We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Had a wonderful family vacation!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Reserve at Paradisus Palma Real
Ranked #3 of 112 Hotels in Punta Cana
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 12 April 2012

I have never written a review before! However, since I relied so heavily on the reviews for this property in selecting it, I thought I should contribute our experiences for others to consider. We visited this property from March 23 to April 1, 2012. We originally booked a One Bedroom Suite but upgraded on arrival to the swim out suite. It was the best money spent!!! We have two children ages 5 and 7 and it was nice to allow them to swim in our own private pool area while we watched them from our own private hut! Every day after swimming we would just put them in the LARGE tub on the balcony and bathe them. Perfect for our family. The room is a perfect size for a family of 4. Our mini bar was continuously stocked and we always had fresh towels. I must say, however, the cleaning staff does come a bit late for our liking, however all you have to do is call the front desk and they will send someone.

The Reserve section is quiet and that is what we like. When we were up for more action we could take the quick golf cart ride to the main hotel. The ocean and beach are beautiful. The main hotel is beautiful, especially the way they have it lit up at night. I did, however, hear many people complain of their rooms at the main hotel and many of those people moved to the Reserve section.

The kids club was OK. Our kids really did not want to do any of the activities other than the rock climibing wall. Our kids preferred to be at the beach or pool. However, the club was large and clean with plenty of staff. The kids pool was perfect! Three little slides and large enough for plenty of kids to play in. Our kids would alternate between the kids pool and regular pool. This is fine because they are right next to each other.

The food was very good. No one was sick from the food or drinks. We ate breakfast each day but one at the Gabi Club. It was very good- plenty of fresh food and eggs to order. Lots of cereal and juices. Never felt like we were missing anything. We ate one breakfast at the main hotel and did not enjoy it at all. We usually had lunch right by the Pool at the Hydro Grill. We received exceptional service from Adalberto Jimenez, whether he was working the bar or acting as the pool consierge. He was always friendly, smiling and prompt to provide us with whatever we needed! We ate dinner twice at Gabi Beach which was very good (get the lobster or 2!), Mizu (kids loved it but a bit salty), Aqua- excellent poached lobster. We also ate one night at the Cirque show which was OK and at the Gabi Club buffet. We really never had a bad meal eating at the Reserve restaurants.

As far as activities- we did the Dolphin Adventure which was expensive but fun. We also parasailed. A great idea which we did was hiring the hotel photographer to take pictures of our family around the grounds and on the beach. The pictures are amazing!

What we didn't like was the way we had to deal with our Conceirage for everything. We were assigned to Dalmy. She is quite pleasant but after we told her we were not interested in any time share presentation, she was not as friendly. I really do not like to feel pressured into buying any time share while on vacation. We had to tell her NO a couple of times before she backed down. I felt as if her attitude towards us changed after she knew we were not going to listen to her presentation.

Most of the staff were very friendly. Some of the guests were quite rude to the staff which I truly do not understand. We found that tipping goes a long way with the staff at this property. Take a $100 in ones and plan to spend it!

Overall, we would probably go back. It is very quiet at the Reserve. Perfect for families. I don't know if I would pick this hotel if it were just my husband and I.

Room Tip: Pick the swim up suite!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Ctadgirls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (7,465)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

4,883 - 4,889 of 7,465 reviews

Reviewed 10 April 2012

My husband and I stayed at The Reserve last March. The hotel is beautiful but the service is awful. The front staff was terrible; they were neither helpful nor friendly at all. On arrival they offered us un upgrade for an extra charge, we told them that maybe we would be interested and that the following day we would visit the rooms to decide if it was worth or not. The following day we tried to visit the rooms but they refused to show them because they were not ready. After complaining and talking to the manager they showed us just one of the rooms and we decided not to upgrade.
Our concierge was useless. When we told him that we were not interested in becoming members of vacaciones Club or whatever name it has, he completely ignored us. We tried to reach him couple of times for the retaurants bookings but he was so difficult to reach and so unfriendly that we gave up.
The food was terrible and the products they used were not fresh at all.
We are members of MAS program and we had visited The Paradisus in Cuba and Mexico and we loved them. After our experience in Punta Cana I doubt that we will ever return to a Paradisus Resort.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank maria60Spain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2012

The hotel was well kept, grounds well manicured, food average but not horrible, room lovely, staff friendly. Big push for timeshare "walk thru" even though you know that you don't want to buy. The concierge staff must make a commission off those who are referred but not signing a deal as they really push to have you go meet the time share staff. We just said no and then no more pressure. If you are told that you can't have the restaurant and/or time your preferred just show up and the staff is pretty good about trying to get you in.
Dalmy our concierge was great, very attentive. Luis "Cuba" and Luis Martinez at the Aqua bar were super friendly and made excellent fancy drinks for us nightly while waiting to get in for dinner.
Our biggest complaint was that since we didn't get the "family concierge" as we had our teenage daughter with us was that we didn't get a reserved spot at the "Reserve" beach. BUT we just talked to Victor the beach concierge every morning and he found us a place quickly with a great view of the water. The reserve beach pallapa area is very uneven ground and the little huts are in holes and you have to duck down to get in/out, they need to even out the beach so it is flatter. Otherwise very nice. Not great service at the beach, you have to flag them down to get drinks.

Room Tip: Upgrade! We had a basic room at the Reserve booked and the of course try and get you to upgrade. W...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LisaCTS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2012

We just returned from a week at the Reserve, Paradisus Palma Rea, Punta Cana DR, yesterday, 7 Apr 2012. Overall the service was excellent, extremely friendly staff. Of note the Family Concierge service is a great touch, our concierge Dalliance Laguerre made the trip a memorable week. He exceeded our expectations everyday. The pool concierge, Adalberto Jimenez, made sure we always had a cold beverage, plentiful towels, and just the right seat. The Reserve pool experience is a nice quiet break from the much busier Palma Real pool, great retreat for families and couples looking for a quieter pool day. The food at the restaurants were above average, but lacking a bit in seasoning and zest, the exception being the Passion Restaurant. However, the personable friendly service made up for this. David Mendoza added a nice personal touch to our final breakfast. The spectacular location of the Palma Real makes it the top choice in Punta Cana all-inclusive resorts.

Room Tip: Rooms at the Reserve are fairly noisy, the doors slam and echo due to the tiles.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ian54321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2012

Just returned from a week long trip at the Reserve at Paradisus Palma Real, and loved it. The resort is gorgeous, rooms are beautiful, and the staff are extremely friendly and helpful. We were impressed by how family friendly the resort is - the staff were very friendly towards our 18 month year old, and there is a great Kids Zone pool for children. You can also drop your child off at the Kids Zone play area for some child free time! (Kids Zone takes children over 1 if they are staying at the Reserve, and there is no fee). The food is decent, particularly the ala carte options. We travel a lot to very nice resorts, and this was one of our favorites. We will definitely be back.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ejr992
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2012

We just returned from The Reserve at Palma Real Resort. We had a wonderful vacation and would go back again. We had a one bedroom suite on the third floor overlooking the pool which was great. Rooms are very nice and very clean and the housekeeping was awesome.

The service at the resort was 5 star and food was awesome which for an all inclusive resort I have in the past at other resorts not have been impressed. All the meals were excellent especially the breakfeast at Gabe. Hydro Grill and Vento were A+. I cannot say enough about the service we experienced at this resort. Jordy made sure we had everything we needed and also was able to give us any information about anything we wanted. The service staff in the restaurants from breakfeast to dinner was the best. Filipe Pinoles, Hamlet Rosa, Juan Bavtista, Shewlly Natos, Juan Peguero, David Mendo, Roger Rodriguez, Ricarz Rosa, Adenawer Perez, Marlenia Belliard, Octavio Garcia, Luiz Elko, we cannot say enough on how wonderful they all are. They work so had to make everyone happy and we enjoyed them all very much.

I highly recommend this resort and will go back in the future.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AngelaBosco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2012

We had an excellent time at the Reserve. Clean, large suites, great attention to detail. Large pools with so many different areas to sit and relax. Perfect for a nice quiet, relaxing vacation without the loudness of other resorts. Great place to travel with children. No complaints about anything. Gourmet food buffet and good restaurants. Excellent service by concierge Dalmy de La Rosa. Be sure to have Luis Garcia, alias "Cuba", the best bartender there prepare you a Dirty Martini. The kid zone is amazing, all employees there are great . We were also treated very nicely by Juan Bautista in the pool and by Hamlet in Gabi.

Room Tip: Pick a swim up suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ja j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Punta Cana hotels
0.5 mi away
Secrets Royal Beach Punta Cana
2.4 mi away
The Reserve at Paradisus Punta Cana
3.3 mi away
Iberostar Grand Hotel Bavaro
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.0 mi away
Zoetry Agua Punta Cana
Zoetry Agua Punta Cana
#2 of 112 in Punta Cana
4,362 reviews
0.4 mi away
Paradisus Palma Real Golf & Spa Resort
6.0 mi away
Hard Rock Hotel & Casino Punta Cana
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Reserve at Paradisus Palma Real? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Reserve at Paradisus Palma Real

Address: Playa de Bavaro, Punta Cana 23000, Dominican Republic
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > La Altagracia Province > Punta Cana
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Punta Cana
#2 Casino Hotel in Punta Cana
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Punta Cana
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Punta Cana
#3 Luxury Hotel in Punta Cana
#3 Romantic Hotel in Punta Cana
#3 Spa Hotel in Punta Cana
Price Range: £270 - £928 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Reserve at Paradisus Palma Real 5*
Number of rooms: 190
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Explore The Reserve, our new boutique resort within a resort, designed for those whose stay in a luxury suite is as important as sun, sea and sand. Including three pools and a la carte restaurants, YHI Spa and gym, Swim up Suites with direct access to the pool Family Concierge Suites. Take benefit of your stay at The Reserve and use its facilities and services as well as the ones in Paradisus Palma Real Resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Reserve at Paradisus Palma Real reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Reserve At Paradisus Palma Real Hotel Punta Cana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing