We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fun in the DR”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Reserve at Paradisus Palma Real
Ranked #4 of 112 Hotels in Punta Cana
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Greensboro
1 review
“Fun in the DR”
Reviewed 26 April 2012

My husband and I came to celebrate our anniversary. Our personal conceige Jordy was fantastic. He helped with everything and he is one super nice guy. The staff here is so friendly and nice. Marlenia Belliard is a hostess for the restaurants. She worked with us so that we could enjoy dinner at Aqua (Men must wear long pants and my husband didn't bring long pants on vacation). We were able to order from the Aqua menu and food was great. I found a friend that I meet last year at the Hardrock. Gustavo Castro has a beautiful smile and is so very helpful and fun to be around. He works at the Gabi Bar with Luis Martinez (another beautiful smile). They are very hard workers and treat you very well. Ronny Gomez is also a very hard worker and is so very friendly. Greated us every day with a smile and "how are you today". Juan Francisco Garcia and Fernando Herrera are 2 bartenders at the h2o bar. Also very friendly and happy to serve you. Hamlet is like no other. He was very attentive to our needs and always very helpful. He made excellent recommendations for wine, dinner entries, etc. The Hydro Grill there is Luis "the Cuban" who works very hard and even got us lunch when the restaurant was closed due to the rain. The Resort is very clean and very relaxing except for the kids whose parents chose to ignore them as they ran around the restaurant, yelling, etc. All in all we had a wonderful time and I would recommend this resort to others.

Room Tip: Ground floor is best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shari G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

7,255 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    5,824
    990
    269
    94
    78
See reviews for
4,093
1,907
58
105
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,503)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Yonkers, NY
Level 6 Contributor
150 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 158 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2012

I don't know what happened since the last time we were here a lot of things changed for the worst.I'm a foodie and also i know everything they had in there menu and room service.they replaced the real American cheese with cheese wiz on the burgers.they no longer have real pina coladas but some nasty slushy machine that makes it taste like a cough medicine.The room service was painful to even look at.Did the manager from last year quit or something?|

Well it rained 5 out our seven days the resort has no entertainment at alI ended up in the other side by the beach with our friend el fuego serving up drinks.Gaby beach was great.the buffet in the palma real side was great at night and the head chef lebron who is a amazing person did special meals for us as he did last year.if it weren't for the staff ill give them a 1 but they need to step there game up for the price they charging.I will never return

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
15 Thank leo_travel_agent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2012

The third year going to The Reserve and it just gets better, loved the attention and hospitality in special "Juan Bautista" he is the one in charge of the pool at the reserve he is very friendly and helpful, always doing anything in his hands to make you comfortable. If you looking for a upscale place to relax this is your place. WE LOVE IT

Room Tip: All rooms are good I had stay the first time at a swim up, second time was a one bedroom suite and t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Yen0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Rochelle
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2012

This was our second trip, and for kids it is a five star resort- our 8 yr old had a great time, loved the food, and was a constat in the Kid Zone- where the staff is marvelous and as a parent, they are able to convince you the kids are supervised and monitored. The accomodations were very nice, the family concierge Mayra went out of her way to stay connected and handle all the reservations. She was fantastic. The Hydro Grill had the best food, the dinner service was a welcome relief to some of the other restaurants which would probaly rate one or two stars at best (Aqua, Miso)- dine at the big hotel would be my advice. The staff did try to make the best of sometimes bad experiences with the dining- especially Octavia, Adenaware Perez and Gabriel Riso at the Grill. The Pool concierges- Juan Batista and Adolberto Jimenez were beyond outstanding to their service, attitude and ethic to make this part of the experience enjoyable. The managment staff was responsive, and it remains to be seen if we will try a third time.

Room Tip: go for a swin up
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank James D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hoboken, New Jersey
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2012 via mobile

Destination: two teachers on spring break. We were not looking for a wild time. Just a relaxing all inclusive place where we did not have to leave the resort, could eat decent food, sleep in a clean room, and most importantly relax poolside or on the beach all day long. We were not looking to do any excursions since we were only away for 5 days. We pund the best deal for flight and hotel for The Reserve and based on our experience I would recommend it to anyone! Paradisus is a gorgeous resort and I heard the rooms are just as great but I would not trade it in for our wonderful experience we had with the staff and guests at La Reserva. 

Resort: the resort is beautiful, and huge, so no matter where your room is (regular rooms or upgraded to the Reserve) you will most likly be taking the golf carts everywhere. The grounds are kept clean and natural. The pools were  amazing, kept clean (no empty cups or food around), and there was always room to sit. The beach was gorgeous, we only went in the late afternoon when it wasn't crowded but heard you can call and reserve chairs in the morning. 

Staff: Amazing!! No matter where we were on the resort we were greeted with smiles and "holas" and we're instantly asked if we needed anything. Every employee we encountered would help us learn some new Spanish vocab, help us find different restaurants, make us some great cocktails, and even entertain us with Dominican dance moves.  (see below!)

Room: This being our first time in the DR we were upgraded to a master suite in The Reserve! The other rooms were just as beautiful, we were just lucky enough to be spoiled! The room was clean, the air worked great, there were two tvs, radio, hot water, multiple sinks, and a safe for our passports money and other valuables. Housekeeping was wonderful, turn down service was great to come home to after dinner every night

Entertainment: the dance lessons were so fun, we felt like we were in the movie Dirty Dancing! The shows at night were fun and funny, followed by great music from different bands in the main bar.  We would also go to the disco some nights for fun music and games. 

Clearly we had a fabulous time, other people may nt be as enthusiastic as we were but the staples met our expectations and beyond...food, drinks, room, cleanliness, staff, entertainment. 

Shout outs to some of our favorite employees: 
ROBERTO! He works at the main lobby bar and would always be so happy to see us and ask us how we were enjoying our stay. It meant a lot that he would care to ask and always had something funny to say ..not to mention his incredible dance moves while balancing a bottle on his head!  
RAMON! He works at The Reserve pool and treated us like friends! Making us surprise cocktails, teaching us new Dominican songs, asking us about our trip, just genuinely nice person who works hard and never stops smiling! 
AGUSTIN! Another bartender in the main bar.  His bird calls are amazing and he always had something funny to say or song to sing.  He made great drinks and seemed to just be enjoying his job at the hotel. 
EMELIO! From our first minute at the reserve pool he made us feel at home. His bird calls at the pool kept us laughing and he never walked by without offering us a "drinky drinky"!
We also loved LORENZO at the reserve (we miss your whistling),  FELIPE at the bar near the restaurants, JOSE at the reserve beach, ALEJANDRO at the reserve snack bar, DONNIS at the reserve security desk, basically everyone! Thank you all for making our trip unforgettable!

Stayed April 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank angimangi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Watertown, New York
Level 2 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 April 2012

Our stay at The Reserve was outstanding. The attention to detail, family concierge service, cleanliness of the resort, quality of the staff services was impeccable.
We have already referred friends to the resort & are planning our return visit.
Stayed with my husband & 2 children 12 & 9. My husband was home on his 2 week midtour leave from the middle east.
When we arrived from the airport via taxi we were quickly taken via golf cart to the Family Concierge in our building. We were comped an upgraded from our One Bedroom Suite FC to a Master One Bedroom Suite FC. Would highly recommended the family concierge. They really cater to the children & take any work/worry away from you allow you to totally enjoy your time there. Yessel reserved our umbrella at the beach daily, made all the dinner reservations, had treats nightly for our kids, brought up an Xbox with games they enjoy one night, made the reservations for our excursions, ensure our mini bar was stocked with our preferences, made herself available to us at anytime by providing a cell phone to contact her whenever needed, even got a coconut my youngest really wanted. Was very thoughtful regarding our families short time together and referred to my husband as a hero for his service in the military.
I would ensure you make the reservations for your desired dining upon arrival. As well as reserve your desired spot on the beach the night before.
My family used the snorkel gear available at the resort but if you are into snorkeling for a longer amount of time I would recommend bringing your on gear. While at the beach bar Victor is hilarious & will keep your thirst quenched! We had a blast with the guys at the beach bar & they made our kiddos virgin daiquiris, Shirley Temples, coconut water, etc etc anything to make them feel super special.
The dress code seems to be more strict at the main hotel than at The reserve restaurants where it is more family friendly.
With this being our first visit to DR I took a HUGE amount of first aid, just in case kind of things. Next time I will take nothing more than sunscreen & insect repellent. The resort is very safe & sanitary.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank journey3122
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2012

Stayed with my husband for one week April 7-14, 2012 at The Reserve. This part of the hotel is located about a 10 minute walk to the beach, or by golf cart 4 minutes. If you're a beach person, I'd suggest staying at the other part of the hotel, as it's right on the beach. If you're looking for a very quiet holiday, or you're with children and need a larger room, The Reserve is great. We had a swim up room with a Jacuzzi. Rooms are beautiful and spotlessly clean as are the grounds. All of the shows take place at the PPReal, so you can either have dinner there and stay for the show, or take the golf cart down.

Ate at Passion one night which was an extra $40 per person. We tried their "tasting" menu, which added up to about 10 tablespoons of food. Not quite what we expected. Although we had some difficulty getting reservations, the restaurant was almost empty at 7:30. The next night we tried Vento. The food was okay but definitely not memorable and it was pretty much the same at Aqua. Make sure you ask about the dress code for each restaurant. We saw men being turned away because they were wearing shorts or sandals.

Although we both took Dukoral to prevent traveller's diarrhea, I had two days of minor gastric problems. Make sure you pack some Immodium. The water in the rooms is not drinkable, and they suggest you use bottled water to brush your teeth.

One negative -- the resort has music playing everywhere. Restaurants, pools, outside your room etc. It starts early in the morning and plays well into the evening. If you like the music, it's not a problem, but there's no getting away from it. It would have been nice to have a choice.

The beach is beautiful, but we did have some experience with a lot of seagrass on the shoreline that made it unpleasant to walk, but by the next day it had all been cleaned up. It must be hit and miss, depending on the winds or tides.

People commented that they were harassed by timeshare reps. We were approached once, said no thank you and that was the end of it.

The Reserve was great for my husband and I, but if we were travelling with our older kids, we would have stayed at the Palma Real. There's much more activity there in terms of nightlife, restaurants, and bars and you have both the pool and beach to choose from.

Make sure you pack everything you think you'll need in terms of sunscreen, toiletries, medications etc. There's very little to choose from at the resort and it's a 10 to 15 minute cab ride to the closest pharmacy. There's a mall right across the street, but they're all very expensive, high end stores.

Arriving at the airport was a bit of a hassel as we happened to land at the same time as several other flights. A very long wait to get through, but once you do, the hotel is only about 25 minutes away. Coming back they suggested that we be at the airport at least two hours before our flight. We got through security and had maybe half an hour to wait.

Room Tip: If you decide to pay extra for a private patio and garden, I would recommend that you make one more...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank kath0812
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Punta Cana hotels
2.4 mi away
The Reserve at Paradisus Punta Cana
17.0 mi away
Zoetry Agua Punta Cana
Zoetry Agua Punta Cana
#3 of 112 in Punta Cana
4,238 reviews
3.3 mi away
Iberostar Grand Hotel Bavaro
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Paradisus Palma Real Golf & Spa Resort
2.4 mi away
Paradisus Punta Cana Resort
Paradisus Punta Cana Resort
#25 of 112 in Punta Cana
12,697 reviews
6.0 mi away
Hard Rock Hotel & Casino Punta Cana
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Reserve at Paradisus Palma Real? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Reserve at Paradisus Palma Real

Property: The Reserve at Paradisus Palma Real
Address: Playa de Bavaro, Punta Cana 23000, Dominican Republic
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > La Altagracia Province > Punta Cana
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Punta Cana
#2 Casino Hotel in Punta Cana
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Punta Cana
#3 Romantic Hotel in Punta Cana
#4 Luxury Hotel in Punta Cana
#4 Spa Hotel in Punta Cana
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Punta Cana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Reserve at Paradisus Palma Real 5*
Number of rooms: 190
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Explore The Reserve, our new boutique resort within a resort, designed for those whose stay in a luxury suite is as important as sun, sea and sand. Including three pools and a la carte restaurants, YHI Spa and gym, Swim up Suites with direct access to the pool Family Concierge Suites. Take benefit of your stay at The Reserve and use its facilities and services as well as the ones in Paradisus Palma Real Resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Ebookers, Melia, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your The Reserve at Paradisus Palma Real reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Reserve At Paradisus Palma Real Hotel Punta Cana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing