We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A memorable....Will return very soon!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Luxury Bahia Principe Esmeralda Don Pablo Collection
Ranked #29 of 110 Hotels in Punta Cana
Certificate of Excellence
Moncton
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A memorable....Will return very soon!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 April 2010

Wow, where to begin!!! We stayed in Punta Cana from March 26th to April 2nd 2010. This was my first trip to Punta Cana and I was certainly not disappointed. My friend and I were booked for the Bahia Principe Punta (Royal Golden Club section) but found out upon arrival that we were being upgraded to the Bahia Principe Esmeralda. We were PLEASANTLY surprised with this new resort that is part of the Bahia Principe Complex but that is like a small resort within a large one. The Esmeralda come with a lot of extras (free internet, free 24 hour room service, they can prepare Jacuzzi with flowers and romantic setting, a-la-carte reservation done for you, etc). The hotel itself was super and the grounds were absolutely gorgeous. The hotel has its own reception and the check-in was done quickly and easy. All of our luggages were brought to our room for us (Thanks to Miguel!!!). We stayed on the second floor of building 93 but were not at all bothered by the construction next door. Our room was luxurious with a large king size bed, Jacuzzi, balcony and marble floors! The hotel has its private pool and restaurants; however you have access to all amenities of the Bahia Principe Complex. We always had breakfast at the Esmeralda Hotel (Jazmin Buffet) and every time Linny greeted us with a nice welcome. All of the staff at the Buffet worked very hard to make sure we were all happy and they were always polite and courteous. We tried different a-la-carte restaurants (Gourmet, El Pescador, Bella Italia, and Portofino) and all were very good. The food at this hotel was extraordinary with a lot of variety. The beach was beautiful and we were lucky to have 7 days of sunshine. There is no nightlife at the Esmeralda hotel. You need to take the little shuttle bus to see shows at the Bahia Principe Punta but that's was fine with us. The nightly shows and Disco were really nice (the animation team was awesome!). We met some super nice people at the Esmeralda and the staff was absolutely great. They were so friendly, always smiling and helpful. They all worked very hard and always went the extra mile to make your vacation wonderful. I cannot find one bad thing to say about the hotel. I would definitely highly recommend the Esmeralda hotel to anyone and I will go back again. Thanks to everyone at the Esmeralda for making my first trip to Punta Cana so enjoyable (in particular #1 Nicanor, Emmanuel, Miguel, Linny, Santo and Orlando!

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JojoMoncton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

6,525 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    4,302
    1,384
    542
    171
    126
See reviews for
2,533
2,693
73
28
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,502)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Brooklyn, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 April 2010

Reseption personnel is very friendly and helpful, the butler service is fantastic, they prepare the jacuzzy with flowers and a romantic setting. You can order the champang or wine and they send it to the room on time. The area its very nice, it has a big swiming pool, but the most nicer thing is the adult jacuzzy. The food is extraordinary, is a diferent variety of food, they also have a sea food night once a week.

Really its a fantastic hotel

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NewYorkerDominican
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, Canada
Level Contributor
27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2010

Stayed at the Esmeralda and had room 90201 which is one of two of the best rooms in the entire resort. We were right on beach with beautiful ocean views. This room or 90211 are the best rooms in the Esmeralda and I would ask if they are available on check in. This section of Bahia resort is truly a step above averything else. The service was amazing and you are entitled to unlimited a la carte restaraunts. Beautiful rooms with liquor, beer, and pop and water in fridges. We were upgraded to this section from the Royal Golden section because of being repeat guests but for a extra $280.00 p/c. I strongly advise you pay for the upgrade. Stay in building 90 if possible,closest to beach and pool. Jasmin restaraunt for breakfast and lunch is awesome. Garden Grill was my fav a la carte. Jose at swim up bar is amazing and so are all other servers at Esmeralda. Would strongly reccommend this resort to anyone. If you have any questions don't hesitate to e-mail me. PuntaCana was an amazing trip!!!!!

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Doe67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dartmouth, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2010

This was our first trip to Punta Cana and we were not disappointed with the Esmeralda. We stayed there from April 6 to April 13, 2010. The one thing that stood out from everything else was the people. So friendly, always smiling and appreciative of any tips being given to them. They work very hard for sure and should be rewarded periodically.

Things that were superb were the staff, restaurants, food, pool, service overall. There were a couple of things which we said could be better provided. In the outdoor eatery, perhaps plastic covers could be put over the bread - every time we went to get bread there were flies all over it. We thought that with the size of the resort, perhaps upon arrival, guests could be given a tour of it. We found that a lot of our time was taken up with trying to find restaurants, etc. The third thing we noted was there were only two terminals with Internet service and one of the computers was out of service. Perhaps better control over what people are doing on the computers could be overseen as we found children were on the computers doing nothing really. Most people want to check emails for messages from home and children tying up the computers this way was frustrating.

All of my comments are not meant to be negative - quite the contrary - we highly recommend the Esmeralda to anyone. If we don't state what could have been better, they will not be improved upon.

Thank you to everyone at the Esmeralda for making our first trip to Punta Cana so enjoyable. We will be back for sure!!!

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kathleen1964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burlington, ON
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2010

Our stay was fabulous! We stayed from April 2nd to April 9th. Our room was beautiful and our maid was fantastic and ensured the mini fridge was stocked daily and the room was spotless. The service from all the staff was superb. From the front desk, to guest services to all the wait staff at the bars and restaurants, everyone made our stay enjoyable. We were extrememly happy that we got our choices at the a la carte restaurants. The Japanese was great - kids loved the teppanyaki! Bella Italia was really nice - food was similar to Italian Restaurants in Toronto (ie. antipasto). If you're looking for Olive Garden/Boston Pizza type of food, this isn't for you. They incorporate a lot of fish and seafood into their dishes and it's fabulous! Their version of Tiramisu is not real Tiramisu but it was still a fabulous dessert - very creamy and light...maybe they should just call it something else though. The Garden Grill had great meat for the BBQ and we enjoyed the shrimps wrapped in bacon. The BBQ restaurant on the beach on the Bavaro/Ambar side was fantastic too. Lots of different meats to choose from and being outside at night with a nice breeze made it even better. The Jazmin Buffet was fantastic! On their Italian night and Gala night (which is Thursday) they have grilled lobster, shrimp and lamb chops - yummy! They also have cold lobster and shrimp - no seafood sauce though, they don't even know what it is, so bring your own if you can't do without. The breakfasts were amazing and the omelette station was fantastic. The snack bar by the pool is nice as well, nice selection of food and the nachos were our favourite. Loved all the drinks at all the bars, lots of sweet slushy drinks and you eventually get a tummy ache from it all but it is what it is. Daniel at the swim up bar has a heavy hand when it comes to alcohol, but we didn't complain a bit :) The only complaints were, the joining door in our room to the next room was unlocked and we had no idea so one night during our second night in, some guy walks into our room at 1am and scared the crap out of us! We waited over an hour for maintenance to come and lock the door for us. Check the door as soon as you get your room, we're lucky that nothing was taken out of our room. The only other complaint is all palapas - the ones by the pool and on the beach get taken up fast. We had to go to bed late at night or wake up at 4am to put towels on the chairs for the next day, I couldn't believe it! If I came after 6am, forget about find any chairs in shade. Mind you, once I plopped our towels down we never moved from those chairs the entire day, maybe there are some people who end up leaving and giving other the opportunity to sit under a palapa but to be honest I never saw anyone take all their belongings at all. You wouldn't believe how many palapas were empty for a greater part of the day - people are absolutely ignorant to reserve a palapa and then not even sit under it. Other than those two minor complaints, the trip was awesome. We would go back in a heartbeat and we plan on doing so again next year. You can't beat the price point of a vacation in the Dominican and the resort was definitely 5 star in the Dominican. One more thing that I thought was great, the Esmeralda offers 24 hr room service which supposedly none of the other resorts at the Gran Bahia Principe offer, really comes in handy for some late night munchies!

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank IvankaD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ontario
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2010

Moved over to Esmerelda from Gran Bahia Principe Punta Cana (extremely busy, noisy & poor service). Our Transat rep was able to get us beautiful ajoining rooms. It was much smaller & exclusive. Christian at reception checked us in quickly and his english was great. The grounds were absolutely georgeous & only 4 months old. The butler Ramone Diaz was fantastic. He helped my husband organize & create a beautiful room with balloons & rose petals for my birthday. He made sure we were comfortable & happy with our stay. Beach was even better than the Myan Riveira!
There were lots of seats to choose from around the pool area, even in the heat of the afternoon. Snack bar & buffet were incredible. So many choices, constantly refreshed and changed. "Orlando" at the pool bar was always smiling and very friendly with both adults & the kids alike. He always made sure he helped out the little ones waiting too. Jose helped him out & was always smiling. All the staff at this resort was very quick & willing to help if needed and their english was very good. Main pool was very clean and access to the beachfront was just at the other end of the pool. Bathrooms in the resort area were always clean (which was nice because they were disgusting around the pool area at the Gran Bahia Principe Punta Cana).
Maid staff were very nice & taught us some Spanish conversation.
Our first night we had to call security because there was a very drunk young woman yelling and swearing at 3:00am in the halls. They had her contained within 10 minutes!
The last day of our stay (that had been wonderful up to now)... there was a large wedding party (about 20 young people) that were so loud & obnoxious that many familes were frightened around the pool area. They were screaming, hooting, standing on the bar, wrestling & holding each other under the water around the pool swim up bar area. Their wedding coordinator had to apologize to everyone for their behaviour. The hotel staff tried to contain them, but they were very noisy. Our only complaint was that the manager said they were going to speak to them, but nothing was really done. We were glad we were going home the next day (felt sorry for those just starting their trip).
Honestly we were very happy at the Esmerelda and it was quiet until the crazy wedding party people arrived on our last day.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mcmom2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cbs
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2010

Superb accomodations, fod and hospitality. Differences in languages was a fun experience rather than a barrier. Found no significant complaint in any way. Enjoyed every single second while present. Only problem over indulged in food. Food display, choices, decor and atmosphere created by staff completed the recipe for this to happen.
A memorable trip! Will go back in a heart beat. Treasure our pics.
Submitted by Cora and Ray Rose, CBS, NL, Canada

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank raymondwrose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Punta Cana hotels
16.2 mi away
AlSol Tiara Cap Cana
AlSol Tiara Cap Cana
#23 of 110 in Punta Cana
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,679 reviews
18.4 mi away
Alsol Del Mar
Alsol Del Mar
#47 of 110 in Punta Cana
4.5 of 5 bubbles 925 reviews
0.3 mi away
Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Green Don Pablo Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Blue Don Pablo Collection
0.2 mi away
Luxury Bahia Principe Fantasia Don Pablo Collection
3.1 mi away
Grand Palladium Palace Resort Spa & Casino
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Luxury Bahia Principe Esmeralda Don Pablo Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Luxury Bahia Principe Esmeralda Don Pablo Collection

Property: Luxury Bahia Principe Esmeralda Don Pablo Collection
Address: Crta. Arena Gorda - Macao, Punta Cana, Dominican Republic
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > La Altagracia Province > Punta Cana
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Punta Cana
#7 Family Hotel in Punta Cana
#25 Top resorts Hotel in Punta Cana
#26 Spa Hotel in Punta Cana
#28 Luxury Hotel in Punta Cana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Luxury Bahia Principe Esmeralda Don Pablo Collection 4*
Number of rooms: 570
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Facilities and services 2 Pools Sun terrace 4 Jacuzzis Sun umbrellas and loungers Beach and pool towel service BAHIA SPA (additional charge) Sports facilities: gym, 3 tennis courts, 1 padel tennis court (additional charge), multi-sports court Water activity centre Motorised water sports (additional charge) WiFi access in the lobby (free) and in rooms (additional charge) Entertainment amphitheatre 2 buffet restaurants 3 speciality restaurants 3 Bars 1 Snack- bar Wedding gazebo Punta Blanca Golf Club: 18 hole Punta Blanca Golf Club, designed by Nick Price (additional charge) Pueblo Principe: Shopping and Leisure Mall with local craft stores, live music, shows, stores, bars, karaoke, disco and casino. Rooms, 570 Deluxe Junior Suite Room facilities: King size bed or two full size beds Air conditioning Ceiling fan Sitting area with sofa Terrace Fully-equipped bathroom with hydromassage bath tub and separate shower, hair dryer and magnifying mirror Bathrobe and slippers VIP amenities Radio-alarm clock Flat screen satellite TV Coffee-making facilities Ironing set Pillow menu Umbrella 24 hour room service Minibar WiFi Other services Medical service (additional charge) Pharmacy (additional charge) Specialised service for organising weddings, incentive trips, events and anniversaries Personalised menus (for celiacs, diabetics, etc.) Available on request ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelbag, Odigeo, TravelUp, Ebookers, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Luxury Bahia Principe Esmeralda Don Pablo Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gran Bahia Principe Esmeralda Hotel Punta Cana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing