We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best holiday ever.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Luxury Bahia Principe Esmeralda Don Pablo Collection
Ranked #34 of 112 Hotels in Punta Cana
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 August 2012

My fiance and I, we spent 2 lovely weeks in GBP Esmeralda in May 2012 (I know I am putting my review late, but...better late than never).
It was our first time in Carribean and - from first to last minute - it was great time.
All the resort GBP is big, our section Esmeralda is small, friendly and luxury place for people like us, who wants to spend their time in a relaxing, amazing environment.
We had a room in building 90, closest to the beach. Before we came, I e-mailed to the GBP Esmeralda and asked for building 90, pool view etc...The people did everything we asked for...
All the staff in GBP Esmeralda is very, very friendly, always with smile, always helpful, always with heart on the hand. Thay are treating you like part of the family.
The beach, pool - amazing, clean, big. We never had a problem with towels, place etc, never had to wake up early to catch a free space on the beach or pool.
Amazing food, big choice for everyone, number of outstanding restaurants.
We left GBP Esmeralda with tears in our eyes, but we believe it's not our last time there.
Thank you all!

Barbara and Maciej.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Barbara W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Customer Servic... B, Customer Service Manager at Luxury Bahia Principe Esmeralda Don Pablo Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2012

Dear Barbara and Maciej,

Receive cordial greetings from all the team working at Gran Bahia Principe Bavaro Resort, especially from our Quality & Customer Service Department.

We would like to thank you for bringing to our attention the comments about your stay in our Esmeralda Hotel.

It is a pleasure for all of us to hear that we could fulfill your expectations and be assured that it is wonderful to know that you and your fiance are considering coming back to our premises

Looking forward to seeing you soon

Regards from Bavaro!!

María Maciá Bas
Customer Service Manager
Bahía Príncipe Bávaro Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (7,099)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,695 - 3,701 of 7,099 reviews

Reviewed 6 August 2012

Currently staying at the hotel in building 90 top floor with sea view, it is fantastic. We have been here 1 week and been to 3 a la carte all very nice, there is nothing bad to say, the best hotel by far, and this is my 4th trip to Caribbean resorts.

Room Tip: 90211 is the best room in the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Peter P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Customer Servic... B, Customer Service Manager at Luxury Bahia Principe Esmeralda Don Pablo Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2012

Dear Peter,

Receive cordial greetings from all the team working at Gran Bahia Principe Bavaro Resort, especially from our Quality & Customer Service Department.

We would like to thank you for bringing to our attention the comments about your stay in our Esmeralda Hotel.

It is a pleasure for all of us to hear that we are fulfilling your expectations during your stay with us and be assured that it is wonderful and an honour to know that you consider us the best hotel.

Regards

María Maciá Bas
Customer Service Manager
Bahía Príncipe Bávaro Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2012

I love this hotel, I have been there about 5 times and im going back in September and then again in November for a wedding!
What a great place...
Nicanor was so helpful in anything we needed....amazing service!
I love the beach, the pool and the rooms!

Room Tip: all rooms in the esmeralda are good
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank gigi2566
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Customer Servic... B, Customer Service Manager at Luxury Bahia Principe Esmeralda Don Pablo Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2012

Dear client,

Receive cordial greetings from all the team working at Gran Bahia Principe Bavaro Resort, especially from our Quality & Customer Service Department.

We greatly appreciate that you have chosen once again one of our Resorts as your holiday destination. It is a real pleasure to learn that you could enjoy a nice time together during your last stay with us.

As a repeater client your opinion is very important to us. It is thanks to guests like you, that our Company has reached the success and gained prestige through the last years.

Please be so kind as to contact us directly before your arrival in order to prepare all the details for your next stay.

Looking forward to seeing you soon

Regards from Bavaro!!

María Maciá Bas
Customer Service Manager
Bahía Príncipe Bávaro Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2012

My husband and I got engaged at Bahia Principe 4 years ago. We loved every minute of that vacation and the food.

Things took a turn when we decided to try out Esmerelda for the week of July 27th - Aug. 3.

The resort itself is stunning and the beach is amazing.

The service was amazing in some area and lacking in others.

What really concerned me is that on multiple occasions we were served raw food. At both A la carts and buffets. ANd I don't mean slightly undercooked but completely raw in the middle. I'm pregnant and became very ill the day after I bit in to a raw piece of chicken from the buffet. My other family members were served raw fish on several occasions as well. I felt sorry for the gentleman at cooking at the Esmerelda buffet. He's cooking chicken, cooking fish, cutting the roasts, and cooking the pasta all at the same time. This may be why food quality was overlooked. Having 2 people at this station might be better.

On the day of our return to Canada....my daughter was in hospital with fever of 104 and my husband was in emerge with hives all over his body....and I was in emerge checking on the baby after 2 days of being sick.

If you do go to this resort please watch what you are eating.

I was really disappointed as this was our 2nd time to this resort and my parents 3rd time to the resort my expectations were a lot higher!

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Serin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Customer Servic... B, Customer Service Manager at Luxury Bahia Principe Esmeralda Don Pablo Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2012

Dear Serin,

Receive cordial greetings from all the team working at Gran Bahia Principe Bavaro Resort, especially from our Quality & Customer Service Department.

We would like to thank you for bringing to our attention the comments about your stay in our Esmeralda Hotel.

We regret to hear that your perception about our food was not entirely positive, however be assured that your comments have been already brought to the General Manager attention, however we must say that the level of satisfaction obtained concerning the quality and variety of breakfast, lunch and dinner services has always been very elevated according to the opinions reflected in our quality questionnaires

We would like to state that our hotel is a safe and disease free complex; since we follow a very strict hygiene program and constant monitoring of all standards of quality in our Hotel.
We should take in consideration that certain risks are involved when traveling to the tropics; there are various factors that may contribute to illness, such as climate, temperature variation, combination of food and beverages, excessive sun exposure, personal reactions, among others.

We thank you for taking the time of sharing your opinion with us which we will take in the highest consideration.

Looking forward to seeing you soon

Regards from Bavaro!!

María Maciá Bas
Customer Service Manager
Bahía Príncipe Bávaro Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2012

What a fantastic vacation! The only thing that I could say that might seem at all negative is that one week was not enough.

We started our vacation on an Air Transat flight and couldn't believe the leg room compared to some flights. We got through the Punta Cana airport and customs relatively quickly and then we headed to our Resort. We were all dropped off at the main resort area and then were quickly whisked away to the Esmeralda. Check in was very quick and our Butler, Ramone was there to take us to our room We were in building 90... closest to the beach, on the third floor and overlooking our pool with a view of the ocean. The room was immaculate and decorated with balloons, flower petals, towel art and a fruit tray. Our daughters were in an adjoining room which we had requested and had waiting for us when we arrived. This was a special trip for us to celebrate our 25th Wedding Anniversary and everything was absolutely perfect. We had a king size canopy bed and my daughters each had their own double canopy bed. We had lavender scented pillows on our bed. Our maids did an excellent job each morning cleaning our room and we had towels changed twice a day. In the evening, we would return to our room to find our bed turned down and chocolates on the dresser. We always had plenty of water and a stocked mini bar. If you saw a maid in the hallway and needed water for the beach, she would allow to to help yourself.
So many staff members were outstanding. The front desk staff were amazing and very accommodating. Guests services did a wonderful job. My favourite beach and pool waiter was Francisco. He was so friendly and always happy to bring you a drink... never expecting a tip. Julio was one of our favourites at the buffet. He always made a point of chatting with us. We tried the Japanese, Mediterranean, Gourmet, Mexican, Italian, and Gourmet night at our buffet. The Gourmet night offered a range of seafood with unlimited grilled lobsters and shrimp. We enjoyed the Japanese. The service was very good. Anyone who goes hungry at this resort should stay home. There were a variety of snack bars which had great selections as well. Being an Esmeralda guest offered you some very good VIP privileges. No need for towel cards. There were always plenty of clean beach towels available at the pool. Also, we were allowed to eat anywhere we wanted but our resort area was exclusive for us. We also had our private beach area. As this resort has many sections, it is very large but we were closest to the beach and in the newer rooms. Michel, from the dive shop was another favourite. It is his job to sell excursions but did it in a very pleasant, non pushy way. Whenever we saw him on the beach, he always took the time to say hello. We went to a few shows which were typical for all inclusive resorts. We met some wonderful people from New Jersey, Montreal, Miami and other places as well. My daughter met so many new friends playing volleyball, hanging out at the beach and pool and going to the sports bars, shows, etc. We left a lot of tips this week, although never expected by anyone. My kids are already planning another trip for next year.

Room Tip: Building 90 is closest to the beach but 91 is right beside it. We chose third floor for the view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank Joralex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Customer Servic... B, Customer Service Manager at Luxury Bahia Principe Esmeralda Don Pablo Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2012

Dear Client

Receive cordial greetings from all the team working at Gran Bahia Principe Bavaro Resort, especially from our Quality & Customer Service Department.

We would like to thank you for bringing to our attention the comments about your stay in our Esmeralda Hotel.

It is a pleasure for all of us to hear that we could fulfill your expectations and be assured that it is wonderful to know that you are considering coming back to our premises

Looking forward to seeing you soon

Regards from Bavaro!!

María Maciá Bas
Customer Service Manager
Bahía Príncipe Bávaro Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2012

We stayed at the Gran Bahia Principe Esmeralda for a week in July. This resort was excellent.

I will break up my review by section.

The hotel/rooms:

Exceptionally clean, the staff and constantly cleaning the floors, washing the liens and keep the place sparkling. Our room was cleaned twice a day and was very comfortable. We had a room in building 92, which was good, but the rooms with the best view are in buildings 90 and 91. The bed was very comfortable, I was also impressed with the number of TV channels, nice at night when you want to relax after a long day at the beach.

The pool:

The pool was excellent. It was very large with lots of room to swim around. The swim up bar was also great. The only thing I noticed was the pool was very warm. It is nice when you jump in because it is comfortable, but sometimes you want to cool off, but the water was too warm.

The beach:

The beach in front of the hotel was great. The water was warm and relatively calm. The water was also very clear. There are so many things to do at the beach. Kayaks, parasailing and banana boat ride(costs extra) and beach volleyball.

The food/service:

The food at the resort was great. The buffet was very good with lots of selection. The resort also has 8 different restaurants. We tired 5 of them, and they were all very good. The restaurants require reservations, so make sure to make them on your first day. You can make all your reservations at one time for your entire stay. Some restaurants require men to wear pants, FYI. All the staff was very friendly and helpful.

Excursions:

We did three trips outside of the resort. We did the “James Bond” tour, we get to drive your own speed boat, snorkel and snuba (like scuba but the air tank stays on a raft on the surface). We also did the ATV tour, lot of fun and good value because we get to make interesting stops along the way at a cave, secluded beach and a local home where they hand make cigars. Finally we went zip lining. It was a lot of fun and really safe.

I would definitely recommend this resort. I will be returning to the hotel.

Room Tip: Building 90 and 91 are the best and closest to the beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Explorer2007Toronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Customer Servic... B, Customer Service Manager at Luxury Bahia Principe Esmeralda Don Pablo Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2012

Dear client,

Receive cordial greetings from all the team working at Gran Bahia Principe Bavaro Resort, especially from our Quality & Customer Service Department.

We would like to thank you for bringing to our attention the comments about your stay in our Esmeralda Hotel.

It is a pleasure for all of us to hear that we could fulfill your expectations during your stay with us and be assured that it is wonderful to know that you and your partner will probably be coming back.

Looking forward to seeing you soon

Regards from Bavaro!!

María Maciá Bas
Customer Service Manager
Bahía Príncipe Bávaro Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2012

I enjoyed my stay at this hotel. The property is gorgeous and the hotel staff is very friendly. The Esmerelda is a small part of the very large gran Bahia Resort and seemed to be an upgraded private section. The shows were entertaining and the spa is very relaxing. I was not a fan of a lot of the food and found it to be pretty bland so I stuck to the buffets on the property for more options. Also if you book through a 3rd party, make sure you book your activities ahead of time.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bola2084
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Customer Servic... B, Customer Service Manager at Luxury Bahia Principe Esmeralda Don Pablo Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2012

Dear Client,

Receive cordial greetings from all the team working at Gran Bahia Principe Bavaro Resort, especially from our Quality & Customer Service Department.

We would like to thank you for bringing to our attention the comments about your stay in our Esmeralda Hotel.

It is a pleasure for all of us to hear that we could fulfill your expectations during your vacation with us.

We regret to hear that your perception about our food was not positive, however be assured that your comments have been already brought to the General Manager attention.

We thank you for taking the time of sharing your opinion with us which we will take in the highest consideration.

Looking forward to seeing you soon

Regards from Bavaro!!

María Maciá Bas
Customer Service Manager
Bahía Príncipe Bávaro Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Punta Cana hotels
18.4 mi away
Alsol Del Mar
Alsol Del Mar
#45 of 112 in Punta Cana
977 reviews
16.2 mi away
AlSol Tiara Cap Cana
AlSol Tiara Cap Cana
#23 of 112 in Punta Cana
1,883 reviews
0.3 mi away
Luxury Bahia Principe Fantasia Don Pablo Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Green Don Pablo Collection
16.1 mi away
Alsol Luxury Village
Alsol Luxury Village
#85 of 112 in Punta Cana
3,420 reviews
0.6 mi away
Grand Bahia Principe Turquesa
Grand Bahia Principe Turquesa
#62 of 112 in Punta Cana
2,239 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Luxury Bahia Principe Esmeralda Don Pablo Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Luxury Bahia Principe Esmeralda Don Pablo Collection

Address: Crta. Arena Gorda - Macao, Punta Cana, Dominican Republic
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > La Altagracia Province > Punta Cana
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Punta Cana
#7 Family Hotel in Punta Cana
#30 Spa Hotel in Punta Cana
#30 Top resorts Hotel in Punta Cana
#33 Luxury Hotel in Punta Cana
Price Range: £120 - £358 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Luxury Bahia Principe Esmeralda Don Pablo Collection 4*
Number of rooms: 570
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Facilities and services 2 Pools Sun terrace 4 Jacuzzis Sun umbrellas and loungers Beach and pool towel service BAHIA SPA (additional charge) Sports facilities: gym, 3 tennis courts, 1 padel tennis court (additional charge), multi-sports court Water activity centre Motorised water sports (additional charge) WiFi access in the lobby (free) and in rooms (free of charge) Entertainment amphitheatre 2 buffet restaurants 3 speciality restaurants 3 Bars 1 Snack- bar Wedding gazebo Punta Blanca Golf Club: 18 hole Punta Blanca Golf Club, designed by Nick Price (additional charge) Pueblo Principe: Shopping and Leisure Mall with local craft stores, live music, shows, stores, bars, karaoke, disco and casino. Rooms, 570 Deluxe Junior Suite Room facilities: King size bed or two full size beds Air conditioning Ceiling fan Sitting area with sofa Terrace Fully-equipped bathroom with hydromassage bath tub and separate shower, hair dryer and magnifying mirror Bathrobe and slippers VIP amenities Radio-alarm clock Flat screen satellite TV Coffee-making facilities Ironing set Pillow menu Umbrella 24 hour room service Minibar WiFi (free of charge) Other services Medical service (additional charge) Pharmacy (additional charge) Specialised service for organising weddings, incentive trips, events and anniversaries Personalised menus (for celiacs, diabetics, etc.) Available on request ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, LoveHolidays, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Luxury Bahia Principe Esmeralda Don Pablo Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gran Bahia Principe Esmeralda Hotel Punta Cana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing