We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderfully relaxing”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Dreams Palm Beach Punta Cana
Ranked #12 of 112 Hotels in Punta Cana
GreenLeadersSilver level
Toronto
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Wonderfully relaxing”
Reviewed 19 December 2013

I traveled with my 2 sisters in their twenties, and my parents. We go to all inclusives at least once per year (generally in Punta Cana and various places in Mexico) and have developed high expectations as we have been to some amazing resorts-Riu Palace Punta Cana, Hard Rock Punta Cana, Grand Palladium Punta Cana, Catalonia Punta Cana, Riu Palace Cabo San Lucas and many more. Overall, it was a very nice resort and my whole family decided that we would rate it a 4 out of 5 star.

Food: The food was excellent. Lots of variety at the one buffet-tons of seafood, freshly made meat and fish, salad items, pizza and pastas and kids food. All the a la carte restaurants were amazing except for the Japanese (we don’t like the teppanyaki tables – lots of noise – and most menu items tasted the same) The French restaurant was incredible (the surf and turf is a must to order), the Italian and Mexican restaurants both had amazing food with great flavor and was well cooked. None of the a la carte restaurants require reservations, which means you may have to wait awhile if it is peak times. 24 Room service is always wonderful (only sandwiches and pizza are available late night)

Drinks: Alcohol beverages are made very strong and they don’t use premium alcohol. Drinks are well made though-especially by Victor at the pool/swim up bar. Frozen Lime Margaritas are a personal fave!

Service: The service was superb. From the moment we arrived to the moment we left, we were constantly accommodated. Lots of staff everywhere and there is always someone to help you out with anything you need. A few people really went above and beyond for us, namely Yeison who works as a Concierge in the front lobby and in the Preferred Club lobby. Even though tipping is not required, we tipped $2-$5 each time someone was very helpful and they continued to provide excellent service and would go out of their way for you. Most speak enough English to communicate with you and many also speak French as well.

Nightlife: My sisters and I enjoy going out, dancing and having a fun time, and therefore the nightlife at this resort was disappointing. There is a casino and a disco, but because its mainly couples and families with young children at this resort, there wasn’t too much excitement going on. We left the resort to go to ORO (the club at the Hard Rock) which was fun and we also heard IMAGINE, the cave club was fun although we didn’t end up making it there. This resort really caters to families and young children (children running around everywhere!)

Resort Grounds/Room: The grounds are beautiful and well kept and is not a large resort. One can walk around the entire resort in about ten minutes. Very nice lobby and facilities (restaurants are beautiful, as well as the spa and pool areas) The beach is pristine with white sand and beautiful aqua blue waters. Was a little bit seaweedy at times but that was due to the rainfalls that have been occurring. There are staff constantly coming by though to clean it up. The hotel room was nice and clean, but not overly impressive. It is more on the basic side, with little décor on the wall. One bed was very firm and the other was very soft. Also the pillows on the bed could use changing as they felt a bit lumpy. The bathrooms are quite outdated (sink, vanity, shower, door that doesn’t separate toilet from rest of washroom) and need to be changed to bring this resort up to a 4.5 star. My other sister stayed in another room and she had quite a few bugs in her room, her air conditioner didn’t work (it wouldn’t go below 23 degrees), the water pressure went very weak regularly and it smelled a little bit moldy in the bathroom. She also had lumpy old pillows. She probably could have been switched to another room had she requested it, but she chose not to.

Gym/Spa: The gym has everything you need-free weights, weight machines, and cardio machines. It is not a large gym and not that much open space if you want to stretch or do lunges etc. Also the gym is not well air conditioned and can get quite warm. The spa is beautiful and offers a variety of services including a salon. They were offering two for one massages which we took advantage of and the massage was very good. You can have it done in the spa or on the beach. When you order a service you are permitted to use the spa facilities for an hour prior or following-they have a lovely outdoor area with a pool with massage jets, a hot tub, a cold plunge, a steam room and sauna and cabana beds an lounges to relax on. My mother wanted a massage on a day that they were not offering the two for one special, but she was able to bargain as the spa was not booked at all that day and she ended up getting a $170 massage for $90.

Other Miscellaneous Items: There is something called the “Preferred Club” which is an upgrade and costs an extra $110 dollars per night per room. With this upgrade you get a room with an oceanview. The other perks are pointless (separate pool and beach area with cabana beds, free wifi and a another lunch buffet). The reason it is pointless is because this hotel works on a freedom of movement policy where anyone can really go anywhere and you don’t get questioned. They do not provide bracelets and therefore there is nothing to distinguish a Preferred Club Member from a regular member. We used the cabana beds and went to the lunch buffet and nobody questioned us.

Because the resort is small, majority of the sunbeds by the pools were reserved (by people placing their towel down) as early as 8 am and it may be difficult to find a chair. We asked one of the staff outside about this and he brought us chairs from the beach and placed them wherever we wanted. There were always sun beds available on the beach though.

This is a resort that we would definitely return to, but only once we have children. While nightlife and entertainment is still of high priority to us, we would most likely choose the Hard Rock or an adults only resort.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank ablumey9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management-Palmbeach, Public Relations Manager at Dreams Palm Beach Punta Cana, responded to this review, 20 December 2013
Dear Guest,

Greetings from Dreams Palm Beach. We would like to express how satisfying it is to read that your stay at Dreams was wonderful. Thank you for choosing us as your home away from home and for taking a moment of your time to share your comments through this forum. We are glad you and your family had a wonderful relaxing time at Dreams. Thank you for your feedback, we will certainly work on the areas of opportunity.

We can’t wait to welcome you back home and be able to exceed your expectations. We hope to host you soon.

Best regards,

Vangie Severino
Management Assistant
Dreams Palm Beach Punta Cana
Cabeza de Toro, La Altagracia Dominican Republic
Tel:(809)552-6000 Ext. 1719
operaciones.drepb@dreamsresorts.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

11,383 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    7,537
    2,471
    895
    292
    188
See reviews for
4,850
4,065
116
86
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2,877)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Derby, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 December 2013

The porter took our cases up 3 flights of stairs for a small tip. Our room was beautiful, clean & was very spacious. We had a lovely view, from our balcony. The lady who cleaned the room looked after us very well, making sure we had fresh towels, & the beds were remade & turned down later.
Also topped our toiletries & Mimi bar daily.
The restaurants , Asian( too noisy for us) full of screaming over the top Americans. Italian
Was fantastic, French great, Seaside based almost on the beach was lovely, our favourite was the Mexican, we really enjoyed meals , the staff, & the ambiance .
The disco smelt a bit mouldy & damp & empty when we tried it out one night. The casino was joined to it & again smelt damp & mouldy. We didn't try the theatre because we were told that it was childish.
We enjoyed listening to the singers in the other areas, & the beach parties, the sitting areas were all very pleasant..... All the staff were fantastic & very friendly,
The pools, beach, beach food bar , beds & shades all in plenty, were all great.
Over all this stay was fabulous & we would stay here again. Excellent.

Room Tip: We had a pool view with a glimpse of the sea, on the 3rd floor. Very quiet .
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Denise A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fruita, Colorado
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 December 2013

Beautiful. Beautiful. Beautiful. Loved our stay here! Perfect for Honeymoons! I am glad that I brought my husband some nice dress clothes and polo shirts, they have a strict dress code for dinner for men. Very nice, great service, great food, great staff, great activities. If you can't afford to do a lot of excursions they have lots of free activities hosted by the resort for you to participate in. One night they even had a movie under the stars in the sand :) (The Other Guys with Will Ferrel was playing) 7 nights wasn't long enough! Nothing but good things to say about this place! Oh and you would think that with All Inclusive they would go light on the alcohol but no! Lol so be careful and have fun! My favorite drink was the DIRTY MONKEY, it tastes like a banana split! Sammy SoSa are good too

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Meagan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management-Palmbeach, Public Relations Manager at Dreams Palm Beach Punta Cana, responded to this review, 20 December 2013
Dear Guest,

Please receive the warmest greetings from Dreams Palm Beach. We are thrilled to have made this vacation to Dreams a very special and memorable one. We take this opportunity to thank you for sharing such positive experience with others through this forum and for giving us the privilege of vacationing with us.

It was more than a pleasure to have delighted you and taken care of you. We look forward to more vacations here at your home away from home.

Best regards,

Vangie Severino
Management Assistant
Dreams Palm Beach Punta Cana
Cabeza de Toro, La Altagracia Dominican Republic
Tel:(809)552-6000 Ext. 1719
operaciones.drepb@dreamsresorts.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surrey
Level 6 Contributor
421 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 152 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 December 2013

My partner and I have never been to a hotel where we felt so well looked after, from the minute we arrived until we left.
We had a 3rd floor room in block 8. It was beautifully quiet and had a "tropical" view ie over a small palm filled garden towards a forest. Some rooms in that and other blocks may have been looking straight into the "forest". The room was a good size and the only grumble we had was that there was not enough drawer space. The bathroom could do with a face lift and as other guests have said ,it was easy to soak the floor when having a shower.
The food was amazing -we never had a bad meal. We tried all the restaurants , our favourite being Bordeaux -child free! The seaside grill was amazing but due to high winds we couldn't always sit outside, or see the sea as screens had to be pulled. The staff in all the restaurants were so friendly and helpful it would be unfair to name any specific person.
The grounds and pools are beautifully maintained , though the pools could have been a bit warmer! There are more than adequate loungers around the pools and on the beach, though it would have been nice to have a few more umbrellas around the pools- not just for keeping the sun off but for sheltering under during a tropical shower (in true British fashion !)
The drinks service around the pools and on the beach was excellent and we never had any problem getting drinks in the bars (without holding up tips as one reviewer has claimed)- sadly some people at the bars were very rude to the hard working staff if they weren't served immediately. We loved the evening bar at the wedding gazebo, listening to all types of live music.
We only went to a couple of the evening entertainments. The Brazil show in the theatre was good, but the "Water and Light" show at the pools was amazing.
There are definitely some areas of the hotel which could do with a face lift. The seats in the lobby bar are quite shabby and the bar is too small when the weather isn't too good. It also gets very hot in it and the lobby as there are only fans .
This not a hotel for disabled people (and there were several people in wheelchairs while we were there) There are no dedicated Disabled toilets in the foyer, and The Italian and French restaurants are on first floor with no lift. We saw people having to be carried up bodily or in their wheelchairs.
All the staff were so pleasant and helpful -were the constant smiles on their faces due to the ubiquitous rum !
The one person we would like to single out is Mr Milan the Assistant General Manager. He seemed to be around from dawn to dusk (and even later) checking with guests and staff they everything was OK, and had an excellent attitude to both and took comments from guests (both good and bad) on board. Thank you.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Milliemax64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management-Palmbeach, Public Relations Manager at Dreams Palm Beach Punta Cana, responded to this review, 20 December 2013
Dear Guest,

Greetings from Dreams Palm Beach. Thank you for taking the time to write such a lovely comment about your recent vacation and for having chosen Dreams as your vacation destination. It was such a pleasure to have contributed to such a fabulous vacation. Thank you for your feedback; rest assured that we have taken notes about your observations and these have been addressed to the management.

On behalf of our staff, it was a pleasure to have served you and taken care of you. We hope this is the first of many more vacations at your home away from home. We look forward to your next visit.

Best regards,

Vangie Severino
Management Assistant
Dreams Palm Beach Punta Cana
Cabeza de Toro, La Altagracia Dominican Republic
Tel:(809)552-6000 Ext. 1719
operaciones.drepb@dreamsresorts.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxfordshire, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 December 2013

Our family of Four have just returned from Dreams Palm Beach. We have had a wonderful relaxing time together. Our son and daughter are adults now so we didn't use any of the children's facilities.
Our rooms were beautiful, very modern with good air conditioning . Most rooms in the caribbean ( in our experience) are ok, but you wouldn't want to spend much time in them, whereas, our room here was very comfortable, there were small issues such as low water pressure in the shower and toilet flushing due to the same.
We chose the preferred club upgrade which is definitely the way forward. The extras are worth it. The beach is very nice although not as idyllic as other Caribbean beaches we've been to such as Barbados, where the sea is turquoise, the sand white and clear water with no seaweed etc.
The food around the resort was repetitive. We went to the Japanese for Tapenyaki expecting it to be authentic, however, although it was a very fun evening, if you've ever been to an authentic restaurant you would soon realise that this is a poor copy. The Mexican was the same food found around the resort just made to look a bit Mexican. No chilli, refried beans etc. etc. on the menu. The same applied to most of the other restaurants, food all very similar ( the seaside grill was much better) this is for preferred club guests.
If eating good quality food is a large part of your holiday, don't go to this resort. We were there for one week so it wasn't a huge problem, I even managed to drop a dress size in time for Christmas!
The pool at the preferred club area was disappointing, a hot tub which children were not allowed in ( with a sign to advise parents) and parents still allowed their children to go in! Families tended to sit around there, so adults stuck with the beach, which again when you're only there for a week is fine. I would have liked at least one adults only pool.
The pool with the swim up bar looked beautiful as did the rest of the resort, it is kept immaculate by the staff.
It has to be said that the staff who you come into contact with on a daily basis, cleaning, bar, waitresses etc. are an absolute delight and are the resorts biggest asset. Having holidayed in the Caribbean many times, they just don't get the whole 'customer service' thing and can be quite sullen generally, -here in Dominican Republic however, being Spanish, they have a natural warmth, a ready smile and really want to make you welcome. It made a huge difference .
I probably wouldn't choose to return, on the basis that this resort is ideal for families, it is very large and not what we as a family need any more. I would opt for a much smaller resort in an area where you can go outside of the resort to have a good meal in a restaurant of your choice.
They are doing a great job, dealing with some difficult guests who take full advantage of the all inclusive drinks etc. and end up being very intoxicated, not really the kind of people I want to be around on holiday.
All in all I would very much recommend Palm Beach to friends with children. We did have a lovely holiday. Thank you Palm Beach staff.

Room Tip: Upgrade to preferred club!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank corrieorrie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management-Palmbeach, Public Relations Manager at Dreams Palm Beach Punta Cana, responded to this review, 20 December 2013
Dear Guest,

Greetings from Dreams Palm Beach. Thank you for having chosen us as your vacation spot in Punta Cana. We are avid followers of all that our guests have to share about their experience here in Dreams Palm Beach. The feedback that we receive is the basis to continue on the line that has taken us very far amongst our competitors and to improve all the things that we must in order to continue to grow even further. Nevertheless, we are happy you enjoyed most aspects of our hotel.

It was a pleasure to have served you and taken care of you. We are looking forward to hosting you again in the near future.

Warm regards,

Vangie Severino
Management Assistant
Dreams Palm Beach Punta Cana
Cabeza de Toro, La Altagracia Dominican Republic
Tel:(809)552-6000 Ext. 1719
operaciones.drepb@dreamsresorts.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greenville
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 December 2013

While the service wasn't bad, and the rooms nice enough, our trip to the Dominican Republic was terrible! I've been to several other Caribbean islands and resorts, but I have never been anywhere that was this hot! The AC in the rooms barely made it somewhat tolerable, definitely couldn't sleep with any sheets or anything, and had to have the fan on the whole time, and we were still bathed in sweat. On the second or third night I got food poisoning and was up all night terribly ill, and literally laid next to the toilet in a pool of sweat from the fever. The heat wasn't the only bad thing, there were vendors allowed on the resort property, and they set up booths and bombarded us every time we passed to go to the beach or our rooms. Kids are also allowed at the resort (not too big of a deal unless you want a quiet romantic trip, not screaming kids and avoiding being knocked in the pool from them running around!) And finally, there was trash all over the beach and in the water, it was disgusting! Definitely reconsider going here, I really loved our stay at the Antigua Sandals resort, and every Caribean and Princess Cruise so much better!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank MissaNMiddle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 December 2013

My husband and I stayed here from Dec 8 to the 15th, to celebrate our wedding anniversary. The resort was only 20 min away from the airport.

I will start off by saying we had no complaints. I can see people commenting below in regards to construction, but I can assure you we heard no such disturbances. Just other guests noisily entering and exiting their rooms, that's it.

The staff is EXCELLENT. A shout out goes to the entertainment team, Gasolina, Cuchi, Woody, Red bull, Candyman and Miss Macerena are doing an impeccable job entertaining the guests. There are entertainment shows every night, live music every night, zumba by the beach, basically you will not be bored at this resort.

The food is DELICIOUS, there are 6 restaurants open for dinner, 4 a la carte, and 2 buffets. I would highly recommend El Patio, their fajitas are a must try. At Bordeaux, the surf n turf is amazing. Another must try is the Japanese food at Himitsu.

If you are confused about where to book your excursions from, we recommend amstar as they are associated with the resort and are reliable. We booked an excursion to Saona island through them and truly enjoyed the Caribbean Sea.

Overall, the pools were clean and the beach had small amounts of seaweed (didnt bother us), we had a great time and would definitely come back.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Essraaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management-Palmbeach, Public Relations Manager at Dreams Palm Beach Punta Cana, responded to this review, 20 December 2013
Dear Guest,

Greetings from Dreams Palm Beach. First of all our best wished to you both on this special occasion as was your anniversary. Thank you for such a delightful comment and for having chosen Dreams as your home away from home.

It fills us with great satisfaction that we were able to exceed your expectations and that you enjoyed all activities, facilities our hotel has to offer. Thank you for your words of appreciation towards our vibrant entertainment staff, we will pass on your words to them all.

Thank you for giving us the honor of being part of such a special occasion; we hope this is the first of many more celebrations to come in paradise.

Warm regards,

Vangie Severino
Management Assistant
Dreams Palm Beach Punta Cana
Cabeza de Toro, La Altagracia Dominican Republic
Tel:(809)552-6000 Ext. 1719
operaciones.drepb@dreamsresorts.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Punta Cana hotels
3.8 mi away
Secrets Royal Beach Punta Cana
17.4 mi away
Dreams Punta Cana Resort & Spa
3.9 mi away
Now Larimar Punta Cana
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.1 mi away
The Reserve at Paradisus Punta Cana
9.7 mi away
Hard Rock Hotel & Casino Punta Cana
3.3 mi away
Melia Caribe Tropical
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dreams Palm Beach Punta Cana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dreams Palm Beach Punta Cana

Property: Dreams Palm Beach Punta Cana
Address: Cabeza de Toro, Punta Cana 23000, Dominican Republic
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > La Altagracia Province > Punta Cana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Casino Hotel in Punta Cana
#10 Top resorts Hotel in Punta Cana
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Punta Cana
#11 Spa Hotel in Punta Cana
#12 Luxury Hotel in Punta Cana
#21 Romantic Hotel in Punta Cana
#29 Family Hotel in Punta Cana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Dreams Palm Beach Punta Cana 4*
Number of rooms: 500
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Facing the Caribbean Sea, white sand beach and lush gardens, Dreams Palm Beach Punta Cana boasts 500 spacious rooms and ample suites surrounded by swaying palm trees and views of endless blue waters stretching to the horizon - the perfect setting in paradise. Take advantage of all the unlimited luxury activities Dreams Palm Beach Punta Cana has to offer. Swim, sail, snorkel or windsurf in the turquoise Caribbean, enjoy fine a-la-carte dining, sip favorite cocktails at one of our bars. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., Odigeo, Expedia, Holiday Gems, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Dreams Palm Beach Punta Cana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dreams Palm Beach Punta Cana Hotel Punta Cana
Occidental Punta Cana
Occidental Allegro Punta Cana
Punta Cana Occidental
Sunscape Punta Cana
Punta Cana Dreams Palm Beach
Punta Cana Allegro

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing