We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not high class, but good value if you keep track of peso exchange rate”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Natura Park Beach - EcoResort & Spa
Ranked #81 of 114 Hotels in Punta Cana
Reviewed 16 July 2014

Visited in spring 2014.
The common grounds of the resort are in great condition: nice and abound flora (vegetation) with exotic plants; flamingoes, turtles, lizards and other animals are everywhere. The pool set-up is very good: it's big, with the bar and next to the restaurant and beach. There are bigger playgrounds behind the south wing. If your main goal is the beach – it’s not big, but good. The sand feels very pleasant and the ocean view is a typical postcard-type. The big advantage is that as of 2014 the resort is the last in the chain of hotels along the sea shore and there is a beautiful “wild” shore with the jungle to the north from it where you can walk.
The all-you-can-eat buffet is satisfying and diverse, though there was nothing I would call exceptional. The special dinners at the seafood place and the steak-house were better. Same with the free cocktails: they were so-so quality, but extra tips to the bar-man usually fix this problem.
Warning: if you must have a beatiful hotel room in excellent condition, this resort is NOT for you. Our room was less expensive and just so-so. Design is OK, but it feeled and looked old with odd things like the small old-type TV facing same wall as the only sofa. It had a little terrace outside on the ground floor, but there you are exposed to the eyes of strangers. Maybe more expensive rooms are better. By the way, they supply you with drinking water daily and DON'T recommend drink from the faucet.
The other warning: be careful choosing the sight-seeing trips. They try to cheat you with the pesos exchange, extra charges, and full-day trips in a heat could be a strain. We took a buggy tour (half-day) and it was waste of money. Driving buggy is fun but fills your mouth, eyes and ears with dust for the whole week, the "swimming in the cave” is a joke, and they just move the crowd of tourists like milk cows from one point selling you this to the other selling you that, and in the end you realize you did not need to buy it.
The staff was very friendly and made our stay nice, but keep tipping.
Overall, very satisfying for the middle-class overworked Americans. Just keep aware of the peso rate and bring your sun-block (it’s $30 for a small bottle in the store!).

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Vad A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (4,472)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

765 - 771 of 4,472 reviews

Reviewed 14 July 2014

Stayed at Natura Park during second week of Feb. 2014.
The ride from airport was only about 10-15 minutes
The airport itself seems like chaos but you have to be patient especially when leaving , check your time at the gate not the cafeteria as they could be different.
This was the second time we have visited the Dominican Republic for a week in the winter. The weather was about the same both times; Sunny and a high between 80-85 every day with a slight breeze some days and a shower that lasts about 5 minutes
Natura Park appears to be an older resort but in very good condition.Lots of trees and ponds with exotic fish and flamingos, herons and other birds as you walk the grounds. We asked for a room by the beach but got a room near the main buffet which turned out to OK because it was only a five minute walk to the beach and breakfast was easy to get in morning.
This is not a very large resort but about average. You have to make reservations at the concierge desk in the main lobby if you want to eat at night in one of the specialty restaurants which are nothing more than ordering your meal with a nicer setting rather than a buffet but it is nice for the night ,very casual dress.I would make reservations the day you get there as they run out quickly.There was one Seafood , one Streak and one Italian.We skipped the steak but now I would have tried it. The main buffet near the entrance has a large array of foods, but if you go late in the morning you may have to sit way in the back.You can eat there for all three meals. I tipped Tony on the right side as you walk in and he always had a table ready for us but it is not really necessary.
The beach was one of the reasons we go to DR. very nice .Seaweed washes up but the ground crew usually has it cleaned up by mid morning.As with the last resort we stayed ,if you want to claim a grass hut for the day you have to get up at " dawn" and find one you like and put the towels you get from the hotel and maybe a book or some to hold it down on the beach lounge chair and you should be good for the day, Some people leave them all night but you run the risk of losing them at night
To get a towel you trade in a card that you get at check in at a small hut near the pool then you can exchange for a clean one at the end of the day (if available)
The was one main pool with a swim up bar and a larger bar looking down on it also a restaurant right at the pool for lunch which turns into the seafood restaurant at night. There are two small bar huts right on the beach which serve unlimited beer and drinks inclusive -10Am until about 4 or 5 in the afternoon. The beer is el Presidente which is a very light alcohol beer and the drinks are Pina Colada,etc.---they won't know very special drinks
Bring a mug of some kind about 16-20 oz. or larger and they will fill it up with your drink so yo don't have to keep going back for their 12 oz. plastic glass-- a small tip will assure you will not have to wait in line but again it is not necessary. --------Only one restroom on the beach,that I knew of.
The room was ok with a small couch, A lot of wood a small balcony--- tv was only a few local channels in Spanish--refrigerator with beer and pop inclusive unless yo do the wi-fi you will lose track with the outside world which was fine with me.
I would rent the small safe in the room that they offer to put valuables in while at the beach.
No free wi-fi but you can rent wi-fi for your ipod or phone and use a certain amount of hours I think it was about $15-20 for 24 hours which I goofed and thought was 24 consecutive hours, it was really only what you use ,in other words it starts and stops when you do, go around the corner from the gift shop for the wi-fi.The was a small exercise room which was not crowded, and a spa and massage salon.
We were told to be wary of casinos, there could be charge on your credit card that are run up without your knowledge.
There are other excursions offered in the hotel which we did not try which I guess are ok if you stay with the group.
There are shows for kids at night and karaokee,etc ,,
The hotel grounds seem to safe as there are always people walking around until later at night
We did not do any excursions

E-mail me if you have any questions

Tom Mitchell

Room Tip: The rooms closer to the beach are farther from the main buffet
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
6  Thank tommyjoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2014

My husband and I just returned from Natura Park...We have a great stay....The staff are very good....the grounds are beautiful.....the flamingos...peacocks......ducks.....amazing...the tranquility is awesome...this hotel is very quiet...so if you are looking for night life......this hotel is not really what you are looking for.......the beach is incredible..........I don't understand the complaints about seaweed.......there r boys cleaning it up constantly...the food is good no need for complaints......but I will say in previous years the food was better...Last visit to Natura was April 2013........I have been to Natura several times......and I will return again......Cheers to the staff at Natura

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
4  Thank thunder-7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2014

When I saw the price of this trip, I thought it was too good to be true. Well. it looks like I was right.

Overall, I was disappointed with this hotel. The A/C in the room operates at about 70%, the bathroom door was broken, there was no trash can in the room, towels in the bathroom were hit and miss and the bed was awful. I literally woke up in pain from the hard and uncomfortable bed. Also, be aware of the "vendors" that practically attack you as you make your way to your room or buffet dinner.

Having said all this, the pool was great and the beach is amazing!! If you are looking for a place to enjoy a pool and beach, you have found the right place. If you value comfort in a hotel, this is NOT the place for you.

Please note that in conversations had with other travelers in the airport, our stay was better than most that came via groupon, living social, etc.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
4  Thank Steph B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2014

This is our third vacation at Natura Park in two years and can say that it offered excellent value for the amount we paid. Ignore the negative reviews as they are nit picking. I won't go into the ageing rooms and the seagrass on the beach that seem to put off some people. I find that to be a small price to pay to be in a very lush and fully landscapes surrounding. I got a chance to fly over the newer adjacent Dreams hotel(we parasailed over it) and it looked bare in comparison. And guess what you are going to see more of the landscaping during the day than the pretty walls of your room while you are sleeping. Get a third floor rooms with vaulted ceilings nearer the beach as the nightly shows by the lobby stage can be noisy.
As I said before stick to the buffets , don't bother with the a la carte the food is not much better, but you do get a quieter atmosphere. Now the food, it is perfectly acceptable as is the wine which they serve. The managers still keep the wait staff on their toes and you get prompt attention. Most don't need it as they have great personalities and I had quite a few laughs with them at lunch and dinner. Reuben is a great guy and kept the wine flowing. Jorge at the beach bar is a great gentleman to deal with and provides a great service. The main lobby bar also has great bartenders. The beach volleyball games were great and the organizer did a top notch job of getting everyone involved. Russian guys were fun to play with.
They do let locals in on weekends to fill up the place, but they all keep to the pool, being at the beach we never were inconvenienced. One night Saturday they have an outdoor disco by the pool and it was great.
There are a lot of kids even toddlers but they have their own section of the beach and as they have a very wide beach they were not a bother. BTW there are no rocks in the water , I never wore water shoes , did not even pack them. It's sand and floating seagrass, no big deal. Used one of their two catamarans daily. Pay the weekly insurance of 22.00 instead of the 6.00 daily.
Maid service was good and you get two 1.5 l water bottles daily. Had no stomach issues all week.
I think that is a first.
Yes take the giant mugs to reduce trips to the bar.
As you can guess we would go back. Love it when I can have two beach chairs without reserving them each morning.

Room Tip: Further away from lobby towards the beach are quiet at night. Third floor have vaulted ceilings
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
6  Thank wyseeit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2014

I can't remember if this hotel was rated 4, 4+ or 5 but I stayed here three times in my visits to the DR. I enjoyed this hotel, the facilities and its beach. People the next hotels over would come to this beach because it was better for tanning. I liked the simplicity of the resort and its efforts to blend in rather that stand out like a sore thumb (Riu etc..). More European clientèle than North American.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank Jacques T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2014 via mobile

All of the negative things you've read are things you will likely experience yourself or observe of others. If you have a little more money, spend it elsewhere to have a more enjoyable stay. That being said, it could have been much worse as the Dominican is a developing nation. Here are a few helpful tips if you are traveling there.

1. Bring a larger insulated mug so you don't have to use all of the tiny plastic cups (most of which end up on the beach, uncleaned).
2. Be patient upon check in. Hopefully you will get a room with a king sized bed and working AC. If not, prepare to wait for a room and check in often with the front desk to see if you are actually on the official switch list.
3. Don't expect an "eco" experience. Nothing about this resorts practices are eco friendly. They have a million wait staff but none on the beach helping to pick up litter. The grounds are well kept but the birds are injured and are fed by tourists, a practice not good for their health.
4. Don't lose your towel card key. They will try and charge you $20 a card upon check out if you don't keep track of it.
5. Bring lots of sunscreen- it's worth the checked baggage fees. The resort and surrounding market rip off tourists charging up to $30 a bottle!!!!
6. Bring a first aid kit stocked with over the counters. If you have a sensitive stomach like my partner and I you'll need lots of tums, gas x, etc to get through the buffet line.
7. The weekends are a zoo! Literally bus loads of families roll in to spend the day at the resort. Book your overpriced excursions(be prepared to bargain) for the weekends to avoid the craziness.
8. Swim during the day...they close the beautiful pool at 7 pm each day. Not sure why...
9. See the Michael Jackson show. It's worth it.

Well, that's my review!

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Mary N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Punta Cana hotels
8.8 mi away
Occidental Caribe
Occidental Caribe
#62 of 114 in Punta Cana
9,714 reviews
0.4 mi away
Be Live Collection Punta Cana
5.9 mi away
Tropical Princess Beach Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
whala!bavaro
whala!bavaro
#85 of 114 in Punta Cana
1,066 reviews
7.3 mi away
Hotel Riu Naiboa
Hotel Riu Naiboa
#80 of 114 in Punta Cana
3,318 reviews
6.3 mi away
VIK Hotel Arena Blanca
VIK Hotel Arena Blanca
#78 of 114 in Punta Cana
3,484 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Natura Park Beach - EcoResort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Natura Park Beach - EcoResort & Spa

Address: Cabeza de Toro | Laguna Bavaro, Punta Cana, Dominican Republic
Region: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > La Altagracia Province > Punta Cana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Best Value Hotel in Punta Cana
#70 Top resorts Hotel in Punta Cana
#73 Spa Hotel in Punta Cana
#73 On the Beach Hotel in Punta Cana
Price Range: £86 - £197 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Natura Park Beach - EcoResort & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 510
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Natura Park Beach Eco Resort & SpaExperience a holiday in complete harmony with nature at our luxury Punta Cana resort, Blau Natura Park. Lush tropical gardens teeming with exotic bird life are interspersed with lagoons and bridges along winding paths which lead to the beach. Our Punta Cana luxury hotel is located on the marvelous Playa Bavaro beach, one of the best in the Caribbean. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Natura Park Beach - EcoResort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Natura Park Punta Cana
Natura Park Beach Eco Resort & Spa
Natura Park Beach Ecoresort Hotel
Blau Natura Park Punta Cana
Punta Cana Natura Park Resort
Natura Park Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing