We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Catalonia Bavaro Beach, Casino & Golf Resort
Ranked #56 of 112 Hotels in Punta Cana
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
“Great time”
Reviewed 12 December 2012

We went during thanksgiving break the people were great they helped us out with everything the best waiter there is alejandro suco i believe just a great person he brought us a cake for my girlfriends bday. The bartenders are great people. The people who put on the shows and activities were great individuals who worked hard and had us laughing the whole time. The spa is amazing as well put me to sleep. Never meditated but they really put me at peace i felt like my whole body was so relaxed.

Room Tip: get the rooms closest to the beach
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank joshio s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cataloniabav, Director General at Catalonia Bavaro Beach, Casino & Golf Resort, responded to this review, 13 December 2012
Dear Guest:

It is a pleasure to know about your stay with us. Thank you very much for your comments. We were pleased providing you an excellent service and to know that you liked much.

Thank you for taking the time to express your concerns and help us in the quality processes we have.

We will be delighted if you give us the opportunity to have you again as our guests, in our Catalonia Hotels, so that we may prove that 100% Guest’s satisfaction is our main goal.

Receive warm regards from all our staff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

10,322 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    4,418
    3,453
    1,428
    579
    444
See reviews for
3,073
4,307
161
32
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (921)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Milestone, Sask. Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 December 2012

Hello from Garth and Sharlene Minto of Milestone, Saskatchewan Canada, Our first winter holiday in January 2012 and we did not know what to expect. Well were we amazed and impressed, the only bad part was that it was raining when we got there at night and could not find our room righ away, but the rest of our stay was amazing, all the staff at every venue was very great and we were treated well, and that is why we are returning to the same place this winter with all of our kids all 5. Hopefully our tour guide will be a little better at getting us answers to questions than he was last time, but all it was a great holiday and we hope our kids will enjoy it as much as we did. We plan also to take in alot of the extra activities so it goes to show that going back to the same place is great when you have an excellent time there the first time. Soo see you as we bring in the new year down warm

Room Tip: corner rooms great and ground floor is excellent, we always left good items for our cleaning staff...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank shar020257
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cataloniabav, Director General at Catalonia Bavaro Beach, Casino & Golf Resort, responded to this review, 4 December 2012
Dear Guest:

It is a pleasure to know about your stay with us. Thank you very much for your comments. We were pleased providing you an excellent service and to know that you liked much.

We will be delighted if you give us the opportunity to have you again as our guests, in our Catalonia Hotels, so that we may prove that 100% Guest’s satisfaction is our main goal.
Receive warm regards from all our staff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St-Hyacinthe
Level 4 Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 December 2012

You may have been wary of this resort by some the reviews. Do not be! This is an excellent Resort. Keep in mind this is a 5 star Hotel in a 3rd world country. We were there for a marriage of a friend and we were not disappointed.
-- Privileged Upgrade --
I would recommend it, we did and enjoyed the little extras. We were in Villa 1 which is right by the beach - 50 yards. It is away from the central hotel and noise. The advantages are a Jacuzzi tub, robes and slippers, Villa close to the beach, better seating in the restaurants, discounts in stores and Spa. We also needed a powerbar for our room and the privilege desk provided us one. Free Wifi in your home.
-- Rooms --
Clean and functional. A little outdated. Hammock was comfy. The shower was a decent size and everything was working. A not about electricity. You have one outlet in your room and your should bring a powerbar or extension cord if you have more than one thing to plug in. Our maid was very polite and helped out with our Spanish. We requested no flowers in our rooms as the attract ants and "solo Agua" for our fridge. No problem. A/C was working and kept our room cool and comfortable for sleep. bed was great.
-- Food and Restaurants--
This would have been the only disappointment. The buffet was nothing spectacular. I always found something and each meal there was chefs making food ( Omeletes or pasta, burgers and such) But the food was nothing compared to our Mexico trip.
The Gran Caribe buffet was nice but becuase it is open air, there a lot of birds and they poop on the chairs and floor. These were not always as clean as I would have liked. Solution. Go to the buffet on the beach, newer and very clean. Same food. Then go to a theme restaurant in the evening. The service at the beach buffet is better as well. We were ignored at the Main buffet but felt like royalty at the beach buffet.
The theme restaurants are okay. But do not go to the Steak house and expect it to compare to a steak house in North American. This is DR, not the KEG. The italien was good but if I want good italien I would go to Italy or little Italy here in Montreal.
The Creperie was our treasure find. from 16h00 - 23h00 they are open and it is never busy. They will bring you the crepe of your choice and any coffee you want. The best Cappachino I have ever had. They use Sweet cream ... so good. Every evening we would skip desert and head there for our evening coffee.
-- Beach--
Very nice beach, lots of shades and chairs, 2 bars on the beach, There is a cleaning crew that roams up and down the beach to keep it constantly clean. There is alot of seaweed in the water but the hotel cannot control that. Drinks on the beach are not watered down. So enjoy. I enjoyed my Blue Hawaii. There is a no reserve chair policy but noone follows it. If you cannot find a chair, ask any one of the staff and they will find you what you need.
-- Bugs, animals --
There were mosquito, so bring bring spray with DEET. Other than a few ants in our room, there was nothing that bothered us. A few DR dogs that walked around but were very friendly.
-- Staff --
I did not meet any staff that were not friendly, Lots of Holas! Must do not speak English, some spoke french, all speak Spanish. This did not ruin anything for me. Some the best evening discussions were about our adventure of explaining I had an upset stomach and trying to describe it to the girl in the drugs store
--Extras--
There is jewelry store, mini mart, drug store, Booze and cigar store, clothes and art store. A doctor on premise 24/7 There is photographers that are very expensive, but they get great pictures and what better way to remember your holiday.

You are only 20 mins from Airport which is a huge plus, nothing like getting off a plane and getting on a bus for anther hour or two. Nope, here you will be drinking and swmming within the hour.

Room Tip: Privilege section gets the rooms, closest to the beach. Bring a powerbar if you need more that one o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Lucannus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ontario, California
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 November 2012

I was a little nervous about staying at this resort after reading many negative reviews. I stayed for a week with 3 other people, all in our 20's. All in all, we had a great time and I would definitely go back to Punta Cana, but I would probably try out another resort. Most of the "bad" things about this resort were only minor but the food was the biggest negative. It really wasn't very good and none of us are picky eaters. Avoid the "hamburgers" for sure! That being said, the Italian restaurant was fantastic! The American and Japanese restaurants were also decent, but the Mexican was not very good (except for dessert!). At the buffet, we mostly stuck to pizza as that seemed to be safe. Getting enough water in the room could be a challenge, but if you called the front desk, they would eventually bring you a couple more bottles. Many previous reviewers complained about the AC not keeping the room cool enough. I definitely did NOT have this issue - I was freezing! AC worked fine. The disco and casino were always fun as well as the lobby bar at night. We were definitely never bored. The lobby bar had the best drinks followed by the pool bar and then the beach bar. We did one excursion where we took a catamaran to a beautiful island. We stayed there for several hours and were served lunch (there was also an open bar). We then went to a "natural pool" via speed boat, which was also beautiful. If you're going to do an excursion/activity, buy it from one of the guys on the beach, not at the lobby. You'll pay half the price! Last words of advice, drink plenty of Mama Juana, the doggies that roam the beach are friendly, and use bug spray!

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Traveler4589671
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 November 2012

Arrived airport and received luggage very quickly . Excellent 30 min transfer On arrival upgraded room with minimal effort and reception staff very helpful. Food plentiful but only moderately warm but a microwave was on hand which proved useful. All bar staff in all areas very helpful and friendly. Animation team worked tirelessly to ensure guests had a good time. As we upgraded to the prove ledges rooms this entitled us to keep our room for three hours after checkout time enabling us time to shower and change at our leisure before checking out. Take PLENTY of mosquito repellant as they are biting everyone that moves. On the whole an enjoyable ten days in a good value for money hotel. Go with an open mind and don't take to many of the bad reviews to heart.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Basby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlantic City, New Jersey
Level 3 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 November 2012

Just returned from a week at the Catalonia Bavaro and I wanted to be sure to write a review. I had read so many iffy reviews before we left, I was getting nervous, but our stay was just fantastic. i know everyone's experience will be a bit different, but I don't know if we could find anything to really complain about the whole week. We have 2 young children, and got the "privileged" service, and a wonderful suite that was very close to the beach and pool. I read other reviews about the resort being very big, but our 2 year old walked from our room to the beach to restaurants without any trouble, so just a point of reference. Our rooms were clean and bright, well laid- out, all furnishings and bedding were great. The beach is absolutely spectacular. Tall palms separate the hotel buildings from the water, so from the beach you have a beautiful natural setting. Water is flat calm, crystal clear, and sand is soft and white. Food at all the restaurants was great. If you are traveling here for gourmet food, probably not going to live up to your standards, but our whole family ate happily at every meal and tried every restaurant. 24 hr room service was also nice. Very diverse visitors at the resort- we were some of the very few from the USA. Lots of Canadians and French Canadians, South American, Russian and Eastern European travelers - I really liked that aspect, love when our kids are exposed to so many different people. Our weather was totally perfect for all 6 days!

Couple of tips: we tipped whenever we could (not a lot, but just a way to say thank you to the lovey staff). We left a couple of dollars in the fridge each day, and our fridge was always fully stocked with beer, soda and water. Bring bug spray, for sure - the mosquitos are out en masse. They did spray for them, which helped a bit, but still good to be aware of.

Other notes - The "animacion team" were friendly and enthusiastic, not at all pushy like other all inclusives we've been to. They were so nice to our kids. I think this place is a bargain. Personally, I will judge a perfect beach above all else, but I won't tolerate poor food or service. Thankfully, this resort was great on every level. Would absolutely recommend.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank ahut176
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
British Columbia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 November 2012

We spent a week at the Catalonia Bavaro and had a very pleasant experience. The food was good and presented very nicely and the staff were welcoming and helpful. One night there was an especially heavy rainfall (we were there near the end of the rainy season) that created flooding in some areas and the staff were quick to respond in a calm and collected manner, working together to quickly return everything to normal. They were concerned that we continued to enjoy our stay and we did. We were also impressed with the cleanliness of the rooms and the common areas. Overall, we have no complaints and would recommend this location to others.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Traveller3229
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cataloniabav, Director General at Catalonia Bavaro Beach, Casino & Golf Resort, responded to this review, 20 November 2012
Dear Guest:

It is a pleasure to know about your stay with us. Thank you very much for your comments. We were pleased providing you an excellent service and to know that you liked much.

Thank you for taking the time to express your concerns and help us in the quality processes we have.

We will be delighted if you give us the opportunity to have you again as our guests, in our Catalonia Hotels, so that we may prove that 100% Guest’s satisfaction is our main goal.
Receive warm regards from all our staff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Punta Cana
12.1 mi away
Alsol Del Mar
Alsol Del Mar
#45 of 112 in Punta Cana
957 reviews
9.2 mi away
AlSol Tiara Cap Cana
AlSol Tiara Cap Cana
#22 of 112 in Punta Cana
1,795 reviews
41.0 mi away
Casa de Campo Resort & Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.1 mi away
Alsol Luxury Village
Alsol Luxury Village
#86 of 112 in Punta Cana
3,335 reviews
1.2 mi away
Catalonia Royal Bavaro
Catalonia Royal Bavaro
#49 of 112 in Punta Cana
5,690 reviews
69.8 mi away
Emotions by Hodelpa
Emotions by Hodelpa
#1 of 12 in Juan Dolio
1,028 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Catalonia Bavaro Beach, Casino & Golf Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Catalonia Bavaro Beach, Casino & Golf Resort

Property: Catalonia Bavaro Beach, Casino & Golf Resort
Address: Playas De Bavaro | Cabeza de Toro, Punta Cana 2062, Dominican Republic
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > La Altagracia Province > Punta Cana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#33 Casino Hotel in Punta Cana
#41 Family Hotel in Punta Cana
#47 Romantic Hotel in Punta Cana
#49 Top resorts Hotel in Punta Cana
#50 Spa Hotel in Punta Cana
#51 Luxury Hotel in Punta Cana
#52 On the Beach Hotel in Punta Cana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Catalonia Bavaro Beach, Casino & Golf Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 711
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A magnificent hotel resort with exclusive, white sandy beaches, crystalline Caribbean waters, palm trees lining the coast and abundant vegetation throughout the complex. Coral reefs along the beach allow guests to enjoy the rich marine life of the Caribbean Sea. It is located in Playa Cabeza de Toro (Punta Cana), one of the best beach areas in the Dominican Republic. The complex is situated 20 km from the International Airport of Punta Cana and 47 km from Higuey. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Expedia, Odigeo, 5viajes2012 S.L., Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, LoveHolidays, Prestigia, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Catalonia Bavaro Beach, Casino & Golf Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Catalonia Bavaro Beach Hotel
Catalonia Punta Cana
Catalonia Bavaro Beach Golf & Casino Resort
Catalonia Bavaro Punta Cana
Punta Cana Catalonia Bavaro
Catalonia Bavaro Beach Resort
Catalonia Bavaro Resort Punta Cana
Catalonia Hotel Punta Cana
Catalonia Resort Punta Cana
Catalonia Bavaro Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing