We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Luxury Bahia Principe Esmeralda Don Pablo Collection
Ranked #32 of 112 Hotels in Punta Cana
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 August 2014

Spent two weeks from 1st to 15th of July in this beautiful resort. Being at Caribbean is always great pleasure but this hotel was really amazing! It’s located about 25 minutes bus ride from the airport and few minutes after the welcome cocktail in we were in our luxury room.
Resort was beautiful and very well maintained. They are putting big emphasis to the cleanliness of the resort and we were more than satisfied with that.

We got a room on the ground level in building #91, opposite the pool side and I recommend this kind of room to everyone who wants to be close to everything, to avoid stairwell and also to avoid noise from the pool. Rooms are great size and everything there was in perfect order. Maids cleaned every day and very diligently.

Food was probably the best thing in this hotel. There was plenty of choices for everybody and if you are on a diet, don’t go to this hotel! ☺ No experiences with the A la card restaurants as we enjoyed going in one of their two Buffets. So far here we found best selection of international and local alcohol brands. For espresso coffee lovers they don’t have good coffee machines. Instead of that there are many automatic machines installed around the resort but comparing with the quality of the coffee in other Caribbean Resorts, they need some improvement.

There are 2 big pools and one smaller with 3 big Jacuzzis. The water in the polls was warm and you have feeling like you are in a Spa! Pool Bar is good size and many tourists are enjoying it during the day.

The beach is just beyond the pool and has lots of great shadows to avoid sunburn. Even when the temperature was very high you can always feel mild wind, which will help you also to be protected from the mosquitoes; but in the same time there are always small waves at the water. Most of the time you will find some grass in the water. The staff is cleaning the beach very frequently. The Beach Bar staff was very friendly and was offering us refreshing drinks throughout the day. We spend most of our time on the beach.

The Entertainment was good but not something spectacular. They have some activities at the Beach and at the Pool. The main performances are close to Punta Cana Hotel and you have to use small trains to get there (they are very nice and frequent).

At the Lobby of the hotel you can use free Internet for 60 minutes but in case you need more time you can use their public computers.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
5  Thank Milosov
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Viancagraciano, customer service at Luxury Bahia Principe Esmeralda Don Pablo Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2014

Dear Milosov,

I am very pleased to read that you spent two amazing weeks in the Caribbean thanks to our delicious and excellent food, perfect rooms and the good pools at our Luxury Bahia Principe Esmeralda Don Pablo Collection.

We look forward to having you again at Bahia Principe Hotels & Resorts, your best hotel in Punta Cana.

Vianca Graciano
Bahia Principe Bavaro Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (7,105)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,397 - 2,403 of 7,105 reviews

Reviewed 6 August 2014

Just returned with my family of 10 from the Esmeralda, Punta Cana. We all had a great time. The food was great, a little too good actually. I am going to have to hit the gym hard to burn off the excess weight. lol.
My wife and I walked the beach to the end where the markets are. And yes they are quite pushy there, but that was ok.
The Esmeralda is a lot quieter than the Punta Cana or Bavaro side which we like. The pools are clean, the grounds spotless. Most employees seem very happy.
Would we go back, yes. The only complaint I have is the way they stocked the bar. Sometimes they stocked it, sometimes they did not. That is one thing my wife and I look forward to, sitting on the porch and having a beer together after a long day at the beach or pool.
The shows are great, a little different from the last time we saw them.
Next time we are going to upgrade to the Privileged Club.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Sam S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Viancagraciano, customer service at Luxury Bahia Principe Esmeralda Don Pablo Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2014

Dear Sam,

It is wonderful to know that you had another amazing stay with us due to our great food clean pools and the friendliness of the employees.

Please feel welcome to contact us for another trip to the Dominican Republic in order to prepare all the details for a wonderful vacation.

Bahia Principe Hotels & Resorts, a 5 star experience in Punta Cana.

Vianca Graciano
Bahia Principe Bavaro Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2014

Where do we begin..when we first arrived at the esmeralda after a 9 hour flight and after being stuck in airport for 3 hours before we leave to head to the resort we were told on bus that we would receive a welcome drink which we never received we were asked to fill out our details and then taken straight to our room ,second day of our HONEYMOON I complained about the food being cold which is clearly a problem as there is a MICROWAVE there to heat your food up which we never used but is a disaster waiting to happen because that is potential for FOOD POISONING and the next day I ended up in my bed not well for several days then my wife was in bed not well so basically the first week of our HONEYMOON was totally ruined and as my title states the second week of our HONEYMOON got even worse as when we were feeling better we had been for dinner then we went to the lobby bar for a drink and to our shock a BIG RAT came from underneath restaurant and straight behind the bar so I then reported to guest services manager,so after seeing the RAT my wife didn't want to eat anything for days after this as you could understand she ate bananas yoghurt and crisps and drank plenty water and after paying £3000 for a HONEYMOON this is totally unacceptable,we then decided to try and make the most of the rest of our HONEYMOON and booked an a la carte for the last night,we were asked to attend a meeting with the guest service manager he was very pleasant and listened to all of our complaints and concerns we were then offered a special dinner and champagne on the hotel which you normally have to pay for and we accepted the offer which turned into an even bigger disappointment as we never got to pick our special dinner it was just put down in front of us and unfortunately I'm allergic to shellfish as this special dinner was LOBSTER which my wife enjoyed and just to finish the night off the staff came over with a cake with a candle in it knowing fine well it was our HONEYMOON the cake said on it HAPPY ANNIVERSARY and they do no the difference as a lot of room doors have banners on them saying all these things so finally this hotel ain't a 5 star I think a 3 star it's like BUTLINS in the sunshine .... Huge disappointment

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Alan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Viancagraciano, customer service at Luxury Bahia Principe Esmeralda Don Pablo Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 16 August 2014

Dear Alan,

I deeply regret the situation you have described and at the same time surprised that this network is used to post such type of comments in order to make damage to the brand and at the same using this method making pressure directly to the hotel to possibly receive some benefits or advantages out of it.

Anyway, we inform you that the company that is hired directly by us “Fumicontrol” they have a strict fumigation program and they are the ones doing all this services in our hotel, allow me to inform you that they were not found any evidence or rodents. Also, I would like to inform you that the management tried by all means to make your stay better, but you did not allow them to do it, rejecting any possibility for this.

We are always at your disposal,

Vianca Graciano
Bahia Principe Bavaro Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014

We are a family of 4 (2 children 12 & 9). The first challenge was finding the right bus at the airport that would take us to the resort but with help, we finally found it. Upon arrival at the resort we were quickly informed that what we thought was our hotel was in fact the main lobby of the Bavaro part of Grand Bahia and we waited for another hotel shuttle to whisk us away to our part of the resort. We didn't mind because we got to see most of the resort during the ride. Anyhow, the Esmeralda was in fact very beautiful with well manicured gardens and many pools to choose from. The beach is literally seconds away from the rooms. The restaurants were nice and during our 10 day stay we pretty much had a chance to sample all of the A La Carte ones with the exception of those located at the Amber resort because of its Adults Only status. We also tried the buffet at dinner and we really enjoyed that too. So as far as food goes, it was thumbs up for us.
The beach as mentioned, was very close and he water was warm and there were no rocks or pebbles to contend with...just white sand...but there was a lot off seaweed floating about which discouraged the kids a bit. Also, we noticed that they were short on the organised pool/beach activities so you sort of had to "make" your own fun.
Now let's talk about the service....The afternoon we arrived, we checked in fairly quickly and then were escorted to our room by a young lady who informed us she would be our "valet" or "butler" for the duration of our stay and provided us with her card with number. We never saw or heard from her again and even when we requested additional pillows and other amenities, it took hours and in one case, almost 2 days before we were able to get some service and only after we had complained at the main lobby. Although we had daily maid service, we never had "take down" service at night even though that was part of the package. The service in the restaurants was quite good which somewhat made up for the lack of other services. As for our room itself, we were lucky as we had no issues with it. We heard from other couples that they had cockroach issues and furniture issues but even though we were on the ground floor, we had none of those so, lucky perhaps...maybe.
Overall, the weather was fantastic, the water warm, the pools clean, the bars plentiful, activities lacked a bit, food was very good, service was acceptable but could definitely use improvement. The layout was absolutely beautiful and the transportation to the other parts of the resort for shows, shopping and leisure was very good. Would I stay here again, probably not as I would love to try the Majestic or Hard Rock but value for the money paid, I'd say very good.

Room Tip: Ask for the rooms that face the pools. The scenery is nicer with lots of gardens to look at. The o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Mark B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Viancagraciano, customer service at Luxury Bahia Principe Esmeralda Don Pablo Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2014

Dear Mark,

Thank you for share this review with others on TripAdvisor. It is wonderful to read that you found this is a beautiful Resort with very good food, clean pools, and amazing beach. Posts such as yours delight us and gives us confidence to keep working hard to satisfy our customers and improve our services, be assured that your comments help us so much to see the aspects we need to be strong as you mentioned.

I invite you once again to offer you a better experience.

Regards from Punta Cana!

Vianca Graciano
Bahia Principe Bavaro Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2014

We are a family of 4, 2 kids ages 15 and 12. We stayed at the Esmeralda part of the resort. This was our 5th trip to Punta Cana, the last 4 time we had staid at IberoStar hotel which we like very much but wanted to try something diffrent. The over all experience wasnt bad, there ia alot of walking because if you stay in a room closed to the beach the you be far from the main lobby where they do the shows at night and vice versa. The food was Great, we only went to the specialty restaurant once because the buffet was so good. My complaint is the lack of activities, there was only one game at the pool and one at the beach a day, at time the kids were board and so were we. Eventhough the place is nice, Next time I would NOT return. If you are looking for a place with alot of fun for the family and over all good, Go to IVEROSTAR.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
3  Thank laznortheast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Viancagraciano, customer service at Luxury Bahia Principe Esmeralda Don Pablo Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 5 August 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your recent stay at our hotel. I sincerely appreciate your feedback.

We are pleased that you had a good experience, and you enjoyed so much the great food at the buffet. We take your observations in great consideration but it´s unfortunate that you would not return to our Resort.

Always at your disposal,

Vianca Graciano
Bahia Principe Bavaro Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2014

The service at this hotel stinks.You call the front desk for missing towels in the room, you're made to wait for 2 hours.Stains on the linens and the door to our room.In general staff seems unhappy and lets you know about it!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Ana N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Viancagraciano, customer service at Luxury Bahia Principe Esmeralda Don Pablo Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 10 August 2014

Dear Ana,

Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your experience at our Hotel. We regret that you have this idea from the staff and not having been able to achieve our main objective with you, which is our guests´ entire satisfaction. Please accept my sincerest apologies for the situation.

Kind regards,

Vianca Graciano
Bahia Principe Bavaro Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2014

I selected this resort and this location based on Tripadvisor reviews and rankings. It seems that when things go well, this resort is very attractive but when they do not, it is simply a disaster. We arrived today and there was a mix up with reservations and, based on the overall mood in the lobby, this was not the first instance when the customers' expectations not being met. After waiting for our room to be ready, we arrived to find two maintenance guys trying to fix a bed that seemed to be broken. However, they left without doing anything with a bed frame that was clearly broken. As expected, the bed collapsed. I called the front desk. My call was ignored. I found the service staff in the hall, and they tried to fix the problem. Unfortunately, at just after 10 p.m., when tired from our day of travel, we came to rest, the bed collapsed again. Then for the next two hours, we had an unbelievable experience of the hotel staff being unresponsive, rude and ignoring every request that we had. We were moved to a room that was ready for two not three people as stated in our reservation, The front desk simply did not care and did not respond to my request to get us additional bedding. I am stunned by the low standard of service and lack of care for the guests.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Service
16  Thank LvTtravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Viancagraciano, customer service at Luxury Bahia Principe Esmeralda Don Pablo Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 5 August 2014

Dear guest,

Thank you for bringing to our attention these comments.I would like to take this opportunity to extend our sincerest apologies for the inconveniences you encountered during your stay at our hotel.

We are seriously devoted to value our customer´s feedback. For this reason, we kindly ask you to contact our Guest Service Department in order to analyze the situation you pointed out and make your stay happier.

Always at your disposal,

Vianca Graciano
Bahia Principe Bavaro Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Punta Cana hotels
18.4 mi away
Alsol Del Mar
Alsol Del Mar
#44 of 112 in Punta Cana
977 reviews
16.2 mi away
AlSol Tiara Cap Cana
AlSol Tiara Cap Cana
#22 of 112 in Punta Cana
1,937 reviews
0.3 mi away
Luxury Bahia Principe Fantasia Don Pablo Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Green Don Pablo Collection
16.1 mi away
Alsol Luxury Village
Alsol Luxury Village
#86 of 112 in Punta Cana
3,421 reviews
0.6 mi away
Grand Bahia Principe Turquesa
Grand Bahia Principe Turquesa
#63 of 112 in Punta Cana
2,241 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Luxury Bahia Principe Esmeralda Don Pablo Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Luxury Bahia Principe Esmeralda Don Pablo Collection

Address: Crta. Arena Gorda - Macao, Punta Cana, Dominican Republic
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > La Altagracia Province > Punta Cana
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Punta Cana
#7 Family Hotel in Punta Cana
#28 Top resorts Hotel in Punta Cana
#29 Spa Hotel in Punta Cana
#31 Luxury Hotel in Punta Cana
Price Range: £122 - £362 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Luxury Bahia Principe Esmeralda Don Pablo Collection 4*
Number of rooms: 570
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Facilities and services 2 Pools Sun terrace 4 Jacuzzis Sun umbrellas and loungers Beach and pool towel service BAHIA SPA (additional charge) Sports facilities: gym, 3 tennis courts, 1 padel tennis court (additional charge), multi-sports court Water activity centre Motorised water sports (additional charge) WiFi access in the lobby (free) and in rooms (free of charge) Entertainment amphitheatre 2 buffet restaurants 3 speciality restaurants 3 Bars 1 Snack- bar Wedding gazebo Punta Blanca Golf Club: 18 hole Punta Blanca Golf Club, designed by Nick Price (additional charge) Pueblo Principe: Shopping and Leisure Mall with local craft stores, live music, shows, stores, bars, karaoke, disco and casino. Rooms, 570 Deluxe Junior Suite Room facilities: King size bed or two full size beds Air conditioning Ceiling fan Sitting area with sofa Terrace Fully-equipped bathroom with hydromassage bath tub and separate shower, hair dryer and magnifying mirror Bathrobe and slippers VIP amenities Radio-alarm clock Flat screen satellite TV Coffee-making facilities Ironing set Pillow menu Umbrella 24 hour room service Minibar WiFi (free of charge) Other services Medical service (additional charge) Pharmacy (additional charge) Specialised service for organising weddings, incentive trips, events and anniversaries Personalised menus (for celiacs, diabetics, etc.) Available on request ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Booking.com, LoveHolidays, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Luxury Bahia Principe Esmeralda Don Pablo Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gran Bahia Principe Esmeralda Hotel Punta Cana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing