We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My parents' 60th Anniversary trip”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Luxury Bahia Principe Esmeralda Don Pablo Collection
Ranked #29 of 110 Hotels in Punta Cana
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“My parents' 60th Anniversary trip”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 December 2013 via mobile

The accommodations and staff were excellent!! Ely, Manolo, Charlie and Edwin were superb staff!!! We thoroughly enjoyed the beach party-it was one of the most fun nights!! We were there for a week and had a super time! Our housekeeper was excellent and so sweet!! The only thing I probably would comment negatively was the food! It was just average as far as the buffets went! We weren't able to get into all of the ala carte restaurants because there were 13 of us!

Stayed November 2013
Helpful?
Thank TerriLEC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Customer Servic... B, Customer Service at Luxury Bahia Principe Esmeralda Don Pablo Collection, responded to this review, 25 December 2013
Dear Terri,

It is an honor to know that Ely, Manolo, Charlie and Edwin had provided you a super time with the natural warm and hospitality that characterize the Dominican people. They will be delighted to know that they are making a difference in each guest experience.

We regret your observations about our food concepts. Please be assured that your comments have been share with the General Management to analyze the points you mentioned.

Warmest regards,

Vianca Graciano
Bahia Principe Bavaro Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

6,522 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    4,300
    1,383
    542
    171
    126
See reviews for
2,533
2,691
73
28
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,500)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bronx, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 December 2013

My 3 friends and I (all in our mid 20's) just got back from a trip to DR where we stayed at the Bahia Principe Esmeralda. We all had a wonderful experience while there between the staff who ran all of the pool side activities or the staff at the beach. We were treated like we were family especially by Wander, Braudy and Jose M. These tree guys made the trip seem like I was with family and not just at a resort for the week. They made sure that my friends and I always had a smile on our faces, a full stomach and a drink in hand. This vacation would not have been the same if they were not there!! The resort was beautiful and was kept extremely clean. The food was the best I have ever had at an all inclusive resort. I am in talks with my friends of when we will be going back to spend another week. If you want to go to Punta Cana make sure you stay at the Bahia Principe!!!

Room Tip: Get the Privilege Club benefits
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Customer Servic... B, Customer Service at Luxury Bahia Principe Esmeralda Don Pablo Collection, responded to this review, 24 December 2013
Dear Chris S,

It is a pleasure for all of us to hear that we were able to fulfill your expectations. Posts such as yours delight us and gives us confidence to keep working hard to satisfy our customers and improve our service. Wander, Braudy and Jose will appreciate your nice comments.

Looking forward to welcoming you once again in this paradise to provided you the best vacations. All-inclusive luxury hotels on the Dominican Republic with Bahia Principe Hotels & Resorts.

Regards from Punta Cana,

Vianca Graciano
Bahia Principe Bavaro Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Farmingdale, New Jersey
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 December 2013

I recently stayed at the Gran Bahia Principe Esmeralda with three of my friends (all in our mid 20s) and had the most amazing time! The resort grounds were very well maintained which shows that much pride is taken in this resort. The staff at check-in were helpful and friendly, but overall the staff at the buffet and restaurants were what made us feel at home! My friends and I knew everytime we walked into the buffet that Braudy, Jose M. and Wander would take care of us! In addition to the wonderful service from the staff, the food was very good! Typically the food can be hit or miss at an all-inclusive but no matter where we went, we all found something we could enjoy! Lastly, I have to give credit to the cleaning staff, who would not let us walk by them without a hello or a smile and we always came back to our room from a day at the beach to a fully stocked mini bar, clean room and fresh set of sheets/towels. If you are looking for a getaway to just relax on the beach and hang out by the pool and soak in some sun while feeling at home, this is the place to go!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Brian9272013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Customer Servic... B, Customer Service at Luxury Bahia Principe Esmeralda Don Pablo Collection, responded to this review, 23 December 2013
Dear Brian,

We are very happy to read that you enjoyed our wonderful Luxury Bahia Principe Esmeralda Don Pablo Collection. At Bahia Principe Hotel & Resorts our goal is to make your vacation become an unforgettable experience.

We would like to have the opportunity to welcome you once again and be able to repeat your all inclusive experience in our Luxury Bahia Principe Esmeralda.

Best Wishes,

Vianca Graciano
Bahia Principe Bavaro Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london, ontario
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 December 2013

Wonderful experience in Punta Cana;would definitely stay here again due in large part to the friendly staff,Benjamin,Jhun Carlos,Michael etc. Would highly recommend this Resort to my friends. Five Star all the way.

Room Tip: Please be aware that there are no elevators at this hotel so book a ground floor room if you have mo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sillygirl_947
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Customer Servic... B, Customer Service at Luxury Bahia Principe Esmeralda Don Pablo Collection, responded to this review, 23 December 2013
Dear Customer,

At Bahia Principe our goal is to make your stay become an unforgettable experience. It is a pleasure to know that we were able to contribute in creating a wonderful week and a memorable experience for you in Luxury Bahia Principe Esmeralda Don Pablo Collection.
Thank you for recommending us and it will be a pleasure to welcome you once again in Bahia Principe Hotels & Resorts, your best hotel in Punta Cana.

Regards,

Vianca Graciano
Bahia Principe Bavaro Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sudbury, Canada
Level Contributor
33 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 December 2013

We went to esmarald section (grand Bahia principe) was our 3rd time to that resort, and we suggested it for our daughter's wedding, The wedding was great but having been a 3rd time visitor and brining 28 people, we did not get 3rd floor as we requested, we were on 1st floor at entrance therefore noise from people arriving from their flights, or casino, or being out, there were SHHHH signs, but noise never quit until 3 a.m. so we didn't sleep for a week as they were always full and couldn't change our room, I would only go back if we got a free room, very disappointed. The check I was disorganized, we waited outside for quite a while to be taken to the esmaralda side :(
Food was great! Casino fun, but didn't win, lots of chairs at ocean and pools,
Entertainment great! Beach, pools drinks, rooms, bar fridge, water, a/c, staff all excellent.

Room Tip: don't stay on 1st floor unless youre away from the entrances
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank beginning
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Customer Servic... B, Customer Service at Luxury Bahia Principe Esmeralda Don Pablo Collection, responded to this review, 23 December 2013
Dear Customer,

Thank you for your recent review on TripAdvisor and for highlighting our excellent food, beach, rooms, pool drinks and courteous staff.

Please allow us to clarify that rooms assignments are subject to availability and may not adjust to your exact petition.

Now we can only ask you to accept our apologies and we hope to welcome you very soon at our Resort to provide you an excellent and unforgettable stay.

Kind regards,

Vianca Graciano
Bahia Principe Bavaro Resort
__
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ontario
Level Contributor
19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 December 2013

It's small

Rooms, lobby, restaurants, pool and beach are literally within steps from each other. Everything is wheelchair accessible, including the beach and the rooms on the first floor (there are no elevators). An important convenience when traveling with small children or the elderly, because the typical Punta Cana mega-resort experience means either long walks or waiting for transportation. For the mega-resort experience, Esmeralda guests have full access to all neighbouring Gran Bahia resorts.

It's new

We've encountered none of the little annoyances and breakdowns of older resorts; everything was in perfect working condition , well maintained and without noticeable signs of wear and tear. The latest building was still under construction while we were there. The area on the opposite side from the beach, including the second buffet restaurant and the second pool were completed only in the last couple of years. The lobby and pool area and the rooms closer to the beach are also less than five years old.

Great buffet restaurants

I'm not talking about food quality. Food quality is entirely subjective. I'm talking about food variety, general ambiance and service. Jasmine and Genario did not feel like typical all-inclusive buffets. They were nicely decorated and the tables set like at better restaurants. The service was friendly and attentive even if not particularly prompt. Traveling with a kid, we appreciated enjoying the convenience of a buffet without sacrificing ambiance and service.

Cramped spaces

Esmeralda sits on a narrow strip of land between the Gran Bahia and Riu resorts. Squeezing in an entire resort must have been a tough job and some sacrifices were made. The narrowness and steepness of the stairs leading to the upper floors for example seemed a bit out of place in a luxury hotel. Lunge chairs and palapas at the beach were packed tight and deep in eight or nine rows. The area turned into a veritable maze once people started pulling their chairs around in search of sun or shade. Finally the wisdom of putting a second row of buildings at the Riu side is questionable. It was clearly based on the assumption that guests do not mind having another building just a few feet away for a view.

Noisy hallways

Another questionable decision was to connect three buildings together with a single long, strait hallway. It may have saved some space, but hundreds of feet long and servicing sixty rooms, it is a busy and noisy place. I slept with earplugs every night and still woke up to loud chatter occasionally.

Unremarkable beach and pool bars

Only the lobby bar has brand-name liquor. The beach and pool bars serve the usual sweet cocktails and the Presidente beer. Occasionally, towards the end of the day, they ran out even of some of these.

Room Tip: South side of the third floor of villa 9000 havs pool and partial ocean view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elvtars
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Customer Servic... B, Customer Service at Luxury Bahia Principe Esmeralda Don Pablo Collection, responded to this review, 22 December 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your experience with others on TripAdvisor. Your suggestions and observations will be appreciate for all readers. Thank you for highlighting our variety of food, great buffet and restaurants.

We hope you give us the opportunity to welcome once again at Luxury Bahia Principe Esmeralda Don Pablo Collection.

All-inclusive luxury hotels on the Dominican Republic with Bahia Principe Hotels & Resorts

Best regards,

Vianca Graciano
Bahia Principe Bavaro Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 December 2013

We are very usual travelers to Carrebians with 2 adults and 2 children. we usually travel 5 start hotels and try to choose best ones for families with children. This one was picked after our last year amazing trip to Bahia Cayo Levantado Don Pablo (unfortunately that one was converted to Adults only this year). We thought that Bahia Esmeralda Don Pablo would be a match for it given it is the same chain, same 5 stars, same country and same line of Luxury Don Pablo - big mistake. Hotel is not even close. Maximum we can give it is around 3-4 stars. Major issues:

1. Overcrowded - the way it is built is one of the worse ones we have seen traveling 2 times a year to Caribs over the last 10 years. Very tight buildings to each other, virtually no garden views and even those they claim garden views are not. We asked for a quiet room, and discovered that there are non - you either have services tracks running under your window, or entertainment at night or other significant sources of noise. Even Bahia next door has much better building settings although they don't claim to be Luxury Don Pablo collection.
2. Rooms are claimed to be luxury but in fact they are not. Our flush in toilet did not work, shower was leaking, water pressure is not enough to take a reasonable shower.
3. Services people are not a match of 5 stars.
4. Swimming pools are way too busy. Not enough seats! For 5 stars this is a somewhat unexpected.
5. Food variety is poor. Although quality of the food is OK, but variety is really poor.

For the price they ask this is definitely no-no. I recommend you to look at other options you can get far better vacations for the money you pay here,

Room Tip: There are so called "garden views" - although they are not but probably this is the best p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Alex1166
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Customer Servic... B, Customer Service at Luxury Bahia Principe Esmeralda Don Pablo Collection, responded to this review, 21 December 2013
Dear Alex,

Firstly, we want to offer our sincere apologies for any difficulties experienced.

As you and your family are faithful to our chain, we would like to clarify that we are clear that in Bahia Principe Hotels & Resorts, customers are the most important point to our daily operation, being the same central axis that governs all our activities and headed toward him day our constant efforts for the sole purpose of offering stays fully satisfactory, is for this reason that we work daily to improve and take the necessary measures in order to preserve the rest of our customers.

We would welcome the opportunity to get back you to any of our Resorts. We wish you the best.

Always at your disposal,

Vianca Graciano
Bahia Principe Bavaro Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Punta Cana hotels
16.2 mi away
AlSol Tiara Cap Cana
AlSol Tiara Cap Cana
#23 of 110 in Punta Cana
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,678 reviews
18.4 mi away
Alsol Del Mar
Alsol Del Mar
#47 of 110 in Punta Cana
4.5 of 5 bubbles 924 reviews
0.3 mi away
Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Green Don Pablo Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Blue Don Pablo Collection
0.2 mi away
Luxury Bahia Principe Fantasia Don Pablo Collection
3.1 mi away
Grand Palladium Palace Resort Spa & Casino
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Luxury Bahia Principe Esmeralda Don Pablo Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Luxury Bahia Principe Esmeralda Don Pablo Collection

Property: Luxury Bahia Principe Esmeralda Don Pablo Collection
Address: Crta. Arena Gorda - Macao, Punta Cana, Dominican Republic
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > La Altagracia Province > Punta Cana
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Punta Cana
#7 Family Hotel in Punta Cana
#25 Top resorts Hotel in Punta Cana
#26 Spa Hotel in Punta Cana
#28 Luxury Hotel in Punta Cana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Luxury Bahia Principe Esmeralda Don Pablo Collection 4*
Number of rooms: 570
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Facilities and services 2 Pools Sun terrace 4 Jacuzzis Sun umbrellas and loungers Beach and pool towel service BAHIA SPA (additional charge) Sports facilities: gym, 3 tennis courts, 1 padel tennis court (additional charge), multi-sports court Water activity centre Motorised water sports (additional charge) WiFi access in the lobby (free) and in rooms (additional charge) Entertainment amphitheatre 2 buffet restaurants 3 speciality restaurants 3 Bars 1 Snack- bar Wedding gazebo Punta Blanca Golf Club: 18 hole Punta Blanca Golf Club, designed by Nick Price (additional charge) Pueblo Principe: Shopping and Leisure Mall with local craft stores, live music, shows, stores, bars, karaoke, disco and casino. Rooms, 570 Deluxe Junior Suite Room facilities: King size bed or two full size beds Air conditioning Ceiling fan Sitting area with sofa Terrace Fully-equipped bathroom with hydromassage bath tub and separate shower, hair dryer and magnifying mirror Bathrobe and slippers VIP amenities Radio-alarm clock Flat screen satellite TV Coffee-making facilities Ironing set Pillow menu Umbrella 24 hour room service Minibar WiFi Other services Medical service (additional charge) Pharmacy (additional charge) Specialised service for organising weddings, incentive trips, events and anniversaries Personalised menus (for celiacs, diabetics, etc.) Available on request ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelbag, TravelUp, Ebookers, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Luxury Bahia Principe Esmeralda Don Pablo Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gran Bahia Principe Esmeralda Hotel Punta Cana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing