We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great golf course”

Cocotal Golf & Country Club
Book In Advance
More Info
US$155.00*
and up
Cocotal Golf and Country Club in Punta Cana
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Renowned architect, Jose "Pepe" Gancedo, six-time spanish Champion, designed the course by following the lay of the land, using the natural terrain to provide a route easily remembered long after the player finishes. Our trademark features are strategically-placed trees, bunkers, mounds and gently rolling terrain with well-defined and generous fairways without forgetting an unrelenting wind. The utilization of four sets of tees provides low-handicapped golfers with a course of great challenge, while beginners and intermediate players can continually improve their game in a player-friendly environment.
Cornwall, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great golf course”
Reviewed 10 March 2014

We enjoy this course, as always the course is in fairly good condition. The staff is always very accommodating and willing to help us. We had a problem with one of the carts getting a flat tire, but they gave us newer carts the next time out. If I had to complain about one thing is the golf is included as we are Club Melia members and staying at the Tropical Caribe, but the price to rent the carts has gotten out of hand. Quite ridiculous actually it was $130.00 to rent a cart. So much for getting the golf free when the cart is so expensive.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Monique P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

290 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    87
    104
    70
    17
    12
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great round of golf!”
Reviewed 9 March 2014

We stayed at the melia caribe and our golf was included, we had to pay a cart fee of $65 before 1:30 and after 1:30 it's $40. after 2:00 $40 for cart and club rental! Check with course before you leave your clubs at home, I won't bring my clubs next There is not really T-times assigned. TIP: when u get off the bus Go to Pro Shop FIRST because the 1st one who pays is the first who goes out! Playing in the afternoon was fine, the temperature didn't change much and there was always a cool breeze. We brought our own beverages, the carts came with a cooler full of ice. The drink cart has beer for $4 and snacks available. The course is long and beautiful we really enjoyed our rounds which were less than 4 hours.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Karen R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winnipeg, Canada
Level Contributor
31 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“fun round of golf!”
Reviewed 3 March 2014

Nice course, although no ocean views. Nice homes surround golf course! Nice greens and nice staff, did a round in about 3 hours.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank OJWag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
30 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Warning: if you're staying at the Melia or another nearby hotel....”
Reviewed 26 February 2014

.... and you're thinking of buying one of the vouchers for this course!

- the course takes itself very seriously and all the staff are sticklers about the rules. Even if you weren't informed about what the rules are, because there is no information available when you buy the voucher!

- make sure to bring the voucher with you. there is no computer system or record that you have brought one.

- bring a golf shirt. even though there are many people on holiday, they are strict about this and gave us an incredibly hard time about our casual attire.

- no refunds. even if the bus fails to pick you up on time (as happened in our case) - there are no refunds on the voucher or exchanging it for another day.

That said, the course is nice and we had a fun time on the 5 holes we were able to golf. Fun for beginners.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank SJB1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Really Nice course and fun experience ”
Reviewed 13 February 2014 via mobile

Just played 3 days at Cocotal and had a blast. If you are staying at the Melia or Palma it's $65 for the day and more than worth it. We were there to have fun but also decent golfers who play a lot. Our handicaps ranged from 5-22.

You can get the voucher at those hotels at a kiosk or at the course on the lower level. Not a great system but it works and like all things in the Dominican a little patience goes a long way.


The course is in great shape and there are some really good holes.

Things we liked:
-large fairways so you can swing away
-greens good but they don't change the pins much
-layout is fun to play with good mix of long holes with wide fairways and short holes where you have to think about placement. 17 and 18 are great closing holes with risk reward par 5 with water and then tight long par 4 finish.
-long course and can play tough even from the white tees especially with wind
-not very crowded and tee times easy

Things we wish we would have known:
-lots of hilarious things going on around the course. We had Chihuahuas chase us down the fairway, little girls riding their bikes on the cart paths, strange photo shoots from residents including a guy climbing a tree to take a picture of another guy holding a flower all 5 feet from the tee box, security guard on a dirt bike, and lots of people crossing the fairway. None of this bothered is we thought it added to the experience.
-bring your own beverages and for a few bucks the cart guys will put in coolers with lots of ice
-after you tee off on 1 you don't see the clubhouse again. Eat a big meal before you play! Or after the 11th hole you can drive to the clubhouse but it takes a good 30 extra min. Food in clubhouse decent but expensive.
-play all 27 the 2nd 18 is really fun
-the golf carts are fine and not as bad as people said
-if you play multiple days leave your clubs but you have to get a ticket from clubhouse. $5. And you have to do that before they close at 5.
-the last shuttle leaves at 630 for the hotels. Be on it and on time not like the rude Chinese group of 8 that made us wait an extra 20 min
-the cart guys on the lower level are awesome, take care of them and they will take care of you! Get you out early, skip slow groups, ice, maybe work a deal on fees etc.

Helpful?
3 Thank Casey B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Cocotal Golf & Country Club also viewed

Punta Cana, La Altagracia Province
Punta Cana, La Altagracia Province
 
Punta Cana, La Altagracia Province
Punta Cana, La Altagracia Province
 

Been to Cocotal Golf & Country Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing