We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Catalonia Bavaro Beach, Casino & Golf Resort
Ranked #57 of 110 Hotels in Punta Cana
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Nice time”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 November 2013

I've stayed at the Catalonia in Bayahibe twice before and really enjoyed it. I found this resort to be similar in terms of services. I really like how they give you a bracelet according to what language you speak so they know how to address you. The grounds were beautiful, the employees friendly and the facilities nice. Some bars made better drinks than others with the best being the lobby bar though the pool bar was fun. We stayed in a regular room and found no fault with it. It was cleaned well and the fridge well stocked. The wifi was good and sitting outside on the balcony, we could get a signal though sometimes weak. The food wasn't as good as the resort in Bayahibe but at no time were we hungry. We preferred breakfast at the beach restaurant - we were in a block right near the pool (not privilege). Pizza at the pool was very tasty. We loved the creperie. I didn't feel any pressure to tip though we did if we felt the person deserved it. I didn't see too many people waving money around at the bars.

The beach was very nice and despite it being Canadian March Break, it didn't feel too busy. We always got a palapa even though we only wandered to the beach around 9ish. The water was nice and great for kayaking. The reefs were nice to look at - the starfish too! There was sea grass in the water which wasn't always nice but the beach was cleaned well. We walked far down the beach towards Bavaro and found a section of beach just past Dreams Palm Beach that was just spectacular (45 min walk maybe?). We saw how crowded and dirty some beaches were and were happy with ours. Animation looked like fun but we didn't join in - we just wanted to relax. I'd go back, but I'd like to visit other areas first.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank rumyqtpi2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cataloniabav, Director General at Catalonia Bavaro Beach, Casino & Golf Resort, responded to this review, 11 November 2013
Dear Guest:

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments about your stay at Catalonia Bávaro Resort.

We are very glad to hear that after visiting Catalonia Gran Dominicus in Bayahibe, you decided to give us an opportunity. We work hard on maintaining an atmosphere for the guest to feel welcomed and like home. It was a pleasure for our staff to serve you during your vacations. We are grateful for your kind comments about our property.

It would be our honor to have you back in the future, and help you experience another memorable vacation.

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

9,751 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    4,086
    3,295
    1,354
    590
    426
See reviews for
2,844
4,097
148
32
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (900)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Arkhangelsk, Russia
Level Contributor
46 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 November 2013

The check-in is rather smooth, no problems with the room location (3 minutes from the beach and from the restaurant). The room itself was pretty dated, the cleaning was not very good especially when it comes to the bathroom. We've got the AI and the food was brilliant just like the drinks - I've been in other AI 5 star hotels and this is one of the best? A la carte restaurants are also of a very good quality. The territory itself looks like a great park, the golf course is very beautiful. But the greatest thing about the place is THE BEACH. It's simply breathtaking, I've never saw such beautiful beaches! Give the staff a ton of credit for this. The pool was nice but rather cold for me. The entertainment staff did a great job - from those sports activities to drawing lessons everything was superb and not annoying. As for the bad things there were only one. When it was raining the water came down from the ceiling directly on my bed. But that happened only once when the rain was heavy. Overall the hotel is superb, especially when it goes to the territory, but in need of some renovation when it comes to the rooms.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Freshman23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cataloniabav, Director General at Catalonia Bavaro Beach, Casino & Golf Resort, responded to this review, 11 November 2013
Dear Guest:

It is a pleasure to know about your recently stay in Catalonia Bávaro Resort. Thank you very much for your comments. We were pleased providing you an excellent service and to know that you liked it, makes us even happier.

Receive warm regards from all our staff.

We hope to see you back for your next vacations!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbia, South Carolina
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 November 2013

Prior reviews had me scared to death. No worries. The property is beautiful, staff is great, beach is fabulous. I have nothing negative to say at all. I can't even imagine those negative statements. The food was delicious, no bed bugs, no flies. What a perfect spot. I will go back for sure. We were there - (adults) 6 days and five nights from 10/26/13 - 10/31/13. Relaxing and fun. Room was spacious, very clean, fridge was stocked with drinks, plenty of outlets in room.

Room Tip: We did not request anything special. They placed us 1/2 way between the beach and the main area. It...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pamela803
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cataloniabav, Director General at Catalonia Bavaro Beach, Casino & Golf Resort, responded to this review, 8 November 2013
Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for taking your valuable time to share with us and the rest of the T.A reviewers such an enthusiastic review! Thank you for giving us an opportunity.

We are overjoyed knowing that you and the people who traveled with you, have fully enjoyed our beautiful resort. Our staff work hard to provide our guest a satisfying service and maintain our amazing surroundings.

We certainly look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Best regards!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Weymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 November 2013

Stayed 22nd Oct til 5th Nov. Our first experience of All inclusive so I cannot compare to other hotels. Travelled as a family with kids aged 17 15 and 11. Originally going to Riu Merengue but after awful reviews on here swapped to Catalonia and we are so pleased we did. WE could not fault the holiday and after reading some of the reviews we concerned but honestly, this hotel is great, the rooms spacious, no problem with a/c in either of our rooms, ground floor overlooking the scenery, fridge stocked daily and always able to get extra water/cola when needed, the safe has a cde system so no need to carry keys. I have said Hola a thousand times to the wonderful smiling staff who cannot do enough to help a huge shout out to Giselle and Raphel at the pool bar for making our cocktails for the past 2 weeks, Mojitos all the way!!! Sereviana in the restaurant for looking after us too and Ramona our cleaner who had to tidy after my 3 kids for the past 2 weeks.

The food was good, there are pleanty of restaurants and plenty of choice in all of them, I got sick for 2 days, I was the only one in our family to have any problems and totally believe it had nothing to do with the hotel food as I witnessed hygiene of the highest standards, chefs with gloved hands handling food, sides being wiped, anti bac gel for everyone to use. I got unlucky but NO Way would I let that stop the fun!!

The pool area great, huge, never had to worry about finding a bed. Swim up bar lively and entertainment on all day but you are never bothered by it. WE are not great mixers and didnt ever feel pressured to join in.

Beach STUNNING, the staff work around the clock to keep the whole area clean. WE got bitten by sandflies and boy do they itch but again, dont let it spoil the fun, Lanacane cream worked wonders on them!! Avon Skin so Soft and repellant worked fine oh and taking Vit B1, no mosquitto bites at all but we were very strict with repellant day and night.

Beds comfy, true pillows not but we were so tired every day after snorkelling, kayaking, eating loads!! Going for walks and drinking our way thru the cocktail list that we all slept like logs every night!!

One tip if you are coming with Thomsons, Domingo the rep is awsome HOWEVER the trips are twice as expensive, there are a lot of local trip sellers in the hotel who are lovely fun and vcan be haggled down on price so we were able to do LOADS of trips and get to see what a beautiful country it is. We did Zipwire with Canopy adventure, Seaquaruim, Dune buggies,Santa Domingo (Not the best tour) and the best day of the holiday was with Punta Cana Mike, look him up on here and book for the most amazing day, he will take you to parts of the country you will not see with Thomsons.

Can you guess we had a great time.......can't wait to go back

Room Tip: we were in 2406/2407 overlooked beautiful gardens 5 mis from beach and restaurants
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Moomin1707
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cataloniabav, Director General at Catalonia Bavaro Beach, Casino & Golf Resort, responded to this review, 8 November 2013
Dear Guest:

Thank you for the favorable review you gave to Catalonia Bávaro Resort.

We are very pleased that your family, really have enjoyed your stay with us. We have certainly enjoyed reading your review.

On behalf of all the staff, specially: Giselle, Raphel, Sereviana and Ramona, we would like to thank you for your kindest comments.

We look forward to welcoming you and you family again, to pamper you as you deserve!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 November 2013

Upon arrival we recieved drinks and baggage taken to our rooms while we were checked in. The rooms were clean and more than adequate with plenty of electricity outlets. Everything was catered for AND I MEAN EVERYTHING. Domingo the Thompson rep was A-Maze-Ing. He made the holiday fantastic. If you are travelling with Thompson make sure you touch base with him at reception, he is a gem and will give you excellent advice and information. You will not find a better rep on any holiday *fact*. The resort was spotless as were the rooms (leave a small tip for the maid and she will spend a great time in your room) from friday to sunday the domincans sort of invade the resort for the weekend but they are so friendly and liven the place for a couple of days. There are plenty of thing to keep you busy. Like the archery and vollyball etc. Nothing too strainuous. The beach is also ultra clean and the staff remove any weed that makes its way to shore. The beach is lush by the way! There are daily pool exercises arranged by the staff.
Downers: the beer (Presidente)gave me and my father the gallops. A tip was expected "american style" ie for everything from getting served at the bar to beyond. Which is rather annoying for Brits when you dont at any other all inclusive around the med or europe. It was inpossible too get served at the bar in the evening without a doller bill tip in your hand.
But all in all the holiday at he catalonia bavaro was awesome. Although it would not have been so good without Domingo from Thompsons.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PhilS2bristolian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cataloniabav, Director General at Catalonia Bavaro Beach, Casino & Golf Resort, responded to this review, 8 November 2013
Dear Guest,

We certainly enjoyed reading your review and would like to thank you for your kind words.

As a company that prides itself on customer satisfaction, we appreciate knowing that we met your expectations. Your comments are the best way to improve our service.

We will be delighted if you give us another chance by counting again with your presence in our Catalonia Hotels, so that we may prove that 100% Guest satisfaction, is our main goal.

Receive warm regards from all our staff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 November 2013

I went with a group and we all changed our rooms at least once. Our room had mold and my husband sneezed all night. Also, since there were no electrical outlets next to the bed, he could not use his CPAP machine. We asked for an extension cord, but the request was taken seriously. The next day he told them he would pay for the cord if they would take him to the store. They eventually found us a cord and moved us to another room.

The second room did not smell of mold but later in the evening we found little ant like bugs in the sink and on the counter. We used our Off to kill the bugs. The Off kept the bugs away. We think they came in through the gaps around the faucet. There were several large gaps in the grout around the shower faucet and shower. The tub was worn and the faucets had rust all over them. The resort also needs to improve the lighting on the grounds and in the rooms.

Also, the resort did not do a good job of telling guest what was planned for the day. They could use a resort channel with daily events, important numbers, and hotel extras posted and updated when events are cancelled due to weather.

We went on the Boggy excursion and booked it through Wilson Santos who was very nice. We really enjoyed the adventure. When the travel agent representive, Felipe, found out we booked through Tour Pointe, he became very upset and stated tried to scare us into thinking the excursion would not be good and that he could not ensure our safety. Well, he insisted I get my money back and book with Funtrips. Tour Point has a booth on the property by the pools and appear to be a legitimate business. There brochures can be found in the front lobby with other literature. I thought the Funtrips representative was inappropriate to imply we would have a terrible time. We understand they are competiting for business, but they shoul not be allowed to use scare tactics. All of the guest are there to have good time, maybe Funtrips could have found another excursion for us that Tour Pointe did not offer.

Finally, the food was less than desirable. If you go, eat at the dining hall at the edge of the beach. The pool and beach were nice. Overall the staff was pleasant. Anna is the resorts gold mine. Go to anything she leading! She is so friendly and helps guest meet and interact. Anna you are the best!

The grounds are beautiful but it is time for them to reinvest and upgrade the property.

Room Tip: Ask for the second floor to avoid moldy rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LatteMix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cataloniabav, Director General at Catalonia Bavaro Beach, Casino & Golf Resort, responded to this review, 8 November 2013
Dear guest,
First of all thank you for the time you spent in providing us your comments of your recent stay at Catalonia Bávaro.

We would like to express our apologies to the problems encountered during your stay.
We ask you to excuse us, as this is not typical of our hotel and we assure you that our intention is that problems like these do not happen again, if we are given the opportunity to have you as our guests again.

We remain at your disposal
Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barcelona, Spain
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 November 2013

Me and my boyfriend went to this hotel and it was amazing!!!! the weather was brilliant we got a great tan, the food was really good so much to choose from!! would 100% recommend the Rodeo restraunt but I wouldnt recommended the Mexican one at all!! There was plently of drinks but the vodka is not nice at all, the cocktails are really good and the staff is always happy and so friendly.

The entertainment staff are fantastic!! we always had such a great laugh with them, Spaghetti, Condorito, Ana, Fernando, Fermin and Pluma are awesome, they always had a smile on their faces no matter what and they work such long hours but they are always sooo full of energy and they are brilliant with all the crowds and the children.

Would definitely recommend and would love to go there again 100%

Room Tip: I would say to upgrade to the Privileged rooms, they are juch better quality plus you get a lot of e...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AmyNB91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cataloniabav, Director General at Catalonia Bavaro Beach, Casino & Golf Resort, responded to this review, 5 November 2013
Dear Guest,

I would like to thank you for your positive comments regarding your recent stay at Catalonia Bávaro Resort.

We are very pleased to read your appraisal of our services and facilities, and our team will be equally pleased to hear of your kind remarks and recognition of their efforts to meet your needs, specially the animation department and some of their staff:Spaghetti, Condorito, Ana, Fernando, Fermin and Pluma.

It is an honor for us to be part of your vacation, we are overjoyed knowing that you and your boyfriend, fully enjoyed our beautiful resort.

We certainly look forward to welcoming you back in the near future,

Warmest Regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Punta Cana hotels
9.2 mi away
AlSol Tiara Cap Cana
AlSol Tiara Cap Cana
#23 of 110 in Punta Cana
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,680 reviews
12.1 mi away
Alsol Del Mar
Alsol Del Mar
#47 of 110 in Punta Cana
4.5 of 5 bubbles 926 reviews
1.2 mi away
Catalonia Royal Bavaro
Catalonia Royal Bavaro
#44 of 110 in Punta Cana
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,334 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.2 mi away
VIK Hotel Cayena Beach
VIK Hotel Cayena Beach
#80 of 110 in Punta Cana
4.0 of 5 bubbles 325 reviews
5.0 mi away
Sunscape Dominican Beach Punta Cana
5.7 mi away
Grand Palladium Palace Resort Spa & Casino
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Catalonia Bavaro Beach, Casino & Golf Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Catalonia Bavaro Beach, Casino & Golf Resort

Property: Catalonia Bavaro Beach, Casino & Golf Resort
Address: Playas De Bavaro | Cabeza de Toro, Punta Cana 2062, Dominican Republic
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > La Altagracia Province > Punta Cana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#35 Casino Hotel in Punta Cana
#41 Family Hotel in Punta Cana
#47 Romantic Hotel in Punta Cana
#50 Top resorts Hotel in Punta Cana
#51 Spa Hotel in Punta Cana
#51 Luxury Hotel in Punta Cana
#53 On the Beach Hotel in Punta Cana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Catalonia Bavaro Beach, Casino & Golf Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 711
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A magnificent hotel resort with exclusive, white sandy beaches, crystalline Caribbean waters, palm trees lining the coast and abundant vegetation throughout the complex. Coral reefs along the beach allow guests to enjoy the rich marine life of the Caribbean Sea. It is located in Playa Cabeza de Toro (Punta Cana), one of the best beach areas in the Dominican Republic. The complex is situated 20 km from the International Airport of Punta Cana and 47 km from Higuey. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, TravelUp, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Catalonia Bavaro Beach, Casino & Golf Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Catalonia Bavaro Beach Hotel
Catalonia Punta Cana
Catalonia Bavaro Beach Golf & Casino Resort
Catalonia Bavaro Punta Cana
Punta Cana Catalonia Bavaro
Catalonia Bavaro Beach Resort
Catalonia Bavaro Resort Punta Cana
Catalonia Hotel Punta Cana
Catalonia Resort Punta Cana
Catalonia Bavaro Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing