We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Destination Wedding @ the RIU Palace Macao”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Riu Palace Macao
Ranked #44 of 112 Hotels in Punta Cana
Certificate of Excellence
Thunder Bay, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Destination Wedding @ the RIU Palace Macao”
Reviewed 7 February 2008

We stayed at the RIU Palace Mcao from Jan.26-Feb.2 / 08. We travelled to the resort with 32 other guests ranging in age from 22 months to 60 years of age. We were there for our destination wedding, which we chose to hold at the gazebo at the RIU Bambu. The wedding went well, it was quick and simple. The wedding coordinator and photographer were great to work with. Very helpful and personable. We had a private wedding dinner at the CAribe grill and the food was fantastic. The main buffet EL Patio was great, no complaints at all. Yes it is true men do have to wear pants for dinner, but most men in our group would change back to shorts right after dinner. Service is amazing, though many staff memebers speak broken English they do try their hardets to help you out. The rooms were a bit dated and could use some small renos BUT they were kept so clean. The housekeeping staff is great. Front desk staff was helpful and PAul the Bell-Hop is so great. There is not much for kids to do, but there are kids clubs at every other resort that youe children between 4-12 can join. The beach is great, always a lounger available and plenty of shade if you want it! The Animation staff was super friendly and those that wished to participate in activiteis had a blast doing so, though most people staying at the resort seemed to prefer to loung at the pool or beach. The pool is small and the kiddie pool is super small! If anyone has specfic questions, esspecially about the wedding feel free to email me at katieandpat@shaw.ca

  • Liked — Friendly Staff, Great Food, Beautiful Beach, Nice Location
  • Disliked — Dated but really clean rooms; small pool, no kids club
  • Stayed January 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
9 Thank katieandpat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,932 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,087
    1,146
    396
    164
    139
See reviews for
451
2,402
48
27
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (783)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pittsburgh,PA
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 January 2008

We just came back from a wonderful stay at this resort. We agree with previous reviewers that the El Patio restaurant buffet was better than the one ala carte restaurant we tried so we did not venture to try any other.The food was always of a wide variety and there was something to suit any taste. I especially loved the way vegetables were prepared and the abundance of them.
This is the first of 4 all inclusive resorts we visited where I did not have to go out very early in the morning to reserve shaded lounge chairs. There are sooooo many beautiful palm trees to "park" your lounge chair under and if you can't find one, the beach boys will help you. Lots of sunny space and chairs on beach too.
Animation team was good but did not go out of their way to engage vacationers in the scheduled activities. Evening programs were a nice variety with the exception of the "MISS" show which we thought was in very poor taste for several reasons (sexual comments and violence implied).
The room was always immaculate and maid always left some fancy decoration with flowers.Only updating we would suggest would be new bedspreads.
We did not get the feeling that hotel and beachstaff was seeking tips. In fact the times we did try to tip we found often the waiter would quickly move on before you could give him /her the tip. At no time did we experience any unpleasantness among the staff who was always very friendly.
Grounds,outdoor seating options were just beautiful and we loved the evening lounge entertainment. Beach area was what we expected...wide, beautiful.
Men be prepared to wear long pants every day for dinner in the buffet restaurant.we saw one guest turned away because he was wearing shorts...ala carte restaurants did not require long pants which we found different from other all inclusives.
Also, although the electric outlets are for 120V...my curling iron plug did not fit...had to ask for an adapter plug at front desk
(5$deposit) .With a little "muscle power" my husband did get plug to go in the adapter, which then fit in the wall outlet.
One final suggestion, if you are going to consider any excursions, try the half day "outback safari"...it was well worth the price.
We hightly recommend this resort.

  • Liked — size, cleanliness, frendly and helpful staff, food, beautiful pool and great food
  • Disliked — no ocean view rooms
  • Stayed January 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
14 Thank akehllah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ontario
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 January 2008

WOW, it's all I can say!!!!

This is the second time I vacation at this resort and continue to be impressed. One of the best places I’ve stayed at. The staff, the services, and the food are all excellent. Everyone goes out of their way to ensure your needs are met. The beach is phenomenal.

The rooms are very comfortable. Last year I stayed in a regular room and this year in a jacuzzi suite. Although the suite was fabulous, the regular room is very spacious and just as comfortable.

I highly recommend this resort…you won’t be disappointed!

  • Liked — Everything
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed January 2008, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
10 Thank RoadLessTraveled-3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
niagara
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 January 2008

To anyone under the age of 65 I do not recomend staying at the resort. Although it was very nice and the service was excellent the lack of things to do for people in their 30's was dissapointing! I do not recommend to anyone going to the disco or casion. i believe that the disco was also for the staff which made it a little unsafe!! the casino ran scams to take every bit of your money do not take any thing for free in the casion you will pay for it later!! also for a resort that is 24hr all inclusive we had to still pay for our drinks in certain places??? the beaches are beautiful, the hotel is very clean, the food was good, and once again the service was excellent!! if you're looking for a resort to just relax and sit on the beach you'll have fun. if you're looking for entertainment or any kind of activities this is not the resort for you!! one last thing if you have previously stayed at a riu palace like i have this is not even comparable to all the others!!

  • Liked — the service
  • Disliked — nothing to do
  • Stayed January 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
7 Thank roxy24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 January 2008

This was our 5th stay in the DR, and 3rd in Punta Cana. We had stayed at Iberostars recently (La Hacienda in La Ramana and the Iberostar Punta Cana) and feel that the Riu was at least on their level.

what was great?
the beach - we like waves and wind and in january both were present. the volleyball games were fun. walking the beach is great, and the shipwreck always something to see.

the watersports were good (catamaran, kayaks) though the watersports staff often did not permit their use when the wind was up - they did seem a bit too safety-conscious. I admit i was irritated when the "red flags" were up two of the days - no sailing or kayaking! then again, the next days we saw many people who really did not know how to sail or even kayak attempting to go out into the waves farther out.
the staff - we thought all staff were particularly fine. waiters, waitresses, bartenders, front desk staff - they all were helpful, pleasant, and multi-lingual.

the food - good-to-great. the seafood was excellent. the range of choices was fine. dinner was probably the best, though at breakfast made to order omelets were fine and fruit juices excellent. they do ask you to sit at the same table each night in the buffet - we thought this would not be positive but in fact it worked well - we got to know our servers and they us, and it became a pleasure to walk in and immediately get wine or our favorite drinks brought to the table. we were able to get a table for two that was ideal - we saw no family or couple forced to sit in shared circumstances.

the balcony - we had one of the cheapest rooms, and the balcony still was wonderful for relaxing in the evening with the last drink of the day.

what was not great?

the pool was way too small, but we are not pool people so we did not mind.

the check-in was slow, and since we came in after midnight, one would have hoped they would have been notified in advance of our arrival and had more people at the desk when our bus dropped a lot of tired folks off.

the air-conditioning initially was hard to get right, but once we nailed it it worked fine.

the bed was very hard - i loved it, but my wife did not. many pillows, and extra blanket helped.

we had a good time, and would return again if the price were right. we would do the iberostar punta cana instead if priced lower - we see them as different but overall equivalent.

  • Stayed January 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
12 Thank lit50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 January 2008

Ok, I am in my early 40's and have traveled extensively for business and pleasure. I chose the RIU Palace Macao because I was taking some top performing sales people away for a reward trip and had a very limited budget and the RIU fit it.

I would rate my room as fine but nothing special. The pool was fine but nothing special. The beach was very nice, but it was crowded. The service was good and very friendly. The drinks were good (but not the wine) and included, thank god because the food was horrible.

I admit I am an adventurous "foodie" but this was just below what should be standard. Greasy was the description for anything that was cooked but not in a stew. I would say that it was below "Denny's" grade. In fact, I would have been thrilled to go to a Denny's as an alternative. They have a number of "restaurants" for dinner. All of them are empty because they are a joke. The japanese resturant was comical. They served "sushi", which was rice with a shaved sliver of fish on it with a thick soy sauce. Then, some version of Sukiyaki, which I believe was the from the beef stew from the buffet that they washed off and served with rice. The steak house offers a 6 ounce rib eye, which was fried, not grilled. I could go on. I think they have the resturants so they can market that they have them but everyone ends up at the buffet out of despiration. I should add that I saw a number of people enjoying the buffet. I can only imagine these are the people that go to Denny's for dinner, not the ones that end up at Denny's at 2 am to absorb the alcohol.

Also, the front desk quoted us 150 dollars and a 35 minute ride to play "teeth of the dog" golf course at Casa de Campo. Well we did it and it ended up being a 3 hour ride and 300 dollars. Great course but it was tainted by the false promises. There is a course right next door to the Palace Macao, Punta Blanca, which was a very good course, and was really 150 dollars and it included a limited lunch, though not on the ocean like the Teeth of the Dog.

All in all if your budget is limited and you can't afford much and food is not an important part of your vacation the Palace Macau is not a bad choice. The one good thing about the safari accross the island to play golf was I got to see outside the well guarded compound that is the resort. The island has a lot of potential but the poverty was wide spread and I must admit makes me ashamed of writing about how poor the food at the resort is as it would most likely be the meal of their lives. Yet, you do deserve to know what to expect before you go as spoiled and pompus I know I sound.

  • Liked — Each room had a nice porch.
  • Stayed January 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
8 Thank guyfromboston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Upstate Ny
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 January 2008

We just returned from the Riu Palace Macao in Punta Cana DR. We had a wonderful time. The food was excellent. We ate mostly in the buffet but we also had dinner in the Steakhouse, the Caribe Grill, and the Kabuki japanese restaurants. No complaints at all about the food.

The beach was lovely. Punta Cana is on the Atlantic side of the island so the water was a bit chillier and greener than the Caribbean side. The sand was soft and fine. There were plenty of loungers. There was surf to play in and free non motorized water sports. We booked an excursion through Scuba Caribe onsite for a sunset snorkeling trip to the Caribbean side. This was very good. We also did an excursion through Prieto Tours for the Caribbean Festival - a half day snorkeling trip, swimming with nurse sharks and seeing rays up close. On the ride back there was a Dominican Folkloric dance show on the Catamaran. The only complaint about that is there were too many people for the small area that we were allowed to snorkel in. It was very crowded and we kept getting kicked and swum over top of.

The activities at the resort were good. There was music in the Cubano Bar every night. There was usually a show too every night - dances from the Caribbean, Mexico and Dominican. There was also a Caberet show and a Micheal Jackson show. The activitiy staff were very high energy and multilingual. On Thursday night is a Caribbean Party on the side street next to the resort with music and dancing and silly games. Really a lot of fun.

The only real complaints we had were about the air conditioning in the room. It was not cool enough for my husband. (It was fine for me.) The room never got cooler than about 72 degrees. They kept saying they were working on it but I don't really think so. Also, housekeeping was very inconsistant. They would come any time from 8:30 am to 4:30 pm. They did not always do a thorough job. And even if we hung our "make up room" sign and left for 4-5 hours, there was no telling if the room would be done or not.

Also the casino is not very good. There are no rules posted for the table games....hubby said they only used one deck for poker. The slot machines were old and sticky and did not all work properly.

Overall the staff people were very helpful and friendly. Not all the tourists were though. There are many French, German and Russian tourists here - as well as visitors from the UK and Canada.

We did enjoy our time there. Two weeks was perfect. It only rained the day we arrived and the day we left.

  • Liked — beach. food, activitiies, free wifi in lobby
  • Disliked — housekeeping and casino
  • Stayed January 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
14 Thank Susan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Punta Cana
18.0 mi away
Alsol Del Mar
Alsol Del Mar
#45 of 112 in Punta Cana
968 reviews
15.9 mi away
AlSol Tiara Cap Cana
AlSol Tiara Cap Cana
#22 of 112 in Punta Cana
1,841 reviews
38.3 mi away
Casa de Campo Resort & Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Green Don Pablo Collection
52.2 mi away
Luxury Bahia Principe Bouganville Don Pablo Collection
15.7 mi away
Alsol Luxury Village
Alsol Luxury Village
#87 of 112 in Punta Cana
3,380 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Riu Palace Macao? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Riu Palace Macao

Property: Hotel Riu Palace Macao
Address: Playa Arena Gorda | Punta Cana, Punta Cana 35100, Dominican Republic
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > La Altagracia Province > Punta Cana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#19 Romantic Hotel in Punta Cana
#35 Family Hotel in Punta Cana
#38 Top resorts Hotel in Punta Cana
#40 On the Beach Hotel in Punta Cana
#40 Spa Hotel in Punta Cana
#41 Luxury Hotel in Punta Cana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Riu Palace Macao 4*
Number of rooms: 364
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
* Located on Arena Gorda Beach in Punta Cana. * Complimentary sun loungers on the beach. * Within the Riu Resort, along with the Riu Palace Punta Cana, Riu Palace Bavaro, Riu Naiboa and the ClubHotel Riu Bambu. * The Splash Water World will be opened from 1st November 2016 * 3-storey building. Colonial style architecture. * Surrounded by 30,000 m2 / 36,000 sq. yards of palm groves alongside the beach. 50 km / 31 miles from Higey. 200 m / 660 ft. from Caribbean Street. 30 km / 19 miles from Punta Cana Int'l. Airport. * Credit cards accepted: Visa, MasterCard ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with 5viajes2012 S.L., Expedia, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Hotels.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Riu Palace Macao reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riu Palace Macao Hotel Punta Cana
Riu Palace Macao Punta Cana
Riu Palace Punta Cana
Rui Palace Punta Cana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing