We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great holiday, good hotel complex”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Dreams Palm Beach Punta Cana
Ranked #46 of 114 Hotels in Punta Cana
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 10 July 2014

My wife and I just returned from an 11 night stay at the Dreams Palms Beach, Punta Cana.

Hotel : Its quite a compact resort, with the main heart around the pool and main reception centre. It looks nice, tidy and well maintained and checkin process was fast and efficient. Reception staff were friendly and polite and made a good first impression.

Beach : Lovely fine grained white sand, palm trees and gentle lapping waves. Fantastic constant breeze from the sea to keep you cool. Lots of sun beds always available, never had an issue.

Staff : Staff were really friendly and there definitely seemed a high staff to customer ratio.

Room : We had a room on 2nd floor in block 7. It was a nice size, really good sized bed (which my wife liked a lot) and the balcony faced out to the pool side - but we still had good privacy because of the palm trees. The room had a safe (f.o.c.), an iron and board and relatively good storage options.
The room was a bit worn (or well used!), the noisy aircon seemed stuck at 26C and the fridge wasnt great. I considered asking for a different room, but we decided that the overall benefits outweighed the risk of a different room. Note that there is only a glass door separating the bathroom from the sink area (but isnt visible to the rest of the room.

Room service is fantastic - we tried this a couple of times and they really do deliver within 30mins. Breakfast on the patio was an enjoyable experience.

Pool areas : Good sized pools which were well maintained. Although there are lots of sun-beds available, the amount that had towels on them, but werent used for hours meant that it was a bit frustrating. This was a real issue around the pool with the swim-up bar. We never found free beds around the pool after 9am, yet there werent many people about. A real shame people are so selfish.

Restaurants : Really good to have unlimited visits to where ever we wanted. Downside that at peak times you have to wait for a table to become free. They have a pager system to allow queuing, which worked most of the time. We did have issues the last night, but that seemed down to human error by the Maitre d'.
- Japanese had really great service - the best in the resort. Food was good and it had show tables which provided atmosphere and entertainment.
- French was nice, good food and service was ok
- Italian was nice too, good food but service was a bit hit and miss. We nearly walked out waiting for our order to be taken.
- Seaside grill was really nice. Lively atmosphere, good service and great food - maybe our favourite place - but its really popular so you have to be prepared to take a pager.
- World Buffet. Great choice of food, nicely spreadout. But service was a bit hit and miss and be ready to queue for any omeletts/eggs. Wish they had had both stations operational all the time.
- Mexican. Not good. Food was bland and service wasnt great. Explains why it never seemed to be busy....unless they overhaul the menu, dont bother.

Daytime entertainment : Staff were always putting on some activity, but we didnt participate so cant advise how good it was.

Night time entertainment : In my opinion, possibly the weakest part of the hotel. For some reason its based in the air conditioned Conference centre, where we all have to sit on metal chairs all lined up like we were back at school or in an actual conference. I would have preferred a proper permanent outside space, with tables and only use the conference centre when it rains.
They did hold night time beach party and did celebrate 4th July with fireworks on the beach- both events worked really well and were fun. There is also a night time movie on the beach area - but didnt use it.

Sports bar / Casino : I wasnt particularly impressed or enticed to spend any time in them. Never seemed particularly busy (except during World cup games).

Main bar / reception area : Limited seating around the bar. Bar service was ok, although they seemed understaffed / overworked a lot of the time so waiting at the bar was a regular issue.
Waitress service was available, but it could take some time before they returned with your drinks. We once left after waiting 15mins for drinks.

Pool / beach waiter service : Very hit or miss. We were tipping, but that didnt improve it - maybe we werent tipping enough? Dont know, but it certainly wasnt the level of service i expected.

Weddings : On some days there were 2 or 3 weddings a day. Not an issue, but you need to be aware that these seem to dominate the focus of the resort.

Wifi - Be aware there is no FREE wifi. Its an optional extra $50 per week. Despite stating in newletters, there is no free service. But there are two Windows 8 pcs in the Sunshine clothes shop which can be used by guests. In the end having no internet access was a blessing as it made sure we had a total break from the rat race.

We booked a couple of trips through Roberto (VIP). He was a good guy, honoured his promises and made sure we had a nice time. Even found time to pop to the local chemist for us. The Zipwire adventure was good and we had a great day out. The Samona island trip was nice too, but there was a lengthy bus ride needed to get there.

In summary, nice hotel and probably worth a visit, however in my opinion it wasnt as good as i would have liked or as good as the Tripadvisor rating suggests. If you get a good deal, then you should get value for money - just forgive it some of the minor niggles.

Room Tip: Ask for a recently refurbished room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Terry P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management-Palmbeach, Public Relations Manager at Dreams Palm Beach Punta Cana, responded to this reviewResponded 11 July 2014

Dear Guest,

Greetings from sunny Dreams Palm Beach. Your comments are very valuable and very much appreciated. Thank you for making dreams your home away from home. We are glad that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay. Thank you for your comments and feedbacks; please know these have been addressed to the management.

Please know that it was an honor to have had vacationed with you and we look forward to be able to welcome you back home in the near future.

Best regards,

Vangie Severino
Management Assistant
Dreams Palm Beach Punta Cana
Cabeza de Toro, La Altagracia Dominican Republic
Tel:(809)552-6000 Ext. 1719
operaciones.drepb@dreamsresorts.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (10,950)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

5,127 - 5,133 of 10,950 reviews

Reviewed 9 July 2014

Dreams palm beach was amazing it was incredibly awesome the way the employees attended me was unbelievable Wellington concierge and Miguel concierge were the first employees met I was left without words they were Very nice men,Joel & Raul from the front desk helped me at all times when I was lost I absolutely loved it they have a lot of entertainment and different activities everything I paid for was worth it I recommend this hotel to everyone This place was all about tranquility and relaxation I stood at the hotel for about a week and I didn't want to leave I will sure be staying at dreams palm beach when I plan another vacation.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Issielalvarez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management-Palmbeach, Public Relations Manager at Dreams Palm Beach Punta Cana, responded to this reviewResponded 11 July 2014

Dear Guest,

Greetings from sunny Dreams palm Beach. We are thrilled to hear about your successcul stay with us. We are so pleased to learn that you enjoyed your stay and that you were treated with the excelente service we strive to provide all our guests.

There is no greater satisfaction, that receiving kind words from a valuable guest. Rest assured that your comments have been shared with the appropriate department leaders, so that they are able to share it with their team members; we know that each one of them will be delighted in knowing that they have contributed to such a fantastic stay.

Warm regards,

Vangie Severino
Management Assistant
Dreams Palm Beach Punta Cana
Cabeza de Toro, La Altagracia Dominican Republic
Tel:(809)552-6000 Ext. 1719
operaciones.drepb@dreamsresorts.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2014

This resort has it going on!!!!!!!To start we were met with ice cold towels served from a silver platter, for our hot necks. AND BOY DID WE NEED THEM. The grounds beautiful and were constantly being worked on. The staff everywhere were super friendly. They bent over backwards for you. My husband didn't bring long pants, which we thought wasn't necessary. Found out most nice restaurants had a dress code. Well the conceiere found some for us to borrow. Someone from front office called when we had our do not disturb sign on door, to make sure we were ok and see if we needed towels etc.( My husband wasn't feeling well.) The entertainment staff was the best! Kept us all hopping and knew our names by day two. Food was fantastic. Everyone was Soooooo friendly. They couldn't do enough for you. Shows and entertainment great. Best Fourth of July I ever had. Shout out to Cuchy, Best Zumba ever.My buddie Jack, Candyman, Sunny, Denny Lasandro, Lillian . Dante and Elizabeth of wait staff were great. This was truly a wonderful class act resort. Cant wait to go again. Thank you for a WONDERFUL Vacation!!!!!!!

Room Tip: no elevators .Only 3 Floors. We had Deluxe Tropical View. High ceilings beautiful !!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
3  Thank Dee B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management-Palmbeach, Public Relations Manager at Dreams Palm Beach Punta Cana, responded to this reviewResponded 11 July 2014

Dear Guest,

Please receive the warmest greetings from Dreams Palm Beach. Thank you for having chosen us as your vacation destination and for sharing your experience with others. We are glad that you enjoyed many aspects of our lovely hotel.

It was a pleasure to have taken care of you. We look forward to be able to welcome you back home in the near future so that you are able to experience more of what our destination has to offer.

Warm regards,

Vangie Severino
Management Assistant
Dreams Palm Beach Punta Cana
Cabeza de Toro, La Altagracia Dominican Republic
Tel:(809)552-6000 Ext. 1719
operaciones.drepb@dreamsresorts.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2014

We stayed at this hotel in February and really enjoyed our stay. We had preferred club and just having breakfast in the seaside grill made it worth it.

Staff were great, particularly Reynaldo the beach waiter, fifo, Ramirez, bido and all the seaside grill staff deserve a special mention - excellente!

It is a lovely resort with plenty of things to do, and lots if space so it did not feel crowded despite being a lot of guests

The coffee shop has a great selection of coffees and pastries - worth a visit

Food in the a LA carte restaurants was excellent, our favourites were the French and seaside grill. The main buffet restaurant was OK, but no where near the standard of food in the a LA carte, we ate there twice during our 2 week stay, all other nights we ate in a LA carte

The lobby bar is very pleasant for evening drinks, but there is a lack of seating areas around beach and pool bars

Grounds are well maintained and beach is cleaned of seaweed twice a day

We had a sea view which was lovely, but despite being preferred club the room was quite basic.

The main frustrations for us was the staff reserving sunbeds for guests which were usually used for 2 hours per day, left unoccupied for most of the day preventing other guests using them - this was in preferred club area! There was also a constant conveyor belt of weddings which i am sure is lovely for wedding parties, (1 every day) but became tiresome for us

This was a lovely holiday, but I think we ould go secrets resorts next time as dreams seems to cater more for children and weddings. Not a complaint, just not our cup of tea

Room Tip: Preferred club is worth it for better beach beds, seaside grill breakfast and sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Suzanne H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management-Palmbeach, Public Relations Manager at Dreams Palm Beach Punta Cana, responded to this reviewResponded 11 July 2014

Dear Guest,

Receive the warmest greetings from Dreams Palm Beach. Thank you for having chosen us as your vacation destination in Punta Cana and for taking the time to share you experience with others through this forum. We are glad we were able to meet your expectations

Know that we shall be expecting you for your next vacation and thank you for providing us the privilege of being part of it. Looking forward to welcome you home.

Warmest regards,

Vangie Severino
Management Assistant
Dreams Palm Beach Punta Cana
Cabeza de Toro, La Altagracia Dominican Republic
Tel:(809)552-6000 Ext. 1719
operaciones.drepb@dreamsresorts.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2014 via mobile

Just wanna say it is excelente!!!!!!I love their food, The rooms but mostrar of all, I love The staff,always happy and friendly!!!!I Was there with my family and each one of uso find it amaizing!!! We are defenitely coming back!!!!!

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank KIKI8989
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management-Palmbeach, Public Relations Manager at Dreams Palm Beach Punta Cana, responded to this reviewResponded 11 July 2014

Dear Guest,

Greetings from sunny Dreams Palm Beach. Your comments are very valuable and very much appreciated. Thank you for making dreams your home away from home. We are glad that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay.

Please know that it was an honor to have had vacationed with you and we look forward to be able to welcome you back home in the near future.

Best regards,

Vangie Severino
Management Assistant
Dreams Palm Beach Punta Cana
Cabeza de Toro, La Altagracia Dominican Republic
Tel:(809)552-6000 Ext. 1719
operaciones.drepb@dreamsresorts.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2014

Just returned , disappointed that there is no AC @ Buffet area making mealtime not enjoyable despite good food due to the heat, even for breakfast
No AC @ lobby, so difficult to enjoy your drinks in the evening w/ constantly sweating and mosquitoes
AC in room not up to par and cannot be changed, making sleep difficult
Weeds @ beach but are cleaned often, there are nicer beaches than here
However the plus: above average food , all restaurants are good except quite slow service @ the Italian restaurant. Tiny Coco cafe is nice addition for snacks
Nice staff
Small size of resort
Resort is a 4* @ best due to AC issue, really annoying ,when you want to have a break from the heat, only place is your room

Room Tip: If you want room w/ decent AC, you need to choose Ground Floor, AC on 3rd floor not adequate
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank maiiaBelmont_ma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management-Palmbeach, Public Relations Manager at Dreams Palm Beach Punta Cana, responded to this reviewResponded 11 July 2014

Dear Guest,

Greetings from Dreams Palm Beach. We are very appreciative of your feedback; candid comments from our guests are very valued by us, as this allows us to work on the areas of opportunity. We would like to express that we regret that your experience at Dreams didn’t
completely meet your expectations.

We hope to have the opportunity to be able to welcome you back home and get the chance to impress you. For further comments or questions, please do not hesitate to email me.

Best regards,

Vangie Severino
Management Assistant
Dreams Palm Beach Punta Cana
Cabeza de Toro, La Altagracia Dominican Republic
Tel:(809)552-6000 Ext. 1719
operaciones.drepb@dreamsresorts.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2014

We stayed from in June 2014 for 2 weeks for our wedding anniversary. We upgraded to the Preferred Club, this saved an enormous amount of time at check in and out and meant we could also use the air conditioned lounge until our taxi arrived. I would recommend booking the private transfer which cost £60 with First Choice. We travel at the same time every year and always make a point of telling the travel agent that we are celebrating an special occasion.This is the first resort that we have ever stayed at that has acknowledged our anniversary. We had a banner on our door and fresh fruit and champagne in our room. As some of the previous reviewers have stated some of the bathrooms have a glass door that has a gap of about 8 inches top and bottom. Did not bother us but if staying with children in the same room bear this in mind. Make sure to bolt the main door to the room if you are in the shower as the maids will get an eyeful if they come into the room if you don't get to the door in time. They have other rooms available with a Jacuzzi bath with shower attachments but if you have mobility issues these can be very difficult to get in and out of. Perhaps someone who is going to the resort soon could post a picture to explain the problem better?

To address the issue of the few people on here that state the staff are miserable, the only time I witnessed this was when guests were being rude to the staff. We saw lots of people asking for things with no please or thank you involved. I can honestly say that the staff here from the guys cleaning the pool through to the manager, if you spoke to them there was always a smile and response.

Everyone in the Preferred Club were really helpful, we had a problem with the safe not working when we first arrived which was fixed quickly. The room was not as cool as we would like but we just put this down perhaps that it had only just been switched on when we arrived. However, next day it was still the same. We asked about this and after a couple of visits by maintenance we were moved to an even more beautiful room. The staff always rang to check that problems had been resolved.

With regards to the restaurants they do not offer a booking service and use a first come basis. We always ate between 6.30 and 7.00 and did not have a problem getting in anywhere. However they offer a pager system which tells you when a table is free which is a brilliant idea. If you have a special occasion do book the romantic meal on the beach, cost $200 dollars but well worth it. A four course meal including lobster and steak all served on the beach in a beautiful bamboo shelter with your own waiter. Quick tip - if you do book this do liase with the staff as to the other events going on at the time. Who wants a romantic meal in the middle of a beach party? A big thank you to Carlos our waiter who took pictures for us and made the evening extra special.

We ate in all the ala carte restaurants and enjoyed all of them. The Japanese make a special effort cooking a dish in front of you and offering you the chance to have small pieces of omelette "thrown" at you to catch in your mouth. Trust me, a lot more fun than it sounds!

The beach certainly does have a lot of seaweed but was not a problem for us, it was a bit grass like not the usual type of seaweed. This resort does not have hotels as such either side of it so if you are wandering along the beach and approached by someone from "Lifestyle Vacations" they are selling timeshare so do not take up their offer of looking at their resort. There is the opportunity of hiring snorkel equipment for free from the diving hut on the beach. If you want to see fish get hold of some bananas and take them out to just beyond the trampolines in the sea, there is a small boat wreck about 8 feet down with some pretty fish including an inquisitive puffer.

The staff are the strength of this hotel and I wish I could remember more names, but Tito and Ceasar from the seaside grill. German and Joel the preferred club pool waiters. Also Carlos as previously mentioned. You guys are amazing!!!!

We stayed in building 4 on the second floor, room 4201.

We will definitely be going back, cant wait.

Room Tip: Preferred club worth it for the pool and the club lounge. Also the seaside grill is private for brea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank BucksOldRebel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management-Palmbeach, Public Relations Manager at Dreams Palm Beach Punta Cana, responded to this reviewResponded 11 July 2014

Dear Guest,

Receive the warmest greetings from Dreams Palm Beach. We feel privilege that you chose us to spend this past vacation and we take the opportunity to thank you for your wonderful comments through this forum, as it helps other reviewers know what to expect when vacationing with us.

On behalf of our Dreams staff we would like to congratulate you one more time on your wedding anniversary, may there be many more to celebrate with us. It’s fantastic that you had a great holiday at our resort and that you enjoyed every aspect of it.

Looking forward to creating memorable moments once more in your future vacation with us.
Hope to see you soon.

Best regards,

Vangie Severino
Management Assistant
Dreams Palm Beach Punta Cana
Cabeza de Toro, La Altagracia Dominican Republic
Tel:(809)552-6000 Ext. 1719
operaciones.drepb@dreamsresorts.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Punta Cana hotels
3.8 mi away
Secrets Royal Beach Punta Cana
17.4 mi away
Dreams Punta Cana Resort & Spa
6.1 mi away
The Reserve at Paradisus Punta Cana
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Now Larimar Punta Cana
3.6 mi away
Paradisus Palma Real Golf & Spa Resort
3.3 mi away
Melia Caribe Tropical
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dreams Palm Beach Punta Cana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dreams Palm Beach Punta Cana

Address: Cabeza de Toro, Punta Cana 23000, Dominican Republic
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > La Altagracia Province > Punta Cana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 Romantic Hotel in Punta Cana
#29 Casino Hotel in Punta Cana
#36 Green Hotel in Punta Cana
#40 Top resorts Hotel in Punta Cana
#41 Spa Hotel in Punta Cana
#42 On the Beach Hotel in Punta Cana
#43 Luxury Hotel in Punta Cana
Price Range: £170 - £333 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Dreams Palm Beach Punta Cana 4*
Number of rooms: 500
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Facing the Caribbean Sea, white sand beach and lush gardens, Dreams Palm Beach Punta Cana boasts 500 spacious rooms and ample suites surrounded by swaying palm trees and views of endless blue waters stretching to the horizon - the perfect setting in paradise. Take advantage of all the unlimited luxury activities Dreams Palm Beach Punta Cana has to offer. Swim, sail, snorkel or windsurf in the turquoise Caribbean, enjoy fine a-la-carte dining, sip favorite cocktails at one of our bars. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LoveHolidays, Holiday Gems, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Dreams Palm Beach Punta Cana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dreams Palm Beach Punta Cana Hotel Punta Cana
Occidental Punta Cana
Occidental Allegro Punta Cana
Punta Cana Occidental
Sunscape Punta Cana
Punta Cana Dreams Palm Beach
Punta Cana Allegro

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing