We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Luxury Bahia Principe Esmeralda Don Pablo Collection
Ranked #30 of 110 Hotels in Punta Cana
Certificate of Excellence
Constanta, Romania
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great vacation”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 May 2014

We stayed in Esmeralda for 2 weeks and there was not a small thing to complain about. The entire vacation was just perfect, the location was beyond our expectations, the staff was very nice and helpfull all the time smiling and ofering to help you without waiting any tips as some of the reviewer said... We would like to mention Victor and Jouleyda, they were both our buttlers and they were so nice, helpfull, hardworking, reliable and we really enjoyed every minute we spent talking with them. We also want to thank Ramon who was also so nice and helfull.
For those who had complaints in the previous reviews regarding anything concerning the location, the staff, the food, i must say that you people have a problem, the food was always so fresh, those with stomachake our advise is to drink less and eat less as during our 2 weeks we saw many people getting drunk and eating like a lot, so this must be the reason for getting sick and blaming after the resort.
Regarding the complain about the tips, this is not true, people behaved the same as per our experience.
Regarding the fact that the resort is too huge and you might get lost this is crazy, you have directional signs everywhere and it is a real pleasure to walk in the night in the resort, we have been walking everywhere.
Regarding the language barriere, people, there is not a problem as everybody understands basic english, even the maids.
Regarding the sunbeds, you have plenty of them even if you wake up at noon, of course you wont get any of them in the first, second or maybe third row, but there are many of them in the rest of the beach.
Because of the many people who wrote bad reviews about the above, we came in the resort with many doubts, but after checking everything with our own eyes, we saw that things are totally different.
We also advise the noisy and uneducated people to stay at home as you disturb the rest of the people with your annoying behaviour.
To conclude, we had a great time at Esmeralda, we will return again, hopefully soon and we kindly recommend it to all people that want to spend quality time in paradise!

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mihailescu R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
socialmedia b, Customer service at Luxury Bahia Principe Esmeralda Don Pablo Collection, responded to this review, 11 May 2014
Dear client,

We greatly appreciate that you have chosen our special Luxury Bahia Principe Esmeralda as your holiday destination.

I would like to thank you for recommending us to people that want to be in Paradise, sharing your experience and give other reviewers some tips. Also for highlighting our fantastic personnel. Please be assured that your nice comments will be forwarded to your butler Victor and Yuleyda, who will be happy to know that they were so helpful and nice with you!!

All-inclusive luxury hotels on the Dominican Republic with Bahia Principe Hotels & Resorts

Vianca Graciano
Bahia Principe Bavaro Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

6,421 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    4,236
    1,362
    532
    168
    123
See reviews for
2,521
2,631
70
28
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,476)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Smithfield, Utah
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 May 2014

Staff made our 30th anniversary memorable. Pools and beaches were fantastic. Room was large and comfortable. We booked through allinclusiveoutlet.com and had no hassles with booking transfers from airport and our stay at the hotel. Was a trip we will never forget. Para-sailing was fun and affordable. I thought it would be scary but it wasn't at all.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Phil H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
socialmedia b, Customer service at Luxury Bahia Principe Esmeralda Don Pablo Collection, responded to this review, 11 May 2014
Dear Phil,

Please allow us to reassure that we are feel proud to know that we exceed your expectations during your wedding anniversary. It is wonderful to know that you will never forget this experience and trip.

Looking forward to seeing you soon at Bahia Principe Hotels & Resorts, your best hotel.

Vianca Graciano
Bahia Principe Bavaro Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 May 2014

15 people traveling in my group from ages 18-60 great time for all! The beach is beautiful and the pools were refreshing! The room was very accommodating and comes with a butler for all your needs! Jacuzzi tub in the bathroom. Suggestion. Make your dinner reservations as soon as you arrive as the rest fill up quickly.

Room Tip: Bldg 90 is the closest to the pool and the beach great location.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cafjwf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
socialmedia b, Customer service at Luxury Bahia Principe Esmeralda Don Pablo Collection, responded to this review, 11 May 2014
Dear client,

It is a pleasure and a great compliment to know that you and the entire group experienced an awesome trip in Punta Cana. Thank you very much for this great comment.

Bahia Principe Hotels & Resorts, all-inclusive hotels for your holidays in the Dominican Republic.

Vianca Graciano
Bahia Principe Bavaro Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sherbrooke, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 May 2014

Really enjoyed our 4th stay at the Gran Bahia and especially in Esmeralda. A special thanks to Victor the butler who was incredible. If you take care of your butler he'll take good care of you.
Also great service from Ismel and Juan-Luis in the restaurants but all servers were great.
My 4th time here and I will return again some day.

Room Tip: If you are in Esmeralda any room is good and close , maybe better on 2nd or 3nd floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dan44944
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
socialmedia b, Customer service at Luxury Bahia Principe Esmeralda Don Pablo Collection, responded to this review, 10 May 2014
Dear Dan,

Thank you for acknowledging our friendly staff, especially Victor and Juan Luis, who will be very happy to learn that they were able to contribute in creating a great vacation with your friends.

I would like to welcome you at Luxury Bahia Principe Esmeralda for fifth time to experience again the hospitality of our people, the quality of our services and facilities.

Bahia Principe Hotels & Resorts, your best hotel in Punta Cana

Vianca Graciano
Bahia Principe Bavaro Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 May 2014

My family and I spent a week at the Bahia Principe Esmerelda at the end of March and we had a really nice time! This trip was our first to the Dominican Republic and we were looking for a nice resort for a family vacation that included ours (3) and my sister’s family (5).

The Esmerelda is one resort on the larger Bahia Principe property. A major plus for the Esmerelda is that it is smaller and compact – everything is really easy to get to. The other hotels on the property are HUGE in comparison. From our room in Building 91 at the Esmerelda, we could literally get to everything in under 2 minutes (lobby, pool, restaurants, beach). The tram system is handy if you do want to go to other areas of the property – restaurants at the other hotels, the water park etc.

Our room was nice, not the nicest I’ve stayed in, but still nice. We had requested a room with two beds, but only got a room with a King bed and couch. It wasn’t what we had asked for, but it was ok – we travelled with our 7-yr old and the housekeeping staff made the couch up into a bed for her. The furniture was a little beat up and the room certainly broken in – but everything was functional and clean. We had housekeeping service early in the day each day and everything was always re-stocked. Word of caution – the beds are HARD. My husband couldn’t take it after two nights and slept on the couch for the bulk of our trip. Our room was on the first floor – and faced the service road at the back of the resort, but I did not find it noisy at all. We did not hear anything from the rooms around us, and the patio doors completely blocked any outside noise.

We didn’t have any issues with protecting our belongings, but my sister had some money stolen from her safe during our stay. The amount stolen was just a portion of the cash they had in their safe – so that they wouldn’t immediately notice it being gone. All you can do is be as vigilant as possible with your belongings – keep everything (even medications and electronics) locked in the safe when you are not in the room, keep your patio/balcony door locked and make sure your room door is completely closed when you go out.

We ate breakfast and the majority of our dinners at the Jasmin buffet. I found the selection and quality of food good. There was always enough to choose from to accommodate the variety of tastes in our group (4 adults, 4 children). The kids particularly chocolate fountain dessert bar! The snack bar next to the beach was just great for lunch! The open-air environment was really enjoyable, we could just go in our swimsuits and cover-ups.

The service in any of the restaurants was just so-so. In a lot of cases we would be seated at tables that weren’t entirely set – something was always missing and getting someone’s attention to bring what was needed was difficult. My impression of the staff was that they were polite, but un-interested – everyone was nice, but no one went out of their way to take care of us. Very different from my experiences in Mexico.

We tried the Bella Italia a la carte at the Esmerelda - and I wouldn’t recommend it. The menu was very limited and the food wasn’t very good at all. We didn’t even stay for the dessert course – we just went to the Jasmin. I would recommend the Maiko restaurant on the Bavaro resort – we had a great meal there. Everyone really enjoyed it! My sister e-mailed the resort with requests for a la carte reservations the week before we arrived, and we had no trouble getting booked.

We loved the main pool at the Esmerelda – it has a beach entry, which was perfect for the kids (ranging in age from 1-7). We never had difficulty getting chairs by the pool – but we were shamelessly ‘reserving’ spots for ourselves each day by taking our pool stuff and putting it on our chairs on our way to breakfast. The hotel doesn’t want you ‘reserving’ chairs overnight – but no one seemed to have any issue with staking out spots in the morning.

The beach is lovely – clean and the sand is soft. The beach is crowded though – a lot more people than I’m used to from trips to the Mayan Riviera.

Overall an enjoyable trip - we had the family vacation we were hoping for. The resort is certainly nice, but between the lower level of service (than I'm used to) and someone in our party being robbed - I can only give this a Very Good review.

Room Tip: Building 91 is great - very close to the main pool & lobby
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LKSebastian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
socialmedia b, Customer service at Luxury Bahia Principe Esmeralda Don Pablo Collection, responded to this review, 9 May 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your stay at our hotel. We sincerely appreciate your feedback. We feel good to know you had a lovely first time in Dominican Republic with your family.

I apologize for some inconveniences that you and your family have experienced and if you felt you did not received the service you deserve for some staff.

I would like to invite you once again in any of our Bahia Principe Hotels & Resorts to experience the hospitality of our people, the quality of our services and facilities.

Regards from Punta Cana!

Vianca Graciano
Bahia Principe Bavaro Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2014

we had a great experience thanks to all the staff and most of all Richard Morellis and Ricki this hotel is a great place the staff and the food are both great..The pools are all great and it is very close to the ocean.the grounds and the rooms are very very clean

Room Tip: rooms in the 90111 are closest ones to the ocean
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Terry M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
socialmedia b, Customer service at Luxury Bahia Principe Esmeralda Don Pablo Collection, responded to this review, 8 May 2014
Dear Terry,

First of all thank you for choosing Bahia Principe Hotels & Resorts for your holiday destination in Punta Cana. We feel proud to read that you enjoyed a great vacation with us.

We hope to cater you once again in this tropical paradise!

Kind regards,

Vianca Graciano
Bahia Principe Bavaro Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2014

My wife and I, along with our 10-year-old daughter, recently spent a week at the Luxury Bahia Principe Esmeralda in Punta Cana. We have been to several all-inclusive resorts in Mexico, Cuba, The Bahamas, and Saint Martin, and I must say, this resort outranks them all.

Everything about this resort is just right. It's a short 30 minute drive from the airport. It's located on the best beach we've ever seen. The hotel itself is modern and exceptionally clean. This hotel is, by far, the cleanest we've ever stayed at. The food is great. The service is fantastic. And the staff are both friendly and professional.

If you're thinking about going to Punta Cana, you should seriously consider choosing this hotel. Finally, a hotel where you don't have to get up at the crack of dawn to get a chair on the beach. There are plenty of chairs at this resort, most of which are located underneath much appreciated palapas. I took a long walk along the beach and was surprised to see that many of the neighbouring hotels not only lacked sufficient chairs for their guests, but they also failed to provide any shade whatsoever for the chairs they did provide. This is our first time going to a resort and not having to worry about the beach chair thing. Thank you to the management of Luxury Bahia for realizing the importance of providing a plenitude of chairs and shade for their guests. Not having to worry about securing beach chairs really does make you trip that much more enjoyable.

As other guests have noted, the one fault this hotel does have is its check-in process. When you arrive at the hotel, there is very little communication, and you're simply told to take a seat in a nearby lobby area. We have no problem if our room isn't ready upon our arrival, but please tell us that so we don't just sit there not knowing what is going on.

Apart from the check-in process, this hotel really is superb. Don't let your first impression of this hotel (the check-in) fool you. Once you actually get checked in, you'll see this hotel for what it really is: an exceptionally well-run resort whose service and cleanliness is second to none. There's a reason why so many of the guests at this hotel are repeat customers. After many years of plying the waters of the Caribbean Sea, we've finally found our home. See you next year Luxury Bahia Principe Esmeralda.

Room Tip: If possible, try to get a room that doesn't adjoin another room. The walls are thin, and the ad...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Andrew M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
socialmedia b, Customer service at Luxury Bahia Principe Esmeralda Don Pablo Collection, responded to this review, 8 May 2014
Dear Andrew,

Our Luxury Bahia Principe Esmeralda family is very happy to hear that you spent an excellent week, not only because of our superb service, but also because of the best beach in the area and the amount of chairs provide to our guests. We pride ourselves to see that you finally found your second home in the Caribbean; Luxury Bahia Principe Esmeralda.

Receive cordial greetings from the Dominican Republic!

Vianca Graciano
Bahia Principe Bavaro Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Punta Cana hotels
16.2 mi away
AlSol Tiara Cap Cana
AlSol Tiara Cap Cana
#24 of 110 in Punta Cana
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,629 reviews
18.3 mi away
Alsol Del Mar
Alsol Del Mar
#42 of 110 in Punta Cana
4.5 of 5 bubbles 910 reviews
0.2 mi away
Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Blue Don Pablo Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Green Don Pablo Collection
0.2 mi away
Luxury Bahia Principe Fantasia Don Pablo Collection
3.1 mi away
Grand Palladium Palace Resort Spa & Casino
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Luxury Bahia Principe Esmeralda Don Pablo Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Luxury Bahia Principe Esmeralda Don Pablo Collection

Property: Luxury Bahia Principe Esmeralda Don Pablo Collection
Address: Crta. Arena Gorda - Macao, Punta Cana, Dominican Republic
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > La Altagracia Province > Punta Cana
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Punta Cana
#7 Family Hotel in Punta Cana
#25 Top resorts Hotel in Punta Cana
#27 Spa Hotel in Punta Cana
#29 Luxury Hotel in Punta Cana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Luxury Bahia Principe Esmeralda Don Pablo Collection 4*
Number of rooms: 570
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Facilities and services 2 Pools Sun terrace 4 Jacuzzis Sun umbrellas and loungers Beach and pool towel service BAHIA SPA (additional charge) Sports facilities: gym, 3 tennis courts, 1 padel tennis court (additional charge), multi-sports court Water activity centre Motorised water sports (additional charge) WiFi access in the lobby (free) and in rooms (additional charge) Entertainment amphitheatre 2 buffet restaurants 3 speciality restaurants 3 Bars 1 Snack- bar Wedding gazebo Punta Blanca Golf Club: 18 hole Punta Blanca Golf Club, designed by Nick Price (additional charge) Pueblo Principe: Shopping and Leisure Mall with local craft stores, live music, shows, stores, bars, karaoke, disco and casino. Rooms, 570 Deluxe Junior Suite Room facilities: King size bed or two full size beds Air conditioning Ceiling fan Sitting area with sofa Terrace Fully-equipped bathroom with hydromassage bath tub and separate shower, hair dryer and magnifying mirror Bathrobe and slippers VIP amenities Radio-alarm clock Flat screen satellite TV Coffee-making facilities Ironing set Pillow menu Umbrella 24 hour room service Minibar WiFi Other services Medical service (additional charge) Pharmacy (additional charge) Specialised service for organising weddings, incentive trips, events and anniversaries Personalised menus (for celiacs, diabetics, etc.) Available on request ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, TravelUp, Ebookers, Odigeo, Agoda and HotelsClick so you can book your Luxury Bahia Principe Esmeralda Don Pablo Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gran Bahia Principe Esmeralda Hotel Punta Cana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing