We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Secrets Royal Beach Punta Cana
Ranked #7 of 112 Hotels in Punta Cana
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Calgary, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Nice place”
Reviewed 1 December 2013

really enjoyed our stay. restaurants were good, rooms were nice, and the staff were friendly. pool was large and chairs were accessible. Wind was a little strong on the beach and no reef made the ocean dangerous.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jackhains789
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelManagerSERPC, Manager at Secrets Royal Beach Punta Cana, responded to this review, 2 December 2013
Dear Jackhains:

Thank you for took your time for sharing your valuable feedback about your recent stay in Secrets Royal Beach Punta Cana. It is such a pleasure to hear that you had a nice experience with us, I have no words to express our most sincere gratitude for your comments and for choosing Now Larimar, above other hotels, for your holidays.
It would be an honour if I can meet you personally next time.

Best regards

Luis Gomez
Hotel Manager
Secrets Royal Beach Punta Cana Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

9,608 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    6,829
    1,803
    684
    190
    102
See reviews for
909
6,661
175
122
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2,538)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lancashire
Level 6 Contributor
35 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 December 2013

My husband and I stayed at Secrets Royal Beach from Nov 20th to 27th and this was our second stay at a Secrets Resort having stayed at Secrets St. James in Montego Bay, Jamaica at the beginning of the year. Having stayed at Secrets St. James, it is impossible to write a review without making a comparison between the two so forgive me for writing the review this way.

Room - Our room at the Royal Beach was spacious and clean with a lovely comfy king size bed. The let down was the TV as despite a huge amount of channels to choose from, the TV signal would be lost just as you were getting into watching a TV program. We reported this to concierge on several occasions and it wasn't fixed. I wasn't upset about that, as I didn't travel on a 9.5 hour flight to go to the Dominican Republic to watch TV, but what was irritating is that staff repeatedly ask if everything is ok and if there are any problems of the room. Caring enough to ask us is one thing, but I would have been more impressed if they actually acted on our request for it to be fixed. Having a swim-up room (room 4134) was fantastic, the temperature was between 28 and 32 degrees each day so being able to just take a dip in the pool immediately from your room was wonderful, although the pool was a little cool and could do with a little heating. Maid service was thorough but at unusual times (a couple of days she didn't come until 4pm in the afternoon when you were ready to come in and take a shower). Room facilities have everything you need. Bathroom had a great magnifying / illuminating mirror which was handy for ladies! The hairdryer seemed to be more powerful than my own (which was good given the voltage is 110 and not 220 that we are used to at home). You were given robes to use during your stay but they did not come with belts to tie them and when we asked for belts on several occasions they never arrived but we managed without them in the end. The minibar in the room has bottles of coke, sprite, fanta etc which was better than in Jamaica where they had cans. Checkout was 12pm which was good so we didn't have long to hang around until the coach came for departure. After checkout the hotel staff offered that we could return into the hotel to go and get some lunch which was nice as we have known hotels elsewhere in the world request that you stay in reception after checkout. In comparison to Secrets Jamaica, it is hard to choose as the room at Jamaica was slightly more luxurious/romantic but the swim up room made this equal for us.

Food - Plenty of choices for breakfast, lunch and evening meal. We often preferred the Riviera buffet so you could pick what you wanted but we did eat in the Mexican (which was ok) and also the Seaside Grill where the food was delicious! The rib eye steak we had cooked in front of us in the Riviera buffet restaurant melted in your mouth, it was the best steak I have had! Room service food was good and delivered quickly. I saw a review on TripAdvisor lately where someone actually complained because the hotel had handgel pumps in the restaurants and related this to norovirus. Just as in Jamaica, this is one of the few countries we have travelled to where you don't end up with diarrhoea and sickness. The fact that the hotel offer hand gel should be applauded as this is extremely good practice and shows that they care about the wellbeing of its customers, only an idiot could think otherwise!
Staff - In Comparison with Secrets Jamaica, overall the Dominican people seem much warmer and genuine. They are not tip-seeking so you don't doubt their sincerity (which we sadly did in Jamaica) but they show gratitude when you do tip them. We saw lots of people not tipping and they didn't treat anyone differently which is a good attitude. Generally we tipped Angel our barman who brought drinks down to our swim up room at $2 each time he got us a couple of drinks. This equated to roughly £5 a day and was well worth it, but he was gracious and treated people that didn't tip just the same, he was a lovely friendly guy who was genuinely eager to please! He even remembered what drinks we had each day (and he was serving a lot of people!). Another favourite member of staff was Miguel, who after chatting to him, it transpired he was a British citizen and from Garstang in Lancashire near where we live, what a small world! Occasionally the language barrier can be difficult as not all the staff speak fluent english (but pigeon english was good enough to get by) so if you are looking for a fluent english speaker ask for Miguel! He was kind enough to offer to sort out a couple of things for us including getting us a couple of floating mats for the pool (as there is a distinct lack of them here compared to Jamaica) and also arranged for a missing TV remote to be replaced. Again, he was a lovely friendly man who is eager to help and he is an asset to the management of the hotel. Overall, we tipped between $2-5 dollars at lunch and dinner depending on the service. Overall, the staff were more genuinely warm and friendlier than in Jamaica.

Grounds - The general hotel grounds were immaculate, clean and tidy. The beach was lovely, fine white sand like flour! Someone on a trip advisor review said it only comes off your feet with baby oil, ignore that as it washes off with water, as it should! Yes there was some seaweed on the beach but so what?? In comparison to Secrets Jamaica, although the beach was much bigger at Royal Beach, you could only watch the sunrise and the view out to see is not as stunning as it is in Jamaica. At Secrets Jamaica, there are gazebos jutting out from the beach into the water, jacuzzis on the beach and lots of lazy chairs to sit and gaze out to sea. Montego Bay and Punta Cana are two very different beaches and although the beach at Royal Beach was nice, Secrets Jamaica slightly has the edge where the beach and views are concerned! Secrets Jamaica was where we had our honeymoon and it was the right decision as it is a more romantic place than Royal Beach, Royal Beach has a more fun atmosphere than romantic!

General Dominican Advice - If from the UK, send a postal order to the dominican embassy before travelling to get your tourist card (as we did) and save a massive queue at the airport when you arrive. It is $20 depature tax per person on departure. The duty free shop there is as expensive as UK for perfumes and alcohol, but much cheaper for tobacco / cigarettes.

Overall Impression / Note for Luis Gomez, General Manager - Overall you have a very good 4* hotel here, it is not quite the 5* that I though Secrets St James was in Jamaica but with a little attention it could be equal. Secrets Jamaica slightly has the edge. If you care enough to ask if there is anything that needs attention in our room, care enough to ensure the staff do something about it. One night conceirge rang us (room 4134 20-27nov) and asked if there was anything that needed attention,when we told them of the problems with the TV and that we had reported it several times and no one had fixed it, they said someone would be there within 30 minutes without fail. They didn't arrive, so I telephoned them 90 minutes after the call and they said they'd chase it up again. They didn't ever come. It's not that the TV not working was a big issue, it was your staff offering to fix it and then not doing that was irritating. Your hotel is great but has a little way to go to get the 5* rating it wants!

Would we go again though? Definitely....

Room Tip: Swim up rooms are fabulous! 4314 was a great room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank StigsGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelManagerSERPC, Manager at Secrets Royal Beach Punta Cana, responded to this review, 2 December 2013
Dear StigsGirls:

Receive cordial greetings on behalf of our entire personnel , we would like to thank you for sharing your experience with us and at the same time we regret that you did not enjoy your stay fully. Comments like yours are a true inspiration to our continued pursuit of excellence in everything. We are taking care about how to continue improve the TV Signal. We regret, that above all the good experiences that you kindly express on your comments, we were not able to reach your expectations.
In regards of the setbacks presented please receive our apologies for the inconvenience of not fixing properly and on time your tv signal. We are disappointed of not acting promptly to assist you. Once again thank you, we hope to have the chance of a second visit, to exceed your expectations.

Best Regards

Luis Gomez
Hotel Manager
Secrets Royal Beach Punta Cana Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baltimore, Maryland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 December 2013

Everyone was friendly. Asked for fresh towels twice and never got them. They are stingy with the bar soap. Had one bar for shower and one for vanity that had to last all week. Communications of events were not done well. Have been to many other Secrets resorts. This one has some catching up to do to be near the others.

Room Tip: any room has a great view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank applebonk1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelManagerSERPC, Manager at Secrets Royal Beach Punta Cana, responded to this review, 3 December 2013
Dear Applebonk:

Thank you for took your time for sharing your valuable feedback about your recent stay at the Secrets Royal Beach.
We would like to thank you for sharing your experience with us and at the same time we regret that you did not enjoy your stay fully. We are disappointed of not acting promptly to assist you, with the towel problem; we are taking care about how to continue improving our services such as the events communication.
Comments like yours are a true inspiration to our continued pursuit of excellence in everything.
We are looking forward to welcome you back again.

Best regards

Luis Gomez
Hotel Manager
Secrets Royal Beach Punta Cana Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oak Ridge
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 December 2013

My husband and I spent Nov. 1-8 at this beautiful resort! Beautiful place with an amazing beach! There were plenty of activities if that's your thing but we were satisfied spending our time on the beach or around the pool. Plenty of choices for food (needed a few more venues for us snackers though!) And room service was very good and quick!
Our initial room left quite a bit to be desired with amenities missing, refrigerator not working and a leak in bathroom ceiling. BUT after reporting it and requesting a new room, staff very prompt to find us something else and send someone to show us the new room for our approval. Then the bellman moved all our baggage for us. And new room was wonderful!
The entire staff was excellent! Very helpful and eager to please! A few names I remember are Dolores Fernandez, who is an AMResorts rep, Raquel who was the hostess at one of the restaurants. We had eaten there the one night and they had an amazing creme brûlée. Our last night, we weren't dressed to eat at that restaurant but I really wanted another creme brûlée. Raquel and the matre'd had 2 delivered to our room!
All in all, great trip! (Hint about the airport: there is a $10 tax to enter the country. Since about 6 full planes landed when we did, the line to pay that tax was horrendous. Found out later, you can prepay that tax and skip the line! I will do that next time!!)

Room Tip: They have rooms that walk out to the pool but they tend to be a little noisier. Rooms on upper floor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank oakridgelady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelManagerSERPC, Manager at Secrets Royal Beach Punta Cana, responded to this review, 2 December 2013
Dear Oakridgelady:

Thank you so much for your positive feedback. I am truly delighted to read that our service team react promptly to assist you, and you enjoyed completely you vacations on your new room. I have passed on your kind comments to my colleagues specially Raquel and Dolores.
We are looking forward to welcome you back again; please feel free to contact us prior your next visit, it would be an honour if I can meet you personally for a next time.

Kind Regards,

Luis Gomez
Hotel Manager
Secrets Royal Beach Punta Cana Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chatham, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 November 2013

My partner and I just returned from 10 day stay at this hotel and highly recommend if you are thinking of going. Hotel, grounds and beach all superb. Staff all wonderful and everything they did for you was done with a smile and the words "it's my pleasure".

Room Tip: A room near the plaza can be noisy in the early evening as this is where most entertainment takes pl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gary C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelManagerSERPC, Manager at Secrets Royal Beach Punta Cana, responded to this review, 2 December 2013
Dear Gay C:

It is such a pleasure to hear that you and your husband had an ‘Excellent’ experience while visiting us. Our main goal is turning your vacations into a memorable holiday. We are delighted to receive your review on Trip Advisor, your comment confirm us we have achieved your expectations, thank you for choosing us; we most certainly look forward to your next visit.

Warm regards!

Luis Gomez
Hotel Manager
Secrets Royal Beach Punta Cana Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 November 2013

We have just returned from a week long vacation at Secrets Royal Beach and it was super excellente as the staff would say! The hotel was lovely and the surroundings were like a scene from a movie. However what really made the trip special was the fabulous entertainment team who were absolutely brilliant. Akon was super charming, very funny and brilliant at getting you involved in everything, Milky Way was a great joker and all round nice guy, Eddie Murphy - one of the best entertainment hosts we have seen and not for getting the lovely and sweet Karen! The team worked brilliantly together and managed to get us doing things we never normally would but in a fun and engaging way. It is fair to say that they made the whole holiday for us and ensured this was one of the best holidays we have ever had.

Thanks guys - you are all stars!

It is also worth mentioning all the other staff who could not have done more for us and ensured we had an all round superb time!

Lauren and Tina from England! x

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lauren-C-London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelManagerSERPC, Manager at Secrets Royal Beach Punta Cana, responded to this review, 26 December 2013
Dear Kate S:
Receive cordial greetings on behalf of the entire personnel of Secrets Royal Beach Punta Cana
Thank you very much for sharing your experience from your recent stay with us! We are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your stay. We congratulated on your behalf Akon Eddie Murphy and Milky Way helping to make your stay memorable.
It would be an honour if I can meet you personally for a next time, if that happens, do not hesitate to contact us time.
Warm regards
Luis Gomez
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Petersburg, Florida
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 November 2013

My wife and I just returned (11/26) following a great 7 day stay (Room 5235). The beach is prefect and we enjoyed a long walk each morning after breakfast. The check-in and out were as smooth as possible as reception personnel were efficient, pleasant and helpful. Indeed, that can be said of the entire staff, who without exception, were as accomodating, friendly, efficient and would do anything to enhance your stay. We found the food on the Secrets side far better than NOW, despite their a la carte choices. Having stayed at Secrets in Puerto Vallarta and Montego Bay, a great difference in the authenticity of the ethnic meals was most evident.
We had our share of grilled lobsters and saw no point in paying $32 and up for the advertised ones.
The entertainment staff are among the most talented and hard working we've seen during our 35 years of travel. We called them, " Energizer bunnies" for their endless enthusiasm and vigour.
The Barracuda bar has the very best servers there are ! Carlos, Reuben, Jefrey, Dallin and all the others.We were treated like royalty everywhere and a special "Hola" to Greisy and Marimar.
Also, all the girls and guys in La Riviera who tolerated my attempts at Spanish !
Miguel (Bar), Milky Way, Eddie Murphy - muchas gracias, mis amigos nuevos !
We hope to return one day. Thanks again, Secrets !

Room Tip: Anywhere above ground level - but who stays in their room ?
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Dave J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelManagerSERPC, Manager at Secrets Royal Beach Punta Cana, responded to this review, 2 December 2013
Dear Dave J:

Receive cordial greetings on behalf of our entire personnel , we would like to thank you for sharing your experience, I am truly delighted to read that our service team, our location, your room and your experience all together were great, is our absolute pleasure reading reviews as kind as yours.
We have congratulated all our staff especially Miguel, Milky Way, Eddie Murphy, Carlos, Ruben, Jefrey, Dallin…whose service contributed in your happiness.
We hope that we can welcome you back soon, and we can meet personally!
Best regards

Luis Gomez
Hotel Manager
Secrets Royal Beach Punta Cana Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Punta Cana hotels
3.3 mi away
Iberostar Grand Hotel Bavaro
17.0 mi away
Zoetry Agua Punta Cana
Zoetry Agua Punta Cana
#3 of 112 in Punta Cana
4,244 reviews
14.2 mi away
Breathless Punta Cana Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
The Reserve at Paradisus Punta Cana
0.1 mi away
Now Larimar Punta Cana
2.3 mi away
Paradisus Punta Cana Resort
Paradisus Punta Cana Resort
#25 of 112 in Punta Cana
12,711 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Secrets Royal Beach Punta Cana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Secrets Royal Beach Punta Cana

Property: Secrets Royal Beach Punta Cana
Address: Ave Alemania S/N | El Cortecito, Bavaro Beach, Punta Cana, Dominican Republic
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > La Altagracia Province > Punta Cana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Punta Cana
#4 Casino Hotel in Punta Cana
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Punta Cana
#7 Spa Hotel in Punta Cana
#7 Luxury Hotel in Punta Cana
#11 Romantic Hotel in Punta Cana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Secrets Royal Beach Punta Cana 4.5*
Number of rooms: 465
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally situated on the picturesque palm-studded, sugar white Playa Bavaro beach on the eastern coastline of the Dominican Republic, Secrets Royal Beach Punta Cana offers adults all the privileges of Unlimited-Luxury(R). Guests will immediately be embraced within an extraordinary environment where luxury illuminates every detail and our high level of personal service is unmatched. To ensure your romantic escape is everything you've imagined, every detail of your stay will be flawlessly provided and superbly attended to. From the fine quality linens to the daily refreshed mini bar and the unlimited premium brand beverages to the pool and beach wait service. You'll be immersed within a world of stunning architectural design coupled with resplendent views of the lush gardens, crystal-clear Caribbean Sea and dazzling swimming pools. This tranquil, romantic haven in Playa Bavaro is like nothing else you've ever experienced before. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Ebookers, Holiday Gems, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, LoveHolidays, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Secrets Royal Beach Punta Cana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Secrets Royal Beach Hotel Punta Cana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing