We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My dogs house is better”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
ClubHotel Riu Bambu
Ranked #76 of 113 Hotels in Punta Cana
Reviewed 23 July 2014 via mobile

This hotel is the worst hotel in the world my family and i stayed but room sucks ac sucks food sucks service the worst the best thing it has yet is the beach and that is a complent of puntacana not of riu hotels it was a wrong idea vising this hotel.... Regalado jr

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank glaubert r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (5,962)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,496 - 1,502 of 5,962 reviews

Reviewed 22 July 2014 via mobile

We stayed at the Bambu for a 2 week all inclusive break. You get what you pay for - wish we'd paid more to stay at the Riu Palace next door. We felt unsafe at the hotel and would wake up every night with sounds of people trying to get in - hotel staff said it was probably rats in the air conditioning (which didn't put the mind at ease). Food was pretty poor and I was really sick by the end of the 2 week stay so wanted to get home. Pools were noisy and kids jumping round all over the pool bar spilling drinks into the pool - completely unhygienic swimming in vodka cocktails. We met some great people while there but the hotel wasn't generally couples friendly.

All that said, the beach was perfect and sea was lovely so no complaints there. View from the outdoor lunch restaurant was also fabulous and nice place to walk around during the day. Lots of trips to do and were all worth the money and fun days out. Well organised and helpful staff. We wouldn't go back. It has put us off the ClubHotel Riu brand, we would always pay the extra again. Hotel was more like Butlins resort, might suit some but not for us.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
4  Thank LILY N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2014

Was a platinum hotel that's being down graded for next season which we could see why as the rooms were nothing fancy and the facilities were looking tired, not much close by to walk to the resort is in the middle of no where and will require a taxi to get out and about but we loved it and had the best holiday x

Room Tip: Only 2 stories high so not lots of stairs to climb. Request a room hear the reception as our room wa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank Joeylil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2014 via mobile

Stayed at the Riu Bambu in July 2014 for two weeks for £1125pp (Thompson-First Choice).

Thompson have this hotel in their 'Platinum Collection', rated 4T (this presumably means not quite a 5*), and Riu claim it holds the full 5. Well, there's no international standard of hotel classification. For those familiar with the British AA system, the rooms and service would (and this is just my opinion) be 3*, the dining facilities and food quality 4*, and the grounds 5*. The two pool areas might not appeal to guests looking for relaxation, but the adjoining beach is world class. The buffet food is nice, but won't set the world on fire, and is best broken up with visits to the four "restaurants" (I use inverted commas because three of them are simply buffets offering a particular cuisine). The Riu complex is not a resort, and some might find the lack of culture surrounding the hotel a disappointment.

The hotel could improve by redecorating the rooms, installing power points (there is only one in a room that the TV is plugged into), offering quality toiletries (they don't provide anything other than budget shower gel, soap, and toilet paper), and upgrading the TVs to something from the 21st Century. Bed linen could do with being changed at least every week (ours wasn't changed at all). The staff could do with a refresher course on how to offer a high quality service, though you won't experience any rudeness or ill manners. Finally, a better dishwasher is in order; you need to be selective over the crockery you choose to put your food on.

Us Brits seem to get a bit flustered about tipping. Why wouldn't we? It's not really part of our culture. All I can advise is, I have it on good authority that the staff work 11 hours a day, 6 days a week, for $10US per day, so, if you feel someone has provided a good service, please tip. For example, $1US per day for the maid is appropriate.

Overall, I feel an 8,500 mile round trip on the Dreamliner and two weeks at this hotel in July (including 42 meals and unlimited drinks) for just over £1000 represents value for money, and I would return if few things were 'spruced up'.

Stayed: July 2014
6  Thank AntonEast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2014

Some of the reviews on here are genuinely too harsh, to stay somewhere for two weeks all inclusive yet expect more food options!? Crazy. Myself & my partner stayed in this hotel for our first trip to the Dominican Republic, we had booked our trip a fair few months in advance and made sure to read up on all the guests reviews on here, they did leave us feeling somewhat apprehensive, however I am so pleased we went with an open mind. We traveled with Thompson having always been very satisfied with their service and once again no complaints, Flights on time and even though very long flying time, very comfortable and great service. Once piece of sound advice would be to bring a small pocket pen in your hand luggage/ handbag....when arriving at Punta Cana airport its like a sweaty circus, with no staff to attempt to help you gather yourselves. You are able to collect your entry forms just before the entrance though as mentioned before, NO Pens!! We were lucky enough to have waited for someone to share theirs....though with the heat from the tarmac you will be grateful you were more prepared. The transfers were very smooth, the Thompson rep was very funny and welcomed us very well. The Hotel is gorgeous!!! At first glance you can see the beach right from reception, what more could you ask for? As we were a young-ish couple, we were grateful to have a room not to close to the actual complex and a bit of a refreshing walk away from the entertainment at night. I will agree with those reviews in saying the entertainment to a certain time is repetitive, though the kids show is very good, they are able to gather the kids up and get them stuck in which is always fun for parents to see. There were some great shows on during our stay, like the Michael Jackson Tribute Night & Circus Show which my partner very much enjoyed. It was nice to know the hotel wanted to make an effort to change it up for those guests staying for some time. The Pools in the daytime are lively, though not disruptive, we were able to get a drink at the swim up bar once day, and have a peaceful sunbathe and swim the next....Always plenty of space and we did not encounter any trouble with the cleanliness of these pools by any means during our stay. Food was nice, I will agree that i do not think the hotel can cater enough tables for all guests who are staying at the hotel during the buffet hours, especially Lunch time though myself & my partner always found something after a little looking! The buffet was never very hot though with such high temperatures outside it was never a big deal, though we did prefer the snack bar menu option with fresh meat and lots of fresh salad with rice. This Snack Bar is the 'MamaJuana' Steak restaurant in the evening. Couldn't agree more with the opinion of the lady 'handling' the restaurants reservations daily, she was miserable to say the least and would become frustrated if we couldn't speak Spanish! She is not a credit to the hotel who have wonderful, polite staff with manners and a great attitude towards our holiday. We tipped staff though not always, after a few days you are able to get an idea of who wants to make your stay enjoyable and who genuinely disliked their job and wants you to know about it. Restaurants during our stay at the hotel: Mexican: Very Nice, great choice of food (Buffet) Italian: Okay, food not very warm and took a while to come out, service very slow (Salad Bar with Set Menu) Steak/MamaJuana: Our Least Favorite, Limited Choice & Small Portions (Set Menu) Beach is stunning, Always space for sun bathing or long walks, sunrise always worthit as its so quiet and great picture opportunity without topless women in the way! Sun can become very high so be sure to cream up as the palm trees to provide great shade though do not completely block out the sunlight should you not wish to burn. Rooms were very clean though many times we would have to vacate the room early as they would want to start cleaning, go back over 4 HOURS later, and they would still be cleaning...ridiculous. We also had one issue where housekeeping would knock at 7:00pm asking to clean our room; which had already been cleaned. With the language barrier and her not wanting to leave our room it became a bit silly and we ended up closing the door on her. Overall though the housemaids were always cheerful and would ask how we are etc! We were happy to tip generously for such a lovely standard of service. We had a beautiful time, can't wait to return and hope others will trust themselves enough to book this hotel and have a wonderful time. Worth every penny and more!!! Please be sure to book the Thompson trip 'Carribean Cruising' which should be on Tues & Thurs....it's incredible, and worth every penny...what an experience that's all i'll say!

Room Tip: We stayed in room 3728 which is ideal for couples, nice walk away from the main complex and lovely...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank EssJay_SJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2014

My first piece of advice if you are booking this hotel through Thomson is don't pre-book any trips or excursions because if some thing goes wrong or you are not happy with the excursion, the company who represent Thomson over here in the Dominican Republic informed me that because i booked and paid for them back in the uk that they are unable to resolve any problem. Especially no refunds as the money I paid is in the uk and not here and they would not even offer us an alternative excursion in replacement. My wife and I worked very hard to save for this holiday and excursions and have been told I must now wait until I get back to the uk for my refund. SHAME ON THOMSOM for advising customers to pre- book excursions, when you have no guarantee or customer support when your 3500 miles away from the uk

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fishlover1967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2014

Nice setting and beach lovely, rooms clean but need updating that's the good news now for the bad the food was awfull and our party of four ended up with upset stomachs after approx the fourth day and still the same after being back home in England for 10days awaiting test results from doctors, first time we have been on holiday and lost weight take plenty of imodium with you. The staff on a whole were friendly but no tip in the resturant means no clean table for you the hotel has over 700 rooms but certaintly not enough tables in the resturant to cater for this amount of people. The swim up bar pool/toilet is a deffinate no no as once seated they never left the pool for the duration of it being open. We have stopped in a few Riu Hotels and this is certainly the worse will never return.

Room Tip: Go to a different hotel, but if you have already booked ask for a quite room top floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Sheila B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Punta Cana hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Riu Palace Punta Cana
Hotel Riu Palace Punta Cana
#72 of 113 in Punta Cana
5,223 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Riu Naiboa
Hotel Riu Naiboa
#80 of 113 in Punta Cana
3,286 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel Riu Republica
Hotel Riu Republica
#64 of 113 in Punta Cana
2,297 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Riu Palace Bavaro
Hotel Riu Palace Bavaro
#57 of 113 in Punta Cana
3,610 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Riu Palace Macao
Hotel Riu Palace Macao
#38 of 113 in Punta Cana
4,125 reviews
0.6 mi away
Iberostar Dominicana Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to ClubHotel Riu Bambu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ClubHotel Riu Bambu

Address: | Playa Arena Gorda, Punta Cana 23000, Dominican Republic
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > La Altagracia Province > Punta Cana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#65 Top resorts Hotel in Punta Cana
#69 On the Beach Hotel in Punta Cana
#70 Spa Hotel in Punta Cana
Price Range: £126 - £281 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — ClubHotel Riu Bambu 3.5*
Number of rooms: 740
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
* Located in Punta Cana * Situated on Arena Gorda Beach * Complimentary sun loungers on the beach * Within the Riu Resort, along with the Riu Palace Punta Cana, Riu Palace Macao, Riu Taino and Riu Naiboa hotels * Main building and 1-story bungalow complex * Surrounded by 46,000 m2 / 50,300 sq. Yards of palm groves, adjacent to the beach * 50 km / 31 miles from Higley * 600 m / 1,980 ft. From Caribbean Street * 30 km / 19 miles from Punta Cana Intl. Airport * Credit cards accepted: Visa, MasterCard ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Agoda, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your ClubHotel Riu Bambu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riu Bambu Punta Cana
Riu Bambu Dominican Republic

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing