this is 3 apples (stars). The Apple rep at the airport was rude at times; however the Apple rep at the hotel was pleasant and available every day. Food was mediocre, the beach was not kept clean, the beds were extremely hard and no activities for teenagers. The nightly entertainment was disappointing and my last day, I noticed a cat wondering outside in the eating area. Someone broke into my room thru the balcony and stole my cell phone and Ipod. The person has to be familiar with the design of the patio door. Security, who did not speak English or the hotel manager did nothing. I was surprised at the huge language barrier on the resort considering I have been to other Spanish speaking country and there wasn't an issue. I would not recommend this hotel and I probably will not return to the Dominican again.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank iamlisamarie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2014

Best beach i have ever seen in my life,very large,lots of palm trees,finest sand.5 star by far..The pools are nice too.The resort itself is a 4 star,service is 4 star,rooms are 4 star and food is 4 star.Nice place for families with kids.But if you are looking to spend your time on the beach,enjoy the sun and play volleyball,this is the place where you want to be.Personally,i found 2 weeks i spend there not enough.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank leonard s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2014

We traveled with my sister-in-law and her husband. Stayed for a week and had a great time as there was something to do at all times. The Entertainment Crew are the "soul" of the hotel. It is an all-inclusive hotel, with open bar 24/7 and we didn't saw anyone drunk. You can book a lot of excursions directly at the hotel and don't have to deal with Agencies that don't honor what they offered. Don't ever use E-vacations for booking any trip.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Angeles1220
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Punta Cana
18.1 mi away
Alsol Del Mar
Alsol Del Mar
#44 of 112 in Punta Cana
975 reviews
38.2 mi away
Casa de Campo Resort & Villas
16.0 mi away
AlSol Tiara Cap Cana
AlSol Tiara Cap Cana
#23 of 112 in Punta Cana
1,876 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Riu Palace Bavaro
Hotel Riu Palace Bavaro
#56 of 112 in Punta Cana
3,483 reviews
15.8 mi away
Alsol Luxury Village
Alsol Luxury Village
#86 of 112 in Punta Cana
3,405 reviews
0.7 mi away
Grand Bahia Principe Turquesa
Grand Bahia Principe Turquesa
#63 of 112 in Punta Cana
2,218 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to ClubHotel Riu Bambu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ClubHotel Riu Bambu

Address: | Playa Arena Gorda, Punta Cana 23000, Dominican Republic
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > La Altagracia Province > Punta Cana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#64 Top resorts Hotel in Punta Cana
#69 Spa Hotel in Punta Cana
#69 On the Beach Hotel in Punta Cana
Price Range: £110 - £289 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — ClubHotel Riu Bambu 3.5*
Number of rooms: 740
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
* Located in Punta Cana * Situated on Arena Gorda Beach * Complimentary sun loungers on the beach * Within the Riu Resort, along with the Riu Palace Punta Cana, Riu Palace Macao, Riu Taino and Riu Naiboa hotels * Main building and 1-story bungalow complex * Surrounded by 46,000 m2 / 50,300 sq. Yards of palm groves, adjacent to the beach * 50 km / 31 miles from Higley * 600 m / 1,980 ft. From Caribbean Street * 30 km / 19 miles from Punta Cana Intl. Airport * Credit cards accepted: Visa, MasterCard ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Travel Republic (UK), Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your ClubHotel Riu Bambu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riu Bambu Punta Cana
Riu Bambu Dominican Republic

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing