We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Secrets Royal Beach Punta Cana
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
whala!bavaro(Punta Cana)
View Hotel
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (10,598)
Filter reviews
10,598 results
Traveller rating
7,416
2,032
804
220
126
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
7,416
2,032
804
220
126
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsseaside grillentertainment teameddie murphyla rivieramilky waybaopreferred clubthe lazy river pooljuan manuelpool barbig papispaghettiour honeymoonsexy chocolateswim up roompreferred poolunlimited vacation club
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
5,887 - 5,892 of 10,598 reviews
Reviewed 23 June 2014

My husband and I celebrated our 20th wedding anniversary here last week and had an amazing time! We had NO issues/problems with our room, our excursions, etc. The staff went above and beyond with their service greeting us with champagne as soon as we arrived, always smiling, willing to assist with questions and tried very hard to speak English. We speak limited Spanish but were able to communicate effectively. I believe when you visit a foreign country it is prudent to attempt to learn their language, it is THEIR country and they have welcomed you with open arms and to berate or complain about it is completely unwarranted. I found some other travelers offensive because of their snooty attitudes and total lack of respect for staff because they didn't speak perfect English. The Dominican people are a hard working people, always smiling, from the housekeeper, all the way to the gentleman in charge of picking up all the seaweed along the shore EVERY morning. A little humility goes a long way when you are a visitor. I had no trouble with lighting or any A/C issues whatsoever. Due to the humidity, if you want to dry your swimsuit/towels, hang it outside, not inside. We had no issues with finding a lounge chair on the beach at any time of day on any of the days we were there. We hope to come back in 5 years for our 25th wedding anniversary! Mucho amor para el pueblo Dominicano!!!!!

Room Tip: We had a junior suite with tropical view and requested the 2nd floor so that we could have some privacy in our jacuzzi hot tub which are located on the balconies.
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank R S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel Manager N, Manager at Secrets Royal Beach Punta Cana, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2014

Dear R S
Receive cordial greetings on behalf of the entire personnel of Secrets Royal Beach Punta Cana, in our hotel we are honored to have customers like you thank you very much for sharing your experience from your recent stay!
We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and on your name we will congratulate our personnel for helping to make your stay memorable.
We look forward to seeing you again
Cordially
Clara Escribano
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2014

With the Divine Package, being the most expensive one they offered, there were a few privileges an benefits included. My hubby and I originally booked our wedding at Now Larimar, which was literally 5 min walk from Secrets Royal Beach, but because they sold out of Master Suite rooms, they were not able to upgrade us. So we were stuck with a "partial" ocean view room. However, through numerous attempts, our wedding travel agent felt bad and decided to pay out of her own pocket to "upgrade" us to Secrets from Now. In other words, Now or Secrets could care less about brides and grooms, regardless of the act they put on in person, regardless of the marketing scam. When we were upgraded to Secrets, it was still the same room category, Secrets did not want to upgrade us to the next category - which would have been Master Suite. Instead, they wanted to sell upgrade to us at $150/night. and our Preferred club oceanview room was also terrible, they only gave us second floor. This meant, we could also see palm trees blocking our eye view, can't see any ocean really. Also, the air conditioning in this room was super poor, at one time, we had over 8 people in our room on the day of our ceremony, it was extremely hot, we were sweating in our AC room. We called for maintenance and they did nothing to fix it. In comparison to Now rooms which most of our friends stayed in, this Secrets room was a waste of money. Secrets and Now have no difference in room decor, but Now is much cheaper.

That's not it, the Divine Package included photography from WBA studio (30 minute video and 24 pictures) during the ceremony turned out to be a scam too. The pictures were of terrible quality, not very professional. My friends with DSLR took better pictures than them. The video? the whole length of the video was only 26 minutes long (4 min shy) and the last 5 minutes of it was entirely advertising for the resort! Which meant, they gave us a video less than 20 minute worth of ceremony. The photographer didn't bother to stay after the ceremony, they abruptly took off and told us to pick up the products the next day, this was told during my cocktail party after the ceremony.

The "romantic dinner" on the beach which was also included in Divine package, was totally not worth it either. There was barely any light, so we requested them to bring us some candles. We couldn't see what we were eating. There were other couples sitting really close to us having "romantic dinner". It didn't feel very private or special.

Breakfast in bed day after ceremony was also included in Divine package, well this was not at all different than calling for room service. The menu was also the same as room service. I didn't see this as any value.

I would strongly suggest to stay away from Now and Secrets if you want to book a destination wedding. It is not worth it.

Room Tip: Try to get rooms that are on highest floors. Oceanview rooms are really just "partial" views, so don't get tempted because you could only see a speck of blue. AC is weak in some rooms, get as much help to get them fixed... Shower drain is dangerous, the metal cover was loose and it can easily slice anyone's bare feet.
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank cheekful
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelManagerSERPC, Manager at Secrets Royal Beach Punta Cana, responded to this reviewResponded 2 July 2014

Dear cheekful
Thank you for taking the time to write your comments to us regarding your stay. We were concerned to learn we did not completely fulfil your expectations and we deeply regret the inconveniences you encountered.
As a service oriented company, our objective is not only to fulfil, but also surpass our guest's expectations; therefore we put our greatest interest into your opinion. We understand that there is always room for improvement and our guest's experiences play a key role in this continuous process.
Again, we do value your comments very much and hope to have the opportunity to serve you again in the future.
Regards,
Luis Gomez
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2014

Secrets is in an ideal location for excursions with the location being the last for pick up and first fro drop off in most cases. Secrets is Spanish owned but the guests are mainly American or German so there was no lanuage barrier.
The only very small problem we found was the blinking smoke detector which kept my husband awake.
The staff were excellent though and couldn't do enough for us!
Quick tip: take some nicer clothes as well as beach wear as some of the resaurants on site require certain dress codes and they aren't shy in throwing people out if they do not comply!
The food was amazing and we were impressed by the variety and quality

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Amy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelManagerSERPC, Manager at Secrets Royal Beach Punta Cana, responded to this reviewResponded 23 June 2014

Dear Amy T:
We want to thank you for taking time to write a review on Tripadvisor about experience among us. I have no words to express our most sincere gratitude for your lovely comments about your recent stay in our hotel.
We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your vacations at Secrets Royal Beach Punta Cana; and on your behalf we will congratulate our personnel for helping to make your stay memorable.
Critics like yours, allow us to see the hotel from the point of view of the customer, and see through your eyes as you lived your holiday also you help us to improve the service that is why we are taking note about your kind suggestions.
On behalf of my team, I want to thank you again for choosing us over other Caribbean hotels for your holidays
Warm regards
Luis Gomez
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2014

We stay in Secrets Royal Beach hotel in January 14-28 in swim up room,whitch I recommend.Stuff are friendly (almost all),but many of them cant speak English.Food apsolutely nothing special (in Bahia Principe San Juan was far better).The best where you can eat probably was sushi restaurant an American.Servis sometimes was very slow.in French restaurant was waiting to get drink 25 min.
Want to say thank you for Angelo (for his jokes,singing and perfect coctails),Leopoldina from sushi bar,girl with briclets (forgot the name)whitch bringing drinks on the beach,guy ("Famyyylia")from lobby bar,animation team(probably the best I ever seen) and others,who make our holidasys memorable.
We still didn't receive "SORY" from hotel abouth our SWAROVSKi earrings and necklace,whitch was stolen from our room.
Holiday was fantastic and we will come back in the future in Dominican Republic,but definetly not in this hotel,because for price what you pay,you cand find better.

Room Tip: swim up room on left hand side if you looking at the beach
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Martynas A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelManagerSERPC, Manager at Secrets Royal Beach Punta Cana, responded to this reviewResponded 23 June 2014

Dear Martynas A
Thank you for taking the time to write your comments to us regarding your stay. We were concerned to read regarding the disappearance of your earrings and necklace, we are sorry and sad because of your experience, unfortunately we could not find any prove or evidence that’s why we can only talk about a lose.
As a service oriented company, our objective is not only to fulfil, but also surpass our guest's expectations; therefore we put our greatest interest into your opinion. We understand that there is always room for improvement and our guest's experiences play a key role in this continuous process.
Again, we do value your comments very much and hope to have the opportunity to serve you again in the future.
Regards,
Luis Gomez
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2014

we were here in mid may and only had two really good "sun "days ,however we thoroughly had a great time. The staff is excellent and always smiling,service is the same whether you tip or not ,but we always tip because the staff works so hard. We had a swim up room on the west side of the resort and it was awesome, we were about 5 rooms from the beginning of the lazy river.The water temp is noticeably cooler at the start of the lazy river where we were, the water temp rises incrementally the further you get from the beginning of the lazy river. The buffet is awesome and we ate there almost exclusively, we tried the seafood restaurant and were disappointed ( the crabcake especially! not sure what kind of crab it could have been! ) Entertainment was great,we really enjoyed the circus show and the poolside acrobatics.My wife is a picky eater and she loved the buffet food especially . We ate at the beach grill one day and the hamburger (huge) was awesome combined with several drinks and a brief nap was definitely needed. Our favorite server was Angel at the pool bar he has a very deadpan delivery and is very funny, he is always in sight waiting for a cue from you that you need something. Angel called my wife "Jamie" all week (not her name) he called me Mr. Jamie all week ,we later learned he calls all the women "Jamie" rather clever I think when there are so mane languages being spoken .Every day you could hear verbal exchanges across the pool ." I love you Jamie ! " I love you too Angel " Our experience was very personal with all the staff ! It is commonplace to see vacationers hugging the staff after the first couple days.I have never seen this interaction at any other resort. The Dominican people are truly lovely and are always pleasant.As americans we felt in the minority as many guests were european, only once did I hear of my fellow countrymen being overly loud .We never left the resort as we felt no need ,on craft night there were vendors everywhere and we thought the prices were resonable . The gift shop on site is very well stocked and we thought the prices were fair . Rum was reasonable, cigars were expensive ,but they seem to be that way at all resorts. the foam party at the pool is not to be missed, and the noise others complain about was never an issue for us . The casino at Now is very small and never crowded .The roulette table does not have a display showing recent numbers rolled . Great trip great resort

Room Tip: For swim up rooms ,west side rooms get more sun, some of the rooms on the east side about midway of the lazy river have virtually no "yard" and seem to be in perpetual shade
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mike58318
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelManagerSERPC, Manager at Secrets Royal Beach Punta Cana, responded to this reviewResponded 23 June 2014

Dear Mike58318:
We want to thank you for taking time to write a review on Tripadvisor about experience among us. I have no words to express our most sincere gratitude for your lovely comments about your recent stay in our hotel.
We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your vacations at Secrets Royal Beach Punta Cana; and on your behalf we will congratulate our personnel for helping to make your stay memorable.
Critics like yours, allow us to see the hotel from the point of view of the customer, and see through your eyes as you lived your holiday also you help us to improve the service that is why we are taking note about your kind suggestions.
On behalf of my team, I want to thank you again for choosing us over other Caribbean hotels for your holidays
Warm regards
Luis Gomez
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews