We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best food we had in the DR”

Restaurant Taqueria El Burrito
Ranked #69 of 307 Restaurants in Punta Cana
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$5 - US$20
Cuisines: Mexican
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
77 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 154 helpful votes
“Best food we had in the DR”
Reviewed 28 December 2013

Food here was very good far better than anything else we had on our trip. Far better than the IFA resort we stayed at. I had the Large Chicken Flautas and they were very tasty and very large. I could only eat one of the two I got. Service here was very friendly. My GF had the chicken enchiladas which she said were very good. I took a few photos of the food which I uploaded. Now some of the sides they give you with the food are not the best but overall I enjoyed it very much. They are in the Palma Real shopping center over on the side near the Hard Rock. Helpful votes are apprecaited, thanks!

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank TheTripandTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

163 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    60
    56
    26
    14
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pittsburgh
Level Contributor
68 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Bland, boring & Cheez Whiz”
Reviewed 26 December 2013

The location is convenient, the decor is cute and the service is friendly and quick...but the positives stop there. We had 3 different dishes, Fajitas, Tacos and Mushroom and Cheese Burritos and all three were tasteless and covered in a bland, bright orange cheese sauce that looked and tasted like Cheez Whiz. The taste was low quality fast food, and the price was low to mid range restaurant.

Skip this place....

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank IRD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santo Domingo Province, Dominican Republic
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Always Good!”
Reviewed 15 November 2013 via mobile

I am a resident at the Punta Cana area, and this is always a good option to go with friends to have a good margharita and get "jarto" in a good dominican word.

I must admit that I got food poison the first time I went, around june '12, but I wasn't discorage about it and went back (it has never happend again).

The food is generally ok, typicall tex mex (more american than mexican), and tasty. Drinks a good and the portions are very generous.

I normally suggest the place, since it is very confortable and the service is good. Besides, is located in one of the most exclusive places of Punta Cana.

Helpful?
Thank Lucy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santo Domingo, Dominican Republic
Level Contributor
37 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“horrible experience!”
Reviewed 24 August 2013

I travel to Bavaro every 2 weeks. Always wanted to visit this restaurant as I love Mexican food. it was a terrible experience, ordered chili and nachos. Nachos were acceptable but the chili were awful, the meat stink, it was horrible. We told the waiter and his answer was "oh ok". This are the behavior that made you never go back to this restaurant and I do not recommend it. There is another one in PUnta Cana, that I have not tried, but the one in plaza palma real in Bavaro is awful.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rosario A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salazarjo, Propietario at Restaurant Taqueria El Burrito, responded to this review, 26 August 2013
Google Translation
Muy buenas tardes, mi nombre es Joaquin Salazar y soy el propietario de este establecimiento asi como de otros en la zona y me siento muy apenado por lo sucedido. Quisiera poder contactarle para que me ofrezca mas detalles sobre su mala experiencia para poder tomar acciones al respecto.
Mi email es salazarjo@gmail.com y mi numero de celular es 809-707-8988.
Le agradeceria me dedique dos minutos de su valioso tiempo para darme algunos detalles adicionales.
Atentos saludos
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anaheim Hills, CA
Level Contributor
213 reviews
139 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 144 helpful votes
“A nice dining experience!”
Reviewed 24 July 2013

We enjoyed our dinner at the cute restaurant. We sat outside where we enjoyed the nice DR weather and wonderful atmosphere. My wife and I liked our fajitas and my 13 year old son said the had the best burrito ever!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kobesan2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Restaurant Taqueria El Burrito also viewed

Punta Cana, La Altagracia Province
Punta Cana, La Altagracia Province
 
Punta Cana, La Altagracia Province
Punta Cana, La Altagracia Province
 
Punta Cana, La Altagracia Province
Punta Cana, La Altagracia Province
 

Been to Restaurant Taqueria El Burrito? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing