We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Divine Wedding package totally waste of money!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Secrets Royal Beach Punta Cana
Ranked #8 of 113 Hotels in Punta Cana
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed 22 June 2014

With the Divine Package, being the most expensive one they offered, there were a few privileges an benefits included. My hubby and I originally booked our wedding at Now Larimar, which was literally 5 min walk from Secrets Royal Beach, but because they sold out of Master Suite rooms, they were not able to upgrade us. So we were stuck with a "partial" ocean view room. However, through numerous attempts, our wedding travel agent felt bad and decided to pay out of her own pocket to "upgrade" us to Secrets from Now. In other words, Now or Secrets could care less about brides and grooms, regardless of the act they put on in person, regardless of the marketing scam. When we were upgraded to Secrets, it was still the same room category, Secrets did not want to upgrade us to the next category - which would have been Master Suite. Instead, they wanted to sell upgrade to us at $150/night. and our Preferred club oceanview room was also terrible, they only gave us second floor. This meant, we could also see palm trees blocking our eye view, can't see any ocean really. Also, the air conditioning in this room was super poor, at one time, we had over 8 people in our room on the day of our ceremony, it was extremely hot, we were sweating in our AC room. We called for maintenance and they did nothing to fix it. In comparison to Now rooms which most of our friends stayed in, this Secrets room was a waste of money. Secrets and Now have no difference in room decor, but Now is much cheaper.

That's not it, the Divine Package included photography from WBA studio (30 minute video and 24 pictures) during the ceremony turned out to be a scam too. The pictures were of terrible quality, not very professional. My friends with DSLR took better pictures than them. The video? the whole length of the video was only 26 minutes long (4 min shy) and the last 5 minutes of it was entirely advertising for the resort! Which meant, they gave us a video less than 20 minute worth of ceremony. The photographer didn't bother to stay after the ceremony, they abruptly took off and told us to pick up the products the next day, this was told during my cocktail party after the ceremony.

The "romantic dinner" on the beach which was also included in Divine package, was totally not worth it either. There was barely any light, so we requested them to bring us some candles. We couldn't see what we were eating. There were other couples sitting really close to us having "romantic dinner". It didn't feel very private or special.

Breakfast in bed day after ceremony was also included in Divine package, well this was not at all different than calling for room service. The menu was also the same as room service. I didn't see this as any value.

I would strongly suggest to stay away from Now and Secrets if you want to book a destination wedding. It is not worth it.

Room Tip: Try to get rooms that are on highest floors. Oceanview rooms are really just "partial" vie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank cheekful
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelManagerSERPC, Manager at Secrets Royal Beach Punta Cana, responded to this reviewResponded 2 July 2014

Dear cheekful
Thank you for taking the time to write your comments to us regarding your stay. We were concerned to learn we did not completely fulfil your expectations and we deeply regret the inconveniences you encountered.
As a service oriented company, our objective is not only to fulfil, but also surpass our guest's expectations; therefore we put our greatest interest into your opinion. We understand that there is always room for improvement and our guest's experiences play a key role in this continuous process.
Again, we do value your comments very much and hope to have the opportunity to serve you again in the future.
Regards,
Luis Gomez
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (10,206)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

5,551 - 5,557 of 10,206 reviews

Reviewed 22 June 2014

Secrets is in an ideal location for excursions with the location being the last for pick up and first fro drop off in most cases. Secrets is Spanish owned but the guests are mainly American or German so there was no lanuage barrier.
The only very small problem we found was the blinking smoke detector which kept my husband awake.
The staff were excellent though and couldn't do enough for us!
Quick tip: take some nicer clothes as well as beach wear as some of the resaurants on site require certain dress codes and they aren't shy in throwing people out if they do not comply!
The food was amazing and we were impressed by the variety and quality

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Amy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelManagerSERPC, Manager at Secrets Royal Beach Punta Cana, responded to this reviewResponded 23 June 2014

Dear Amy T:
We want to thank you for taking time to write a review on Tripadvisor about experience among us. I have no words to express our most sincere gratitude for your lovely comments about your recent stay in our hotel.
We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your vacations at Secrets Royal Beach Punta Cana; and on your behalf we will congratulate our personnel for helping to make your stay memorable.
Critics like yours, allow us to see the hotel from the point of view of the customer, and see through your eyes as you lived your holiday also you help us to improve the service that is why we are taking note about your kind suggestions.
On behalf of my team, I want to thank you again for choosing us over other Caribbean hotels for your holidays
Warm regards
Luis Gomez
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2014

We stay in Secrets Royal Beach hotel in January 14-28 in swim up room,whitch I recommend.Stuff are friendly (almost all),but many of them cant speak English.Food apsolutely nothing special (in Bahia Principe San Juan was far better).The best where you can eat probably was sushi restaurant an American.Servis sometimes was very slow.in French restaurant was waiting to get drink 25 min.
Want to say thank you for Angelo (for his jokes,singing and perfect coctails),Leopoldina from sushi bar,girl with briclets (forgot the name)whitch bringing drinks on the beach,guy ("Famyyylia")from lobby bar,animation team(probably the best I ever seen) and others,who make our holidasys memorable.
We still didn't receive "SORY" from hotel abouth our SWAROVSKi earrings and necklace,whitch was stolen from our room.
Holiday was fantastic and we will come back in the future in Dominican Republic,but definetly not in this hotel,because for price what you pay,you cand find better.

Room Tip: swim up room on left hand side if you looking at the beach
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Martynas A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelManagerSERPC, Manager at Secrets Royal Beach Punta Cana, responded to this reviewResponded 23 June 2014

Dear Martynas A
Thank you for taking the time to write your comments to us regarding your stay. We were concerned to read regarding the disappearance of your earrings and necklace, we are sorry and sad because of your experience, unfortunately we could not find any prove or evidence that’s why we can only talk about a lose.
As a service oriented company, our objective is not only to fulfil, but also surpass our guest's expectations; therefore we put our greatest interest into your opinion. We understand that there is always room for improvement and our guest's experiences play a key role in this continuous process.
Again, we do value your comments very much and hope to have the opportunity to serve you again in the future.
Regards,
Luis Gomez
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2014

we were here in mid may and only had two really good "sun "days ,however we thoroughly had a great time. The staff is excellent and always smiling,service is the same whether you tip or not ,but we always tip because the staff works so hard. We had a swim up room on the west side of the resort and it was awesome, we were about 5 rooms from the beginning of the lazy river.The water temp is noticeably cooler at the start of the lazy river where we were, the water temp rises incrementally the further you get from the beginning of the lazy river. The buffet is awesome and we ate there almost exclusively, we tried the seafood restaurant and were disappointed ( the crabcake especially! not sure what kind of crab it could have been! ) Entertainment was great,we really enjoyed the circus show and the poolside acrobatics.My wife is a picky eater and she loved the buffet food especially . We ate at the beach grill one day and the hamburger (huge) was awesome combined with several drinks and a brief nap was definitely needed. Our favorite server was Angel at the pool bar he has a very deadpan delivery and is very funny, he is always in sight waiting for a cue from you that you need something. Angel called my wife "Jamie" all week (not her name) he called me Mr. Jamie all week ,we later learned he calls all the women "Jamie" rather clever I think when there are so mane languages being spoken .Every day you could hear verbal exchanges across the pool ." I love you Jamie ! " I love you too Angel " Our experience was very personal with all the staff ! It is commonplace to see vacationers hugging the staff after the first couple days.I have never seen this interaction at any other resort. The Dominican people are truly lovely and are always pleasant.As americans we felt in the minority as many guests were european, only once did I hear of my fellow countrymen being overly loud .We never left the resort as we felt no need ,on craft night there were vendors everywhere and we thought the prices were resonable . The gift shop on site is very well stocked and we thought the prices were fair . Rum was reasonable, cigars were expensive ,but they seem to be that way at all resorts. the foam party at the pool is not to be missed, and the noise others complain about was never an issue for us . The casino at Now is very small and never crowded .The roulette table does not have a display showing recent numbers rolled . Great trip great resort

Room Tip: For swim up rooms ,west side rooms get more sun, some of the rooms on the east side about midway of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mike58318
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelManagerSERPC, Manager at Secrets Royal Beach Punta Cana, responded to this reviewResponded 23 June 2014

Dear Mike58318:
We want to thank you for taking time to write a review on Tripadvisor about experience among us. I have no words to express our most sincere gratitude for your lovely comments about your recent stay in our hotel.
We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your vacations at Secrets Royal Beach Punta Cana; and on your behalf we will congratulate our personnel for helping to make your stay memorable.
Critics like yours, allow us to see the hotel from the point of view of the customer, and see through your eyes as you lived your holiday also you help us to improve the service that is why we are taking note about your kind suggestions.
On behalf of my team, I want to thank you again for choosing us over other Caribbean hotels for your holidays
Warm regards
Luis Gomez
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2014

Genarally very good resort in a beautiful location with friendly (if a bit 'in your face') staff, good food and a wide range of cuisine styles, but downgraded for one glaring fault - no free wi-fi! Charging $25 USD for 25 hours of wi-fi is simply not supportable in 2014, when every corner coffee shop offers free wi-fi. Some of the staff are also very keen for personal mentions to improve some internal points scoring scheme favoured by management, which leaves the quietly efficient (lots of them!) at a disadvantage to the extrovert activities team.

Room Tip: Avoid overlooking the 'Now Lorimar' family resort next door to Secrets - unless you like the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank MadMacStew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelManagerSERPC, Manager at Secrets Royal Beach Punta Cana, responded to this reviewResponded 22 June 2014

Dear MadMacStew
Thank you for taking the time to write your comments to us regarding your stay. We were concerned to learn we did not completely fulfil your expectations and we deeply regret the inconveniences you encountered regarding the wifi service.
As a service oriented company, our objective is not only to fulfil, but also surpass our guest's expectations; therefore we put our greatest interest into your opinion. We understand that there is always room for improvement and our guest's experiences play a key role in this continuous process.
Again, we do value your comments very much and hope to have the opportunity to serve you again in the future.
Regards,
Luis Gomez
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2014

all-inclusive adult resort, with use of NOW property . Two resorts are virtually interchangeable and can be considered as one. You can eat, play, and see entertainment at both. NOW is family version next door -- with larger venue, spa, boutique, small fitness center, etc. -seems as if adult facility was an afterthought. Landscaping is meticulous, facilities are very clean and attractive. Beach area is nice. Friendly and conscientious staff throughout, but not everyone speaks English. Only negative is that not all food is top quality. Choice of food is certainly available. But some of the quality restaurants and lunch at beach grills were actually disappointing and even substandard. Dress code for several restaurants is very formal, and we were not told ahead of time. Dresses , no flip flops, and long pants and shoes for men. Bar service is attentive and we were constantly asked if we wanted anything on the beach, pool and outside everywhere. Some of the pool bars had only one or two bartenders and longer waits Nightly .entertainment is mediocre.

Room Tip: Upper level balcony rooms and swim up rooms closest to beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank lllryd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelManagerSERPC, Manager at Secrets Royal Beach Punta Cana, responded to this reviewResponded 22 June 2014

Dear lllryd
We want to thank you for taking time to write a review on Tripadvisor about experience among us. I have no words to express our most sincere gratitude for your lovely comments about your recent stay in our hotel.
We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your vacations at Secrets Royal Beach Punta Cana; and on your behalf we will congratulate our personnel for helping to make your stay memorable.
Critics like yours, allow us to see the hotel from the point of view of the customer, and see through your eyes as you lived your holiday also you help us to improve the service that is why we are taking note about your kind suggestions.
On behalf of my team, I want to thank you again for choosing us over other Caribbean hotels for your holidays
Warm regards
Luis Gomez
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2014

Our first trip to Domnican.My wife and I plan to return again.We took our family with us, children both at least twenty one and future son in law.We all loved this place and it was very hard to leave.We had our beds turned down every night.We got courtesy calls to see if all was ok.The friendliness of the help was second to none.The workers there worked very hard to please you.The entertainment people were wonderful.Escpecially Milky Way,Charlie,Cintia.These three made the trip very enjoyable.We hope to go back soon.There is no doubt that we would go to the same place.Thank you to all that work there.The Grothes!!!!!!!!! Excelonte

Room Tip: we asked for pool view which was a great choice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank martin g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelManagerSERPC, Manager at Secrets Royal Beach Punta Cana, responded to this reviewResponded 22 June 2014

Dear martin g
We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We congratulated on your behalf our personnel of Secrets Royal Beach, for helping to make your stay memorable. We will look forward to welcoming you back again. In our hotel we are honoured to have customers like you.
Comments like yours give us strength to continue on our way, thank you for your warm words of support and encouragement, your message will be communicated to all staff to share the joy I felt when reading it.
Thanks again.
Warm regards
Luis Gomez
Hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Punta Cana hotels
3.3 mi away
Iberostar Grand Hotel Bavaro
0.5 mi away
The Reserve at Paradisus Palma Real
14.2 mi away
Breathless Punta Cana Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.5 mi away
Secrets Cap Cana Resort & Spa
2.3 mi away
The Reserve at Paradisus Punta Cana
16.1 mi away
Excellence Punta Cana
Excellence Punta Cana
#13 of 113 in Punta Cana
13,525 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Secrets Royal Beach Punta Cana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Secrets Royal Beach Punta Cana

Address: Ave Alemania S/N | El Cortecito, Bavaro Beach, Punta Cana, Dominican Republic
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > La Altagracia Province > Punta Cana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Punta Cana
#4 Casino Hotel in Punta Cana
#7 Spa Hotel in Punta Cana
#8 Luxury Hotel in Punta Cana
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Punta Cana
#11 Romantic Hotel in Punta Cana
Price Range: £224 - £632 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Secrets Royal Beach Punta Cana 4.5*
Number of rooms: 465
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally situated on the picturesque palm-studded, sugar white Playa Bavaro beach on the eastern coastline of the Dominican Republic, Secrets Royal Beach Punta Cana offers adults all the privileges of Unlimited-Luxury(R). Guests will immediately be embraced within an extraordinary environment where luxury illuminates every detail and our high level of personal service is unmatched. To ensure your romantic escape is everything you've imagined, every detail of your stay will be flawlessly provided and superbly attended to. From the fine quality linens to the daily refreshed mini bar and the unlimited premium brand beverages to the pool and beach wait service. You'll be immersed within a world of stunning architectural design coupled with resplendent views of the lush gardens, crystal-clear Caribbean Sea and dazzling swimming pools. This tranquil, romantic haven in Playa Bavaro is like nothing else you've ever experienced before. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Holiday Gems, Odigeo, Booking.com, Travelbag, LoveHolidays, HotelsClick, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Secrets Royal Beach Punta Cana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Secrets Royal Beach Hotel Punta Cana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing