We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely experience, Not perfect”

La Palapa by Eden Roc
Ranked #39 of 311 Restaurants in Punta Cana
Price range: US$20 - US$120
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, After-hours, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Located at the beautiful Eden Roc Beach Club, La Palapa restaurant opened in 2003, becoming the first restaurant opened at the Cap Cana residential resort. After experiencing an interesting renovation, La Palapa by Eden Roc, began operations in September 2010, under the management of Solaya Hotels & Resorts, a private firm dedicated to developing luxury hotel projects, which operates the Eden Roc Beach Club, a private beach club in Cap Cana. Solaya Hotels & Resorts' premier property is Eden Roc at Cap Cana, the first Relais & Chateaux property in the Dominican Republic.Immediately after its first renovation, the new La Palapa by Eden Roc fascinated visitors with its unique proposal of pastas, fresh sauces, homemade bread, fish and seafood. La Palapa by Eden Roc is ideal for those who enjoy the authentic cuisine, where each dish is perfectly executed incorporating fresh seasonal products, without losing the simplicity, in a casual, elegant and relaxed ambiance. La Palapa by Eden Roc is a place to enjoy the best cuisine and the beautiful views of the Caribbean Sea. The access to the restaurant La Palapa by Eden Roc is free to the general public. For weekends and special nights, we recommend booking a table in advance. The use of facilities Eden Roc Beach Club (beach, pool) is reserved for members or visitors who have purchased an access pass.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level 6 Contributor
122 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
“Lovely experience, Not perfect”
Reviewed 14 October 2013 via mobile

The setting is gorgeous. Food very nice and staff very attentive, but slow service. Had to send my dry, dirty, double olive martini back because it was not dirty, no olives and had a ton of ice cubes in it.
We were here in Oct. and it was deserted. We were the only people having dinner in the restaurant. I paid $100 for my dinner alone: Salad, Catch of the day, martini, bottled water and 1/2 dessert.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank HHS71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

209 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    156
    38
    9
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto
Level 6 Contributor
148 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
“Beautiful setting, very good food and service”
Reviewed 30 September 2013

We had to stay in Punta Cana for a wedding and needed to flee the mega resort we were at for a real dinner. La Palapa was almost perfect. The pavilion is beautiful and the setting is gorgeous. The food and service was very good and the only issue was that they were out of a few of the bottles of wine I was trying to order. But this is the Caribbean after all. Overall, a very memorable meal in a perfect setting. If you wanted to have a romantic Caribbean dinner in a pavilion overlooking the ocean, this is the place.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TTTraveller76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Jose, California
Level 6 Contributor
109 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Nothing to Improve”
Reviewed 17 August 2013

We celebrated our 25th wedding anniversary with dinner at La Palapa. We were escorted to a table not in the main dining room, not out on the terrace, but to our own private, open-air dining area overlooking the cove. There could not have been a better location in all of Punta Cana, as far as we're concerned. We left our high-end resort to have dinner here based on the reviews and we were very impressed. The service was excellent as was the food. The staff even brought out an anniversary cake for us to enjoy for dessert! I highly recommend a meal here, if not for the wonderful cuisine, then for the beautiful setting.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rajj976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Wonderful setting, excellent food, great value.”
Reviewed 30 July 2013 via mobile

Having lunch at La Palapa, after an amazing swim at Caleton beach was just fantastic. I didn't expect to find such a great restaurant in such a remote place and was very happy to be able to choose from a variety of dishes. My favorite: shrimp linguini in tomato sauce, chillo al cartoccio and deep fried red snapper with tostones. Their Stracciatella ice cream is really good too, not to miss. All in all, this is a wonderful restaurant, overlooking the sea, the service is good and friendly, and the prices are very fair. Thumbs up!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jcvg947
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ekaterinburg, Russia
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“Fantastic!”
Reviewed 30 July 2013

Been there many times during our long stay in Eden Roc. Tried everything they offer. Fantastic! Outstanding! Top quality!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Alexander_Troshkin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed La Palapa by Eden Roc also viewed

 
Punta Cana, La Altagracia Province
Punta Cana, La Altagracia Province
 
Punta Cana, La Altagracia Province
Punta Cana, La Altagracia Province
 

Been to La Palapa by Eden Roc? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing