We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Luxury Bahia Principe Esmeralda Don Pablo Collection
Ranked #31 of 110 Hotels in Punta Cana
Certificate of Excellence
Bethlehem, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Lovely resort!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 December 2013

The food, the service, and the staff were all fantastic - buffets surpassed expectations, restaurants were great too. Staff/service were very attentive always with a smile. We stayed at the Esmeralda - which was right on the beach. Being an American - there were mostly foriegners at this resort (timeshare?)- Russians - who are not the friendliest people in the world - very pushy and cold - that was my only issue.

Room Tip: My boyfriend and I would have liked to share a bed but we were given 2 barely full-sized beds - not...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank stephanie a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Customer Servic... B, Customer Service at Luxury Bahia Principe Esmeralda Don Pablo Collection, responded to this review, 4 December 2013
Dear Stephanie,

Our Luxury Bahia Principe Esmeralda family will be very happy to hear that you had an amazing vacation, not only because of our friendly and fantastic staff, but also because of our great food and excellent buffet. It is a pleasure to read that our resort surpassed your expectations.

Bahia Principe Hotels & Resorts, your best hotel in Punta Cana.

Vianca Graciano
Bahia Principe Bavaro Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

6,419 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    4,234
    1,362
    532
    168
    123
See reviews for
2,521
2,629
70
28
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,475)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bowmanville, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 December 2013

We visited this resort from November 24-December 1 as part of a wedding group of about 54 people. Once we managed to make it to the resort, everything became really confusing. We were handed envelopes with our room cards in it, and asked to fill out some forms. There was a hotel employee present, but they didn't really explain anything about the hotel, when orientation was etc. Half of our rooms were ready - the other half weren't. Those that didn't have room keys, were told to wait in the buffet and check back every half hour or so until the room was ready. Since no one told us how to book the a la carte dinners, we wasted half an hour standing in line at the front desk, only to be told to go to the guest services desk around the corner and wait there for another half an hour. There was no sign or anything indicating where guest services was, which is why we had missed it initially. Our room was nice - we were travelling with our 2 year old daughter and they had included a little toiletry kit for her, as well as made up the day bed for her. Our mini fridge was stocked with special drinks for her, as well as water, beer, pop and liquor for us. A note on top of the fridge indicated that all items would be re-stocked daily, however after the first day, nothing was replenished unless I left the empty bottles on top of our tip money or I went to the maid's cart and took items myself. All the drinks they put in there for my daughter were apparently a one time deal - so her juice box was supposed to last her the entire week according to the staff. The biggest problem with the resort is its size. We were lucky enough to be right beside the beach so we could walk, but at night if we were eating at a restaurant in another complex, we had to take a shuttle. At times there would be a bunch of shuttles all in a row, and at other times there would be none. Each shuttle was not allowed to leave, until the next one had arrived, which made it faster to walk than to sit and wait for the shuttle. The food at the restaurants was fantastic - there was lots of variety, and everything tasted great - but the service was lacking. They kept trying to squeeze us four adults and one child into a 4 person table. My daughter would be in a high chair, but with the size and layout of the table, was unable to get close enough to eat at the table. When we asked to be seated at one of the bigger tables it seemed to be a big inconvenience. There were several problems with the wedding, which caused a lot of stress and frustration for the bride, which were completely unnecessary. We found that the service staff were quite friendly and hard working, but the management at the hotel was definitely lacking. If you had a question or needed help with a problem, there wasn't anybody who was willing to help. Language was also a big problem. I called asking for an extra blanket for our room, and was asked by 3 separate people what a blanket was. This resort is supposed to be a 5 star "luxury" resort, but I definitely wouldn't say that it was. The amount of money we paid definitely didn't match what we received, and I definitely would not recommend it.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank prettyinpink1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Customer Servic... B, Customer Service at Luxury Bahia Principe Esmeralda Don Pablo Collection, responded to this review, 4 December 2013
Dear Guest,

We apologize if you felt you did not receive the service you were entitled to. Please allow us to inform you that, despite the size of our Resort, appropriate measures have been taken in order to ensure guest satisfaction and expected quality of each of our services.

We regret for the impression you could perceive for the language barrier with some of our staff members. Please allow us to inform you that we continuously work with our Human Resources and Quality departments to reinforce the training of our personnel. We strongly believe that our guest’s satisfaction depends of their daily performance.

We sincerely appreciate all feedback which gives us an opportunity to assess and evaluate our performance.

Best regards,

Vianca Graciano
Bahia Principe Bavaro Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surrey, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 December 2013

Esmeralda was pretty good. The staff were all very friendly notably Luis at the Los Jeraniio restaurant. Luis made a special night for my wife and I.

It would be really great if smoking was banned through out the resort.

Room Tip: Book your restaurants the moment you arrive otherwise you will end up eating at 9pm
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gordon T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Customer Servic... B, Customer Service at Luxury Bahia Principe Esmeralda Don Pablo Collection, responded to this review, 3 December 2013
Dear Gordon and Hanna,

We are very happy to read that you enjoyed your vacations in our Luxury Bahia Principe Esmeralda Don Pablo Collection. At Bahia Principe Hotel & Resorts our goal is to make your vacation become an unforgettable experience.

All-inclusive luxury hotels on the Dominican Republic with Bahia Principe Hotels & Resorts

Best Wishes,

Vianca Graciano
Bahia Principe Bavaro Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa
Level Contributor
23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 December 2013

When we arrived ,,rooms , reservations all screwed up. The wedding couple were supposed to have fruit basket in room ,++++ nothing, unable to sort room number until 3 rd day after arrival. My room was under someone else until today we ahve been here 3 days Received call in room at 09:40 pm while we were sleeeping with the kids to ask us how we like the room .unacceptable . The beach is packed , if you don t get up at 6 am forget to find chairs by the beach, except the water is so blue .. Guest service was poor on arrival .

Room Tip: Not sure if all rooms are the same but the couple getting married should have a better service , bet...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Pielaf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Customer Servic... B, Customer Service at Luxury Bahia Principe Esmeralda Don Pablo Collection, responded to this review, 3 December 2013
Dear Pielaf,

Our customer´s comments are very important for us. We deeply apologize any difficulties you may have encountered. Thank you for sharing your observations which have been treated with great interest.
We sincerely hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back again in any of our hotels.

Best regards,

Vianca Graciano
Bahia Principe Bavaro Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lake Orion, Michigan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 December 2013

We stayed Nov 21-25 and had an excellent experience. The staff was very friendly and always looking to make our stay more comfortable. Language barrier was not an issue. There were many options for dinner (sushi, hibachi, italian, etc.), we just made dinner reservations right when we arrived (in the lobby) for the rest of the nights. The buffets available for breakfast and lunch had many options, and you can also go to the buffet for dinner if you chose. The beach was beautiful and Esmerelda is right at the beach, so you have the best of both worlds with multiple pools and the ocean right there. We stayed in block 91. The free wifi in the Esmerelda lobby 24/7 was an added bonus! I honestly don't have one complaint!

Room Tip: Block 90-91 to be closest to the beach/pool, but honestly they're all pretty close! Not really a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jenny B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Customer Servic... B, Customer Service at Luxury Bahia Principe Esmeralda Don Pablo Collection, responded to this review, 2 December 2013
Dear Jenny,

It is a pleasure for all of us to hear that we could fulfill your expectations during your stay and to learn that you had an awesome experience especially because of the beautiful beach and friendly staff.

Looking forward to seeing you soon at Bahia Principe Hotels & Resorts, your best hotel in Punta Cana.

Vianca Graciano
Bahia Principe Bavaro Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wheeling, West Virginia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 November 2013

We traveled to Luxury BP Esmeralda Nov. 9-16. We traveled with 2 other couples and sent emails prior to arrival requesting rooms near each other (we were all in the same building but 1 couple was on a different floor, but not a big deal) and reservations at the ala carte restaurants. Front desk staff were not very friendly to begin with. Our rooms were not quite ready so we went to the beach buffet and had a few drinks. Checked back and our room was ready but not the other 2. We had requested rooms in building 90 or 91 and were told nothing available in either of those and were placed in building 95 which was the furthest away from the beach. Went to check on our dinner reservations and had to produce the email showing our request which thankfully I printed out copies of. Prior to going, I also emailed the resort telling them it was our 30 year anniversary and did they do anything special, they responded that they decorate your door with banner and balloons, decorate your bed, fruit basket, bottle of rum and 2 t-shirts in your room upon arrival. The room was very nice, very clean but nothing "special" was done. The resort itself is breathtakingly beautiful but the staff were not friendly. I showed guest services the email telling me what they do for special occasions and she said she'd see to it that it was done. Stopped down two more times speaking with the same girl and she asked to keep my email to "remind" her. It was NEVER done although several rooms around us had their doors decorated. Our friends received the tshirts, rum and fruit even though they never requested it. My husband and I stayed at Grand Palladium Royal Turquesa 5 years ago and were treated like gold. EVERY staff member you encountered smiled and said hola, BP staff? it was rare to get a smile let alone speak to you in passing!!! Just very disappointed in the overall friendliness of the staff therefore, that is where my "mixed" feelings review comes in. We stayed at BP Akumal in Riviera Maya and had a great experience.

Room Tip: Ask for building 90 or 91, close to pool and beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Rlhand27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Customer Servic... B, Customer Service at Luxury Bahia Principe Esmeralda Don Pablo Collection, responded to this review, 1 December 2013
Dear Client,

We apologize if you felt you did not receive the service you were entitled to. Please allow us to inform you that we continuously work with our Human Resources and Quality departments to reinforce the training of our personnel. Besides, it is not usual that we receive those kinds of remarks from our clients, but on the contrary, we usually receive excellent feedback about their friendliness and attentiveness.

Once again, we regret for the impression you could perceive from our staff members and for any inconvenience you may have experienced during your stay.

Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your experience at our Luxury Bahia Principe Esmeralda Don Pablo Collection.

Best regards,

Vianca Graciano
Bahia Principe Bavaro Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 November 2013

I stayed at the Esmeralda 3 to 10 november 2013. I liked so much this place. The people work there are like a family. They're very nice ! The service was amazing !
I'll go there next year for sure with friends
I'll talk about Esmeralda to all my friends
Thanks for eveything

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Valerie O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Customer Servic... B, Customer Service at Luxury Bahia Principe Esmeralda Don Pablo Collection, responded to this review, 29 November 2013
Dear Valerie,

Thank you for recommending with your friends. It is wonderful to read that you spent the best vacation ever in our Luxury Bahia Principe Esmeralda Don Pablo Collection. Posts such as yours delight us and gives us confidence to keep working hard to satisfy our customers and improve our service.

All-inclusive luxury hotels on the Dominican Republic with Bahia Principe Hotels & Resorts

Vianca Graciano
Bahia Principe Bavaro Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Punta Cana hotels
16.2 mi away
AlSol Tiara Cap Cana
AlSol Tiara Cap Cana
#25 of 110 in Punta Cana
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,628 reviews
18.3 mi away
Alsol Del Mar
Alsol Del Mar
#42 of 110 in Punta Cana
4.5 of 5 bubbles 910 reviews
0.2 mi away
Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Blue Don Pablo Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Green Don Pablo Collection
0.2 mi away
Luxury Bahia Principe Fantasia Don Pablo Collection
3.1 mi away
Grand Palladium Palace Resort Spa & Casino
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Luxury Bahia Principe Esmeralda Don Pablo Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Luxury Bahia Principe Esmeralda Don Pablo Collection

Property: Luxury Bahia Principe Esmeralda Don Pablo Collection
Address: Crta. Arena Gorda - Macao, Punta Cana, Dominican Republic
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > La Altagracia Province > Punta Cana
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Punta Cana
#7 Family Hotel in Punta Cana
#26 Top resorts Hotel in Punta Cana
#27 Spa Hotel in Punta Cana
#30 Luxury Hotel in Punta Cana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Luxury Bahia Principe Esmeralda Don Pablo Collection 4*
Number of rooms: 570
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Facilities and services 2 Pools Sun terrace 4 Jacuzzis Sun umbrellas and loungers Beach and pool towel service BAHIA SPA (additional charge) Sports facilities: gym, 3 tennis courts, 1 padel tennis court (additional charge), multi-sports court Water activity centre Motorised water sports (additional charge) WiFi access in the lobby (free) and in rooms (additional charge) Entertainment amphitheatre 2 buffet restaurants 3 speciality restaurants 3 Bars 1 Snack- bar Wedding gazebo Punta Blanca Golf Club: 18 hole Punta Blanca Golf Club, designed by Nick Price (additional charge) Pueblo Principe: Shopping and Leisure Mall with local craft stores, live music, shows, stores, bars, karaoke, disco and casino. Rooms, 570 Deluxe Junior Suite Room facilities: King size bed or two full size beds Air conditioning Ceiling fan Sitting area with sofa Terrace Fully-equipped bathroom with hydromassage bath tub and separate shower, hair dryer and magnifying mirror Bathrobe and slippers VIP amenities Radio-alarm clock Flat screen satellite TV Coffee-making facilities Ironing set Pillow menu Umbrella 24 hour room service Minibar WiFi Other services Medical service (additional charge) Pharmacy (additional charge) Specialised service for organising weddings, incentive trips, events and anniversaries Personalised menus (for celiacs, diabetics, etc.) Available on request ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, TravelUp, Odigeo, Agoda and Ebookers so you can book your Luxury Bahia Principe Esmeralda Don Pablo Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gran Bahia Principe Esmeralda Hotel Punta Cana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing