We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Peaceful Atmosphere, Good Portions” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Balicana

Balicana
Ranked #15 of 279 Restaurants in Punta Cana
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$10 - US$15
Cuisines: Asian, Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Special Occasion Dining, Groups, Business meetings, Child-friendly, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, After-hours, Drinks, Dinner, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Balicana is located in the middle of green gardens, where you can enjoy the typical flavors of Asian cuisine, prepared at home using fresh ingredients, in an intimate place where joy of food is priority.
Toronto
Level Contributor
84 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Peaceful Atmosphere, Good Portions”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 June 2014

Here’s a tip for this restaurant: don’t go on your last night in town – there is so much food that you *will* have leftovers! We over-ordered and got appetizers but the entrees were plenty big enough that we didn’t need to get the apps. Everything was tasty and the atmosphere is great, a quiet little place tucked in the corner of paradise. It is a bit pricier than some other places we ate at, but for the amount of food you get it could easily be 2 meals for the price of 1! Our order of 2 appetizers, 4 entrees, 4 cocktails, and 7 beers, the total was 4190 pesos. Still pretty good compared to prices in a typical Toronto restaurant!! This place is worth it just for the peaceful environment, and the food just made it better.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank 1SunLovingCouple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

511 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    314
    136
    38
    14
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wiltshire
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Green Curry”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2014

Excellent Thai food just had to try it as it's my big thing. Thai green curry can be vastly different and this was delicious. Served quickly and seated around the pool, it was a nice evening spent with friendly people.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Johnnie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Ontario
Level Contributor
58 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Great food, reasonable prices, lovely atmosphere”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2014

My sister and I visited Balicana last night for dinner. When we arrived around 7:30 we were only the second table, but by the time we left around 9pm the restaurant was almost full. We had a beautiful spot by the pool.

The food here is delicious and comes out fairly quick. Our waiter, whose name I unfortunately don't know, was super! Really friendly and always on top of things... great service. We ordered two apps - chicken satay and veggie spring rolls - and both were yummy. I ordered fried rice with beef tenderloin and my sister ordered the veggie wok with chicken. Large portions but delicious, and I was able to bring my leftovers home for lunch. For dessert we got the cheesecake roll - highly recommend. I wish we had each gotten two! Crispy wonton filled with cheesecake and baked apple pieces, rolled in cinnamon sugar and served with coconut ice cream. A bargain at only 150 pesos!

All in all reasonable prices and great food. Definitely recommend.

PS. They are open 7-11pm for dinner, so don't go too early or too late!

  • Visited May 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank barretjl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Punta Cana, Dominican Republic
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent food for great prices”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

I used to visit Balicana with my wife twice at month, I can confirm their food and services area tremendous. The prices are liable and you get into a very quiet environment.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank alvinmonegro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Good food in peaceful environment”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 May 2014 via mobile

First night in Bavaro we checked out Balicana. We were the only patrons at the time and enjoyed having the place by the pool to ourselves. Staff was extremely friendly. Food came out fast and was excellent. They can make all of their dishes vegetarian, and the green curry with tofu was quite good. Not exactly true Thai style food, but a good meal nonetheless.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Mufasa3422
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Balicana also viewed

Bavaro, Punta Cana
Punta Cana, La Altagracia Province
 

Been to Balicana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing