We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Resort”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Secrets Royal Beach Punta Cana
Ranked #6 of 112 Hotels in Punta Cana
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Wonderful Resort”
Reviewed 19 April 2010

My daughter and I just came back from the NH Royal Beach on 4/17/10. This resort is all that you could ask for. We did have to wait until 5:30 to check into our room as we did get the room upgrade from Cheap Carribean, and this room needed to be cleaned. We arrived at 2:30 so the wait was quite long. This room was a poolside on the first floor and it was worth the wait. It was wonderful not to get up and reserve ocean chairs each day as our lounge chairs were right outside our patio.

I was impressed with the cleanliness of this resort. Someone was always cleaning something! We had only one complaint on the food and that was at the Italian restaurant on the NH Real Arena. We were not impressed and would not advise going there to eat. We ate at the Asian & that is one you all have to experience. Excellent! The buffet was all that you could ask for. Lobster was on the menu on Friday. It was fantastic.

Overall everyone was friendly, the drinks flowed freely, and we were not lacking for anything. I would recommend this resort as a destination if you are looking to really unwind. It is nice and quite. If you want action, you need to visit the sister resort, the NH Real Arena. You have the best of both worlds.

The beach was very nice. If you walk down the beach, you will find out how clean and nice the NH Royal actually is. The sand is finer in the Dominican vs. Mexico or Jamacia. It is very soft on your feet. We enjoyed our walks, and you can walk a long way down the beach.

  • Stayed April 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Wisc_girls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

9,704 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    6,892
    1,820
    695
    194
    103
See reviews for
923
6,731
176
124
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2,559)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tampa, Fl
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 April 2010

The room wasn't clean at check in. We had to ask 2 out of 4 days for the room to be cleaned. We reserved a king sized bed and when we got there they said they had nothing but queen sized rooms. Room was musty with mildew growing in the bathroom and toilet. We had to request 2 days in a row for them to fix the toilet it would not flush.
We tried to dinner reservation immediately after check in and were told everything was full for the rest of the week. We did manage to get reservations to 2 specialty locations by the end of the week.
The entertainment was less than spectacular, the same singing group 3 nights in a row with a different theme. The second night the lead singer was an hour late.
The food quality was good and the grounds and pool were great. The beach was beautiful.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 3FlDog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RobertoAvila, Manager at Secrets Royal Beach Punta Cana, responded to this review, 22 May 2010
Dear Guest "3FlDog"

First of all we would like to thank you for sharing your experiences in our Hotel.

We are very sorry that we didnt match your expectations and due this you werent able to fully enjoy your holidays as you wished.

Regarding the points that you mention we would like to add that there is not possible to reserve or book the type of bed in our Hotel as we know we do have 50% of each, also we recheck on the system on the dates that you stayed with us and it looks that we do have sittings available for they were later (9:00 or 9:30 pm) and for sure those werent good for you.

The ambiance that we try to project at the NH Royal Beach is a very quiet and relaxing place to enjoy, but if our guest need aditional energy we have more than that at the NH Real Arena.

Once again please accept our apollogies since we werent able to full fill your expectations, we hope some day you will return to our Hotel and you will see how we learn from all our guest comments and feedbacks!

Best regards

Roberto Avila Pool
Room Division Manager
NH Real Arena & NH Royal Beach
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level 6 Contributor
114 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 April 2010

After arriving via Thopmson airways from manchester, we checked into hotel at about 5pm and time we got to our room all pool activity was shutting down for the day and we couldnt get a drink by the beach, sense of dissapointment at first, Our last holiday was at iberostar Grand Hotel Paraiso in Mexico, we really shouldnt compare everywhere we go these but its hard after you set so high standards.
Anyway after a bit of the buffet at night and early to bed as we were tired after travelling we awoke the next day and wasnt sure what to expect.
Well we neednt have worried because the resort was lovely, the beach beautiful and drinks good and we also met some lovely people, with us being the only british couple ther at the time it was lovely to interact with some wonderful peopel from USA and Canada and various other parts of the world. The swim up bar late in the afternoon was the place to meet some people and have some fun, the hotel staff were excellent and always very friendly and tried there best to speak english. Room service was also very nice we had this a few times as well.
The weather was spectacular the week we were there from the 17th until the 24th march,
Overall i cant find anything to complain about whatsoever, maybe the restaurant reservations left a bit to be desiered but no big deal, also the BBQ over at the Real Beach next door at lunchtime is also worth a visit as is there pool complex.

We could have went to the Iberostar Grand Bavaro for an extra £700 between us but in the end we were delgihted with what we got and as mentioned met some lovely people

Would certainly recommend to anyone

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank CelticBhoy81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michigan
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 18 April 2010

This was the first all inclusive my husband and I did. It was definitely an experience. The all inclusive thing is definitely a game at this resort. There is no mini bar in your room, you get a bottle of cheap rum when you arrive and are only allowed two beers (only one brand Presidente) per day. All the beer at the bars are draft only. You need to get all your other drinks at the bar. You must bring a insulated mug to keep your drinks cold. Watch out for the Mama Juana, if you drink too much, you will be sick. If you are a big drinker, this is the ticket.

The grounds were nice and the rooms were very nice. VERY IMPORTANT TIP on the restaurants. The first thing you do when you arrive is make your reservations. We waited to the next day after and they said nearly everything was booked. Their job seems to be to deter you from eating at the restaurants so you go to the buffet's. We noticed that even though they said the restaurants were booked, there was hardly any people in them. Also, men must wear pants so be sure to bring long pants. The food at the buffet was very average the breakfast was absolutely horrible, the eggs just didn't taste right and either did most of the beef so beware. For lunch, you must go to the NH Real Arena for the barbecue by the beach. That was pretty good. Room service menu, very limited.

Take advantage of going to the Cigar factory (it's free) you sign up at the NH Real Arena. Also, they have a catamaran (3 person) that you can take out in the ocean for free. Sign up at the beach. That was fun.

This is a very leisure hotel with no kids. Also, at night there is no real entertainment by the beach and you can't get drinks by the beach at night, that was a bummer.

All in All, satisfied with the hotel, but the food was very average.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aauservices
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pittsburgh
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 April 2010

This was our first all-inclusive vacation out of the U.S. It was such a wonderful time I believe we will find this vacation hard to beat. Since we had such a good time upon our return we booked our next vacation to Mexico in May. We booked an oceanview room but were able to upgrade into one of the four oceanfront suites for a very minimal charge. The room was incredible. Minimalist European design with clean lines and beautiful wood. The suite has a living area, dining area, bedroom (I could lie in bed and watch the sunrise over the ocean each morning) and two bathrooms one which is hugh with a jacuzzi bath. The main areas are able to be private with sliding doors. The balcony was perfection. It sported another jacuzzi tub, two lounge chairs and a table and chair set. Our suite was on the second floor closest to the pool. The view would be hard to beat and made it hard to leave the suite. The beach was beautiful and very well maintained. They removed the seaweed each morning. There were plenty of palapa hutss and lounge chairs on the beach and around the pool area. The resort is new so the landscaping is not as lush as those around but we look forward to seeing it next year. The food was good but not what we expected. The Mexican restaurant and Pure were very good but had a Chief's menu (very limited choices). The buffet was good but once again we were not overly impressed. What was maybe lacking in food quality was made up by the wait staff - charming, personable and out to please all the way. The room service menu is also very limited but was delivered promptly and set up very nicely for us. We were given reservation tickets for the other restaurants in their sister resort next door (NH Arena) - we only went once and did not return. The atmosphere, wait staff and service did not compete with the NH Royal Beach. The alcohol is not necessarily top shelf. I'm a Grey Goose and Cirox drinker and could not get either without additional money. There is only one beer - Presidente which we did not like - but we were able to buy Corona at one of the stores at the resort. My only complaint would be that this is an adult only resort but they rely on the sister resort for entertainment and additional restaurants. Each night they had a band at the NH Royal Beach but it was the same each night and I would have liked to see more culture and variety. The sister resort had many big name acts but we did not like going over due to the many young adults and children. We booked an adult only vacation and the NH Arena was much more crowded and a completely different atmosphere. What did excel at the NH Royal Beach was the staff and service. Leonardo at the front desk was super attentive and did not give up until we were completely satisfied. Darling at the front desk as well was helpful and such a beautiful optimistic individual - may he never change. The bar manager (although we did not get his name) was everywhere and phenomenal. Franklin the Bellhop, Ernesto, Nate, Felix, Dariana, Yocosta and so many more in the bar and restaurants were extremely charming, friendly and treated us so very well. We will definitely be returning and so look forward to our next trip.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank sunandfun9999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York, NY
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 April 2010

I don't generally write reviews. But we had an insanely fantastic vacation at the NH Royal Beach and I felt inspired to talk about it! Our experience with this hotel, and especially its top-notch staff, was wonderful from the moment we stepped into the beautiful lobby. Erika checked us in, made us laugh, and was genuinely kind and welcoming. Because we arrived early, our room was not yet ready, but the wonderful Saul took care of our bags while we went to lunch. After lunch, the much-lauded Darling took action and got us into our room immediately. (if ever you need something taken care of ASAP, see Darling).

Our room was spotlessly clean, and remained so for our entire stay. The bed was very comfortable, and the walk-in shower was great. The woman who cleaned our room every day did a fantastic job, and the turndown service at night, complete with extra towels (folded into creative sculptures (!) - which included fresh flowers one night) was a real treat. We spent most mornings and evenings relaxing on the balcony. The view was beautiful - glimpses of the ocean through the palm trees- and the jacuzzi was very romantic (tip - hang beach towels for privacy, and bring candles or buy them cheap at the gift shop).

The beach is simply beautiful. The bulk of our time was spent here, lounging in the shade of our palapa and swimming in the aqua sea. There are plenty of chairs and a good number of palapas. And the lovely Yolenny will bring you drinks all day. On our first day we were disappointed to hear that there were no more pineapples left for drinks, but suddenly Yolenny magically appeared with a frozen drink in a pineapple for me! On another day, she brought us fresh coconuts so we could try the coconut juice (refreshing and good for a sour stomach). Then she had them opened so we could eat the meat. She really went "above and beyond" the entire week and was one of the reasons our trip was so special. Margarita (yes that's her name) also brought us drinks on the beach and was wonderful as well. Franklin worked hard to keep the beach clean and supplied us with a few moments of some really good music one afternoon. And although I can't recall her name, the young woman who worked at the towel and watersports hut always made my day (and helped me improve my Spanish)

The food was good. We ate once at the Mexican restaurant which was tasty (my seafood was nicely cooked); however, the creme brulee - I have to say - was genuinely excellent. The rest of the time we ate at the buffet, and really enjoyed every meal, which frequently included shellfish - sometimes lobster! The service here too was exceptional. Sometimes, after I filled my plate at the buffet, a waiter would take it from me and carry it to my seat. My wine glass was always full (with surprisingly not bad wine!) Abraham, who is apparently my boyfriend's "brother from another mother", was more than a great waiter. He really looked out for us like we were family and we already miss him a ton! Jose Luis is a walking fiesta (the party is wherever he is!) and a consummate professional. He, along with the rest of the staff, always seemed to remember little things about us, and made us feel very special. The breakfast buffet crew, who made my really delicious omelets (ask for jalapenos!) each and every day were top-shelf in every way. The hostesses too, including Martha and Miledenny (grossly misspelled I'm sorry!) - were fantastic! I also need to mention that we are quite spoiled by eating seaside every single meal, everyday. Back home, all meals just seem so lackluster in comparison....

(Note that many previous reviews complain about the ala carte reservation system. From what I could tell, they have worked out the kinks on this one. It seemed effortless to me when we reserved. Also, haters, El Presidente beer is just fine. If you can drink bud, or corona, you will be all set)

Activity-wise, we didn't check out most of what the hotel offered (we were having too much fun on our own). However, one night we received an invitation to a hotel beach party. We decided to go with some reservations, as group activities are not generally our thing. But much to our surprise, it was really fun. Abraham and Jose Luis taught us some dance moves and worked hard to keep the mood festive. Drinks were plentiful (including shots of Mamajuana) and it was really cool to be out on the beach at night with music, torches, dancing!

The hotel is beautiful, the grounds are very well tended, and the setting is spectacular. But for us, it was the staff that really pushed this vacation up over the top! Every staff person we encountered made an effort to make our trip extra special. From the bar tenders and cocktail servers (with lots of peanuts and olives!), to the front desk staff, to Daniel who drove us to the ATM down the street, we just couldn't believe how wonderful and generous everyone was. We are so grateful to the staff of the NH Royal Beach! It was the vacation of a lifetime, and our only complaint is that it ended too soon!

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank lubytuesday1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ohio
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2010

I read the reviews for this hotel before we went, and they were mixed. I'm hoping our review will "sway" you to try it. The resort's website was very accurate with their pictures and description. We went over spring break and had a wonderful experience. The resort is new and is kept immaculate! The staff was friendly, helpful and very accomodating. We had requested a room with a king-size bed, however, we did not get one the first day. I went to the front desk the next morning and they made accomodations to move us the next day. I know requests can't always be honored when booking through a travel agent, so I have found it best to always go to the front desk if I am not happy with my room. If you are staying someplace for a week, you want to be happy! There was a jacuzzi on every balcony/patio. We did have a problem with the first room, the jets stayed on all the time....so water was flying everywhere. The second room (king), we did not have a problem with the jacuzzi at all. Rooms were very clean and everything on the resort was well maintained. The lazy river was wonderful....not the fast moving type you see at water parks....just more like a winding pool throughout the resort. When they moved us we were fortunate to get a first floor/swim-out room to the lazy river. It was heaven!!! Our only recommendation would be to take your own inflatible floats for the pool/lazy river. We ended up going into town to buy ours and they were a lot more expensive there and hard to find! Lighting in the bathroom was a little dim to shave/put on make-up. Other than that....mini bar was re-stocked daily, plenty of bottled water left for coffee, and if you didn't have what you needed....all you had to do was call the front desk. We tried all of the restaurants at both our resort and the sister resort next door and did not have any complaints. Entertainment was good...especially the Cirque show. Wine was either white or red, and wasn't the greatest, but other drinks were good.....especially the Long Island Iced Tea.....just don't drink too many!!!! Give it a try.....we would go back! Jim & Debi---Ohio

One last note......the hotel did not have free internet access, but did provide four computers in the lobby to use. It was $4.00 for 15 minutes. We could not use our cell phones at all to text or to call. We have AT&T, but it could have been our phone. Another couple we met was able to use theirs and it was AT&T. Check with your provider on charges.....ours was fifty cents for each text out of the country, and I'm not really sure about the calls....had just planned on texting!

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jpcdlcsunshine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Punta Cana hotels
3.3 mi away
Iberostar Grand Hotel Bavaro
17.0 mi away
Zoetry Agua Punta Cana
Zoetry Agua Punta Cana
#2 of 112 in Punta Cana
4,288 reviews
14.2 mi away
Breathless Punta Cana Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
The Reserve at Paradisus Punta Cana
2.3 mi away
Paradisus Punta Cana Resort
Paradisus Punta Cana Resort
#26 of 112 in Punta Cana
12,885 reviews
5.9 mi away
Hard Rock Hotel & Casino Punta Cana
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Secrets Royal Beach Punta Cana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Secrets Royal Beach Punta Cana

Property: Secrets Royal Beach Punta Cana
Address: Ave Alemania S/N | El Cortecito, Bavaro Beach, Punta Cana, Dominican Republic
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > La Altagracia Province > Punta Cana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Punta Cana
#3 Casino Hotel in Punta Cana
#6 Spa Hotel in Punta Cana
#6 Luxury Hotel in Punta Cana
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Punta Cana
#11 Romantic Hotel in Punta Cana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Secrets Royal Beach Punta Cana 4.5*
Number of rooms: 465
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally situated on the picturesque palm-studded, sugar white Playa Bavaro beach on the eastern coastline of the Dominican Republic, Secrets Royal Beach Punta Cana offers adults all the privileges of Unlimited-Luxury(R). Guests will immediately be embraced within an extraordinary environment where luxury illuminates every detail and our high level of personal service is unmatched. To ensure your romantic escape is everything you've imagined, every detail of your stay will be flawlessly provided and superbly attended to. From the fine quality linens to the daily refreshed mini bar and the unlimited premium brand beverages to the pool and beach wait service. You'll be immersed within a world of stunning architectural design coupled with resplendent views of the lush gardens, crystal-clear Caribbean Sea and dazzling swimming pools. This tranquil, romantic haven in Playa Bavaro is like nothing else you've ever experienced before. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Holiday Gems, 5viajes2012 S.L., Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelbag, Odigeo, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Secrets Royal Beach Punta Cana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Secrets Royal Beach Hotel Punta Cana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing