We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Decent Courses in a Convenient Location”

Cocotal Golf & Country Club
Book In Advance
More Info
US$155.00*
and up
Cocotal Golf and Country Club in Punta Cana
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Renowned architect, Jose "Pepe" Gancedo, six-time spanish Champion, designed the course by following the lay of the land, using the natural terrain to provide a route easily remembered long after the player finishes. Our trademark features are strategically-placed trees, bunkers, mounds and gently rolling terrain with well-defined and generous fairways without forgetting an unrelenting wind. The utilization of four sets of tees provides low-handicapped golfers with a course of great challenge, while beginners and intermediate players can continually improve their game in a player-friendly environment.
Canon City CO
Level Contributor
61 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Decent Courses in a Convenient Location”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 April 2014 via mobile

We recently played all three tracks at the Cocotal Golf Club during a trip to Punta Cana. The greens fees were included in our Royal Services accommodations at Paradisus Palma Real, but we did have to pay for the cart, which varied depending upon the time of the day ($75 before 9 AM, $60 between 9 AM and 1 PM, and $40 after 1 PM). The $75 carts are also much better, as they have a few newer carts which they typically send out with the early morning tee times and the rest which are pretty tired (little to no brakes, and generally beat up). Although they never left us on the course, they had definitely seen their better days. The service was average, and nothing special.

The club has three 9 hole tracks, of which 2 are relatively short and the third relatively long. The most scenic combination is the Hibiscus/Bouganvillea which makes for a nice round. The courses were in above average condition and were only busy during the mornings. The courses are fairly forgiving, but there are several randomly placed hazards along the course that can blow up your score if you get caught up in the wrong areas.

Overall the courses are a decent value if you can get on for under $100, but anything over that figure is probably not really worth it.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
7 Thank ColoHiwayBuilder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

290 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    87
    104
    70
    17
    12
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Mount Vernon, Indiana
Level Contributor
35 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“18 holes”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 March 2014

Overpriced at 150$ thru Go Golf
Gas Cart almost gave us whiplash and did not brake well

As a plus very little play so round moved along quickly

Did play with two gentlemen from Pittsburg, PA and one from London, Ontario
Had a great time with the company

Would not take credit card for beverage cart....Note: almost all places were cash in DR

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank garth81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OKC, OK
Level Contributor
80 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Beautiful place to play!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 March 2014

A beautiful, lush course to play on. Very well kept and very enjoyable --- once you get away from the club.

Service from the front desk receptionist was surprising RUDE. She was new, but you would think that the 'new girl' would attempt to impress-yikes! I'm guessing that her employers don't care about good customer service, because even the guys that help with carts, etc. are extremely RUDE and apathetic. Be aware that you will have to WALK to get to the driving range. Why, when they have a cart path that leads up to it?

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank ValnStephen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cornwall, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great golf course”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 March 2014

We enjoy this course, as always the course is in fairly good condition. The staff is always very accommodating and willing to help us. We had a problem with one of the carts getting a flat tire, but they gave us newer carts the next time out. If I had to complain about one thing is the golf is included as we are Club Melia members and staying at the Tropical Caribe, but the price to rent the carts has gotten out of hand. Quite ridiculous actually it was $130.00 to rent a cart. So much for getting the golf free when the cart is so expensive.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Monique P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great round of golf!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 March 2014

We stayed at the melia caribe and our golf was included, we had to pay a cart fee of $65 before 1:30 and after 1:30 it's $40. after 2:00 $40 for cart and club rental! Check with course before you leave your clubs at home, I won't bring my clubs next There is not really T-times assigned. TIP: when u get off the bus Go to Pro Shop FIRST because the 1st one who pays is the first who goes out! Playing in the afternoon was fine, the temperature didn't change much and there was always a cool breeze. We brought our own beverages, the carts came with a cooler full of ice. The drink cart has beer for $4 and snacks available. The course is long and beautiful we really enjoyed our rounds which were less than 4 hours.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Karen R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Cocotal Golf & Country Club also viewed

Punta Cana, La Altagracia Province
Punta Cana, La Altagracia Province
 
Punta Cana, La Altagracia Province
Punta Cana, La Altagracia Province
 

Been to Cocotal Golf & Country Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing