We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent Vacation!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Luxury Bahia Principe Esmeralda Don Pablo Collection
Ranked #29 of 110 Hotels in Punta Cana
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Excellent Vacation!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2012

We stayed at the Gran Bahia Principe Esmeralda for a week in July. This resort was excellent.

I will break up my review by section.

The hotel/rooms:

Exceptionally clean, the staff and constantly cleaning the floors, washing the liens and keep the place sparkling. Our room was cleaned twice a day and was very comfortable. We had a room in building 92, which was good, but the rooms with the best view are in buildings 90 and 91. The bed was very comfortable, I was also impressed with the number of TV channels, nice at night when you want to relax after a long day at the beach.

The pool:

The pool was excellent. It was very large with lots of room to swim around. The swim up bar was also great. The only thing I noticed was the pool was very warm. It is nice when you jump in because it is comfortable, but sometimes you want to cool off, but the water was too warm.

The beach:

The beach in front of the hotel was great. The water was warm and relatively calm. The water was also very clear. There are so many things to do at the beach. Kayaks, parasailing and banana boat ride(costs extra) and beach volleyball.

The food/service:

The food at the resort was great. The buffet was very good with lots of selection. The resort also has 8 different restaurants. We tired 5 of them, and they were all very good. The restaurants require reservations, so make sure to make them on your first day. You can make all your reservations at one time for your entire stay. Some restaurants require men to wear pants, FYI. All the staff was very friendly and helpful.

Excursions:

We did three trips outside of the resort. We did the “James Bond” tour, we get to drive your own speed boat, snorkel and snuba (like scuba but the air tank stays on a raft on the surface). We also did the ATV tour, lot of fun and good value because we get to make interesting stops along the way at a cave, secluded beach and a local home where they hand make cigars. Finally we went zip lining. It was a lot of fun and really safe.

I would definitely recommend this resort. I will be returning to the hotel.

Room Tip: Building 90 and 91 are the best and closest to the beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Explorer2007Toronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Customer Servic... B, Customer Service Manager at Luxury Bahia Principe Esmeralda Don Pablo Collection, responded to this review, 8 August 2012
Dear client,

Receive cordial greetings from all the team working at Gran Bahia Principe Bavaro Resort, especially from our Quality & Customer Service Department.

We would like to thank you for bringing to our attention the comments about your stay in our Esmeralda Hotel.

It is a pleasure for all of us to hear that we could fulfill your expectations during your stay with us and be assured that it is wonderful to know that you and your partner will probably be coming back.

Looking forward to seeing you soon

Regards from Bavaro!!

María Maciá Bas
Customer Service Manager
Bahía Príncipe Bávaro Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

6,530 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    4,306
    1,385
    542
    171
    126
See reviews for
2,534
2,695
73
28
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,504)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Howell, New Jersey
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2012

I enjoyed my stay at this hotel. The property is gorgeous and the hotel staff is very friendly. The Esmerelda is a small part of the very large gran Bahia Resort and seemed to be an upgraded private section. The shows were entertaining and the spa is very relaxing. I was not a fan of a lot of the food and found it to be pretty bland so I stuck to the buffets on the property for more options. Also if you book through a 3rd party, make sure you book your activities ahead of time.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bola2084
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Customer Servic... B, Customer Service Manager at Luxury Bahia Principe Esmeralda Don Pablo Collection, responded to this review, 6 August 2012
Dear Client,

Receive cordial greetings from all the team working at Gran Bahia Principe Bavaro Resort, especially from our Quality & Customer Service Department.

We would like to thank you for bringing to our attention the comments about your stay in our Esmeralda Hotel.

It is a pleasure for all of us to hear that we could fulfill your expectations during your vacation with us.

We regret to hear that your perception about our food was not positive, however be assured that your comments have been already brought to the General Manager attention.

We thank you for taking the time of sharing your opinion with us which we will take in the highest consideration.

Looking forward to seeing you soon

Regards from Bavaro!!

María Maciá Bas
Customer Service Manager
Bahía Príncipe Bávaro Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waterdown, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2012

My review is a little late but better late than never.....

My husband and I were married on the resort and we stayed at the Esmeralda section April 21 to 28th There were us with our 2 kids, and 11 guests which travelled with us for the wedding. AMAZING service! Room was gorgeous, housekeeping was very thorough and food was excellent. Esmeralda is definately worth the upgrade. It's on the end of the very large Gran Bahia resort. Small and quiet with the freedom to use the other sections of the Gran Bahia if you're in the mood for more of a party. BUT the party can't come over to you at the Esmeralda! Pillow menu and room service was an excellent upgrade included. Customer service was excellent. All the staff seem to truly love kids which of course helps the kids to enjoy the trip as well.

If you're thinking of destination wedding....THIS IS THE PLACE! The additional cost for the wedding package is peanuts compared to what you'll pay for a wedding at home. The cost comes with a wonderful wedding coordinator who looks after all the fine details, flowers, wedding cake, ceremony, photographer, dinner reception etc....As the bride and groom we received a room "upgrade" which means we were in the building closest to the ocean (#90) and our room faced the pool. (on the pool deck is free wireless so we were able to access internet from our balcony and the sofa in our room!). Our guests were all located in Building 93 together on the same floor.

The manager Ramone was excellent and ensured that we received first class service and left completely happy.

In regards to lowering the rating on the hotel due to the guests reserving the chairs to early...how is this the resort's fault? This is what people do...no matter where you go. We watched a couple go out every morning at 5am and sleep on the lounge chairs in order to save their spot for the day. It's not that important to me as we always managed to get a spot at the pool, but if getting a ""certain" spot with shade or whatever is important to you, be prepared to get up early and go out there.

I recommend this resort to anyone looking for an affordable first class vacation.

Room Tip: Pool view rooms in Building 90 have wireless access on your balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank CelinaCW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Customer Servic... B, Customer Service Manager at Luxury Bahia Principe Esmeralda Don Pablo Collection, responded to this review, 3 August 2012
Dear Celina,

Receive cordial greetings from all the team working at Gran Bahia Principe Bavaro Resort, especially from our Quality & Customer Service Department.

We would like to thank you for bringing to our attention the comments about your stay in our Esmeralda Hotel.

It is a pleasure for all of us to hear that we could fulfill your expectations during your wedding and be assured that it is wonderful to know that you and your husband had a great stay at our Resort. We are delighted to learn that you recommend us.

Looking forward to seeing you soon and congratulations on your wedding!

Regards from Bavaro!!

María Maciá Bas
Customer Service Manager
Bahía Príncipe Bávaro Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
manchester
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2012

we stayed with 2 friends in august 2011 and just missed hurricane irene!! but the weather was fantastic.. little rain here and there, but we all need refreshing everynow and then.

We have stayed at the gran bahia in mexico, and was amazing.. have to say i do prefer mexico but the esmerelda was something different, it is a completely private area to the rest of the resort, seperate reception area, buffet restaurant and pool area.

Rooms are lovely and spacious.
Pool was lovely with upgraded sunloungers, pool was always warm thanks to the carribbean sunshine!!
the beach was lovely, but the sea is very rough due to it being on the atlantic side of the island, this is something we did not get in mexico, but was nice to cool down in non the less. be great for kids.

we sampled 8 of the a la carte restaurants whilst we were there... all fantastic. and even went the to japanese restaurant twice, once to celebrate my partners birthday , they brought him out a cake and made a fuss, our reception staff also decorated the bedroom for him as well. :) which was great!!

we did the catamaran boat trip with thomas cook!! was amazing best way to get a tan definately.!!


any thing else dont hesitate to ask me questions!!

but overall a fantastic holiday!! definately go to a gran bahia over any other hotel!!1

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank charlotte_fairlie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Customer Servic... B, Customer Service Manager at Luxury Bahia Principe Esmeralda Don Pablo Collection, responded to this review, 3 August 2012
Dear Charlotte,

Receive cordial greetings from all the team working at Gran Bahia Principe Bavaro Resort, especially from our Quality & Customer Service Department.

We greatly appreciate that you have chosen once again one of our Resorts as your holiday destination. It is a real pleasure to learn that you could enjoy a nice time together during your last stay with us.

As a repeater client your opinion is very important to us. It is thanks to guests like you, that our Company has reached the success and gained prestige through the last years.

Please be assured that it is an honour and a great compliment for us to forward, such wonderful comments, to all our Esmeralda staff.

We are delighted to hear that you recommend us and we hope we have the chance to have you again at our premises.

Looking forward to seeing you soon

Regards from Bavaro!!

María Maciá Bas
Customer Service Manager
Bahía Príncipe Bávaro Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mississauga, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2012

Stayed at the GBP Esmerald from July 8 to July 15, 2012. We found the staff to be very friendly and helpful at all times. The grounds were very clean and well tended to with many beautiful flowers.
Our room was magnificent very clean smelled fresh with fresh towels twice a day. At first we were a little disappointed that we didn't get in the requested building 90, but building 92 was great and we were happy.
The whole GRP is very large; we really liked the size of Esmeralda everything is close at hand.
The pool was great, there is a shallow and walk in area for little ones, the swim up bay was very accomadating. The pool is a good size, never seemed crowded even though the resort was full. Maybe the water could be a shade cooler. We tried the main pool at PC, one day for a very short time but found it to be too big, too busy and too loud.
You had to get up very early to get a shady spot at the pool, we never went to that trouble, we were always able to get a shady spot at the Esmeralda beach area. The beach had very little seaweed, however you must remember it is the ocean there is bound to be some seeweed. The beach area was also very clean and the waves not too high.
The food was terrific....the Jazmin buffet always had excellent fresh choices, the desserts were very enjoyable. The al la cartes that we tried were all excellent...Japanese Maika was one of the best dinners I have ever had...mouth watering steak at the Garden Grill, great meals also at Il capriccio adn Bella Italia. We did like the Arrecife snack bar, however we only ate lunch there once, it is open air and we found it too hot.
We attended some of the evening shows, they were not the greatest, but they were entertaining. I feel they could do the earlier show more for children since there were so many children in the audience. I did read since we returned that they is a children's show at 6:30, I think that is a little too early.
Using the trolleys to get around was great and a couple of times they took us directly to the restaurant.
Fortunately for us in building 92 we were not bothered by the construction noise.
We told the sales people (for something similar to timeshare), that we were not interested, they never bothered us again.
We enjoyed our stay at Esmeralda very much and we hope with the new construcion it does not change much...the size it is now is great.

Room Tip: Building 92, third floor worked for us.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Packerone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Customer Servic... B, Customer Service Manager at Luxury Bahia Principe Esmeralda Don Pablo Collection, responded to this review, 3 August 2012
Dear Client,

Receive cordial greetings from all the team working at Gran Bahia Principe Bavaro Resort, especially from our Quality & Customer Service Department.

We would like to thank you for bringing to our attention the comments about your stay in our Esmeralda Hotel.

It is a pleasure for all of us to hear that we could fulfill your expectations and we hope that you will come back to our premises

Looking forward to seeing you soon

Regards from Bavaro!!

María Maciá Bas
Customer Service Manager
Bahía Príncipe Bávaro Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2012

my wife and i stayed at the esmeralda from the 4th to the 19th july 2012 and it was one of the best holidays we have ever been on.the rooms are very good,maid service was excellent and all of the staff were courteous and helpful.we are not spanish speakers but it did not matter as everyone did their best to make to make us very welcome.the buffet restaurant was excellent and our compliments to chef Emile and all his staff who were excellent.all the dishes were beautifully presented and really top quality. The lobby bar staff were first class and the irish coffee was outstanding.i would recommend this hotel to anyone. the only negative comment ihave is about the hard sell from the privilege club sharks.i dont think they should be allowed in the hotel.but,aside from that it was a superb holiday and a top hotel.

Room Tip: higher rooms have abetter breeze on the balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank mickey s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Customer Servic... B, Customr Servie Manager at Luxury Bahia Principe Esmeralda Don Pablo Collection, responded to this review, 31 July 2012
Dear Mickey,

Receive cordial greetings from all the team working at Gran Bahia Principe Bavaro Resort, especially from our Quality & Customer Service Department.

We would like to thank you for bringing to our attention the comments about your stay in our Esmeralda Hotel.

It is a pleasure for all of us to hear that we could fulfill your expectations during your vacations.
We regret to hear that your perception about the Privilege Club staff was not positive, however be assured that your comments have been already brought to the General Manager attention.

We thank you for taking the time of sharing your opinion with us which we will take in the highest consideration.

Looking forward to seeing you soon

Regards from Bavaro!!

María Maciá Bas
Customer Service Manager
Bahía Príncipe Bávaro Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2012

Our stay at Gran Bahia Principe Esmeralda was amazing! There were 7 of us in our family and we had such a blast! The service and staff there are so friendly and willing to help with everything. We booked many excursions via Domingo at the Activity Center and he was very helpful. The best bartender was Maximo in the Esmeralda lobby, always fun to hang around. Hotel grounds and the rooms were beautiful. The only down side was the food...the food was OK...it wasn't amazing but you would always manage to find something that was good enough to eat for each meal. The restaurants were OK as well...I found the restaurant that we enjoyed the most was either the Bella Italia or the BBQ restaurant which was amazing! The beach was beautiful but very crowded. Over all it was an amazing trip and I would definitely be back at this resort again!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ashley C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Customer Servic... B, Customer Service Manager at Luxury Bahia Principe Esmeralda Don Pablo Collection, responded to this review, 3 August 2012
Dear Ashley,

Receive cordial greetings from all the team working at Gran Bahia Principe Bavaro Resort, especially from our Quality & Customer Service Department.

We would like to thank you for bringing to our attention the comments about your stay in our Esmeralda Hotel.

Regarding your comments about the food in our resort ,we must say that the level of satisfaction obtained concerning the quality and variety of breakfast, lunch and dinner services has always been very elevated according to the opinions reflected in our quality questionnaires.
We regret to hear that your perception in this matter was not positive but be assured that your comments has been already brought to the General Manager of our Resort.

It is a pleasure for all of us to hear that we could fulfill your expectations during your family vacations and be assured that it is wonderful to know that you and your family will probably be coming back.

Looking forward to seeing you soon

Regards from Bavaro!!
María Maciá Bas
Customer Service Manager
Bahía Príncipe Bávaro Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Punta Cana hotels
16.2 mi away
AlSol Tiara Cap Cana
AlSol Tiara Cap Cana
#23 of 110 in Punta Cana
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,679 reviews
18.4 mi away
Alsol Del Mar
Alsol Del Mar
#47 of 110 in Punta Cana
4.5 of 5 bubbles 925 reviews
0.3 mi away
Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Green Don Pablo Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Blue Don Pablo Collection
0.2 mi away
Luxury Bahia Principe Fantasia Don Pablo Collection
3.1 mi away
Grand Palladium Palace Resort Spa & Casino
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Luxury Bahia Principe Esmeralda Don Pablo Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Luxury Bahia Principe Esmeralda Don Pablo Collection

Property: Luxury Bahia Principe Esmeralda Don Pablo Collection
Address: Crta. Arena Gorda - Macao, Punta Cana, Dominican Republic
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > La Altagracia Province > Punta Cana
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Punta Cana
#7 Family Hotel in Punta Cana
#25 Top resorts Hotel in Punta Cana
#26 Spa Hotel in Punta Cana
#28 Luxury Hotel in Punta Cana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Luxury Bahia Principe Esmeralda Don Pablo Collection 4*
Number of rooms: 570
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Facilities and services 2 Pools Sun terrace 4 Jacuzzis Sun umbrellas and loungers Beach and pool towel service BAHIA SPA (additional charge) Sports facilities: gym, 3 tennis courts, 1 padel tennis court (additional charge), multi-sports court Water activity centre Motorised water sports (additional charge) WiFi access in the lobby (free) and in rooms (additional charge) Entertainment amphitheatre 2 buffet restaurants 3 speciality restaurants 3 Bars 1 Snack- bar Wedding gazebo Punta Blanca Golf Club: 18 hole Punta Blanca Golf Club, designed by Nick Price (additional charge) Pueblo Principe: Shopping and Leisure Mall with local craft stores, live music, shows, stores, bars, karaoke, disco and casino. Rooms, 570 Deluxe Junior Suite Room facilities: King size bed or two full size beds Air conditioning Ceiling fan Sitting area with sofa Terrace Fully-equipped bathroom with hydromassage bath tub and separate shower, hair dryer and magnifying mirror Bathrobe and slippers VIP amenities Radio-alarm clock Flat screen satellite TV Coffee-making facilities Ironing set Pillow menu Umbrella 24 hour room service Minibar WiFi Other services Medical service (additional charge) Pharmacy (additional charge) Specialised service for organising weddings, incentive trips, events and anniversaries Personalised menus (for celiacs, diabetics, etc.) Available on request ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelbag, Odigeo, Ebookers, TravelUp, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Luxury Bahia Principe Esmeralda Don Pablo Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gran Bahia Principe Esmeralda Hotel Punta Cana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing