We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Reserve at Paradisus Palma Real
Nearby Hotels
Excellence Punta Cana(Punta Cana)(Great Value!)
US$384
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$352
Excellence Resorts
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Breathless Punta Cana Resort & Spa(Punta Cana)(Great Value!)
US$371
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Occidental Caribe(Punta Cana)(Great Value!)
US$174
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$160
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Dreams Punta Cana Resort & Spa(Punta Cana)(Great Value!)
US$259
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$261
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$255
Bookit.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Zoetry Agua Punta Cana(Punta Cana)(Great Value!)
US$530
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$516
Bookit.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Barcelo Bavaro Beach - Adults Only(Punta Cana)(Great Value!)
US$346
Barcelo.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Paradisus Punta Cana Resort(Punta Cana)(Great Value!)
US$297
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$272
Bookit.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Dreams Palm Beach Punta Cana(Punta Cana)(Great Value!)
US$263
Bookit.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$788
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (7,925)
Filter reviews
7,925 results
Traveller rating
6,317
1,107
306
105
90
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
6,317
1,107
306
105
90
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfamily conciergekids zonehydro grillgabi clubmain resortdinner reservationscarlos penagabi beachangela mercedesprivate gardenbedroom master suitereal resortblue agavepersonal conciergeyhi spafamily vacationgolf cart
Filter
Updating list...
4,847 - 4,852 of 7,925 reviews
Reviewed 4 March 2013

This was our first visit to the Dominican Republic so this is a first experience review. It was also our 25th wedding anniversary so we wanted special.

The Reserve at Paradisus Palma Real is absolutely wonderful. We enjoyed every minute of our stay and while you can always find things to pick at, I wouldn't waste any of this review even thinking of those little things - they are muy pequeno...

The staff is amazing - Gregorio meets you at the front door and your bags are gone - his son is playing major league ball in the Cleveland Indians organization. The cleaning staff kept our room spotless, refreshed, and enjoyable (read chocolates at turn down each night) - shout out to Elin Dias. The Reserve has its own fitness center, which I did use three times to help justify the all-inclusive meals and drinks. The pool was quiet, well appointed, secluded, and just the right temp for cooling you down after laying around on the spectacular cabana hideaway beds. I was well rested when I got home. Waiters come by as often as you need them to keep you in coold water and rum drinks. Snacks too!

Food - every restaurant offered us a different dining experience. If is was on the menu you could have two, if it wasn't, just ask they'll find it for you. Our local buffet was the Gabi Grill and we started most days with breakfast in this spot - the staff was always gracious and excited to see us. Shout out to Sanson Santana for bringing me orange juice every day. Dinner was always special. We tried several different places and enjoyed then all for their usnique offerings. Some highlights were the Dominican Night at the Naos - loved the local fare, the final dinner at Aqua - steak and salmon - thanks to Felipe Pinales. I don't even want to go near a bathroom scale or another week or two.

Weather & beach - both perfect, lovely breeze kept us from getting too hot, white sand goes on for miles, and the blue water is inviting.

Off site. I suppose we would have been content to stay on the resort for the entire trip but we love the siteseeing so we took two excursions. One went to the southern coast and the Caribean Sea for sailing and touring the Natinal park and the second went to Samana Bay for some whale watching. Both were well worth the extra money and the time and you are immersed in the culture which is a wonderful experience.

We're coming back and I suspect we'll be right back at The Reserve. Next time, we bring the kids.

Room Tip: Top floor rooms have the best views but remember - no elevators. Building 40 is furthest from the main lobby and buffet but closest to the path to the beach. Room 4018 is a corner room and just wonderful.
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Dcsouthwickjr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rafael T, General Manager at The Reserve at Paradisus Palma Real, responded to this reviewResponded 5 March 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for selecting The Reserve at Paradisus Palma Real as the first resort you visit in the Dominican Republic and as the perfect place to celebrate your 25th wedding anniversary.

Proud is not enough to describe how I feel after reading your beautiful comments about our services, grounds, accommodations, and staff. We are aware that it is thanks to our excellent team that we are able to accomplish our goal - the total satisfaction of our guests.

Once again, thank you for preferring The Reserve at Paradisus Palma Real and we look forward to welcome you back in the near future.

Rafael Torres
Managing Director
Paradisus Resorts Punta Cana

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2013

This is a beautiful resort, but it has a few minor setbacks. The resort staff , very friendly, very helpful. Our concierge, great guy ..but once we told him no for the timeshare...gone.

Our room, was great until I noticed we were not alone . Tiny little ants ...everywhere. I found a few on the bed. Mostly in the kitchen area though. Whenever food was brought to our room we had to eat it right away if not, our food would be swarming with these tiny ants.

The food here was great for an all inclusive. Small portions, but good quality. The alcoholic beverages ....very watered down , so don't worry about having too much to drink. Mamajuana is served all over the resort, that was the best drink, and strongest drink I had all week. The bartenders are great , they get to know your face , and have a drink ready for you once they see you coming over to the bar .

The beach is beautiful. A few peddlers walk around for parasailing , and other offering . Sometimes they get annoying but hotel security sends them on their way. The pool was also very nice, the water was warm, not crowded and the bar had great food and service.

At the end of our vaca, we decided we would return until our last night, a LARGE roach found his way into our room, and found his way into my husbands open beer can, on his night table . After that we weren't too sure...

The reserves is a beautiful resort , but they need to consider a different exterminator. We have traveled to other islands and never encountered a bug problem .

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank JoleenL156
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rafael T, General Manager at The Reserve at Paradisus Palma Real, responded to this reviewResponded 5 March 2013

Dear Joleen,

First of all, I would like to thank you for your preference in selecting The Reserve at Paradisus Palma Real Resort for your vacation, as well as for letting us know about your recent experience.

Receive my sincerest apologies if we were not able to completely meet your expectations. We understand that there is always room for improvement and our guests’ experiences play the key role in this continuous process, which leads us to achieve service excellence. I assure you, that the managers of the various departments involved have been informed of your particular observations, and that appropriate measures will be taken wherever possible.

Once more, thank you for extending us your valuable comments and I look forward to welcome you back soon at The Reserve at Paradisus Palma Real Resort.

Rafael Torres
Managing Director
Paradisus Resorts Punta Cana

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2013

We spent most of our time at the beach and the staff was excellent. Ramon Ramirez was so kind and very knowledgeable. It was very obvious that he enjoys is job. Also Deibe Esquea and Jose De los Santos should be mentioned. We were always laughing and generally felt like they really cared.I would come again just to see them!!!

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank crazycc815
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rafael T, General Manager at The Reserve at Paradisus Palma Real, responded to this reviewResponded 5 March 2013

Dear Guest,

Our devotedness is to provide the highest quality service level beyond our guest expectations, and it is a real pleasure to learn we were able to exceed your expectations.

Hoping to have the pleasure to host your next stay,

Rafael Torres
Managing Director
Paradisus Resorts Punta Cana

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 February 2013

We got to the Reserve at Paradisus Palma Real and were immediately met by Gregorio, who greeted us like we were old friends. In fact, the entire valet/bell staff were fantastic and very accommodating. Luis was our concierge and was quite helpful when we ran into him at the main resort with helping us book dinners and the like. However, he did seem rather invested in making sure we heard the whole time share spiel.

The Reserve was definitely quieter than the main hotel, which was nice by day as well as for sleeping. At night we would go over to the main hotel which was a bit more lively as it had the casino, more restaurants and a nightclub. That being said, my husband and I are not huge party people (anymore!) so we did not check out the off site nightclub Jewel at the mall on property.

Our room was well appointed with a quite comfortable ginormous bed that they created by pushing 2 doubles together. However, the bathroom was rather dark and could use more overhead lighting. We had no issues with housekeeping staff though our towel inventory changed on a daily basis (though we never had too few towels for the 2 of us.)

My husband played golf at the Cocotal course, which is affiliated with the hotel. There were no greens fees associated with the course for Reserve guests. However, there was a required $65 golf cart payment, so be aware. He reports the course was very nice with 27 holes.

I highly recommend the YHI spa. I had a biomassage which was beautifully blissful as well as a pedicure bu Mary. In addition, you should take advantage of the hydrotherapy ritual they offer. Maria was more than helpful in that regard. I would classify these spa services as divine.

Yes, the food is designed to appeal to as broad a range of North American and European tastes as possible. However, it was pretty good for an all inclusive. The best meal of the week was at Passion, which I review separately as it is considered an independent restaurant. Be aware there is an upcharge and bottled wines are not included in the price.

Would we return to the Reserve? Maybe. But there are so many places left for us to explore.

Room Tip: We stayed in Building 53, which was as far as you could get from the beach. It's great if you are pool people, but if you want to be as close to the beach as possible, choose a lower number building. The 3rd floor was great for using the balcony jacuzzi as there were no glass barriers.
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank doctraci
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rafael T, General Manager at The Reserve at Paradisus Palma Real, responded to this reviewResponded 5 March 2013

Dear Guest,

Our commitment is to provide quality service beyond our guests’ expectations, and it is a real pleasure for us to learn that we were able to exceed yours.

I have passed on your beautiful comments to all the members of our team, especially to Gregorio, Luis, and Mary, which are great assets of the hotel.

I hope you will decide to come back to our magnificent property. I am sure you will enjoy the warm and friendliness of our staff, our beautiful landscape, exquisite cuisine, and all the beauty of Punta Cana.

Rafael Torres
Managing Director
Paradisus Resorts Punta Cana

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 February 2013

We had a great stay at the Reserve during the first week of February. We were there with our 18 month old son.

Overall we felt we received a VIP treatment throughout the entire stay.

We had the family concierge and on arrival were upgraded to the master suite. This room has the jacuzzi on the balcony and we had views of the pool. The room was spacious, clean and had great amenities. Felt quite luxurious overall.

The grounds of the Reserve were beautiful. The adult pools were large and snake their way around the grounds. They were a tad cold to get into at times - but quite enjoyable nevertheless. The children's pool was great - our son loved the pool and the slides. There were so many chairs and covered cabanas that something was always available at any time of day (although we did not have the sense it was anywhere near capacity during our stay). We spent a lot of time here and the larger pool was a few feet away for us to run over and jump in. The Kids Zone was large and full of great toys. Overall the setup seems wonderful for younger kids.

The beach was one of the most beautiful we've been on. With reservations through the concierge there were always great chairs with shaded huts available (also available even without reserving them). There was a wide large beach present. The ocean was great. On days where the winds were higher there were more seaweed, however there were no rocks and great water to jump into.

The food was overall good - definitely best we've had at an all inclusive.
The breakfasts at the Gabi Club were very tasty with multiple options. There were multiple servers there all the time - although at times it seemed to take forever to get your coffee in the morning (not sure why as everyone seemed quite helpful).
The poolside grill at the reserve was average at best - we still had lunch there multiple times for the convenience.

We had suppers at 6 different restaurants there - Aqua stood well above the others in our mind. The dinners at the Gabi club the 2 other nights were quite good as well.

Our family concierge Sofia was quite incredible and always looking to make sure we were enjoying our stay and we had everything we needed.

Overall a wonderful VIP vacation and we would definitely consider going back (never been back to the same place twice yet).

Stayed: February 2013, travelled with family
3  Thank Dave Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rafael T, General Manager at The Reserve at Paradisus Palma Real, responded to this reviewResponded 5 March 2013

Dear Dave,

It makes me feel greatly grateful to know your stay was wonderful and a unique experience. Our biggest satisfaction is to know you consider coming back in the near future.

It will be a honor to welcome you and your beautiful family again in this your second home, The Reserve at Paradisus Palma Real.

Kind regards,

Rafael Torres
Managing Director
Paradisus Resorts Punta Cana

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews