We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“I stay from July 30 thru August 6 ,2014” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of ClubHotel Riu Bambu

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
ClubHotel Riu Bambu
Ranked #72 of 110 Hotels in Punta Cana
Miami
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“I stay from July 30 thru August 6 ,2014”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2014

I personally didn't like the service.I had to call front desk everyday because my a/c wasn't working right until the 3rd day of stay there they couldn't fix it plus the dust is horrible they don't cleaning the room well,the room have cockroach .When you get to the restaurant and you ask for water or something else they don't listen to you. I could tell the for me going the first time is was the worst experience.I could mention one staff the his service was excellent an his name is Manuel was always smiling no matter what how bad is the day of working and tired he was.I won't recommend this hotel for no one.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank M_machado09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

5,522 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,592
    1,901
    1,106
    547
    376
See reviews for
1,690
2,085
83
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (870)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hialeah, Florida
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2014

Bad food, bad smell in the rooms, poor service in the pool, do not have room service would never recommend this hotel had seven terrible days and they laughed at us to the complain.Never never never.Terrible.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Marlene F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Punta Cana hotels

Ohio
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2014

I stayed at the Riu Bambu July 29-Aug 4, 2014 with a group of 24, (all adults). Check in was fast and easy.

BEACH - There is a pool bar and a beach bar. However, you need to get your own drinks, there is no “bar service”. Also, the swim up bar in the pool has a lot of children around it. The water is beautiful at the beach and the beach area is really relaxing.

ROOM – we had bugs in the bedroom, stained sheets and the towels that they provided had a bad smell to them. We contacted the front desk to discuss our bed etc. they stated that they would call us back… I am still waiting on that call.

SERVICE – We went to the buffet (next to the lobby) for lunch it smelled horrible.. However, you can find something tasteful to eat (for breakfast) but by the end of the trip you kind of get sick of eating fries, pasta, and nachos for lunch.. Roaches were spotted by other members in my group.

The wine is the same every night and it is not good.

We ate at all the specialty restaurants with the Hibachi and the Italian being our favorite.

I have to recommend the excursion "The Outback Safari." I think it would help people realize and appreciate the Dominican people much more. Cesar with Apple vacations… he not organized at all. Book excursions with Miguel with Apple Vacations he is organized.

Room Tip: If you book RIU, don't stay at Bambu!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jackie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2014 via mobile

Im here now at the riu bambu staying for 2 weeks and i cant honestly understand these bad reviews people are saying!? First off the hotel itself is massive and its lovely! The pools and beach are amazing! Its paradise on the beach! The workers here work so hard everyday and make your holiday! Always happy and willing to talk to you!

If you do stay here upgrade your room we changed rooms and it was so much better then the first one we had!

The food itself is respective but what do people expect?! Were in the carribean so there food isn't what your going to get back home! I would say the Italian and streak house is fab whilst the Mexican wasn't nice at all.

The entertainment itself is ok the Michael Jackson show is amazing! Also the circus show is great! The people over here are all friendly

I haven't had a bad word to say yet and we've been here a week so far!

So pay no attention to the bad reviews and they aint true! Come and try it out for yourself!

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
13 Thank kearin w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shetland Islands, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014

It certainly wasn't the five star hotel it's made out to be but the staff were on the whole extremely good. Little things added up to make it more like 3 to 4 star. Wobbly, noisy fan in room. Broken washing hanger, 1970's TV etc. Pools and bars were good and the beach location is excellent. One of the bars had a problem with wasps around the drinks dispensers which was not very pleasant. I must have drank about 3. As a previous reviewer has stated the smell of sewage after the sprinklers had been on was not very nice but dissipated quickly. Overall I found it a pleasant place to stay. I would go back but probably to one of the hotels next door.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Pete G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vaudreuil-Dorion, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014

Although the beach was magnificent, everything else was absolutely disastrous.

Food
The food was atrocious, inedible and made 19 out of 35 people sick. We were dropping like flies. Everything was over or undercooked, bland and cold. The BBQs on the beach were the only good meals we had. My husband and I went to the Italian restaurant on July 29th and had to leave the place without eating. The salmon I had ordered was fowl smelling and reeked of spoiled fish. His steak was overcooked, pan fried, and tough. We had to ask 3 different waiters to open our bottle of wine to no avail (after reading the online reviews, we chose to bring our wine and we are glad we did). On the fourth, very impatient request, they obliged. After smelling the horrible fish, we decided to leave but wanted to politely let them know. After waiting for 10 minutes and never seeing a waiter, we got up and left.

All the "à la carte" restaurants are buffets and the service was terrible. The only nice meal at the Bambu was the steakhouse. My brother-in-law reserved for a family meal for their wedding reception and were charged extra per person for service and an other charge for alcohol (!?)

The main buffet had the same meal every. single. day. The breakfast is their only good meal of the day.

There are no snack bars and once the buffet is closed after supper, the only thing left to eat are old, left over hotdogs and hamburgers from lunch that they put in the sport bar's fridge.

None of the restaurants have air conditioning. It is so unpleasant to eat and be drenched in your own sweat.

Accommodations
There was a mouldy hole in our ceiling. The walls, light switches and bedding were stained or dirty. The pool towels are old, stained and tattered, the minibar was bare and the water bottles were sparse. This certainly does not translate a as luxury and tropical retreat. Note that we paid extra for an "upgraded" deluxe room. Very disappointed.

Their septic tank seemed to be overflowing causing a fowl, putrid stench no one could escape. Guests were literally covering their faces with towels to get to their room. We weren't able to enjoy a nice relaxing morning on our balcony due to the smell or the sound of their chainsaws at 8:00 am.

My sister-in-law's room was infested with ants, which they finally sprayed and then left the dead ants all over the place. They also didn't tell her to leave the room once it had been sprayed.... She left in a coughing fit.

My brother-in-laws's toilette broke and they only came by to fix it 2 days after the original request.

Beach
The beach was great for the most part except for the used syringe we found the day of my brother-in-law's wedding because they didn't rake the sand.

Anniversary
We celebrated our 5th anniversary and they couldn't accommodate us with a reservation at the steakhouse. For 40$ US a head, they were willing to bring as a steak in a small gazebo by the restaurant and we were even supplying our own wine. We spoke to the front desk manager, who referred us to the steakhouse manager, who referred us to the Palace resort next door, who told us we needed a special invitation from the Bambu manager... After 1.5 hour of back and forth, pleading and begging, we finally got a reservation at the Brazilian restaurant at the Palace. By far the best meal we had.

We spoke to the Signature representative who took down everybody's story but we never heard from him again.

This was a truly and utterly disappointing experience that has left us regretting our choice and solemnly swear never to return. After dropping 3000$ for an all inclusive vacation, which is technically rated as a 4.5 star resort, I would have hoped for better service.

Room Tip: The deluxe rooms have wifi and a king bed but that is all. The rooms are not nicer or more luxurious...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Caroline M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014

It is one of the cleanest and nicest resorts that i have been in Dominican republic. The staff are very helpful and you never feel the obligation to tip...even though they deserved it. The service is always with a smile!!!
The buffet food is average, but then again we did not expect anything more since they have a lot of people to serve everyday. However, the best food we had was at the Chinese restaurant. You have to reserve this as soon as you get there.
The casino was a lot of fun and affordable too!

Room Tip: Try to get a room closer to the beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ArmoCanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Punta Cana hotels
18.1 mi away
Alsol Del Mar
Alsol Del Mar
#42 of 110 in Punta Cana
4.5 of 5 bubbles 910 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Riu Palace Bavaro
Hotel Riu Palace Bavaro
#48 of 110 in Punta Cana
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,178 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Riu Palace Punta Cana
Hotel Riu Palace Punta Cana
#66 of 110 in Punta Cana
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,748 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Grand Palladium Bavaro Suites Resort & Spa
2.9 mi away
Grand Palladium Palace Resort Spa & Casino
0.5 mi away
Iberostar Dominicana Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to ClubHotel Riu Bambu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ClubHotel Riu Bambu

Property: ClubHotel Riu Bambu
Address: Playa Arena Gorda, Punta Cana 23000, Dominican Republic
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > La Altagracia Province > Punta Cana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#63 Top resorts Hotel in Punta Cana
#65 Spa Hotel in Punta Cana
#66 On the Beach Hotel in Punta Cana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — ClubHotel Riu Bambu 3.5*
Number of rooms: 740
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
* Located in Punta Cana * Situated on Arena Gorda Beach * Complimentary sun loungers on the beach * Within the Riu Resort, along with the Riu Palace Punta Cana, Riu Palace Macao, Riu Taino and Riu Naiboa hotels * Main building and 1-story bungalow complex * Surrounded by 46,000 m2 / 50,300 sq. Yards of palm groves, adjacent to the beach * 50 km / 31 miles from Higley * 600 m / 1,980 ft. From Caribbean Street * 30 km / 19 miles from Punta Cana Int€™l. Airport * Credit cards accepted: Visa, MasterCard, Amex, Diners ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your ClubHotel Riu Bambu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riu Bambu Punta Cana
Riu Bambu Dominican Republic

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing