We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“2nd time and still love it!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Catalonia Bavaro Beach, Casino & Golf Resort
Ranked #55 of 112 Hotels in Punta Cana
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Toronto
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“2nd time and still love it!”
Reviewed 4 December 2013

This was our 2nd year in a row going to this hotel and my girlfriend and I could not have been happier with our decision to return. It was even better than the first time! Polite and welcoming staff, friendly and quick bartenders and servers, and an incredibly gorgeous property are all reasons we love it. The privilege upgrade is great if you can get it but all the suites are large and very nice and the beach and ocean is beautiful. The food is some of the best Ive had while on vacation, the Mexican restaurant totally changed its menu, not for the better. Last year it was our favourite and this year it was our least favourite. That was the only negative about our trip. We will definitely be back either next year or sometime soon in the future. It is our Tropical home away from home!

Room Tip: I love being close to the beach so thats my reccommendation.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank vanslyke85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cataloniabav, Director General at Catalonia Bavaro Beach, Casino & Golf Resort, responded to this review, 5 December 2013
Dear Guest:

On behalf of the entire team of Catalonia Bávaro Resort, thanks for sharing your experience with this community. It is an honor for us to know that our property as well as the service provided by our staff made your experience unforgettable .

It's part of our mission to always exceed the expectations of our valued guests, is an honor to know that our effort was worth it. We can assure you, that the third visit, will be even more awesome.

We hope to welcoming you back soon in this your tropical home away from home!

Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

10,464 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    4,494
    3,489
    1,443
    589
    449
See reviews for
3,146
4,344
165
32
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (923)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 December 2013 via mobile

The resort itself is gorgeous! The privileged accommodate is top notch but the food is horrible! The Japanese for example being touted as hibachi is a joke! The local cook only ingredient is soy sauce and oil! Really???? The sushi appetizer is unknown and made it obvious the hotel wants to save money! The beauty if the resort should correspond with the food!

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Mia500
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cataloniabav, Director General at Catalonia Bavaro Beach, Casino & Golf Resort, responded to this review, 4 December 2013
Dear Guest:

Thanks for sharing your opinions with the Trip Advisor community.

We will take into consideration your comments about the food and themed restaurants. We encourage you to give us the opportunity to have you here again.

Thank you for choosing us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 December 2013

Pros - Great price. Beautiful well-kept property with a fantastic beach and a nice pool.
Cons - the rooms are dated, the food is poor to average, and the service was hit or miss.

If you don't sweat the little things and have an open mind, you will have a nice time.

The beach was beautiful and well maintained. While there was some sea weed, the staff did a great job of cleaning the beach several times a day. The water was warm, clean and calm and the sand was white, as you would expect in the Caribbean. The beach chairs were comfortable with plenty of available thatched umbrellas. The vendors selling trips and excursions were not a nuisance and some offered some very good deals. Windsurfing, kayaks and snorkeling were free. Motorized activities were available off property. There were plenty of organized activities at beach and pool such as exercise classes, dance instruction, etc. The pool was large and well kept.

The room was dated and in need of repair. The air conditioning did not work properly. The shower head was broken, the shower curtain was too short so the bathroom flooded, the shower stall was very small and would not fit a 'large' person. The pillows were flat and hard. The fresh flower decorations displayed in the bathroom had ants. The bathroom was missing basic items like soap and hand towels. The toilette ran if you didn't remember to pull the handle back-up. We called maintenance upon check-in and most of the items were addressed. The shower head and air-conditioning were repaired. It took a day or so for the AC to get comfortable and never really cooled the room. Be sure to keep the AC on when you leave so it maintains a constant temperature. We ordered additional pillows and the ones delivered smelled of mildew so we left them outside. We didn't spend a lot of time in the room, so once we settled in and accepted that this was not a first class facility we began to relax and didn't stress over the little things.

Service was hit or miss. Some of the staff were among the friendliest and most outgoing I've seen, while others acted as if they didn't want to be there. When calling maintenance (to fix AC and shower head), they came right away, while any requests to housekeeping was a crap shoot; sometimes they came and other times they never showed up. Internet service was spotty. It didn't really work in the room, but worked well in the lobby.

The bars were good and the bartenders very friendly. The pool bar was sometimes crowded and you had to wait for your drinks, but overall the service was fine. Drinks were best at the Japanese restaurant bar and bar near the main lobby.

The buffet restaurant was average. Not much variety. I've definitely had better. The Japanese restaurant was good (A Benihana-type restaurant) with an entertaining chef, the Italian was poor and the Mexican was OK. We did not try the American. The service at the restaurants was usually good, with beer and wine poured freely. Unusually, other than the buffet the restaurants did not serve coffee. Deserts were excellent. Evening entertainment was cheesy. The shops near the restaurant were good with some goodt values - better prices than flea market down the beach.

The grounds were beautiful and well kept. It was about a 10 minute walk from one end of the facility (lobby and restaurants) and the other (beach and pool). The privileged rooms are closer to beach and other rooms towards middle and lobby.

All in all, we had a nice time and made the best of the situation. The price was reasonable but I would consider other properties. In fact, there is a.property next door that is Adults-only called the Royal Catalonia Bavaro where we were upgraded the last 3 days. You have access to the Catalonia, however, have much nicer rooms, private pools and 2 additional restaurants that were outstanding. For the extra money and if you don't have children, I would consider the Royal Catalonia.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WalterNewYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cataloniabav, Director General at Catalonia Bavaro Beach, Casino & Golf Resort, responded to this review, 4 December 2013
Dear Guest:

It is a pleasure to know about your stay with us. Thank you very much for your comments.

All the comments you have sent us about customer service and about improving some areas are more than helpful, and we appreciate the feedback we received from our valuable guests. We hope that the drawbacks described, didn't stop you from having a great vacations.

We will be delighted if you give us another chance by counting again with your presence in our hotel.

Receive warm regards from all our staff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 6 Contributor
41 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 December 2013

Catalonia Punta Cana pleasured as with great service. The beach is very nice, clean and convenient. Room service and hotel service was nice, food was very good. Evening performances was interesting. We were there in January but the weather and sea was warm. We definitely recommend the hotel for your stay in Dominican Republic.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Nikolay S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woodbridge, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 December 2013

This was my first experience of a carribean holiday and it couldn't have went better. The accommodation, whilst a little dated, was more than adequate. The grounds are kept really well. The staff keep you occupied during the day with lots of fun and games going on by the pool and beach. You shouldn't get bored with the food because there are 5 restaurants to choose from which 4 you can use once a week. No reservation is required. The rooms are cleaned each day and fridge re-stocked with drinks every other day. There is a very good gym which wasn't advertised in the brochure. With the beautiful beach, sea and palm trees this was true paradise.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Robert T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cataloniabav, Director General at Catalonia Bavaro Beach, Casino & Golf Resort, responded to this review, 3 December 2013
Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for your positive comments regarding your recent stay at Catalonia Bávaro Resort.

We are very pleased to read your appraisal of our services and facilities,our team will be equally pleased to know of your kind remarks and recognition of their efforts to meet your needs. Is a pleasure to know that you choose us for your first experience in the Caribbean.

We certainly look forward to welcoming you back in the near future,

Warmest Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kiev, Ukraine
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 November 2013

Catalonia is a perfect place to make your vacation or recreation good and pretty.
You can relax in any corner of the hotel with all conveniences you need.
The nature is beautiful. What I can you. Amazing sight.
The most important thing that you wont be bored at all. Animation is in high-level)))))))
Also, you can meet and speak with a lot of people by the different nationalities. It means to explore plenty of various cultures.
By the way, a big surprise was for me that every night they have colorful, another great show (entertainment). They are nice.
I am so happy to see this by my own.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Anna240191
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cataloniabav, Director General at Catalonia Bavaro Beach, Casino & Golf Resort, responded to this review, 3 December 2013
Dear Guest:

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments about your recent stay at Catalonia Bávaro Resort.

We are more than glad that you had a good time in our hotel. We work hard on maintaining an atmosphere for the guest to feel welcomed. It was a pleasure for our staff to serve you during your vacations. We are grateful for your kind comments about our property and especially, about our animation team.

It would be our honor to receive your visit in the future, and help you experience another memorable vacation.

kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
maryland
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 November 2013

The resort grounds are beautiful with so many palm trees esp. the beach. Service was good and each night for the specialty resturaunts we never had a wait. Since you dont need reservations we thought with 1st come ,1st serve basis it may be over crowed, not at all, worked out perfect for us. Had dinner about 7 to 7:30pm, food was great, service excellent. Very casuel, not to much of a dress code in effect. Breakfast was the same everyday, no different food except fruit would change. Birds do fly into the open air buffets, no big deal as other people continue to complain about, we are in their enviroment.
People friendly,smiling and attentive. We were bldg #2 overlooking the pool and had ocean view, loved the location. The room was nice, fridge stocked, air worked but could have been colder, couldnt get it to adjust and the shower was room for 1 person only. The smallest shower i have ever been in. I measured with my foot space and it was just over 2 feet, couldnt shave your arms or legs w/out the shower curtain clinging all over you. You cant be a big person and fit in the shower thats for sure. We played volleyball on the beach with people from Spain, lots of fun. They have 2 vb nets on the beach. We only ran into 2 other Americans so mostly European so we didnt get to speak to others to see what they thought about the resort but we loved it. Wouldnt go back though. The food and bar by the beach close at 5pm. The only bar to hang out was up by check in where everyone in the resort had to be, to crowed, hard to get a seat and the gigantic bar had #5 stools but easly could hold #50. Entertainment was there for amusement/funny, not exciting or real talented but ok to watch while having drinks. All the restrooms had fresh flowers and were clean. Hope this was a helpful review. We have traveld all inclusive many times for many years so I have alot to compare with.

Room Tip: I like overlooking the pool, there is distance w/the gardens compared to lots of rooms that the pati...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank peachesbud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cataloniabav, Director General at Catalonia Bavaro Beach, Casino & Golf Resort, responded to this review, 3 December 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write about your wonderful experience at Catalonia Bávaro Resort.

It is always a pleasure to read about the wonderful time that our valued guests had during your stay. Our staff is thrilled to know that you enjoyed everything.

About your comments to improve some areas like the small showers, they will be sent to the departments involved to take it into consideration to make your future stay much more comfortable.

We will be glad to welcoming you back soon!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Punta Cana
12.1 mi away
Alsol Del Mar
Alsol Del Mar
#45 of 112 in Punta Cana
968 reviews
9.2 mi away
AlSol Tiara Cap Cana
AlSol Tiara Cap Cana
#22 of 112 in Punta Cana
1,840 reviews
41.0 mi away
Casa de Campo Resort & Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.1 mi away
Alsol Luxury Village
Alsol Luxury Village
#87 of 112 in Punta Cana
3,380 reviews
1.2 mi away
Catalonia Royal Bavaro
Catalonia Royal Bavaro
#48 of 112 in Punta Cana
5,755 reviews
9.0 mi away
Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Green Don Pablo Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Catalonia Bavaro Beach, Casino & Golf Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Catalonia Bavaro Beach, Casino & Golf Resort

Property: Catalonia Bavaro Beach, Casino & Golf Resort
Address: Playas De Bavaro | Cabeza de Toro, Punta Cana 2062, Dominican Republic
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > La Altagracia Province > Punta Cana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#33 Casino Hotel in Punta Cana
#41 Family Hotel in Punta Cana
#47 Romantic Hotel in Punta Cana
#48 Top resorts Hotel in Punta Cana
#49 Spa Hotel in Punta Cana
#50 Luxury Hotel in Punta Cana
#51 On the Beach Hotel in Punta Cana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Catalonia Bavaro Beach, Casino & Golf Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 711
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A magnificent hotel resort with exclusive, white sandy beaches, crystalline Caribbean waters, palm trees lining the coast and abundant vegetation throughout the complex. Coral reefs along the beach allow guests to enjoy the rich marine life of the Caribbean Sea. It is located in Playa Cabeza de Toro (Punta Cana), one of the best beach areas in the Dominican Republic. The complex is situated 20 km from the International Airport of Punta Cana and 47 km from Higuey. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with 5viajes2012 S.L., Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Prestigia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Catalonia Bavaro Beach, Casino & Golf Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Catalonia Bavaro Beach Hotel
Catalonia Punta Cana
Catalonia Bavaro Beach Golf & Casino Resort
Catalonia Bavaro Punta Cana
Punta Cana Catalonia Bavaro
Catalonia Bavaro Beach Resort
Catalonia Bavaro Resort Punta Cana
Catalonia Hotel Punta Cana
Catalonia Resort Punta Cana
Catalonia Bavaro Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing