We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our Vacation Review”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Secrets Royal Beach Punta Cana
Ranked #8 of 113 Hotels in Punta Cana
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed 23 December 2013

We stayed at the Secrets Royal Beach from December 13-20th 2013. Overall, we had an amazing time. We enjoyed almost everything about our vacation and had very few complaints.

1. On our arrival we were greeted with champagne. Check in was very easy and they went over information regarding the resort and activities we could take part in.

2. Room- We went on the cheaper side and got a jungle view room. It was on the first floor and close to the lobby. Over-all the room was very nice and the room guest service was excellent. They cleaned the room twice a day and left towels. A couple of times we had to reuse towels because they didnt leave enough fresh ones. The bathroom was nice and large. With our room we had a patio with an outdoor hot tub. Our only complain would be that the hot tub was not as private as we would have liked as we had to use our swimsuits. There was a service road so staff walked by a lot and being in the hot tub was not private.

3. Pool/beach- The pool was beautiful and close to the beach. Due to it being winter season the pool water was cold. I wish there was a warm tub or hot tub to relax in. The lounging chairs were nice but most of them were occupied by 8am, especially the ones in the sun. The beach was absolutely beautiful and we had no problems. The staff did a great job bringing drinks to us and keeping kids away from us. The ocean was crystal clear and warm. They have plenty of chairs to use on the beach,

4. Activities/entertainment- Secrets Royal Beach has an amazing staff. They went above and beyond to entertain you and make sure you are enjoying yourself. They had plenty of activities to take part in during the day and many fun shows to watch at night. The entertainment staff was excellent. Milky Way, Akon, Fidel, and Karen all did a wonderful job making us feel welcomed. It was great getting to know them.

5. The only real disappointment was the food. They had plenty of good options but we didnt enjoy everything. The seaside grille was nice and they had great steaks and hamburgers but the fries were always cold. It was great not having to make reservations to any of the restaurants which free'd up our schedule. The restaurants were open from around 6 to 10:45. On day three my husband and I both got really sick. I was confined to my hotel room for most of the day. We cannot be positive it was the food but we both got sick after eating at one of the restaurants.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Amath88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelManagerSERPC, Manager at Secrets Royal Beach Punta Cana, responded to this reviewResponded 26 December 2013

Dear Amath88

Thank you very much for sharing your recent experience at Secrets Royal Beach Punta Cana, with all of us.

We regret that we were unable to exceed your expectations with the variety of food and meals, and deeply regret that your husband was found sick during the stay.

We are glad that despite this small problem, you could enjoy your holiday with us, and the beach, pool, rooms, entertainment, and all the hotel as a whole were to your liking.

We hope to see you soon

Best regards
Luis Gomez
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (10,210)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

6,062 - 6,068 of 10,210 reviews

Reviewed 23 December 2013

from the moment we stepped foot in this establishment they make you feel like you are at home (with a cocktail). I have traveled to many places but the service that my wife and I received at Secrets does not compare. The plaza is the center of attention when it comes to nightlife, amazing shows put on by our favorite Secrets Entertainment Team, they are truly the best. Akon is Mr. Energy, same smile and energy from the morning when he is setting up activities on the beach until the night ends after the show that they put on. Fidel is the leader and the MC for the nights activities, from Spanish to italian, he's got you covered. Karen, Milky Way and Eddie Murphy are the other members of the Entertainment team, sweetest most entertaining people you could ever encounter and are always there to make sure you are doing "Excelente!" When hanging out at the beach make sure you are being served by Stephanie (she is great) and also they have some amazing bartenders in the pool/beach area, Ruben is at the bar located on the beach (try the colorful Ruben special) and Dorling is in the pool area, during the morning to early afternoon this trio of individuals will make sure you are never empty and always put that little extra to make you feel at home. try Dorling's grass hopper drink if you like milky frozen drinks, really really good. when it is time for lunch Felix and Carlos do an amazing job serving you over at the Riviera Restaurant (food is amazing). If you would like an afternoon coffee or cocktail there is no better place then the Plaza before the fun night begins. Go visit our friends Carlos (bartender) and Vianca (plaza server) at the plaza for a fun conversation, they are truly special and we made sure to visit their smiling faces everyday. We went for our honeymoon and were blown away by the service and courtesy illustrated throughout the entire stay and to top it off, when we were ready for bed on our last night, we look into the balcony and our jacuzzi/hot tub was filled with bubbles and had rose pedals shaped in a heart lit up with candles...amazing.

Room Tip: Make sure you at least have a junior suite facing the pool. the junior suite comes with a hot tub in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Juan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelManagerSERPC, Manager at Secrets Royal Beach Punta Cana, responded to this reviewResponded 26 December 2013

Dear Juan R

thank you very much for sharing your experience with all the Secrets Royal Beach Punta Cana Hotel.
For us is very important comments like yours that help us to improve ourselves, and give us strength to continue our best smile.

Thanks for such detailed explanations we can see the hotel through the eyes of our guests, and that always helps us very much.
We are glad to know that you enjoyed your drinks, facilities and full service, and is an honor to know that this were your best holiday.

Details like your Jacuzzi, help us to exceed the expectations of our customers, so we like to know that we you achieved!.

We look forward to greet you soon
Best regards

Luis Gomez
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 December 2013

We were moved to Secrets after two previous hotels, the first being unfinished and the second being suitable to very elderly!
Secrets is fabulous, spacious, modern, staff are absoloutely wonderful from Management, restaurant and bar staff down to maintenance. Everyone in this resort wants to help make your stay the best.
There is plenty of good quality entertainment both in Secrets and next door in Now Larimar which you can use all the facilities there as well. Entertainment at secrets was amazing.
Akon, milkey way and fidel were our favorites! this gys really works hard from the morning till night.
The gardens and pools are extremely clean and immaculately kept.
The food in the buffet and all the a la carte restaurants is amazing, with the best meat and fish you could ask for and the portions were huge.
The beach area is stunning with no a shortage of sunbeds and a great bbq lunch available there.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Silvie J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelManagerSERPC, Manager at Secrets Royal Beach Punta Cana, responded to this reviewResponded 26 December 2013

Dear Silvie J
thank you very much for sharing your experience with all the Secrets Royal Beach Punta Cana Hotel.
For us is very important comments like yours that help us to improve ourselves, and give us strength to continue with our best smile.
We are glad that after a series of unpleasant experiences in other hotels, we were able to exceed your expectations.

For us it is an honor to have customers like you and to make your holiday memorable experiences.
on your behalf we will congratulate Akon, milkey way and fidel, for the excellent work they do!.
We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

sincerely

Luis Gomez
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 December 2013

First I need to share that we had a great vacation and a large portion of that was due to the staff. So I first what to give a shout out to:
Topacio - our best hostess and numera una hostess
Ramon - our favorite wait staff who brighten our day
Yoyanny - our captain who taught us Spanish in trade for English!
Santo, Pedro, David and Oscar who made our meals delightful and
Chianna- our "Rendevous Bar" waitress who made our evenings wonderful!

Now for our hotel review of the Secrets Royal Beach in Punta Cana, Dominican Republic:

1. It is important to know that the Secrets is attached to the Lorimar Hotel which allows children. Several of the resort restaurants are located on the Lorimar property so you you need to be prepared that young people are permitted on this "side" of the resort. Only the Secrets section is "adults only". Folks staying at the Secrets can go anywhere whereas the Lorimar guests cannot go to the Secrets side.

2. Room Selection - we had a "swim out" room 5175. First note that the swim outs are not private as compared to the Secrets Maroma Beach. The swim out leads you to the pool which is accessible to EVERYONE at the resort. At the Secrets Maroma Beach our swim out was limited to only the rooms in our building. Our swim out was is the shade so it was cold (room 5175) - it is also important to note that our room was in route to the buffet - so it the morning you had a lot of foot traffic which you could hear if you were a late sleeper. Advice - chose a room in another building and a room with an ocean room. No benefit to getting a swim out at the Secrets Royal Beach.

3. The pool - it is important to note that the pool was cold! We asked folks from Canada and Dallas, TX and they all agreed that the pool temperature was cold. Only the folks from France thought it was warm. You can tell from our photos - there is no one in the pool vs. the Secrets Maroma Beach (where we went last year) where the pool was warm.

4. Preferred Club vs. Non-preferred: Interesting you cannot get a swim out room and be in the preferred club section. Since we needed internet connectivity we were able to negotiate an upgrade to "preferred" and stay with our swim out room. This was beneficial as the hotel had a "preferred" dining section and beach. The Secrets Maroma Beach did not - so we found the uplift to be of more value this year versus last.

5. Mini Bar - this was funny. We were told when we upgraded to "preferred" we got an upgraded mini bar. Two days past and our mini bar is the same - nothing special. My husband complains twice. Day before we left the hotel brings us 3 bottles of liquor. Nice touch but way too late - who would think we would drink 3 bottles of various liquors the day before we left?

6. Restaurants - the Seaside Grille is by far the best restaurant. We went to Spice which is the same Benihana - where you only get 1 hour allocated for dinner as they book parties one after the other. The Blue Water Grille was uneventful and we could not get into the Mexican restaurant. The Seaside Grille for dinner was by far the best value and service. We had dinner 4 nights there with our fabulous weight staff.

7. The Rendevous Bar was the best at night for a night cap where they also gave you peanuts and olives.

8. The staff listed above did a great job speaking english - however all the staff does not speak as fluently. Translation at times could be difficult.

9. The beach was BEAUTIFUL! And the preferred beach provide a quiet area and a dedicated bar. The staff providing service in this area was very attentive.

10. Secrets has changed the policies around the $200 resort dollars they give you. There are now defined allocations for wine, beach dinner, spa etc. Not the same value as previous years where you could use the entire $200 for a massage.

11. All things considered - I would go back to the Secrets Maroma Beach - we loved the private swim out, the pool water was warmer and the overall hotel was more upscale.

Room Tip: See my note above - I would not choose a swim out room at this hotel as they are not private or as n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Deborah H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelManagerSERPC, Manager at Secrets Royal Beach Punta Cana, responded to this reviewResponded 23 December 2013

Dear Deborah H

Thank you very much for sharing with us your experience at the Secrets Royal Beach Punta Cana Hotel.
It is our honor to have customers like you, we sincerely appreciate such a detailed review of your stay with us because it allows us to see the resort through your eyes.

For us our guests opinions are very important because helps us to improve our service and continue on our path to perfection.

We hope to greet you again soon.

Luis Gomez
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 December 2013

My wife and I recently returned from 5 days at Secrets Royal Beach. We were a little nervous after reading some less than positive reviews about the food and other issues. All I can say is the resort was wonderful, the rooms were wonderful, the service was wonderful and the food was excellent. We would go again.

Food: Here is my tip on the food, based on my own experience and talking to other guests: All four of the restaurants on the Secrets side were great, including the buffet which had a nice international mix of foods. Even the sushi place (Gohan) was very good (we went based on a reco from another guest and had a great meal). I would also recommend the grill station near the beach for lunch (Burgers, chicken, etc.) The restaurants on Now Larimar side were not as nice and everything was noticeably less upscale than the Secrets side of the resort. Our one dinner at Blue Water grill (on the Now Larimar side) was average. If you go to eat on the Now Larimar side - just manage your expectations. With four great restaurants on the Secrets side, there is lots of variety and it was all very good quality. The whole vibe on the Secrets side was much different (peaceful, less crowded) and much nicer (upscale).

Our Room: Very spacious, nicely decorated, with a large bathroom with walk in shower, and the bed was just AMAZING. Loved it. A couple minor problems (TV stopped working, Make up Mirror light didn't work) were promptly fixed when we called. We stayed in a ground level room, and we had a jacuzzi on out on the terrace. The only negative feedback about the rooms is that they need more lights in the rooms. Overall, really nice rooms. The maid staff was great and went the extra mile on special treatment for the turn down of the bed (flowers, etc)

Beach / Pools: Beach was beautiful as expected, and plenty of waiters bringing you frozen drinks whenever you wanted. A little tipping goes a long way. Pool (and pool bar) was also nice, a lot of fun and always a good crowd of people having a good time. Sure, there were some German guests reserving lounge chairs around the pool in the prime spots early in the AM - if you've traveled anywhere else in the world, this is pretty common. Not a big deal. The pool lounge chairs filled up quickly. If you like to lie by the pool, get up early or get a swim up room. We love the beach, and never had a problem finding a place.

The crowd on the Secrets side of the resort was a nice international crowd: Americans, English, Germans, French, even a few Russians. Overall, very nice mix. Language: You can get by just fine with English. If you try to speak some Spanish it is much appreciated.

Entertainment: The shows (in the theater in Now Larimar) were very enjoyable. Not quite Broadway caliber but these folks were very talented, and they worked very hard. Worth going.

Spa: My wife and I did the couples massage at the spa. Not cheap, about what you'd pay in the US, but very nice and had a great massage. A good workout facility as well.

Bars: Good variety of frozen drinks at the beach bars. The local beer is pretty good. Most of the action at night was in the main lobby bar, which had top shelf liquors if you wanted. Also recommend the local drink (Mamajuana) which goes down way too easy.

Overall, we had a wonderful trip, loved the resort, the Dominican people were warm and engaging and I would recommend this place.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 155Steve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelManagerSERPC, Manager at Secrets Royal Beach Punta Cana, responded to this reviewResponded 23 December 2013

Dear 155Steve

Thank you very much for your warm words and for sharing your experience at the Secrets Royal Beach Punta Cana hotel with all.
Critics like yours, so objective and detailed, help us to improve the service, and also help other potential customers to have new points of views.

We like to know we've managed to overcome your expectations, and the food, rooms, service and facilities as a whole were to your liking
We are also taking note of your suggestions and reviews of restaurants, and shows.
Again, thank you very much for your opinion. In the name of my whole team, let me wish you and your family a Merry Christmas and all the best for the upcoming 2014.
Yours sincerely,

Luis Gomez
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 December 2013

Secrets Royal Beach was Excellent again! The service was remarkable & the beds slept so good! The staff are very friendly and helpful. Some of my favorites were Milky Way (he has a lot of personality), Fidel (the mc with 5 languages and a great yoga instructor), Karen (the zumba girl),Eddy Murphy, Fairy (she is an absolute a sweetheart!), Luz (She worked on the beach. Her badge said trainee, but she provided excellent service). Other great employees were Any, Emilio,Luis, and Marilyn (she works at Spices which you need reservations for, but it worth going). I would definitely recommend Secrets Royal Beach the grounds are beautiful, the rooms are very nice, & the beach even more beautiful! Entertainment is AMAIZING !!! If you are looking for RELAXATION & FUN this is the place. I'll definitely go back again!

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BigSilvo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelManagerSERPC, Manager at Secrets Royal Beach Punta Cana, responded to this reviewResponded 23 December 2013

Dear Big Silvo:

Again thank you very much for choosing us for your vacation and for sharing your experience at Secrets Royal Beach, with all of us.
Reviews like yours fill us with energy to keep working and making an effort to be the best. It is a pleasure to know that we have again exceeded your expectations and that you will return to visit us.
on your behalf we will compliment all the staff who made ​​your holiday memorable.

Again, thank you very much for your opinion. In the name of my whole team, let me wish you and your family a Merry Christmas and all the best for the upcoming 2014.

Yours sincerely,

Luis Gomez
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 December 2013

My wife and I have just returned from a two week vacation in Punta Cana. We spent the first week at the Dreams resort where our son got married ( which was beautiful) and the second week on our own at Secrets.
Each resort was different.
The good points
We had a lovely ocean view room
The food was good with plenty of choice
The staff kept the place spotless
The beach was nice and plenty of beach beds

The not so good

Bedding in our room was dirty (had to ask reception for 12hrs for someone to change ours, eventually came at midnight)
Not enough towels in the room
Not enough beds around the pool. If you were not out and about by 7am you would not get a bed.
A separate walkway away from the pool area to get to all other areas would be a good idea instead of having to dodge in between people as there is not that much room around the pool.
The entertainment could be better ( the circus was good)
The beach could be cleaned more regular as a lot of seaweed on the beach

Overall a good vacation. The staff were happier at the Dreams but the rooms,food and beach were better at Secrets .

Would we go back to Punta Cana ? Most probably not as we prefer calmer waters and not as much wind

Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Chris H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelManagerSERPC, Manager at Secrets Royal Beach Punta Cana, responded to this reviewResponded 23 December 2013

Dear Chris H

Thank you very much for choosing us for your vacation and for sharing your experience with us.
We are sorry that your experience has not been entirely satisfactory, and we regret not being able to exceed your expectations.

Your opinions are very important to us because it helps us to improve. We take note of your points of improvement, and we will work hard on it with the housekeeping department.
Again, thank you very much for your opinion. In the name of my whole team, let me wish you and your family a Merry Christmas and all the best for the upcoming 2014.

Yours sincerely,

Luis Gomez
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Punta Cana hotels
3.3 mi away
Iberostar Grand Hotel Bavaro
0.5 mi away
The Reserve at Paradisus Palma Real
14.2 mi away
Breathless Punta Cana Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.5 mi away
Secrets Cap Cana Resort & Spa
2.3 mi away
The Reserve at Paradisus Punta Cana
16.1 mi away
Excellence Punta Cana
Excellence Punta Cana
#13 of 113 in Punta Cana
13,532 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Secrets Royal Beach Punta Cana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Secrets Royal Beach Punta Cana

Address: Ave Alemania S/N | El Cortecito, Bavaro Beach, Punta Cana, Dominican Republic
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > La Altagracia Province > Punta Cana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Punta Cana
#4 Casino Hotel in Punta Cana
#7 Spa Hotel in Punta Cana
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Punta Cana
#8 Luxury Hotel in Punta Cana
#11 Romantic Hotel in Punta Cana
Price Range: £225 - £631 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Secrets Royal Beach Punta Cana 4.5*
Number of rooms: 465
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally situated on the picturesque palm-studded, sugar white Playa Bavaro beach on the eastern coastline of the Dominican Republic, Secrets Royal Beach Punta Cana offers adults all the privileges of Unlimited-Luxury(R). Guests will immediately be embraced within an extraordinary environment where luxury illuminates every detail and our high level of personal service is unmatched. To ensure your romantic escape is everything you've imagined, every detail of your stay will be flawlessly provided and superbly attended to. From the fine quality linens to the daily refreshed mini bar and the unlimited premium brand beverages to the pool and beach wait service. You'll be immersed within a world of stunning architectural design coupled with resplendent views of the lush gardens, crystal-clear Caribbean Sea and dazzling swimming pools. This tranquil, romantic haven in Playa Bavaro is like nothing else you've ever experienced before. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Holiday Gems, Odigeo, LoveHolidays, Travelbag, Booking.com, HotelsClick, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Secrets Royal Beach Punta Cana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Secrets Royal Beach Hotel Punta Cana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing