We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice guesthouse, clean rooms and friendly family!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Guesthouse Las Piedras
Ranked #4 of 35 Punta Cana B&B and Inns
Reviewed 21 March 2011

Las Piedras is a nice guesthouse near Bavaro beach. Ask a motoconcho to bring you to playa El Cortecito if you are in for sunbathing. Don't be disappointed about the fact that lots of All Inclusive guests will fill up the beach area as there are many, many hotels. It's nice to come back to this quiet guesthouse, to take a shower and relax at your own balcony. There's a fridge in the room, and the bathroom is simple but clean!! Breakfast needs a bit of variety, missed the fresh juices and some fruit. I also missed some personal attention and had the feeling that the family was too busy for a small talk. Nevertheless, I enjoyed the area and the rates are ok comparing to the rates of other accommodations in Bavaro/Punta Cana. If you just would like to spend a few days in Bavaro, and you don't mind taking a motoconcho to get to the beach, for sure you will feel comfortable in Las Piedras. If you like Dominican music and the famous Presidente (beer) I can suggest you to go to the "car wash" for the ambiance and reasonable priced drinks!!

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Urs40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (125)
There are newer reviews for Guesthouse Las Piedras
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

48 - 54 of 125 reviews

Reviewed 7 March 2011

Dalila and Florian are absolutely gracious hosts. I was so glad I experienced a piece of Punta Cana outside of the resort scene. I was forced to stay at a resort to attend my friend's wedding but really wished I had spent more days at Las Piedras. The room was great and had lots of cozy warmth. The dinner I had at Las Peidras was 10 times better than the bland watered down food at the resort. If I ever go back to Punta Cana, I would definitely stay here.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank travel_sustainably
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2011

Gracious hostess and host, this inexpensive guest house right in the centre of the Punta Cana town area provides a cheap nightly rate with proximity to the beach.

Las Piedras is walking distance to shopping malls, ATMs, bars and restaurants, plus there is a ‘moto concho’ to take you wherever else you may wish to go. It provided me a place to relax for one week and I am sure to return to this guest house if ever I am in Punta Cana again. I definitely recommend it for if you.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ajepola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2011

this is a wonderful B&B run by the nicest family who make you very welcome in their beautiful home. it wasn't quite where we'd expected it to be - my fault entirely - but once we accepted that most people survived the 10 minute motorbike taxi journeys to the beach we realised the location in Bavaro came with some advantages - very close to the bus station for Santo Domingo, great car wash to join the local people for very cheap beer and good music and excellent local food that you don't find in the resorts, yet close enough to spend days on the most fabulous beach. the house is completely secure in a shady garden that feels quite magical and the fans in the room kept it at a nice temperature. good breakfast as and when you want it, with excellent dominican coffee - the only slight downside was no warm water in the showers but absolutely certain that if we go back to DR we'll be back to see Lila and Florian and the children and whichever other family is there with them

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank helen_s51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2010

The Guesthouse is an impressive building designed by the owner. Upon entering, I felt as though I was in a castle. The rooms were super cozy, bathrooms unique, and all were equipped with "Dominican AC". The hosts, husband and wife, were amazing! We had long conversations, and they informed us about the Dominican life - things we never would have known if we were holed up in an all-inclusive resort. They were integral in giving us advice on where to go, all of which was good and accurate. Their children are absolutely adorable. The daughter gave me a Spanish lesson, and the son caught geckos with me. You'll never find any family more hospitable and fun to be with. The house itself is not on a beach, but it is only a short distance from a beautiful beach, restaurants, shopping and nightlife. The hosts are more than willing to help arrange transportation for you on a motoconcho (motorbike taxi) and to help arrange or ask around about excursion tours. I definitely recommend a stay at the Guesthouse.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HoppinNSkippin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2010

We arrived and we recived a fantastic welcome of Lila and their beautiful children.
Room very nice and clean with a vane ceiling that allow to sleep very well.
Exclusive little problem is distance to the sea, fortunally in Bavaro there is a good and not much expensive service of motoconcho that in 5-10 min we take to the sea.
We advise this guest house because is a beautiful place and Lila and Florian are fantastic people always ready to give very good advice.
Daniele and Federica
.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Daniele18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2010

This was a finding in the expensive Punta Cana. Among the expensive all-inlcusive resorts, we found this cozy, nice place to stay.
We spent one night there, March 14th to 15th, 2010, at the beginning of our 10-day trip to the Dominican Republic.
Lila and Florian picked us up at the airport upon our arrival. Both were very very sympathetic and nice with us. It´s heartwarming being received with a beautiful smile after a 14-hour flight.

LOCATION
The Guesthouse is located in Bávaro and is very close to the bus staion (max. 10-minute walk) and central commercial/shopping area. I cannot say how far it is from the beach, because we left the next morning towards Santo Domingo and didn´t go to the beach. The street is very calm and seemed safe.

ROOM
Our room was nice and well decorated, with ceiling fan (no AC) and a small table with chairs. In the next morning, Lila told us that everything was planned and built by Florian (including the bed, which was very comfortable). The bathroom was good, with towels and soap.
Everything was very clean. The only problem was that there´s no hot water in the bathroom, and we prefer to have shower with warm water, even if the weather is hot... But this may not be a problem to everyone.
The room was a bit dark also. Firstly this makes the ambient very cozy, but when you have to find something inside your suitcase, it may be a problem.

SERVICE
Everything concerning the service was perfect. Lila and Florian made us feel like being at home. Breakfast was included in the fee and was very good. Lila prepares very nice "morning eggs"! We had milk, coffee, fresh bread, ham, cheese, juice... The kitchen is beautiful and the terrace where breakfast is served is very agreeable.
Florian has been a travel guide for years and he gave us some tips. He is very kind and didn´t seem bored to answer our questions.
I can´t say anything about internet, ´cause we didn´t need to use and didn´t ask about it.

FINAL CONSIDERATIONS
This is a very nice guesthouse in the expensive Punta Cana. At the end of our trip to the Dominican Republic, we stayed at a resort, because we wanted to relax for a while. But definitely it would have been better to stay with Lila and Florian.
Their place is comfortable and cozy. You may want more comfort and space, but it´s worth spending at least two nights with them. At guesthouse Las Piedras you´ll also be able to see how the Dominicans live, and I think this is an important thing in a trip. Nice to your pocket, nice to your mind.
Thank you, Lila and Florian!

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Viking_Janaluna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Punta Cana hotels
0.7 mi away
The MT Hotel
The MT Hotel
#83 of 112 in Punta Cana
139 reviews
2.2 mi away
Capri Beach House Hotel & Restaurant
1.8 mi away
Iberostar Grand Hotel Bavaro
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Occidental Caribe
Occidental Caribe
#60 of 112 in Punta Cana
9,284 reviews
1.4 mi away
The Reserve at Paradisus Punta Cana
2.5 mi away
Chateau Del Mar Ocean Villa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Guesthouse Las Piedras? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Guesthouse Las Piedras

Address: Avenida Estados Unidos Calle Guarionex 3, Punta Cana 0207, Dominican Republic
Region: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > La Altagracia Province > Punta Cana
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 35 B&Bs / Inns in Punta Cana
Price Range: £33 - £51 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beach access in Bavaro is limited by the Resorts, the 2 public entrances are Cortecito and Los Corales to 10 mins distance from Guesthouse Las Piedras, depending transportation:Public Bus 1 US$, Motoconcho (public Motorbike Taxis) 2 US$ per person and Taxi 10 US$.The further Beach areas are:Cabeza de Toro (20 mins.)Macao Beach (Wave Surfer facilities, renting and school) and Locals selling fried fish (15 mins.)Uvero Alto (20mins.)Punta Cana, Beach Club Playa Blanca (40 mins.) with Car or Taxi and ID accessingCap Cana, Beach Club Juanillo (50 mins.) Car or Taxi and ID accessing Guesthouse Las Piedras is a private home, built in natural sense with using of stones, coral and Terrakotta reproducing natural ambience and living closely with nature.All 4 rooms equipped with Beds 75 x 55 inch (190 x 140 cm.) for 2 persons and own Bathroom with sink, toilet and shower and small fridge and fan. No Pets allowed!We have Breakfast and possibility for Lunch and Dinner (Reservation for Romantic Dinner), Drinks, Shakes, Coffee.The owners living in the same place and you sharing with family life. The staff is limited by one family member, taking care about guests needs and for that reason, check in is by appointment. The location of Guesthouse Las Piedras is in 3 mins. walk from Center of Bavaro, Friusa (Av. Espana with Av. Estados Unidos).We have all public facilities on walking distance within 5 mins.:Bank, Taxi, Supermarkets, Drugstore, Souvenirs, Disco, Restaurants, Bars, Cafeterias...Bavaro is an unique place in Dominican Republic, on one side the huge Resorts with over 35.000 accomodations, then the best Beaches and a varity of local Nightlife, 24/7/365, all days, all nights. Make your vacation experience special. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Guesthouse Las Piedras reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Guesthouse Las Piedras Hotel Punta Cana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing