We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel & awesome resort complex!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Luxury Bahia Principe Esmeralda Don Pablo Collection
Ranked #33 of 112 Hotels in Punta Cana
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 May 2014

My adult family (8 of us total- my parents, 2 brothers in law, 2 sisters and my husband and me) stayed at this resort in March 2013, (the review won't let me post any earlier than June!) and it was great. The year before we all went to the Barcelo Maya Palace Deluxe in Riviera Maya, which was much larger (the lobby & bar areas especially), so all of us were initially unsure of the Esmeralda. The lobby felt small (which sounds silly, but it kind of sets the stage for the rest of the resort) & it seemed like it catered to an older crowd. While the whole "scene" at the resort definitely was a bit of an older crowd (which was expected to an extent), we ended up really enjoying our stay there. We walked around to the other resorts in the Bahia complex and spent time at other restaurants and pools which made it really fun. The restaurants were decent, about what you'd expect from an All-Inclusive, and the service was excellent. We liked walking to and spending time at other hotels in the complex, it made everything feel fresh and new, but we are all very active and generally like to exercise (and walk a lot) on trips. You can't go wrong with a Gran Bahia resort, they do a great job & the complexes are always so huge that you're sure to find "your spot" at the pool/beach/etc. Sometimes it just takes a day or 2 to explore and figure it out a bit. I would recommend this place to friends, it was a great family vacation & special time to travel together before we all have kids! :)

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank kklammer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
socialmedia b, Customer service at Luxury Bahia Principe Esmeralda Don Pablo Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 12 May 2014

Dear Client,

Guest experiences are the key ingredient to assist us with elevating our services and standards. Your review represent us a challenge to continue striving toward excellence.

It is a pleasure for all of us to hear that we could fulfill your expectations during your stay and you really enjoyed your vacation here. Thank you very much for recommend this place to friends!!!!!

Family holidays with Bahia Principe Hotels & Resorts!!!!!

Vianca Graciano
Bahia Principe Bavaro Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (7,104)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,590 - 2,596 of 7,104 reviews

Reviewed 11 May 2014

6 high school girlfriends in our mid forties had a fabulous time at Esmeralda! The room was spacious and very clean. The bathrooms were a nice size with a jacuzzi tub & a separate huge shower. Also, double sinks which was very convenient. We were in room 95102, it was on the second floor overlooking one of the pools. It was awesome & at night the pool would light up! You are very close to pools, lobby, buffet, and beach in building 95 but any building in Esmeralda is a great location. Check in was great. Your bus drops you off at the Punta Cana resort & from there a tram takes you to Esmeralda. We arrived to smiling faces and a lady offering us a delicious frozen drink. We sat at a table enjoying our drink and in about 5 minutes a man came to us with envelopes containing our bracelets and room keys. That was check in!!! There was no lining up at a check in desk, no long waits, just a perfect start to our perfect holiday. The food was delicious & so were the drinks, especially at the lobby bar. The service was excellent, everyone was so friendly. The beach area was beautiful with no shortage of chairs and shade. This place will not disappoint. Thank you Esmeralda for giving 6 girlfriends the best holiday!!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Regina S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
socialmedia b, Customer service at Luxury Bahia Principe Esmeralda Don Pablo Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 12 May 2014

Dear Regina,

First of all thank you for choosing Bahia Principe Hotels & Resorts for your holiday destination to spend an amazing vacation with girlfriends at Luxury Bahia Principe Esmeralda. We feel proud to read that you enjoyed your welcome check in and also the delicious food and drinks.

We hope to cater you once again in this tropical paradise!

Kind regards,

Vianca Graciano
Bahia Principe Bavaro Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2014

We stayed in Esmeralda for 2 weeks and there was not a small thing to complain about. The entire vacation was just perfect, the location was beyond our expectations, the staff was very nice and helpfull all the time smiling and ofering to help you without waiting any tips as some of the reviewer said... We would like to mention Victor and Jouleyda, they were both our buttlers and they were so nice, helpfull, hardworking, reliable and we really enjoyed every minute we spent talking with them. We also want to thank Ramon who was also so nice and helfull.
For those who had complaints in the previous reviews regarding anything concerning the location, the staff, the food, i must say that you people have a problem, the food was always so fresh, those with stomachake our advise is to drink less and eat less as during our 2 weeks we saw many people getting drunk and eating like a lot, so this must be the reason for getting sick and blaming after the resort.
Regarding the complain about the tips, this is not true, people behaved the same as per our experience.
Regarding the fact that the resort is too huge and you might get lost this is crazy, you have directional signs everywhere and it is a real pleasure to walk in the night in the resort, we have been walking everywhere.
Regarding the language barriere, people, there is not a problem as everybody understands basic english, even the maids.
Regarding the sunbeds, you have plenty of them even if you wake up at noon, of course you wont get any of them in the first, second or maybe third row, but there are many of them in the rest of the beach.
Because of the many people who wrote bad reviews about the above, we came in the resort with many doubts, but after checking everything with our own eyes, we saw that things are totally different.
We also advise the noisy and uneducated people to stay at home as you disturb the rest of the people with your annoying behaviour.
To conclude, we had a great time at Esmeralda, we will return again, hopefully soon and we kindly recommend it to all people that want to spend quality time in paradise!

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Mihailescu R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
socialmedia b, Customer service at Luxury Bahia Principe Esmeralda Don Pablo Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 11 May 2014

Dear client,

We greatly appreciate that you have chosen our special Luxury Bahia Principe Esmeralda as your holiday destination.

I would like to thank you for recommending us to people that want to be in Paradise, sharing your experience and give other reviewers some tips. Also for highlighting our fantastic personnel. Please be assured that your nice comments will be forwarded to your butler Victor and Yuleyda, who will be happy to know that they were so helpful and nice with you!!

All-inclusive luxury hotels on the Dominican Republic with Bahia Principe Hotels & Resorts

Vianca Graciano
Bahia Principe Bavaro Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2014

Staff made our 30th anniversary memorable. Pools and beaches were fantastic. Room was large and comfortable. We booked through allinclusiveoutlet.com and had no hassles with booking transfers from airport and our stay at the hotel. Was a trip we will never forget. Para-sailing was fun and affordable. I thought it would be scary but it wasn't at all.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Phil H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
socialmedia b, Customer service at Luxury Bahia Principe Esmeralda Don Pablo Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 11 May 2014

Dear Phil,

Please allow us to reassure that we are feel proud to know that we exceed your expectations during your wedding anniversary. It is wonderful to know that you will never forget this experience and trip.

Looking forward to seeing you soon at Bahia Principe Hotels & Resorts, your best hotel.

Vianca Graciano
Bahia Principe Bavaro Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2014

15 people traveling in my group from ages 18-60 great time for all! The beach is beautiful and the pools were refreshing! The room was very accommodating and comes with a butler for all your needs! Jacuzzi tub in the bathroom. Suggestion. Make your dinner reservations as soon as you arrive as the rest fill up quickly.

Room Tip: Bldg 90 is the closest to the pool and the beach great location.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cafjwf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
socialmedia b, Customer service at Luxury Bahia Principe Esmeralda Don Pablo Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 11 May 2014

Dear client,

It is a pleasure and a great compliment to know that you and the entire group experienced an awesome trip in Punta Cana. Thank you very much for this great comment.

Bahia Principe Hotels & Resorts, all-inclusive hotels for your holidays in the Dominican Republic.

Vianca Graciano
Bahia Principe Bavaro Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2014

Really enjoyed our 4th stay at the Gran Bahia and especially in Esmeralda. A special thanks to Victor the butler who was incredible. If you take care of your butler he'll take good care of you.
Also great service from Ismel and Juan-Luis in the restaurants but all servers were great.
My 4th time here and I will return again some day.

Room Tip: If you are in Esmeralda any room is good and close , maybe better on 2nd or 3nd floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Dan44944
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
socialmedia b, Customer service at Luxury Bahia Principe Esmeralda Don Pablo Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 10 May 2014

Dear Dan,

Thank you for acknowledging our friendly staff, especially Victor and Juan Luis, who will be very happy to learn that they were able to contribute in creating a great vacation with your friends.

I would like to welcome you at Luxury Bahia Principe Esmeralda for fifth time to experience again the hospitality of our people, the quality of our services and facilities.

Bahia Principe Hotels & Resorts, your best hotel in Punta Cana

Vianca Graciano
Bahia Principe Bavaro Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2014

My family and I spent a week at the Bahia Principe Esmerelda at the end of March and we had a really nice time! This trip was our first to the Dominican Republic and we were looking for a nice resort for a family vacation that included ours (3) and my sister’s family (5).

The Esmerelda is one resort on the larger Bahia Principe property. A major plus for the Esmerelda is that it is smaller and compact – everything is really easy to get to. The other hotels on the property are HUGE in comparison. From our room in Building 91 at the Esmerelda, we could literally get to everything in under 2 minutes (lobby, pool, restaurants, beach). The tram system is handy if you do want to go to other areas of the property – restaurants at the other hotels, the water park etc.

Our room was nice, not the nicest I’ve stayed in, but still nice. We had requested a room with two beds, but only got a room with a King bed and couch. It wasn’t what we had asked for, but it was ok – we travelled with our 7-yr old and the housekeeping staff made the couch up into a bed for her. The furniture was a little beat up and the room certainly broken in – but everything was functional and clean. We had housekeeping service early in the day each day and everything was always re-stocked. Word of caution – the beds are HARD. My husband couldn’t take it after two nights and slept on the couch for the bulk of our trip. Our room was on the first floor – and faced the service road at the back of the resort, but I did not find it noisy at all. We did not hear anything from the rooms around us, and the patio doors completely blocked any outside noise.

We didn’t have any issues with protecting our belongings, but my sister had some money stolen from her safe during our stay. The amount stolen was just a portion of the cash they had in their safe – so that they wouldn’t immediately notice it being gone. All you can do is be as vigilant as possible with your belongings – keep everything (even medications and electronics) locked in the safe when you are not in the room, keep your patio/balcony door locked and make sure your room door is completely closed when you go out.

We ate breakfast and the majority of our dinners at the Jasmin buffet. I found the selection and quality of food good. There was always enough to choose from to accommodate the variety of tastes in our group (4 adults, 4 children). The kids particularly chocolate fountain dessert bar! The snack bar next to the beach was just great for lunch! The open-air environment was really enjoyable, we could just go in our swimsuits and cover-ups.

The service in any of the restaurants was just so-so. In a lot of cases we would be seated at tables that weren’t entirely set – something was always missing and getting someone’s attention to bring what was needed was difficult. My impression of the staff was that they were polite, but un-interested – everyone was nice, but no one went out of their way to take care of us. Very different from my experiences in Mexico.

We tried the Bella Italia a la carte at the Esmerelda - and I wouldn’t recommend it. The menu was very limited and the food wasn’t very good at all. We didn’t even stay for the dessert course – we just went to the Jasmin. I would recommend the Maiko restaurant on the Bavaro resort – we had a great meal there. Everyone really enjoyed it! My sister e-mailed the resort with requests for a la carte reservations the week before we arrived, and we had no trouble getting booked.

We loved the main pool at the Esmerelda – it has a beach entry, which was perfect for the kids (ranging in age from 1-7). We never had difficulty getting chairs by the pool – but we were shamelessly ‘reserving’ spots for ourselves each day by taking our pool stuff and putting it on our chairs on our way to breakfast. The hotel doesn’t want you ‘reserving’ chairs overnight – but no one seemed to have any issue with staking out spots in the morning.

The beach is lovely – clean and the sand is soft. The beach is crowded though – a lot more people than I’m used to from trips to the Mayan Riviera.

Overall an enjoyable trip - we had the family vacation we were hoping for. The resort is certainly nice, but between the lower level of service (than I'm used to) and someone in our party being robbed - I can only give this a Very Good review.

Room Tip: Building 91 is great - very close to the main pool & lobby
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LKSebastian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
socialmedia b, Customer service at Luxury Bahia Principe Esmeralda Don Pablo Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 9 May 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your stay at our hotel. We sincerely appreciate your feedback. We feel good to know you had a lovely first time in Dominican Republic with your family.

I apologize for some inconveniences that you and your family have experienced and if you felt you did not received the service you deserve for some staff.

I would like to invite you once again in any of our Bahia Principe Hotels & Resorts to experience the hospitality of our people, the quality of our services and facilities.

Regards from Punta Cana!

Vianca Graciano
Bahia Principe Bavaro Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Punta Cana hotels
18.4 mi away
Alsol Del Mar
Alsol Del Mar
#44 of 112 in Punta Cana
977 reviews
16.2 mi away
AlSol Tiara Cap Cana
AlSol Tiara Cap Cana
#23 of 112 in Punta Cana
1,936 reviews
0.3 mi away
Luxury Bahia Principe Fantasia Don Pablo Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Green Don Pablo Collection
16.1 mi away
Alsol Luxury Village
Alsol Luxury Village
#86 of 112 in Punta Cana
3,421 reviews
0.6 mi away
Grand Bahia Principe Turquesa
Grand Bahia Principe Turquesa
#63 of 112 in Punta Cana
2,241 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Luxury Bahia Principe Esmeralda Don Pablo Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Luxury Bahia Principe Esmeralda Don Pablo Collection

Address: Crta. Arena Gorda - Macao, Punta Cana, Dominican Republic
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > La Altagracia Province > Punta Cana
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Punta Cana
#7 Family Hotel in Punta Cana
#29 Top resorts Hotel in Punta Cana
#29 Spa Hotel in Punta Cana
#32 Luxury Hotel in Punta Cana
Price Range: £122 - £362 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Luxury Bahia Principe Esmeralda Don Pablo Collection 4*
Number of rooms: 570
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Facilities and services 2 Pools Sun terrace 4 Jacuzzis Sun umbrellas and loungers Beach and pool towel service BAHIA SPA (additional charge) Sports facilities: gym, 3 tennis courts, 1 padel tennis court (additional charge), multi-sports court Water activity centre Motorised water sports (additional charge) WiFi access in the lobby (free) and in rooms (free of charge) Entertainment amphitheatre 2 buffet restaurants 3 speciality restaurants 3 Bars 1 Snack- bar Wedding gazebo Punta Blanca Golf Club: 18 hole Punta Blanca Golf Club, designed by Nick Price (additional charge) Pueblo Principe: Shopping and Leisure Mall with local craft stores, live music, shows, stores, bars, karaoke, disco and casino. Rooms, 570 Deluxe Junior Suite Room facilities: King size bed or two full size beds Air conditioning Ceiling fan Sitting area with sofa Terrace Fully-equipped bathroom with hydromassage bath tub and separate shower, hair dryer and magnifying mirror Bathrobe and slippers VIP amenities Radio-alarm clock Flat screen satellite TV Coffee-making facilities Ironing set Pillow menu Umbrella 24 hour room service Minibar WiFi (free of charge) Other services Medical service (additional charge) Pharmacy (additional charge) Specialised service for organising weddings, incentive trips, events and anniversaries Personalised menus (for celiacs, diabetics, etc.) Available on request ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Booking.com, LoveHolidays, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Luxury Bahia Principe Esmeralda Don Pablo Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gran Bahia Principe Esmeralda Hotel Punta Cana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing