We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Riu Palace Macao
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
US$367
US$324
Barcelo.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Barcelo Bavaro Beach - Adults Only(Punta Cana)(Great Value!)
US$388
US$346
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Paradisus Punta Cana Resort(Punta Cana)(Great Value!)
US$340
US$255
Melia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$249
US$196
Melia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$261
Bookit.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
The Reserve at Paradisus Palma Real(Punta Cana)(Great Value!)
US$459
US$325
Melia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Reserve at Paradisus Punta Cana(Punta Cana)(Great Value!)
US$331
US$248
Melia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Memories Splash Punta Cana(Punta Cana)(Great Value!)
US$464
US$348
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$763
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$437
US$346
HotelsClick
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (4,314)
Filter reviews
4,314 results
Traveller rating
2,296
1,252
447
174
145
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,296
1,252
447
174
145
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscaribbean streetpool barkrystal restaurantpalm treesel patiodominican republicthomson repjacuzzi suitea la carte restaurantssteakevening entertainmentanimation teammain restaurantplenty of sunbedsrelaxing holidayan adults only resortother resorts
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,674 - 1,679 of 4,314 reviews
Reviewed 31 May 2014

The Riu Palace Macao is a 5*, all-inclusive hotel, part of a complex of Riu hotels. It is perfectly situated, with lovely grounds and a beautiful beach. The hotel itself is well-appointed, scrupulously clean and with lots of amenities.
The food is excellent, from the buffet to the 4 speciality restaurants. The choice of food is extensive and the quality is high.
Staff are outstanding...all of them, from the cleaners to the reception staff, the waiters and the pool staff.
The only negative is the relentless and loud poolside entertainment, with a loudspeaker unnecessarily blaring out, even when the activities do not require it. It happens twice-a-day, every day, for around 2 hours each time. Who needs rap music to play a game of volleyball. It is such a pity. The entertainment staff themselves are very pleasant but it seems to be the pattern of the day in most Riu hotels. Why?
Trying to lie by the pool, reading a book was impossible when the entertainment is in full flow.
The entertainment at night was much better organised, with some quieter music in the public lounge areas, and louder events contained within the theatre area.

Room Tip: During the entertainment area - 10am to 12 noon and 3pm to 5pm - a sea view room at the front would be very noisy.
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank bboyd254
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2014

WOW!!!! We have travelled to many resorts and never twice to the same one. We can definitely say we will come back to RIU PALACE MACAO. The people are simply very friendly and smiling. I must admit it reconciled us with the Dominican Republic. The site is very clean, the beach is fantastic, the food is delicious. The rooms are clean, updated and the beds are comfortable. There is always enough hot water in the shower even during rush hours. The buffet has something for everyone, even the most difficult ones! There is no palapas on the beach, only coconut trees. We were sceptic at first but we now prefer the trees. The breeze always comes through, not blocked by any palapas or close neighbors. We were here for two weeks and sad to leave, looking forward to our next visit!!!!

Room Tip: We took a gardenview room, it is more quiet. My daughter had a corner room with gardenview, the only difference was a bigger balcony.
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Lorna G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2014

I have visited "The Riu Palace Macao" and Palace Macao is one of the best resort I have ever stayed in. I always try to book 4*-5* hotels , Cuba, Mexico, San Martin, USVI, Jamaica, Nassau, Bahamas, Miami, Puerto Rico..... but so far my favorite is "Riu Palace Macao" because the service and the great food . Is not a big resort where you have to walk a long way to the beach ( what if you are on the beach and forgot maybe your phone, your book, your sun lotion ) go back to the room is just a few moments. Who cares about entertainment ?? when you stay at Macao you actually are welcome to enjoy the entertainment at the Riu Palace next door. The best food in Punta Cana and the best service staff ..please don't forget to tip tip and tip these employees who work hours and hours to make sure we have the best time at Macao!.... Planning my next trip soon :)

Room Tip: Third floor , corner room .
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Rafamark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2014

Good Points

This hotel is clean, tidy with fantastic staff who cannot do enough for you. The rooms are comfortable and again spotlessly clean, with a lovely shower and twin basin arrangement.

The food was incredible, although the A La Carte restaurants left a lot to be desired.

Weather was lovely and on a few occasions, too hot to sit anywhere barring the shade, I still picked up a lovely tan however.

Down Side

Too many loud, brash Americans, who cannot handle all day drinking, in the sun, making far too much noise in the pool bar. We saw countless numbers of them bring carried off to bed, not quite what expect from this standard of hotel and made me think I was on a club 18-30 holiday!

Evening entertainment was poor and meant we went back to our room quite a few evenings, to play cards etc.

Overall

Relaxing, clean hotel with excellent food. We have found that this beautiful country is now a little too commercial which has taken away some of its charm, but all in all a lovely two week break.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Emma W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2014

All the staff was so helpful and friendly. The food was good and and the scenery magnificent! I would definitely go back there again! Oh and the wi-fi is free if you desire to use it but the pool and the beach is so nice...why waste it being inside!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank tdubose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews