We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Had a wonderful time at the Esmeralda! Would go back!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Luxury Bahia Principe Esmeralda Don Pablo Collection
Ranked #30 of 111 Hotels in Punta Cana
Certificate of Excellence
Canada
Level Contributor
27 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Had a wonderful time at the Esmeralda! Would go back!”
Reviewed 17 June 2014

We loved our vacations at this resort!

The hotel is very clean. I love the fact that this is a small property inside a HUGE resort. As you have access to all the 3 other Bahias, you have many dining options. You will find several pools throughout the resorts. As we stayed at the Esmeralda, we didn't had a limit on the a la carte restaurant, that was great as you only get 3 or 4 a la carte when you stay at the PUNTA CANA or BAVARO. The buffets as well as the all la carte restaurant are very good, the food was well cooked and well presented. The Tapenyaki Restaurant was delicious.

The Bahia Punta Cana or Bahia Bavaro is a bit too big for us, but we found the size of the Esmeralda just perfect! The 2 pools are beautiful and not too crowded. We enjoyed the Adult Only Jacuzzi. Swim up bar are well located.

There is not many things to do at this at the Esmeralda at night, but a short 2 minutes shuttle drive and you'll be at the lobby of the Bahia Punta Cana, all the action at night is there, and it's great! The Michael Jackson show is very good. the casino is small but funny, there is a show at 9 pm and another one at the market area at 11pm.

The local Rum (Brugal & Barcelo) are excellent and the local beer (Presidente) is one of my favorite in the Caribbean.

The beach is AWESOME, one of the best. It is however VERY crowded. Be advised, thousands of people are walking in front of the resorts on Bavaro beach, but I personally loved it! We did not had problems getting chairs in the morning around 9am.

Bottom line; Nice all-inclusive hotel for all kind of travelers! We would go back again for sure!

Tips: All the rooms are great! It's all junior suite. But request a Higher floor and a building close to the beach, you may get an ocean view!

Room Tip: Tips: All the rooms are great! It's all junior suite. But request a Higher floor and a building...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marco G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Viancagraciano, Customer service at Luxury Bahia Principe Esmeralda Don Pablo Collection, responded to this review, 18 June 2014
Dear Marco,

I do not know how to thank you for this kind of comments. Posts such as yours delight us and gives us confidence to keep working hard to satisfy our customers and improve our service.

It is a pleasure to know that you had a great vacation with us, thank you for highlighting our clean Hotel, good a la carte Restaurants and all that you mentioned.

We would like to welcome you next year for another relaxing week at Dominican Republic and continue providing the greatest experiences.

Just be yourself all the time and you are going to be happy!!!!

Have a beautiful day :)

Aynes de la Cruz
Bahia Principe Bavaro Resor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

6,623 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    4,372
    1,397
    550
    175
    129
See reviews for
2,552
2,755
73
28
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,519)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Thornhill, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 June 2014

Stayed June 05-12, family of 5, including an infant and a senior.
I cannot have enough words, everything was just amazing. Rooms were ready for us when we got there around 12pm. Check-in was extremely fast and we had the baby crib already in the room as promised. The grounds are just amazing, they take care of every detail, every day. We only went to Jasmine buffet, which was just fantastic. Food was fresh, diverse, we had everything we needed and more. All staff was great, from reception, restaurant, housekeeping...

Room Tip: we had connected rooms 92202 and 92203. Great rooms!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dan_Fasie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Viancagraciano, Customer service at Luxury Bahia Principe Esmeralda Don Pablo Collection, responded to this review, 18 June 2014
Dear Guest,

It is real pleasure to know that you had a fantastic vacation with your family, thank you for highlighting our beautiful grounds, excellent Buffet.

We feel very happy to read that they did everything possible for make your vacation unforgettable.

Bahia Principe Hotels & Resorts, all-inclusive hotels in Punta Cana

Have a great day!!!

The best way to make your dreams come true is to wake up :)

Aynes de la Cruz
Bahia Principe Bavaro Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2014

I stayed at this property last week. Hotel is beautiful, rooms large and very nice. It is so spread out with 4 hotels. Shuttles run but not that frequently. Food was so so. Reservations for ala carte restaurants you must make early. Beach is gorgeous but was crowded.

Room Tip: 900 rooms are closest to the beach!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Trvlgrl0928
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Viancagraciano, Customer service at Luxury Bahia Principe Esmeralda Don Pablo Collection, responded to this review, 18 June 2014
Dear Guest,

It is good to know that you had a good time with us, thank you for highlighting our gorgeous beach.

I feel glad to know that you find some aspects worth mentioning, are going to be taken in highest consideration.

Bahia Principe Hotels & Resorts, all-inclusive hotels in Punta Cana

Have a great day!!!

The best way to make your dreams come true is to wake up :)

Aynes de la Cruz
Bahia Principe Bavaro Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2014

We spent two weeks at the Grand Bahia - Esmeralda. We had a great experience and recomment this resort for anyone looking for a quite, peaceful place.
Joangel was our butler and he was amazing! He was very attentive and always checked on us to make sure we had every thing we needed. He is definitely a great asset to this resort.
The bellboy - Jose - was extremely helpful and always available to help us.
The only downside is that a lot of the staff did not speak English - we tried to order room service late one night and could not because the gentleman on the phone did not speak English and could not understand our order.

Room Tip: Sections 90-91 and 93 were great - close to the pools and the beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Melanie1483
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Viancagraciano, Customer service at Luxury Bahia Principe Esmeralda Don Pablo Collection, responded to this review, 18 June 2014
Dear Melanie,

It is a pleasure to read that you spent a great vacation with us. Thank you for highlighting our fantastic staff, specially Joangel your amazing butler and Jose, they going to be very happy with your good comments.

We apologize for the impression you could perceive for the language barrier with some of our staff members. We assured you that we continuously work with our Human Resources and Quality departments to reinforce the training of our personnel. We strongly believe that our guest’s satisfaction depends of their daily performance.

Bahia Principe Hotels & Resorts, your best hotel in Punta Cana

Everyone wants happiness without pain, but you cant have a rainbow without a little rain!!!

Have a beautiful day!!

Aynes de la Cruz
Bahia Principe Bavaro Resort.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Picton, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 June 2014

Our fifth trip to Punta Cana; the first time at The Esmerelda. This resort goes above and beyond expectation. The staff are wonderful and most speak English well. The waiters in the restaurant are the best anywhere - each day we felt as though we had just made a new friend. The entire complex is very well kept and exceptionally clean. Next year we shall try to make it a two week trip - one is not enough!!

Room Tip: Try for a poolside room. This will be close to all the other facilities. Be aware that there are n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank skyer955
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Viancagraciano, Customer service at Luxury Bahia Principe Esmeralda Don Pablo Collection, responded to this review, 18 June 2014
Dear Skyer,

It is a really pleasure to know that had a amazing vacation with us, thank you for highlighting our wonderful staff, clean resort and all that you mentioned.

We invite you once again at Dominican Republic at our Luxury Bahia Principe Esmeralda to experience the hospitality of our people, the quality of our services and facilities.

The life is fun enjoy it!!!

Aynes de la Cruz
Bahia Principe Bavaro Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Markham, Ontario
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2014

My boyfriend and I in our late 20's stayed at Esmeralda last week. I don't agree with a lot of the negative reviews! This resort was beautiful, well kept, and a great place to stay.

Room: The bed was hard but not as hard as I thought it would be. I slept like a baby every night. The room was very spacious and had a couch and table. The bathroom was very big and clean. Jacuzzi tub was perfect. The A/C could have been a bit better but we got used to it after the second night. I didn't hear much noise being on the ground floor. We stayed in building 94 near the lobby and loved the location.

Food: So many options!! Never had a problem finding something we liked. We booked our a la cartes via email a week before so everything was ready for us. Room service 24 hours!! We ordered room service at least once a day.
Garden Grill - steak here was not bad.
Takara - this was my favourite! got the mixed tepanyaki and loved it.
The Don Pablo - filet mignon was really good. Appetizers were okay. Dessert was delicious!
Bella Italia - really good.. large portions. no complaints!
Drinks were good.. not watered down. Except for the pepsi.. really wanted some that wasnt mixed with water.

Entertainment: There wasn't much at Esmeralda.. we didn't really check out what was going on at Punta Cana or Bavaro or Ambar.. I would prefer staying at a smaller resort where everything is close by. I'm sure the entertainment was great though wherever it was.

Excursions: AMAZING!!! Snorkeled with sharks/stingrays and loved it!! Parasailing was amazing. All the excursions are great.

As for the language barrier.. most of the staff spoke english and if they didn't understand they just asked someone else to help so it wasn't a problem at all.

TO THE PEOPLE WHO FOUND OUR UNDERWATER DIGITAL CAMERA IN THE OCEAN AND RETURNED IT TO US 30 MINUTES BEFORE WE LEFT THANK U THANK U THANK U!!!!!!!!!

I don't think I'd stay here again as I would like a smaller resort but I would definitely recommend others to stay here.

Room Tip: Building 94 close to the pools and adults only jacuzzi..close to lobby and restaurants. I liked this...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Reen1986
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Viancagraciano, Customer service at Luxury Bahia Principe Esmeralda Don Pablo Collection, responded to this review, 18 June 2014
Dear Reen,

It is a pleasure to read that you enjoyed a great relaxing week. Thank you for mentioning our friendly staff, good Restaurants and good food selection.

We are glad to know there were some aspects that you think worth mentioning, be assured that are going to be taken in highest consideration.

For all of us it is a real pleasure to know that you enjoyed your amazing excurtions.

One more time thank you for recomending us with your friends.

Have a beautiful day!!!!

Aynes de la Cruz
Bahia Principe Bavaro Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
39 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2014

This property is a beautiful place. It is about 4 resorts in one. A lot of walking if you want to see all that they have to offer. The beach on this location is AMAZING. The pools are nice but very warm temperature given the sun is alwAys out. The drinks/cocktails are one of the worst I have tasted. The drinks were cheap as can be. The food could have been better but it was definitely edible. The customer service was OK, I have had better service on other vacations. My favorite part of the resort was the beautiful beach. If I were to return to Punta Cana I would probably stay somewhere else just to see a different resort.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Yesenia217
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Viancagraciano, Customer service at Luxury Bahia Principe Esmeralda Don Pablo Collection, responded to this review, 18 June 2014
Dear Yesenia,

Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your experience at our Hotel. We regret not having been able to achieve our main objective with you, which is our guests´ entire satisfaction. Please be assured that your observations have been taken in the highest consideration.

Thank you for highlighting our beautiful beach.

Kind regards,

Aynes de la Cruz
Bahia Principe aávaro Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Punta Cana hotels
16.2 mi away
AlSol Tiara Cap Cana
AlSol Tiara Cap Cana
#24 of 111 in Punta Cana
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,708 reviews
18.4 mi away
Alsol Del Mar
Alsol Del Mar
#46 of 111 in Punta Cana
4.5 of 5 bubbles 935 reviews
0.3 mi away
Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Green Don Pablo Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Blue Don Pablo Collection
0.2 mi away
Luxury Bahia Principe Fantasia Don Pablo Collection
3.1 mi away
Grand Palladium Palace Resort Spa & Casino
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Luxury Bahia Principe Esmeralda Don Pablo Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Luxury Bahia Principe Esmeralda Don Pablo Collection

Property: Luxury Bahia Principe Esmeralda Don Pablo Collection
Address: Crta. Arena Gorda - Macao, Punta Cana, Dominican Republic
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > La Altagracia Province > Punta Cana
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Punta Cana
#7 Family Hotel in Punta Cana
#26 Top resorts Hotel in Punta Cana
#27 Spa Hotel in Punta Cana
#29 Luxury Hotel in Punta Cana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Luxury Bahia Principe Esmeralda Don Pablo Collection 4*
Number of rooms: 570
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Facilities and services 2 Pools Sun terrace 4 Jacuzzis Sun umbrellas and loungers Beach and pool towel service BAHIA SPA (additional charge) Sports facilities: gym, 3 tennis courts, 1 padel tennis court (additional charge), multi-sports court Water activity centre Motorised water sports (additional charge) WiFi access in the lobby (free) and in rooms (additional charge) Entertainment amphitheatre 2 buffet restaurants 3 speciality restaurants 3 Bars 1 Snack- bar Wedding gazebo Punta Blanca Golf Club: 18 hole Punta Blanca Golf Club, designed by Nick Price (additional charge) Pueblo Principe: Shopping and Leisure Mall with local craft stores, live music, shows, stores, bars, karaoke, disco and casino. Rooms, 570 Deluxe Junior Suite Room facilities: King size bed or two full size beds Air conditioning Ceiling fan Sitting area with sofa Terrace Fully-equipped bathroom with hydromassage bath tub and separate shower, hair dryer and magnifying mirror Bathrobe and slippers VIP amenities Radio-alarm clock Flat screen satellite TV Coffee-making facilities Ironing set Pillow menu Umbrella 24 hour room service Minibar WiFi Other services Medical service (additional charge) Pharmacy (additional charge) Specialised service for organising weddings, incentive trips, events and anniversaries Personalised menus (for celiacs, diabetics, etc.) Available on request ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TravelUp, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Luxury Bahia Principe Esmeralda Don Pablo Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gran Bahia Principe Esmeralda Hotel Punta Cana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing